Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.223 ammo

• 10-02-2013 3:05pm
    Subscribers Posts: 336 ✭✭

Hi lads could you tell me what you think is the best ammo to use in a rem 700 cdl .223 ....thanks

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Is she 1:9 or 1:12 twist?

Some 1:9 twist rifles/barrels actually fire the lower grainage rounds as well if not better than the higher grainage rounds they are designed for.

A steady choice would be the 53gr & 55gr Hornady. The more expensive of .223 ammo, but dependable, and consistent. Cheaper makes such as Remmy UMC, and American eagle have varying degrees of success depending on rifle make, and twist rate.

If she is the 1:9 you could give the heavier 68gr & 75gr round a try. The faster twist rate would be better suited, but as was the case with my CZ she preferred the lower rounds with 50gr being it's preferred choice.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Subscribers Posts: 336 ✭✭noeleire

Cass wrote: »
    Is she 1:9 or 1:12 twist?

Some 1:9 twist rifles/barrels actually fire the lower grainage rounds as well if not better than the higher grainage rounds they are designed for.

A steady choice would be the 53gr & 55gr Hornady. The more expensive of .223 ammo, but dependable, and consistent. Cheaper makes such as Remmy UMC, and American eagle have varying degrees of success depending on rifle make, and twist rate.

If she is the 1:9 you could give the heavier 68gr & 75gr round a try. The faster twist rate would be better suited, but as was the case with my CZ she preferred the lower rounds with 50gr being it's preferred choice.
    Hi dont know what twist she is yet waiting on the licence to come back to pick her up still in the shop .

Ah.

Well here are a few brands. nice and cheap to get you started for little money, and will also help break her in.
    • American Eagle - 50gr - JHP
    • Remington UMC - 50gr - JHP
    • Remington UMC - 45gr - JHP

These work out at between €11 - €14 per box of 20. If they work too well then try some of the heavier rounds such as;
    • Remington Match - 62gr - HP
    • Hornady - 75gr - BT

These are more expensive. In the €20 - €28 mark. If you are going for these in this price range look for;
    • Hornady - 55gr - V-Max (Moly)
    • Hornady - 53gr - V-Max

Two seriously good bullets, but more expensive than the other lighter rounds. Roughly €27-€28 per box of 20.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

I only use hornadys 55g vmax , deadly accurate, i see atlantic shooting and fishing and paddy carley have them for 26 a box

Not a bad price. A euro a box cheaper but if either are close to you then use them.

@OP - Someone with the exact same rifle might be better able to tell you what they found to be a good round. However without that info for the moment any of the above will work just fine. Also as said above the breaking in of the rifle is important. No need for an over the top procedure, but the cheaper ammo will do the job just fine, and let you know if they work in the gun. Then maybe move onto the more expensive stuff as your rifle dictates or as your skill level increases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 .223cork

Hi i have heard alot about hornady 40gr v max being a better round than the 55gr v max. What is your opinion on this? Also cant find anywhere that supplies the 40gr v max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 30cal....

hi lads 55 grain vmax very accurate in my 700

Have you used the 40gr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 30cal....

no have not tried the 40gr they seem to be hard to get im very happy with the 55gr they have good stopping power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

40gr vmax are being discontinued..

'hdz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

only ever got my hands on one box of 40gr vmax and was very impressed with the, hit everything and nothing moved an inch. however i use 50ge hp AEs as there cheap and i find them the best for the price. didnt like the 55 gr UMC but the 45s were better

Just my 2 cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Is the .223 ammo not in short supply with the panic buying in the states or has all that stopped ?

Why are the 40gr v max being discontinued?
    do the 55gr v max give similar performance?

.223cork wrote: »

55gr are a fine round.. Like lasers but need to be placed well.

The 40s are obviously flatter but not much in it..

i must try them out.
    have been using 50gr american eagle because of the cost but are a bit of a let down on long range foxes

i must try them out.
    have been using 50gr american eagle because of the cost but are a bit of a let down on long range foxes

Used to shoot the hornadys but started using remi umc 50gr's merely because they were half the price in my rip off rfd.

took this lad earlier at 227 yards. rather impressed with it..

had runners with the hornadys too but down to pure poor shot placement.

