Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tallafornia "bench off" tonight TV3 10pm

• 01-02-2013 10:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭

Tallafornia is awful trash but I can't seem to refrain from watching it, also tonight may provide some additional interest or at least entertainment. Marc O'Neill and Cormac Branagan are having a competition to see who has the biggest bench. In the preview for the show Cormac is shown benching with what looks to be 100 kg comfortably for reps and failing with what looks to be 150 or 160 kg.

Previously on twitter Cormac has said that he has benched 170 kg at a bodyweight of 80 kg and done 28 reps with 100 kg at a bodywieght of 75 kg. Sick benching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

oh dear god....is this what health and fitness forum has come to??

Nice one, that's my Friday night sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQwOjqgocpuoZdPvkVF3Cu8Sa8ZoDyFoH1VygvBzyvnFQgw25QR7w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Tallafornia is awful trash but I can't seem to refrain from watching it, also tonight may provide some additional interest or at least entertainment. Marc O'Neill and Cormac Branagan are having a competition to see who has the biggest bench. In the preview for the show Cormac is shown benching with what looks to be 100 kg comfortably for reps and failing with what looks to be 150 or 160 kg.

Previously on twitter Cormac has said that he has benched 170 kg at a bodyweight of 80 kg and done 28 reps with 100 kg at a bodywieght of 75 kg. Sick benching!

I dunnno, were they not 15Kg plates rather than 20Kg. They looked a bit small for 20kg plates.

:cool: Not that I watch tallafornia or anything :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

brownej wrote: »
    I dunnno, were they not 15Kg plates rather than 20Kg. They looked a bit small for 20kg plates.

:cool: Not that I watch tallafornia or anything :cool:

There's a lot of 400mm diameter 20s out there (as opposed to 450mm). Would be interesting to watch. And re: their claimed numbers.,. Anyone and can claim it, it only counts when you do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Hanley wrote: »
    There's a lot of 400mm diameter 20s out there (as opposed to 450mm). Would be interesting to watch. And re: their claimed numbers.,. Anyone and can claim it, it only counts when you do it.

you need to get RevFit tshirts on them lads!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,396 ✭✭✭COH

A friend of mine was judging an in-house strongman comp in Parkwest Gym a month or two ag. Squat BW x max reps, OHP and deadlift I think... Cormac the self professed 'strongest man in the history of anything ever' made a show of himself by all accounts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

80kg bodyweight? How short is he, he is pretty big dude to weigh that little. Still reping 100kg is still only a dream to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

80kg bodyweight? How short is he, he is pretty big dude to weigh that little. Still reping 100kg is still only a dream to me.

I think hes 5ft 9in, him dave and the new lad are massive in fairness to them, way bigger then the jersey shore/geordie shore lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I'd say Cormac is average height or a bit below - maybe 5 foot 7 - 5 foot 9. Before I saw the 80 kg BW figure on twitter I would have estimated him as about that given his height and build when standing beside others. I'd say he's one of those guys who is impressive at a relatively low bodyweight and can look very big in isolation. Tan helps too.

Weights can be deceptive. Beastly powerlifter Jamie Lewis has recently blogged about cutting weight to around 76 kg from his walking around weight of around 88 kg. I'd say many average people looking at the pics would estimate that he is way heavier than those weights. BTW blog is probably NSFW as there is some nudity.
    http://chaosandpain.blogspot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭imnothim

COH wrote: »
    A friend of mine was judging an in-house strongman comp in Parkwest Gym a month or two ag. Squat BW x max reps, OHP and deadlift I think... Cormac the self professed 'strongest man in the history of anything ever' made a show of himself by all accounts :D

what sort of rep total would get into the "not making a show of yourself category"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Don't know the chap at all, but all the Tallafornia lads are all in gym I go to, Citywest... I did personally see the Corminator (back when he was just plain ol Cormac) bench 140kg for 4 reps one day about 4 years ago - although I gather all the reps would have been 'illegal' in competition (ie, back arched, not flat to bench or whatever)... I have never watched the show nor had a conversation with the chap, but to fair, he seems a harmless enough sort...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Insert joke using the words snatch, big and Nikki ...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,396 ✭✭✭COH

imnothim wrote: »
    what sort of rep total would get into the "not making a show of yourself category"?

Refused to squat, then demanded he be allowed squat after the comp was over :confused: So I think the rep total was zero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I'd rather they had a comp based on squatting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

I was in Santa Ponsa at the same time as them. The Corminator used to wear cotton tracksuit bottoms on the beach and all. Think it's a clear case of chicken legs. I reckon they're all on ''stuff'' anyway, except for Jay and Philly.

COH wrote: »
    Refused to squat, then demanded he be allowed squat after the comp was over :confused: So I think the rep total was zero

sorry that sounded diff. in my head. in general terms what sort of reps were lads banging out on the day?
    ohp @ b.w sounds tough

imnothim wrote: »

sorry that sounded diff. in my head. in general terms what sort of reps were lads banging out on the day?
    ohp @ b.w sounds tough

I wasn't there but the OHP was at half-BW as far as I know. The Bench & Squat were BW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

cormac could bench 200kg if he wanted..the camera's were probably putting him off..

they dont call him the corminator for nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

The new chap, marc, has decent legs. They all seem sound enough, they are just putting on an act to make show somewhat interesting. of those that lift I say only Jay is natural.

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    I wasn't there but the OHP was at half-BW as far as I know. The Bench & Squat were BW.

that format sounds like a bit of craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Would you believe the half of it?

