Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TD's get angry about Dail bar being closed early

• 21-02-2013 10:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

From the video bio:
    Fine Gael, Labour and Fianna Fáil TDs react angrily to a proposal by Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams to close the Dáil bar as the House is sitting after midnight. The suggestion came after a number of TDs and Senators were clearly intoxicated as the IBRC Bill was rushed through last month.

Yes SF uploaded the video, but surely the TD's should be barred from drinking on the job? was the outrage just because it was SF who asked for it to be closed, or are we really run by a bunch of alcoholics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Maybe they all had a cold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I can't muster enough outrage to care about this either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I don't care if they have a bar but it should have the same opening hours as every other bar in the country. Also like the rest of us, If you're drinking on the job you should be sacked. I don't mind them making the rules so much but at least follow the ones the rest of us do.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

It was clear at the time that many of them were loaded. I don't think people should be drinking on the job, or even before they get to work.

A fair compromise would be to ban TDs from being served (everyone who goes into Leinster house has to get an id tag so its simple enough to see who is who) before or during Dáil sittings and only allow them to drink afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

does it really matter if the people who make our decisions do so drunk or sober? their record is hardly inspiring anyway.

Thank god that its the same rules for them as it is for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Isn't their 2 bars the 'public' one and the 'members' one?

Boombastic wrote: »
    No, they're connected and no real difference between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

They dont need a bar, few naggins, be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

GRMA wrote: »

They are not connected, they are two separate areas and you can't move between them. They have the same staff working them but you can't walk from one to the other without leaving and entering the main door.

GRMA wrote: »

Oh, OK..I thought one was for TD's only.

Re:the licence

A special exemption means that if the Dail or Seanad sits later than 11.30pm, a "one hour rule" applies, whereby the bar can remain open for up to an hour after the sitting ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I don't see why they need a bar to be honest. Let them spend there money in local pubs and spread their wealth around a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Hijpo

It makes me nervous that these drunkards with access to a subsidised bar, during work hours, make decisions that impact a nation and nobody is allowed to stop them.

A special exemption means that if the Dail or Seanad sits later than 11.30pm, a "one hour rule" applies, whereby the bar can remain open for up to an hour after the sitting ends.

Any hour rules for people on a nightshift? No?
    Disgrace tbh

Run the country? lol no we just get drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

It's a legislature, not a social club!

They really need to cop on and start doing their jobs i.e. legislating instead of faffing around in bars paid for by the tax payer.

They're behaving like French aristocrats .. and that didn't really work out well !

This kind of stuff is just infuriating for the general public as it creates a sense that they're living it up on our tab.

They can drink bad quality, fluoridated tap water like the rest of us!

Hijpo wrote: »
    It makes me nervous that these drunkards with access to a subsidised bar, during work hours, make decisions that impact a nation and nobody is allowed to stop them.

:) Me too, sure no wonder the decisions they make have the country Fcuked-this goes for all present and past governments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭James McNulty

How does a "normal Joe" get in? Do you have to be accompanied by an "adult"? i.e. TD??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

This isn't doing much to help the national stereotype.

How does a "normal Joe" get in? Do you have to be accompanied by an "adult"? i.e. TD??
    Yeah you need a TD to sign you in (or a senator, or if you are a party press worker you can get in too) he/she doesnt need to hold your hand though once you're in

Been there a bunch of times it's fairly sh!te tbh most locals have only one or two gob****es!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Oh, OK..I thought one was for TD's only.

Re:the licence

If I work late i don't get an hour extra, usually I can't even go to an off licence to get some cans. Hypocrites!

And they can't be stopped and breathilised coming to or from the Dail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Im in 2 minds about this. Usually I am immune to the usual outrage at politicians, and I appreciate they do a very hard job with long hours. On the other hand, if I finish work after midnight, I've missed the off license and chances of last orders are slim as I have to get into town. So why is there one rule for us and one rule for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

here's an idea, remove bar privileges for the TD's who have low attendance rates in there, watch how fast sh1t gets done then .

or better yet, remove the bar altogether, you're there to govern the country not get pissed on our time you feckless ****, do your fcuking jobs and stop using taxpayer time to get loaded.

krudler wrote: »
    here's an idea, remove bar privileges for the TD's who have low attendance rates in there, watch how fast sh1t gets done then .

or better yet, remove the bar altogether, you're there to govern the country not get pissed on our time you feckless ****, do your fcuking jobs and stop using taxpayer time to get loaded.

Or how about bring licensing laws into the 21st century and let bars close when they want to close.

syklops wrote: »
    Im in 2 minds about this. Usually I am immune to the usual outrage at politicians, and I appreciate they do a very hard job with long hours. On the other hand, if I finish work after midnight, I've missed the off license and chances of last orders are slim as I have to get into town. So why is there one rule for us and one rule for them?

so? as do a lot of people, doesn't mean we can legally get drunk on the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

F*ck them. I've no sympathy for them, let them operate under the same hours as the rest of us have to.

When I finish work at 10 I can't buy one bottle of beer on the way home because they've decided I"m not responsible enough to be allowed buy beer to bring home at that time of night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Why do they get to drink on the job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Drinking pending a critically important vote, that will have a long-term effect on our country and our governments finances? Nice.

