Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to make the big leap

Options
  • 17-01-2013 1:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭

Hi there,

I'm a 22 year old marketer in Galway. I finished my masters degree at 21 in August and since then I've been working as a Digital Marketing Manager for a local company. Recently I've just experienced all my friends leaving, I've had some very bad experiences here and I just want a clean start. I sat in a cafe in London at 15 and said I wanted to be a marketer and work in London, well I'm halfway there!

I don't have much savings or a family to fall back on for financial support or a place to stay. I know people over there but I don't know if I could put them out by asking them to stay while I look for a job. I have a relatively good paying job here and I'm starting to save as of today but I realise that I can't leave it until I have something concrete sorted in London. I suppose I'd need about at least £3k in savings to move and search but I'm nowhere near that.

How do you start looking for a job? Something I'm fearful of is that my location will stand against me, that I'd need about 5 weeks notice to start. What should I do?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Dr.Sanchez

I moved over with no money in my account... It's an hour away, not another planet!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Dr.Sanchez wrote: »
    I moved over with no money in my account... It's an hour away, not another planet!

Did you stay with friends and look for a job or have one lined up?