Yesterday's rugby supplement in the Irish Times (talking about stephen ferris)

We had him in 2005 in japan on the development tour. He was power cleaning around 120kg to 140kg. In fact he was cleaning that much that we had to get more weights into the gym in japan - a 20 year old.

There you go Corminator....

mfceiling wrote: »

We had him in 2005 in japan on the development tour. He was power cleaning around 120kg to 140kg. In fact he was cleaning that much that we had to get more weights into the gym in japan - a 20 year old.

The gym didnt have more than 140kg worth of plates?? Rrrrigghhhttt..

Would me easy to say something racist about that. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

would love to see how many med ball push ups they could do - with both hands on the ball

mfceiling wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

Why is the sound quality so ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

john_cappa wrote: »
    Why is the sound quality so ****!

Matching the standard of the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

squod wrote: »
    Insert joke using the words snatch, big and Nikki ...............

I bet Nikki has a big snatch.

How's that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    would love to see how many med ball push ups they could do - with both hands on the ball

For real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

link_2007 wrote: »
    Matching the standard of the show?

Standard is bad tonight! Nothing happening!
    Bench off was slightly funny!

Numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Dave 101

Numbers?

cormac missed 150, mark hit 155, dave 160 ?? open to correction

Nice. Not bad!! Assume tekkers was decent?

bodybuilding tekkers, touch bounce go, actually daves wasnt tat bad iirc

Dave 101 wrote: »
    I thought that too - hard to hear though with Cormac talking/complaining so much during the bench off.

According to Cormac's twitter he did 160 kg at 80 kg BW :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

Dave 101 wrote: »

Could be wrong I thought cormac missed 160 and Dave did 170??

I thought that too - hard to hear though with Cormac talking/complaining so much during the bench off.

According to Cormac's twitter he did 160 kg at 80 kg BW :confused:

sound was sh*tty alright, if it was 160 they were some stumpy ass 10s

Sounds like a repeat viewing is needed to verify the numbers!

3 very strong lads in any case and technique not bad at all. Not powerlifting legal standard (no pause) but full ROM and Cormac was heard telling Marc not to bounce the bar off his chest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Boss_eye

A few buddies of mine told me they had been in the Company of that Cormac fella , and he proceeded to tell them he was the strongest 90kg lifter in Ireland, obviously not knowing the company he was in, they let him go on and on and on , all about his 'numbers' etc , all the while they where having a nice wee giggle :-) ......I think he is on his own little planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭POSSY

I threw it on TV3 player to check it out... thanks to you lot my eyes were just raped, I hope ye're happy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Are these lads on the aul steronz or what? dave's 170 very impressive, poor phil looking on in the background...

soon_meme_collection_640_03.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

You could see Cormac's world falling down around him when he realised he was out benched.

Should have had them all weighed so he could argue he had the best coefficient!

Also did anyone else notice Dave wearing a GYM magazine tank top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

Iirc I saw something online about the competition in Citywest and there was a two weight categories and Cormac was in the lighter one.

Now he had to bench iirc 95kg and squat 120kg where I saw it they had him winning his category by miles - 28 on the bench and 40+ on the squat - is this not correct?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/A8oADadCUAAmQVY.jpg

Must catch the bench off.

I think Cormac is a decent sort - on a really sh1t show and now has some celebrity and trying to monetize this but it's not easy.

As for strongest lifter in Ireland - his ego needs to be reigned in just a 'bit' there Boss eye! :)

The Guvnor wrote: »
    Iirc I saw something online about the competition in Citywest and there was a two weight categories and Cormac was in the lighter one.

Now he had to bench iirc 95kg and squat 120kg where I saw it they had him winning his category by miles - 28 on the bench and 40+ on the squat - is this not correct?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/A8oADadCUAAmQVY.jpg

Must catch the bench off.

I think Cormac is a decent sort - on a really sh1t show and now has some celebrity and trying to monetize this but it's not easy.

As for strongest lifter in Ireland - his ego needs to be reigned in just a 'bit' there Boss eye! :)

That's a very old competition - at least 3/4 years ago. The chap in the other pic in your link, Gunars, is about 5 stone lighter now & competes in bodybuilding events as far as I know!

Edit: just copped it says December 2008 on the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

This is a video from this years strongman challenge in Citywest, where Cormac made a show of himself. The overall comp was won by a junior called Shane Cullen, who possessed a huge amount of strength for his weight. He also won the Nabba Mr. Ireland Juniors in bodybuilding back in October, so is a good all rounder.

That's a very old competition - at least 3/4 years ago. The chap in the other pic in your link, Gunars, is about 5 stone lighter now & competes in bodybuilding events as far as I know!

Edit: just copped it says December 2008 on the link.

Never noticed the date so he has gotten weaker in the interim 5 years? :D

I noticed a few strong chaps in that video.

Neil Browne
    Bernie Delaney - if I am not mistaken does or did Bernie not compete in the 90kg class? I'd like to see The Corminator tell Bernie he is the strongest 90kg man in Ireland! :D

Boss_eye wrote: »
    A few buddies of mine told me they had been in the Company of that Cormac fella , and he proceeded to tell them he was the strongest 90kg lifter in Ireland, obviously not knowing the company he was in, they let him go on and on and on , all about his 'numbers' etc , all the while they where having a nice wee giggle :-) ......I think he is on his own little planet.
    The Guvnor wrote: »
    I noticed a few strong chaps in that video.

Neil Browne
    Bernie Delaney - if I am not mistaken does or did Bernie not compete in the 90kg class? I'd like to see The Corminator tell Bernie he is the strongest 90kg man in Ireland! :D

That's Bernie above there ^^

...I don't think he'd even be in the top 3 strongest on this forum, never mind Ireland?!