Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halfway House, Walkinstown, closed?

• 09-02-2013 12:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭

I've just heard that the liquidators came in today (8th). That place is a landmark with allegedly the best guinness in Ireland. I remember when it was bought for big money about 14 years ago when I was working in the pub across the road.

I thought that place would be there forever.

Can anyone verify this news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Jac123

Yeah just heard it myself . What a shame if it is true. 2 of our local pubs hit in less than a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭byrner88

heard this today, such a shame. The Submarine in Crumlin first to go on Tuesday and then The Halfway House gone today.

Bank of Scotland really looking to get out of the country and they're going the right way about it..... quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

theteal wrote: »
    I've just heard that the liquidators came in today (8th). That place is a landmark with allegedly the best guinness in Ireland. I remember when it was bought for big money about 14 years ago when I was working in the pub across the road.

I thought that place would be there forever.

Can anyone verify this news?

Bought for big money and big money invested in doing it all up from inside out, my mams cousin was the lad behind the renovation work.
    byrner88 wrote: »
    The Submarine in Crumlin first to go on Tuesday

Not only The Sub, but Rory O'Connors and Cono Sur Off-License aswell. Sad times as I knew the Off-License staff from working in the Ashleaf myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Re halfway house,Heard that ok, Have been there a few nights for meals over the months in the night time,The place was always empty it was a bit unreal being the only people in there,

Fowlers grange cross Ballyfermot is also in trouble,it was the old county bar,Not surprised all these pubs going downhill but its a bit sad all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

thats sad, they did a fine sunday carvery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Sad to see it go. Had a pint in there last night didn't know it was shutting..shame really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭liffeylite

many of these places reopen quite quickly after closing. they are quite often paying silly rents from pre celtic tiger days. once the business goes, someone else can open on realistic rents. hence you see so many new shops and businesses opening around Dublin.

still sad for the pub that was, nevertheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,074 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

so rorys and the sub first then the halfway house.... too many pubs in too small a space and not enough of a crowd to keep them all going

sad times especially for the sub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

too many pubs in too small a space

yup, 4 decent sized pubs in that 100m stretch of road did always seem bit much but it provided great options depending on your mood

or where you werent barred from :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Yeah I've often done the four in one night and back again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 murphy009

I know this is a forum is for speaking your mind, but have a bit of respect for the families involved and take this **** off a public site. Businesses close everyday and there are children affected by this who surf the net and this crap pops up, shameful. If you want to find out what happened to these pubs talk to someone instead of sitting on your laptop gossiping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

murphy009 wrote: »
    I know this is a forum is for speaking your mind, but have a bit of respect for the families involved and take this **** off a public site. Businesses close everyday and there are children affected by this who surf the net and this crap pops up, shameful. If you want to find out what happened to these pubs talk to someone instead of sitting on your laptop gossiping.

Have you a connection with those businessess ?
    Just wondering.
    One of those pubs is the local for a lot of my family and they would have known one of the original owners of one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

murphy009 wrote: »

Jayney - settle down mo-capítan! no one is giving out, spreading condolences more like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

jameshayes wrote: »
    Jayney - settle down mo-capítan! no one is giving out, spreading condolences more like!

first post nerves/panic etc.

rorys reopen again tomorrow evening and the sub lounge opening next week

Where did you hear this? Any idea about the offo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Murphy009, if you have a problem with a post, report it or pm me. JamesHayes, same applies, thats getting quite close to back seat modding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭stanley1

passed the Halfway House pub yesterday and it was open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 kennyboy9563

couldn't pass the Halfway House last night as it was open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

couldn't pass the Halfway House last night as it was open

Ehhh what?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

MarkMc wrote: »
    Ehhh what?

I think he means he went in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 kennyboy9563

Stanley1 said the Halfway was open when he passed it, whereas with me the Halfway was open but I couldn't pass it..... I went in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Would the same staff be re-hired in cases like this?or would the liquidator bring in his own crowd?

id say they will keep some of them on, i think stephen is still there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

It is sad to see pubs closing down but also a sign of the times.

