Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bought a car with no logbook

• 15-01-2013 12:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Lads i don't know if the above will apply to me or not but heres my story, right i bought an 89 mini mayfair off of what i can only describe as an itinerant and i didnt recieve a logbook with the car and going back to him isnt an option as from what i could tell him house was a bomb site. Long story short I've no logbook nor is it in my name so how can i get a logbook for the car in my name ? Will the above process work for me or have i a whole other strenuous ordeal on my hands ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

Robbie1988 wrote: »
    The guy I got it off was foreign, but it was right outside his house he even went back in to get me spare lights for it. He said he only bought it himself and who he bought it off tol him somethin about tax and the log book going to him so I think I will just go to the Garda station in a while and try get it all sorted. Otherwise back to that fela's house

you for real? :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

Noel95 wrote: »
    Lads i don't know if the above will apply to me or not but heres my story, right i bought an 89 mini mayfair off of what i can only describe as an itinerant and i didnt recieve a logbook with the car and going back to him isnt an option as from what i could tell him house was a bomb site. Long story short I've no logbook nor is it in my name so how can i get a logbook for the car in my name ? Will the above process work for me or have i a whole other strenuous ordeal on my hands ?

you can't just fill out a form and get the log book in your name unless the lost one was in your name, a replacement would be sent to the registered owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

You can get a form and go in ton the commissioner of oaths and get them to sign that the car is right fully yours.

That said, why you paid for something that may very well not have belonged to the seller in then first place is beyond me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

The form also needs a trip to a main dealer to verify the car matches the number plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I hope the car wasn't stolen and was being sold on, as Shannon could be alerted when the new owner goes to apply for a new log book. Crazy situation to let yourself into OP, alarm bells should have been ringing before handing over the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ThreeLineWhip

Shannon will alert the actual real owner when you attempt to register your ownership.
    You better hope there is nothing wrong as it could mean a spell inside for receiving stolen goods.

Shannon will alert the actual real owner when you attempt to register your ownership.
    You better hope there is nothing wrong as it could mean a spell inside for receiving stolen goods.

The op bought the car in good faith, he would lose the car but has done nothing wrong so won't be facing a "spell inside".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

The op bought the car in good faith, he would lose the car but has done nothing wrong so won't be facing a "spell inside".

In good faith, but with no supporting paperwork..

He shouldn't have been handed the paper work anyway, its the sellers job to send that off.

I wouldn't have gone near the car myself, paper work or no paper work with a seller fitting the description in the op but he may have claimed he would send it off etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

If you're not joking, the car is probably stolen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

op do a history check on it .it should tell you if is stolen or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭TPM

You have got your self into a bad situation.
    You really need to go back to the person you bought it off and ask about the documents, if that fails I honestly dont know what you should do.
    If the car turns out to be stolen it is basically just you saying you didnt steal it and that you didnt know it was stolen, as I doubt you got a receipt or that the seller will say that they sold it to you in good faith.
    Your best option might to be go to the gardi and get it on record that the car is in your possession and that you bought it in good faith before anything shows up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

He shouldn't have been handed the paper work anyway, its the sellers job to send that off.

No, but he should have inspected it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Contact shannon and take it from there
    Until its sorted don't spend any money on it just incase it can't be registered in your name.

FWI I feel the current system leaves the buyier exposed as some sellers are air heads when it comes to sending in paperwork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Am I the only one that thinks this is a wind up?
    Hilarious, but still a wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Noel95

This is no wind up lads, when i say itinerant i mean he was a hoarder with f**k all sanitary skills and it was 4 years ago when the car was bought and its lying idle since and the original investment was 50 euro so if worst comes to worst ill make a track car out of it and if i cant do that good look to it like 50 euro 4 years ago is nothin to cry over and if im honest i dont remember where he lives, he was harmless enough though so if it came to it im sure my father remembers the place and a trip there could sort it so without out seeking him out wjat can i do to have this car in my name ?

