If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Muckit wrote: »
    Nips like pencil erasers

Peanut smuggling!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

another yellow bull, keep them coming!! cow i bought too so bonus:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

From M.T.Cranium on 23rd Feb:
    ....so use the dry spells to your advantage, as I foresee the second half of March becoming rather wet.
    Since Feb he's also talking about it being unseasonably cold for March. He's not so bad at the forecasts is he?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

What's the feed situation like with ye ? Did my sums this morning, I'll be out of everything on the 18th April....It's gonna be a tight finish!

Isn't it amazing that cattle prices are holding so well, especially store types given the lack of feed and grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Isn't it amazing that cattle prices are holding so well, especially store types given the lack of feed and grass.

I wonder what will cattle prices be like in a month's time when grass is growing?

I know a lot of people who usually buy cattle at this time of year and are holding off for another while until weather improves and grass starts too grow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What's the feed situation like with ye ? Did my sums this morning, I'll be out of everything on the 18th April....It's gonna be a tight finish!

ill be broke soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

reilig wrote: »

I wonder what will cattle prices be like in a month's time when grass is growing?

I know a lot of people who usually buy cattle at this time of year and are holding off for another while until weather improves and grass starts too grow.
    If ya buy now they will be very cheap cattle when the grass arrives,when it does stick another 150 to 200 a head on them then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Marooned75 wrote: »
    If ya buy now they will be very cheap cattle when the grass arrives,when it does stick another 150 to 200 a head on them then.

Have 10 to sell and enough fodder to keep them for a month if I need to :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

kevthegaff wrote: »
    ill be broke soon!
    join the club!:o

Waited over an hour in the shed for AI man today. I looked like a mini Michelin man with all my layers on:D

Luckily enough I did though as a 3 1/2 month old heifer seemed a bit off and listless from her usual antics of jumping through the barrier. Watched her and she was shivering every so often. So another half hour wait for the vet and diagnosed with a chill and Micotil for 3 days. Would have thought she'd be grand at that age:confused:

had a heifer kept coming back in to parlour and pulling the rope that opens the gate to let cows out, did it 3 times this evening:mad: then my da came in to say the gate was open to calving pen, was supposed to be 3 cows in there but was about 20... took a while to sort them out , then they knocked over a big barrel that paint people had left behind i thought it was empty, but wasnt ... so spent 20 minutes cleaning that up and my hands are now grey oxide colour... then when i arrived into the house the eldest lad said to me "what kept you, i'm starving", he got a bollicking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

whelan1 wrote: »
    "what kept you, i'm starving", he got a bollicking

not a hand to wipe his ar*e! :D What did his last slave die of?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭dzer2

whelan1 wrote: »
    had a heifer kept coming back in to parlour and pulling the rope that opens the gate to let cows out, did it 3 times this evening:mad: then my da came in to say the gate was open to calving pen, was supposed to be 3 cows in there but was about 20... took a while to sort them out , then they knocked over a big barrel that paint people had left behind i thought it was empty, but wasnt ... so spent 20 minutes cleaning that up and my hands are now grey oxide colour... then when i arrived into the house the eldest lad said to me "what kept you, i'm starving", he got a bollicking

You sure that he is related to you:D

Muckit wrote: »
    not a hand to wipe his ar*e! :D What did his last slave die of?!
    i said not a fooking chance of you coming out to see what was keeping me

dzer2 wrote: »
    You sure that he is related to you:D
    think he takes after his father:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

dzer2 wrote: »
    He sure is related to you:D
    :P:rolleyes:

kevthegaff wrote: »
    ill be broke soon!
    Of course you will,sure your a farmer!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Happy days. I sold one of my pedigree bulls today. One left to go. Will make sure I halter train them if there is a next time!! Definitely gives more options when it comes to selling them.

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Waited over an hour in the shed for AI man today. I looked like a mini Michelin man with all my layers on:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

Marooned75 wrote: »

I like what you're saying.....If only we knew when it was coming:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Have a heifer with fairly small teats, certainly not the smallest in the herd, but anyways, the cluster just will not stay on her for the full milking, typically I have to put it back on 2/3times at least. Driving me mad by now! Anyone any solutions? I saw some sort of insert for teats that are too close etc on the internet a while back, but can't find it now!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Have a heifer with fairly small teats, certainly not the smallest in the herd, but anyways, the cluster just will not stay on her for the full milking, typically I have to put it back on 2/3times at least. Driving me mad by now! Anyone any solutions? I saw some sort of insert for teats that are too close etc on the internet a while back, but can't find it now!
    are the bleedholes on the clusters clear? do you hang the pipe on a kick bar when on her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmm actually I just cleaned out all the bleed holes tonight after the milking, good few were 1/2 blocked! I hadn't thought about that being a problem specifically with her, the bleed holes weren't totally blocked to the point where the clusters wont come off, but I guess teats like hers are going to be the 1st to give problems as such! When you say hang the pipe on the kick bar, what do ya do, bit of wire hanging off the kickbar or something?

i hang the milktube in the bottom of the kickbar and the top of the kick on the rump rail saves having to hold the cluster on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Waited over an hour in the shed for AI man today. I looked like a mini Michelin man with all my layers on:D (/Quote]

Why do ya need to wait for him?
    Do you have to hold his trousers for him? :-)

Bizzum wrote: »
    Waited over an hour in the shed for AI man today. I looked like a mini Michelin man with all my layers on:D (/Quote]

Why do ya need to wait for him?
    Do you have to hold his trousers for him? :-)

The farmyard & shed is away from the house.
    Plus a helping hand is always nice for him!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

On the subject of AI, I've a story from maybe 15 or 20 years ago. A neighbour of mine left in a cow with calf at foot for AI. He had to go away himself, so asked his teenage son to wait for the AI man. Anyway AI comes and says to the son, run her up the crush there........And the son says "which one" !!.
    The AI man stills tells the tale.
    Needless to say the son had no interest in farming! :-)

Bizzum wrote: »
    On the subject of AI, I've a story from maybe 15 or 20 years ago. A neighbour of mine left in a cow with calf at foot for AI. He had to go away himself, so asked his teenage son to wait for the AI man. Anyway AI comes and says to the son, run her up the crush there........And the son says "which one" !!.
    The AI man stills tells the tale.
    Needless to say the son had no interest in farming! :-)

We had two Polish men in working on a house we were doing up next to the shed. We walked in the herd past the house and the sight of two grown men running from the cows and going gaga at the sight of what the AI man did in the yard still makes me laugh:D