2013-03-03%2016.54.32.jpg?w=AADqlYcJ_2N-VrVvFOvzQpsPXKafta3VDAKeFBi5NZHAvQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭gtx

got a box there today 40gr V max in post from thegunstore @ 28 bit steep but just wanted to try them see what hyp was also got a few boxes a american eagle on price @ 10 a box..

was out tonight started off bad in first spot only called in two cats this this never happened before only one a them was black they nearly tasted the 40gr :pac:

Went to another spot an after a few mins got a fox in to about 100yds lights out for him..the 40 as the doont seem as loud as the 55's maybe that just me :rolleyes:

see the have a higher mussel an are flatter.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8226/8529049475_4e7f5f423d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cushcam

gtx wrote: »
    got a box there today 40gr V max in post from thegunstore @ 28 bit steep but just wanked to try them see what hyp was also got a few boxes a american eagle on price @ 10 a box..

was out tonight started off bad in first spot only called in two cats this this never happened before only one a them was black they nearly tasted the 40gr :pac:

Went to another spot an after a few mins got a fox in to about 100yds lights out for him..the 40 as the doont seem as loud as the 55's maybe that just me :rolleyes:

those were the american eagle fmj's you got for 10euro a box so they're no good for hunting, but that seems like a great price for the hornady ammo, my local rfd is 35euro for a box of 55grain v-max :mad:

cushcam wrote: »
    those were the american eagle fmj's you got for 10euro a box so they're no good for hunting, but that seems like a great price for the hornady ammo, my local rfd is 35euro for a box of 55grain v-max :mad:

I just got the .223 so want to bit a target shootin the Hornady stuff to dear for that craic got a box a rem umc there not bad the were 14 a box in barton smith in sligo an the hornady 55 v max were 26 got a few boxs a him when was collectin the gun dont last long when u fastinated with ur new toy (probly souldnt call it a toy but ya know what i mean) find ya man in barton smiths ok to deal with an always knocks a bit of the price to buy most a stuff for the shottie a him clays an stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Ghost.

got a box there today 40gr V max in post from thegunstore @ 28 bit steep but just wanked to try them

Please dont post any pics of your groups when you are finished:D

Seriously though, were the remington UMC @ €14 a box FMJ or HPs?

Ghost. wrote: »
    Please dont post any pics of your groups when you are finished:D

Seriously though, were the remington UMC @ €14 a box FMJ or HPs?

Must read over me posts before hitting enter.. :o

There Remington 55 gr MC not hollow point. got them in Barton smiths in Sligo i took 3 box's and bought a good bit a other stuff to..was the cheapist stuff he had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Must read over me posts before hitting enter.. :o

There Remington 55 gr MC not hollow point. got them in Barton smiths in Sligo i took 3 box's and bought a good bit a other stuff to..was the cheapist stuff he had.

How she shooting forya

Thats just ballistics...

You'll learn that in time.

And will keep learning til the day you die.

'hdz

• Subscribers Posts: 336 ✭✭noeleire

Seen the 40gr v max in a gun shop in bray yesterday was thinking about buying a box but decided to go with the 55gr v max to give them a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭yubabill1

A lot of guys on here use light-for-calibre bullets, like the 40gr VMax because they shoot very flat - so you can easily judge the holdover at 300yds and thereabouts.
    Th 55gr will shoot about 4" low at 200yds, if you have it about 1" high at 100, assuming a fairly average bolt rifle and setup.

I like the heavier pills, over 60gr, but that's just me and I kind of restrict myself to 200yds and often much, much less.

The heavier pills are marginally better in windy conditions, but drop more, so it's a tradeoff.

Find ammo your rifle likes and stick with it. Best advice I ever got.

yubabill1 wrote: »
    Th 55gr will shoot about 4" low at 200yds, if you have it about 1" high at 100, assuming a fairly average bolt rifle and setup.

1 inch .. well.. 1.025 high at 100 is a 180 yard zero.

its 3.6 inchs low at 250.

The 55gr are a mighty round. Zero for 220 yards. Aim at the head and out to 300 yards you will get a clean humane kill..

Have you used the 60gr taps?. I was thinking of going back to hornady instead of UMC in my tikka for shear fact I found them at a reasonable price (local rfd here is 34 for 55gr vmax :pac::pac::pac: )

'hdz

hedzball wrote: »

1 inch .. well.. 1.025 high at 100 is a 180 yard zero.

its 3.6 inchs low at 250.

The 55gr are a mighty round. Zero for 220 yards. Aim at the head and out to 300 yards you will get a clean humane kill..

Have you used the 60gr taps?. I was thinking of going back to hornady instead of UMC in my tikka for shear fact I found them at a reasonable price (local rfd here is 34 for 55gr vmax :pac::pac::pac: )

'hdz

Lads those v max are only 25 euro a box ye paying way over

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Lads those v max are only 25 euro a box ye paying way over

Mervin Jeffers in Bandon..

Its the one next to the vaseline factory.

Ill be back on the vmax next round I buy..

Wont be from his doors..

I like to support local but it will be merely for trinkets .