Speak to your Commissioner of Oaths and also bring the car to a dealer and get it verified. Don't know what dealer you would have to go to, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Wizard01

Ring Shannon, tell them you bought this car but never received the tax book, (it might of gotten lost in the post).
    I'm nearly sure you have to get a form and get it signed by a solicitor, take the car to a registered garage (toyota, opel etc) to get them to fill in information about the car, the chasis number etc.
    Then send the form off to Shannon, should be sorted out, know people who had to go through this process.
    Hope that helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

This looks like a troll. The username suggest a young lad of around 18. If bought 4 years ago, he would have been 14 and not legally allowed to buy drive the car anyway. Somethings not right here, age excluded.

Their is no minimum age to buy a car. A child can be down as registered owner. No law against it.

There is a minimum age to drive however. ;)

goz83 wrote: »
    This looks like a troll. The username suggest a young lad of around 18. If bought 4 years ago, he would have been 14 and not legally allowed to buy the car anyway. Somethings not right here, age excluded.

Its a 50 euro car, hardly a Ferrari now is it.

double post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Its a 50 euro car, hardly a Ferrari now is it.
    And a 50 euro 89 Mini, that's been left idle for 4 years. I'm surprised there's anything more than a pile of iron oxide left where it was last parked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

navara man wrote: »
    op do a history check on it .it should tell you if is stolen or not

Not necessarily:
    http://www.cartell.ie/2012/09/stolen-vehicle-data-must-be-released/

"Each year there are upwards of 11,000 stolen vehicles of which 2,000 go unrecovered. It is these unrecovered vehicles that are resold to unsuspecting members of the public. Because the Gardai do not release the data, thieves in Ireland do not have to clone the vehicle by using false registration plates of a similar “clean” vehicle. In other words the thief can leave the existing registration plates on the vehicle safe in the knowledge that the only people who know the car is stolen is the Gardai and the Insurer."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭scrap_man

Its very easy to get the book in your name, provided that it isn't stolen or down as being scrapped.
    Get an aphadavid form (probably wrong spelling) in the tax office, you fill in your details and the cars details and the reason why you never got a book with it, being a classic car any excuse will do. You have to get it stamped by a main dealer to say the chassis number on the form matches the car, get it signed by a comissioner of oaths and hand it in to the tax office. I got one done 2 years ago and she printed it while I waited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

The procedure is that you contact Shannon.They will write to the last registered owner and ask them if they are disputing your claim of ownership.There is a time limit on the registered owner replying and if he does not it is assumed he is not disputing your claim.Shannon will then issue a new logbook with you recorded as the owner.I have done this process for someone so I know this is how its done.Should take 3 to weeks.

Look lads i want serious answers here, yea i was 14 buyin the car, last time i checked theres no law against buyin a car at that age and its my business as to why it has been lying idle and why i bought it in the first place and so what i i got it so cheap its his loss for not knowin what it was worth and its not a pile of iron oxide for your information it has been dry stored with a tarp over it and for those of you that think this is a troll go f**k yourselves and occupy your time elsewhere and those of you genuinely offering helpful sujestions thank you

Meow!

Look lads i want serious answers here, yea i was 14 buyin the car, last time i checked theres no law against buyin a car at that age and its my business as to why it has been lying idle and why i bought it in the first place and so what i i got it so cheap its his loss for not knowin what it was worth and its not a pile of iron oxide for your information it has been dry stored with a tarp over it and for those of you that think this is a troll go f**k yourselves and occupy your time elsewhere and those of you genuinely offering helpful sujestions thank you

Little twirp. I'm sure the itinerant knew exactly what he sold you. And it ain't no Ferrari :pac:

You now know exactly what to do with your piss bucket, so have fun. 3 posts before needing your mouth washed out. Classy lad.

Nice, take the high road like so many others out there thinking you're better than every one else. Did i say it was a ferari ? No i didn't and i will take my 'piss bucket' as you call it and get it transfered into my name with the useful information given by several other members on here so thanks but no thanks on your input you egotistical, stuck up bellend, yours truely, the proud mini owner who couldn't care less if you were the pope, you're still an arsehole

Youve gotten the answers you need on numerous occasions on this thread.

Closed