If they re-open with cheaper rents and hand back the drinking public the €3 pint EVERYWHERE as par for the course then they would be packed all day, every day.

Until that happens the Irish pub is pretty much dead (in atmosphere at least)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭stanley1

id say they will keep soe of them on think ste is still there

queens english please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CommanderC

Just back from the Halfway House. Had a lovely meal. Really nice pub :)

Off-license is back open in the Ashleaf, new staff by the looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Glad to see some of these pubs reopening but if a pub in a working class area can't survive it's truly a sign of how fvcked the trade is these days. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Delta2113

Pub was closed again today - was to open back up at 5pm but sign was changed again after 5.30pm to 'Due to unforeseen circumstances we are unable to open for business today.'

Rumour new owners. 2-3 people with 'hand luggage' seen leaving around 5.15pm. Possible accountants or bankers. Anyone have more info?

Still closed so far today.Wouldn't mind if it was Weatherspoons that took over rather than a pub in this location go altogether.

Weatherspoons is pure speculation on my part just to be clear.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I was in the Halfway a few weeks ago for the first time in a couple of years. It was a Friday night and there were two young lads playing music in the bar. They were really good and played a load of songs you wouldn't normally hear in a pub - Apache, Neil Young, the Stranglers. Proper good guitar players as well. Anyone know if they gig anywhere else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Jaysus I hope it doesn't close. That'll be 2 of me favourite locals closed in the last month!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Pity - always liked that pub.

Don't think the sub was much of a loss to be honest.

There's an awful lot of boozers competing in that small radius though: Long Miler, Halfway, Eleanora, Bentley (still called that?), Kestrel and Cherry Tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I find it strange, the Elenora and the Kestrel are dumps imo but the Halfway House is/was a fine pub yet thats the one that closes

Still closed today but heard the 'old' owner had bought it back. Be shocked if it does not open soon.

The Bentley has been called the Black Forge now for years.

Back open as from Thursday June 25th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Was in it last night, no problems.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I passed it every day for years. Always thought it looked like a complete kip.

Getting a fresh lick of paint when I was passing in the past 20 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Ye, its well needed.
    Hopefully its a positive sign. It was never too bad inside, but outside on the Long Mile side was starting to get a bit run down looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Hammer15

The Long Miler right opposite the Halfway House is closed about two weeks now, another great boozer. Pity as I grew up there and was also good for food and drink. Afaik new owners took over and it was closed within a month.

Wonder when Wetherspoons is going to pick up one of these spots or The Sub.

Any update on the Long Mile Inn?

Delta2113 wrote: »
    Any update on the Long Mile Inn?

- Maybe open for Christmas I heard??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Who did you hear might be taking it over. Pm me if you don't want to give too much away.

Latest gossip I heard it was bought for €800,000 aprox. and the fixture and fittings have been stripped out.

A good price but the Long Mile Inn has always been quiet to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Delta2113 wrote: »
    Latest gossip I heard it was bought for €800,000 aprox. and the fixture and fittings have been stripped out.

A good price but the Long Mile Inn has always been quiet to me.

It would appear that way in recent times. It used to be jammed when I worked there as a lad 16-17 years ago. As it turns out, I've only ever set foot in the place once since it was done up about 10 years ago (I could be way off with that 10 years estimation i.e. when they knocked in to the old empty shop with that circular window that used to be next door).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

theteal wrote:
    It would appear that way in recent times. It used to be jammed when I worked there as a lad 16-17 years ago. As it turns out, I've only ever set foot in the place once since it was done up about 10 years ago (I could be way off with that 10 years estimation i.e. when they knocked in to the old empty shop with that circular window that used to be next door).

I remember that little window. Had a tin of soup just sitting there for years. Haha. Flashback from my childhood, that it..... I was around 12 when they knocked through and done up the Long Miler. Always thought it was **** afterwards...

Bring back the fish tanks, long couches and raised seating down the back, I say!