Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want to create a social network

Options
  • 13-02-2013 2:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭

Right, so I think I have a great idea to create a new social network. It's not reinventing the wheel but i think there is a gap in the social network market that could potentially attract a huge amount of customers (I'm not going into detail for obvious reasons). I'm just not sure how to get a site like this up and running.

Firstly a little background. I'm in my early thirties and am half way through a skills conversion course (HDip in Software Development), prior to this I did an MSc in Music & Technology. I'm not an experienced developer but I'd consider myself a good student and have got very strong grades. As part of this semesters college work we have to create a dynamic website and the idea came to me to develop this social network site, there are three others in my assignment group for this.

We're using Visual Studio to design and code the site, with Microsoft Access storing the data. I don't think we'll have a fully functional site by the time we're finished, but we should have a nice prototype.

Where do I go from there? I realize it will take a lot of backing to get a site like this to fulfill it's potential but how do I attract this backing, should I be looking to government agencies (enterprise Ireland etc) or private investors?