Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best gun for a beginer ?

• 12-02-2013 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49

which type of gun would b the easyist to get used to pump, u/o, s/s shotgun ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭mike91

Get a cheap second hand over and under loads on this on the for sale wanted forum but id go to a dealer to get one fitted to you just so you've got the best gun for you there is a list of registered gun dealers on this too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

What do you want to shoot? Game, clays or a bit of both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 darraghman64

homerhop wrote: »
    What do you want to shoot? Game, clays or a bit of both?
    game in the game season nd abit of vermin control nd mayb a few clays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Get a cheap good quality side by side. Secondhand good quality side by sides retail for buttons.

ya they do hes right but if you have the cash get an over an under

mike91 wrote: »
    ya they do hes right but if you have the cash get an over an under
    i dont its between a s/s or a pump which would b cheaper and a good gun to start off with

sxs then starting off there is some cheap pumps but they are restricted better off going for a sxs but do check around there is some cheap o/u too go to a gun dealer feel out a few guns mate :) but then even after that you could buy one on this may be cheaper shop around and any dealer you can get to feel out the guns...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

I started with a single barrelled Baikal. Got it for free but I'm sure they are cheap as chips. Grand for starting off. They are light enough as well

shezer wrote: »
    I started with a single barrelled Baikal. Got it for free but I'm sure they are cheap as chips. Grand for starting off. They are light enough as well
    there is that aswell single barrel one shot light and cheap as chips €50 I seen one go for

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

For game, and some clays. Either an O/U or semi auto. Once the semi auto is under three shots it's unrestricted so both guns would be equal in terms of getting a license for them.

SxS, pump, and single barrels have never interested me so i somewhat bias in terms of my reasons. However i could never get to grips with a SxS, i hate pumps (never understood the need to manually cycle each round), and a single barrel will frustrate you at clays, and possibly even for game. One shot at a time is a PITA. I know i started with one, but soon moved to an O/U.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

I agree with cass totally had a sxs didnt like it wouldnt manually cycling rounds slow you down and move the gun off target? I have a semi and I love it but they are a little bit more expensive than cheap double barrels I would strongly advise an o/u

tanks for da help lads i tink il go with a cheap sxs or u/o if i can get one :)

Have look in the for sale wanted but Dont comment on any over two months old thats what I was told Just pm the seller also check sportsden.ie there are a few websites if you go into the registered fire arm dealers thread you will find some websites too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

sxs then starting off there is some cheap pumps but they are restricted better off going for a sxs but do check around there is some cheap o/u too go to a gun dealer feel out a few guns mate :) but then even after that you could buy one on this may be cheaper shop around and any dealer you can get to feel out the guns...

:rolleyes: no not at all.. same as a semi auto.. plug them to hold 3 rounds...
    I agree with cass totally had a sxs didnt like it wouldnt manually cycling rounds slow you down and move the gun off target? I have a semi and I love it but they are a little bit more expensive than cheap double barrels I would strongly advise an o/u

Nope.. and if you missed with the first you weren't on target to begin with..

A cheap pump is better than a cheap semi auto any day because the pump will cycle the crappiest of shells with no issues unlike a semi auto.

Have look in the for sale wanted but Dont comment on any over two months old thats what I was told Just pm the seller also check sportsden.ie there are a few websites if you go into the registered fire arm dealers thread you will find some websites too :)
    i look at sports den the hole time but they stoped updating recently :(

Have a look at a few different sites they are listed in the registered firearm dealers thread do you know of any dealers near u? :) and garv ive never used a pump I just always thought it would be slower swiching bird like get me? And I didnt know they wernt always restricted? If they are plugged for 3 are they not then??

Im in Clare/limerick I will put up a pic tomoro I would advise having a good look around first tho get something that fits nice that you like ya know? But if you cant get anythin as cheap (which Im sure you can) or your close to me or youve had a shop around or whatever then you can get back to me :) are you in a club?

im not in a club yet il b joining a club soon

That will make things alot smother! Good luck with finding your new gun

Lads. This is not the for sale section. Keep personal dealings to a PM basis.

Thanks.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The basic requirement for a S/S is pretty much the same as an o/u. If it fits you you'll connect all day every day. If it doesn't you may as well spit balls of cottonwool at your target.

My point simply is that if you have let's say €500 to spend you're talking solid good quality guns when you're talking S/S. Chances are you're looking at very decent European guns if you take your time to look around.

The same amount of money will not buy you an o/u of similar quality.

Never, ever liked side by side. The design, feel, fit, and performance. They are usually light, and i could never take to them. Just felt wrong.

So there is feck all point buying a SxS because you can get a slightly better model in it than for the same price in O/U if the thing doesn't fit. Besides an O/U will resell faster, and there is a larger choice of O/Us.

TBH none of any of the suggestions can be taken as Gospel. Mine included. It's up to the OP to see what suits. Other than trying them out i would suggest you go to a clay range and try some guns. The feel might be grand when you handle the gun, but you really need to see how you perform when firing the gun.

Just buy a .22 ...... Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

shezer wrote: »

ahhhhh!! the auld single barrel baikal the fond memories of my first baby steps into the magical and wonderful world of hunting:D:D:D but i couldn't hit a thing then or now i'm useless with any gun.I'd be better of with a shovel if i new how to use 1 lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Get him a s/s o/u or a single barrel. What ever fits him best out of the 3. I recon they are the 3 safest guns as you can break them to make them safe. Cant with a pump and a pump be that bit harder for someone starting off as you have to pump after each shot so you may be of target while pumping it. Thats my opinion. A poor gun to off start with could put him off shooting if its not working out for him

4200fps wrote: »
    Get him a s/s o/u or a single barrel. What ever fits him best out of the 3. I recon they are the 3 safest guns as you can break them to make them safe. Cant with a pump and a pump be that bit harder for someone starting off as you have to pump after each shot so you may be of target while pumping it. Thats my opinion. A poor gun to off start with could put him off shooting if its not working out for him
    I Agree