Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting in to lamping

• 28-01-2013 1:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭

Well lads i was thinking about getting in to lamping. How much would it cost for a rifle and lamping equipment i was thinking about a .223 rifle. any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

warehouse1 wrote: »
    Well lads i was thinking about getting in to lamping. How much would it cost for a rifle and lamping equipment i was thinking about a .223 rifle. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Have a look in the for sale/wanted section here to get a rough idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

22 hornet plenty of them good reasonable price and well capable of the job. 46 foxes stung by my hornet this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

Avaible in 140mm and 170mm for only €45
    http://www.wildhunter.eu/index.php?dispatch=products.view&product_id=259
    Is wildhunter a good product to start with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

If you haven't much experience shooting, get used to day time shooting first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭warehouse1

cool ill call into my local dealer and have a look.What kind of killing range would you have with a hornet.

routinely 150 -180 yards. Thats a long way under a lamp at night, go for the chest. I always will call them in as close as they will come, 90% of my shots are 100 - 120 yards.

I was using 35g hornady very successful but recently bought 45gr Remington at €37 per box 50. Hard hitting round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 woodcock89

routinely 150 -180 yards. Thats a long way under a lamp at night, go for the chest. I always will call them in as close as they will come, 90% of my shots are 100 - 120 yards.

I was using 35g hornady very successful but recently bought 45gr Remington at €37 per box 50. Hard hitting round.

Warehouse1 hope u don't mind me asking.

How's things. If you don't mind me asking where do you buy the 45gr remingtons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

bought marlin.22magnum myself 320e for bare gun brand new in box had scope already off a friend who sold his rifle..... well able for a fox out to 200yards for head shot or even in behind front shoulder will drop them for sure even tho i do call mine in as close as i can....just got a lensor t7 scope mount lamp for it wrks perfect together....16e for box of 50,,,50gr jhp...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Avaible in 140mm and 170mm for only €45
    http://www.wildhunter.eu/index.php?dispatch=products.view&product_id=259
    Is wildhunter a good product to start with?

Ordered one today at €45 inc P&P. What a bargain. And it looks to be an exact clone of the Lightforce 140.

I have the UCaller 170 handheld so this will do for scope mounting. Smaller and lighter.

That is a good range they have. ill look into getting one.just need to get the funds sorted first.

22 hornet rounds were bought from a Gentleman in Monaghan, Malcolm Graham.

Sports Den in Navan for €45, Duffys in Galway are 39.99 though last time I was in galway he wanted €50 for a box, best joke ever, ever. He didn't see the joke when I told him I was from Cavan try again.

I should be alright for hornets until the next horde of zombie foxes attack. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

i took cavan shooters advice on another forum and bought a hornet, great yoke for the lamp, most shots will be under 120 anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭swift220

if i didnt mind paying the price for hornet ammo, i would get a 220 swift far more power for around the same price,

for the record, i used to have a swift but traded it for a 223 and never looked back great round, great choice of bullets from 40gr to 75 gr and alot cheaper to run than a hornet,

Warehouse stick with your original choice

sound for the advice lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭iand220

swift220 wrote: »
    if i didnt mind paying the price for hornet ammo, i would get a 220 swift far more power for around the same price,

for the record, i used to have a swift but traded it for a 223 and never looked back great round, great choice of bullets from 40gr to 75 gr and alot cheaper to run than a hornet,

Warehouse stick with your original choice

Dont waste your time with a hornet being quite honest, i have had a hornet, a .223 and a swift and there is no comparison from the hornet to the .223 never mind the swift.

For variety of ammo, the killing power and price u cannot beat a .223 end of story!

if you want to pay more money for ammo (last box of swift bullets i got was €35) but want a bigger bang you can pick up swifts for very right money nowadays!

i wouldnt go for a hornet either, 3 different lads have brought me hornets to zero, couldnt get any of them right. 223 cheaper ammo and more accurate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

well lads ,im in same dilema looking for a good setup for reynard and that can also be used for rabbits ,i have a joint licence on a 22lr on an other lads gun ,but he traded it in again a 243,(he owned the gun),and my licence is out in june and im looking for a decent and affordable (low funds) ,any idea what would be best option in 22lr i would like to stick to 22lr until funds are more plenty,experience and advise is and allways greatly aprecated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

I wouldn't recommend the .22lr for foxes id go hornet or .17HMR if its for both, id go for a Centre-fire for foxes

thanks wf, yeh its seems to be the genaral concenus for budget shooting from a few lads i asked, i think i will go that route as i really want to put the hammer on reynard round my area ,a mate of mine rang me 2wks ago ,he said he had afox standing rite outside his back door and when he opened the door this fox stood to him:eek: he has applied for his first shotgun licence and is still waiting for 6wks goin on 7, anywho i went out for a couple of nites with my own shotgun,as this lad appears to come around 9-9.30 eveynite, but ive had no luck,i just want a rifle that i can nail reynard and get a few rabbits for the pot any ideas as to what price roughly for a budget set up,ie rifle and scope,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭franknrol

thanks wf, yeh its seems to be the genaral concenus for budget shooting from a few lads i asked, i think i will go that route as i really want to put the hammer on reynard round my area ,a mate of mine rang me 2wks ago ,he said he had afox standing rite outside his back door and when he opened the door this fox stood to him:eek: he has applied for his first shotgun licence and is still waiting for 6wks goin on 7, anywho i went out for a couple of nites with my own shotgun,as this lad appears to come around 9-9.30 eveynite, but ive had no luck,i just want a rifle that i can nail reynard and get a few rabbits for the pot any ideas as to what price roughly for a budget set up,ie rifle and scope,

what part are ya in... i'll gladly come help ya thin the red felllas out. feckers are scarce bout these parts:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Not bad for what your getting! perfect for foxes !http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056869796
    May be worth throwing a Pm to this man but IMO go for .223 http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056859752

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

what would be best option in 22lr i would like to stick to 22lr until funds are more plenty,experience and advise is and allways greatly aprecated
    Have a look o the for sale section. There are a few .22lr there for under 400.That's scope and all. Do a substitution and you'll have the gun within 2-3 weeks. Then later on down the road look towards a centrefire.

Just tonight a Remmy 522 went up for €300. I've no idea about the rifle in terms of performance, etc but for 300 it's a start. Even if you only get €150 -200 as a trade i for it later it'll serve it's purpose now. For up to 500 you have slightly more choices.

Do a search.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

thanks all for advise and i think will look at getting an other 22lr an just sub it on the licence for time being,and learn to call reynard in real close for a safe an clean shot at him ,if the opp arises,and as an op said trade in the 22lr again a 223 down the line,when funds improve,franknol im 30mins the dublin side of ya;)