'hdz

Have you used the 60gr taps?. I was thinking of going back to hornady instead of UMC in my tikka for shear fact I found them at a reasonable price (local rfd here is 34 for 55gr vmax pacman.gifpacman.gifpacman.gif )

No, could never see the point of the 60gr plus I think the TAP is overpriced. I din't even like the moly 55grs. Why do you need moly on a hunting round? Excuse to charge more, that's why.

I shoot federal 64 PSP's in my 1:8 T3 varmint. Somebody said 24.00 box somewhere.

Prefer HP or PSP config to VMax because we have a lot of scrub/foliage where I shoot and sometimes need to buck some grass/reeds/twigs and Vmax falls down in this respect. Otherwise a truly magnificent config.

Have you used the 60gr taps?. I was thinking of going back to hornady instead of UMC in my tikka for shear fact I found them at a reasonable price (local rfd here is 34 for 55gr vmax pacman.gifpacman.gifpacman.gif )

No, could never see the point of the 60gr plus I think the TAP is overpriced. I din't even like the moly 55grs. Why do you need moly on a hunting round? Excuse to charge more, that's why.

I shoot federal 64 PSP's in my 1:8 T3 varmint. Somebody said 24.00 box somewhere.

Prefer HP or PSP config to VMax because we have a lot of scrub/foliage where I shoot and sometimes need to buck some grass/reeds/twigs and Vmax falls down in this respect. Otherwise a truly magnificent config.

Ya my Lite is 1in8 as well and im having great results with 50grain umc remis..

Im yet to try anything heavier then 55 really. Im going to pick up some 64's and 40's in the next few weeks just for taste.. shes taking 3 different weights now and been outstanding with all 3.

'hdz

hedzball wrote: »
    Ya my Lite is 1in8 as well and im having great results with 50grain umc remis..

Im yet to try anything heavier then 55 really. Im going to pick up some 64's and 40's in the next few weeks just for taste.. shes taking 3 different weights now and been outstanding with all 3.

'hdz

Have to say I struggled to beat 1.5" at 100 benched and bagged with any 55gr ammo- VMax, UMC FMJ/HP, Amer Eagle FMJ and never bothered with lighter stuff.

Same accuracy with Hornady 75gr HPs. 69gr Matchkings excellent results, but too rich for me.

Getting 0.75"/100yds and better with 64grPSP's and 62gr Tulammo. With a bench and bags, I might get that down -or not. Don't care for punching paper too much.

RU absolutely sure T3 Lite you have is 1:8, because most are 1:12? Available with both twists I know. Will be stamped on barrel if 1:8, alongside maker's name.

hdz

Hope last post didn't come across a bit sh1tty.

I know a guy who had a T3 Lite 1:12 and it was a one-hole job with 55grs.

Now I'm not saying you can't do better than I did with 55grs.
    Was just concerned that the 64grs etc might be a disappointment if it wasn't a 1:8 and you could waste 50.00 on ammo easily.

Yuba.

hdz

Hope last post didn't come across a bit sh1tty.

I know a guy who had a T3 Lite 1:12 and it was a one-hole job with 55grs.

Now I'm not saying you can't do better than I did with 55grs.
    Was just concerned that the 64grs etc might be a disappointment if it wasn't a 1:8 and you could waste 50.00 on ammo easily.

Yuba.

Shes a 1in8 alri :)

I specified it when ordering.. It took a while to get a hold of and ended up getting a gamey camo real tree one (changing to a PSE once I find myself in home again) anyway.

I havent shot lighter then 50gr or heavier then 60 so I need to find TIME to get out more.

'hdz

OK Good work Hdz.

The 55grs will work fine for foxes etc.
    I used remy umc 55 fmj for rabbits for several years with no probs- hard to get more than 150yds accuracy i found, while buddy's 1:12 remy 700 had extreme precision with them to 200 (we didn't try any further with it)

I have recently discovered Tulammo 62gr fmj's perform really well out of mine. Local dealer can't get rid of them to me fast enough! Wants to know if I will but em all! Dont got the dosh.

Tulammo dirty when cleaning, otherwise good. 3000fps at muzzle, kick a little less imho. higher cip pressure, but the T3 can take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 chrispin

Hi all .Have anyone used Hornady superformance varmint
    53 gr. the sportsden in navan usualy have them for €30
    but there out of stock at the moment.
    here`s a balistic gel test with same if you want to see
    them in action.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCqmclsRQmM

TriggerPL wrote: »
    How she shooting forya

Yes she goin good only been out a few nights with it..not been out as much as id like to..

Ah ya have that ! Send me a text so I have you number I forgot to save it and we can meet up some night for a shot