Why is there a Dail bar in the first place, and how is it funded? (it's not publicly funded, surely? if so, get rid of the fúcking thing)

so? as do a lot of people, doesn't mean we can legally get drunk on the job.

Did you even read the rest of my post?

really? is that true? jesus h christ .
    What kind of a country are we at all??

wonder how many other countries have the same, I know the parliment in the UK has one, doubt America has, can't imagine Obama having a few jars before laying down some foreign policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

wonder how many other countries have the same, I know the parliment in the UK has one, doubt America has, can't imagine Obama having a few jars before laying down some foreign policy.

Obama brews his own beer.

The White House released his recipe last year. He got into it while he was in The White House as he wanted something he could do with some of the staffers. And he likes beer, so why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

folan wrote: »
    does it really matter if the people who make our decisions do so drunk or sober? their record is hardly inspiring anyway.

Thank god that its the same rules for them as it is for us.

The decisions made are made well in advance of any vote, and any old eejit can vote as they are told to by their party whips, sober or no. So what matter if they are drunk, as it make no difference to the outcome?

Also, being drunk during debates doesn't matter, as nothing gets done during debates, no decisions made, nada. Someone being drunk during something that produces no outcome is hardly something to be offended about.

• CruelCoin wrote: »

The decisions made are made well in advance of any vote, and any old eejit can vote as they are told to by their party whips, sober or no. So what matter if they are drunk, as it make no difference to the outcome?

Also, being drunk during debates doesn't matter, as nothing gets done during debates, no decisions made, nada. Someone being drunk during something that produces no outcome is hardly something to be offended about.
    That's irrelevant there drunk at work in any other job they'd be fired its highly unprofessional and as the people that represent us as a people it's pretty embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

It's down to perception really.

Would you expect somebody working in a shop to be drunk on the job?
    Would you expect a bus driver to be drunk on the job?
    Would you expect a bank manager to be drunk on the job?
    Would you expect a parliamentarian debating and voting on important legislation to be drunk on the job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Very few businesses have their own bars but it's not unusual for clubs. Kind of fits.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Obama brews his own beer.

The White House released his recipe last year. He got into it while he was in The White House as he wanted something he could do with some of the staffers. And he likes beer, so why not.

yeah but he's not downing it before a congress session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I don't mind the Dail Bar. But it should be for after hours(Not the forum), and when TD's are not working. You can't come to a dail meeting intoxicated, that's just unprofessional of a TD. After the dail meeting, or when the TDs are no working should be when it's used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

yeah but he's not downing it before a congress session

He could if he wanted to. He doesn't sit in on congress and doesn't really have any control over what they do.

Riddle101 wrote: »
    I don't mind the Dail Bar. But it should be for after hours(Not the forum), and when TD's are not working. You can't come to a dail meeting intoxicated, that's just unprofessional of a TD. After the dail meeting, or when the TDs are no working should be when it's used.

I'd prefer it to be for AH, the forum. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

When I can buy drink after 10pm at night from an off licence, they can have a late bar. Until then they can **** right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

well if nobody can operate a mechanically propelled vehicle after having 1 pint well then how the hell do you expect someone to steer the country with many jars and top shelf drinks in them.

answer is they can't. they probably wouldn't have done even if they were sober (as a judge) but that doesn't mean these crazies can just keep pissing on us and telling us it's raining while they all live it up on cheap pints and the likes in the Dail bar!!

• Riddle101 wrote: »
    I do. why is there alcohol subsidised it makes no sense to me I don't have an issue with the bar itself as I woul imagine they would get a lot of stick in any other bar but I don't see why it's subsidised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

CruelCoin wrote: »
    try using that argument when signing a contract.

CruelCoin wrote: »

cant tell if your serious here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

I do. why is there alcohol subsidised it makes no sense to me I don't have an issue with the bar itself as I woul imagine they would get a lot of stick in any other bar but I don't see why it's subsidised

cos our politicians are only on an average of about €1500 a week and that's not including the massive expenses they get too. how coudl they ever afford to pay full price on pints and the likes. come on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

G Power wrote: »
    cos our politicians are only on an average of about €1500 a week and that's not including the massive expenses they get too. how coudl they ever afford to pay full price on pints and the likes. come on!!

So much wrong information.

Dail bar isn't subsidised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

syklops wrote: »
    and I appreciate they do a very hard job with long hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Valetta wrote: »
    So much wrong information.

Dail bar isn't subsidised.

Either or, drinking during work hours, the electorate deserves more respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

folan wrote: »
    try using that argument when signing a contract.

cant tell if your serious here.

Voting as instructed and signing a binding contract at personal risk are two different things.

And yes, deadly serious. The debates are pointless, and produce nothing.
    As such i really wouldn't care if harney and some dude were bumping uglies in the back row, as it would make not a jot of difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Didn't the late Brian Lenihan Snr tell a story on the Late Late Show years ago about being in a pub when a garda walked in. The garda demanded names but Lenehan made a big laugh at asking the garda if "he wanted a pint or a transfer".
    Roars of laughter in the audience. I remember the show well.
    Hypocrites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Ming or someone should ask for a Dail headshop to be opened, its a bit unfair that all these poor fellas have to make do with only one recreational drug to abuse, especially one recognized as being so extremely dangerous.

Alcohol 'more harmful than heroin' says Prof David Nutt