Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have a Beard?

• 10-01-2013 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭

What do you think of beards/facial hair? Do you have any and like to keep it that way?

I always say now there are two types of people without beards, boys and women and I am NEITHER.

Do you have a beard/facial hair? 259 votes

Yeah I gotta beard or facial hair
    0% 0 votes
    I have no beard or facial hair
    75% 196 votes
    I am a boy
    23% 61 votes
    I am a woman
    0% 2 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No. Beards are for teachers and unshaven people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Do you have a Beard?

Nope I just act the Goat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

What do you think of beards/facial hair? Do you have any and like to keep it that way?

I always say now there are two types of people without beards, boys and women and I am NEITHER.
    I take it then you're a Union Leader?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Sometimes. I'm a little bit wooooo, little bit waaaaay:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i was in the us last week, lot of lads have them compared to here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I can grow a super crazy looking beard in about 2/3 months, it is white I got paid last year and this year to play santy, once I shave 4-5 days later it is well on the way to making me fook up the yetes shiit,

I put it down to not shaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I have a full terrorist beard at the moment. I'm just waiting for the call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Absolutezero

No. *Looks around nervously for Seal Team Six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Huckster

I like short-ish beards, but not the dirty fishman type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

Every man should grow a beard at least once in his life.

It keeps your chin warm in winter and gives you something to stroke when contemplating lifes hard problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Some women have beards too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

Huckster wrote: »
    I like short-ish beards, but not the dirty fishman type.

ahhhh i love the dirty fisherman type. big old natural full beard. :D:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Some women have beards too.

Some are beards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Yes, I have a long flowing beard that reaches my knees, but I tuck it into my clothes so people just think it's pubic hair if they see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Short beards/stubble is hot on a guy. I'm in favour of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭boomshakalaka

I haven't got a beard, obviously, because I am a woman. My boyfriend has one (out of sheer laziness I presume) but it suits him. I only get annoyed when his 'fangs' get too long (the moustache bits that grow over the lip). Personally I find some facial hair attractive as long as it's not bum-like or wizard-like.

Some are beards

Your looking at them upside down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I'm too young.

I haven't got a beard, obviously, because I am a woman. My boyfriend has one (out of sheer laziness I presume) but it suits him. I only get annoyed when his 'fangs' get too long (the moustache bits that grow over the lip). Personally I find some facial hair attractive as long as it's not bum-like or wizard-like.

I know where you can buy flame throwers cheep.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Have a beard at the moment. Due a trim. Trim it down every 6 to 15 weeks.

Yeah did a bit of trimming on those fangs today. They look desperate when it happens. I like the bum look except for the fangs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

thats very precise, while not being precise at all

So I am guessing every 11 weeks your beard shiits its self, while the under hairs laugh, so loud you think you are hearing things.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

thats very precise, while not being precise at all

Well, 6 weeks would be the minimum, have regularly gone months without considering it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

If I have one more face lift I will.

So I am guessing every 11 weeks your beard shiits its self, while the under hairs laugh, so loud you think you are hearing things.

Eh, think I'll just say no to that. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Beards are great for all sorts. Storing soup for later, seasoning a nice meal with chin dandruff and bits of fluff, acting as a built in napkin to stop red sauce/mayo/curry from dripping onto your shirt and most important of all hiding the jowls of fat hanging out your hideously ugly face.

Don't forget in these cold times its like a scarf as well.

mitosis wrote: »
    If I have one more face lift I will.

Is that like your hitching and a car stops to give you a lift, then they see you and speed off and only your face gets a lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

have a fair bit of stubble, mine goes red if left too long tho:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

OP sounds like they just hit puberty.

kevthegaff wrote: »
    have a fair bit of stubble, mine goes red if left too long tho:D

I have fair hair on me head, but I have a redish haired beard. really weird.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

I find it's quite common amongst men to grow a beard or stubble when they notice they are beginning to go bald.

Interesting observation there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭boomshakalaka

I have fair hair on me head, but I have a redish haired beard. really weird.

It's pretty common as far as I know, I know a good few lads that have dark/fair hair on their heads, but a red(ish) beard!

But not when they are bald, your claim sir is an insult to the full heads of hair around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Have a 4 month old beard currently,have vowed not to shave it until 2014.Just trim the moustache every few weeks to make eating a pleasant affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

A lot of hipsters on this thread with their 'ironic' facial hair, no?

Even if I wanted to grow a beard, I'd look ridiculous. George Clooney might get away with a grey/white combo beard, but I suspect I'd just look like a tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

I have a beard but it's mainly just because I couldn't be arsed to shave. I kinda like it though.

Have a 4 month old beard currently,have vowed not to shave it until 2014.Just trim the moustache every few weeks to make eating a pleasant affair.

It will be the same as a face lift (beard lift) just let it do its own thing, to clip or trim is you thinking, I look good like this, let it be its own master, let it rome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Yes I do and its name is Hank

A lot of hipsters on this thread with their 'ironic' facial hair, no?

Even if I wanted to grow a beard, I'd look ridiculous. George Clooney might get away with a grey/white combo beard, but I suspect I'd just look like a tube.

Smarties like, win win for you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Aside, your avatar is Neandertal man... *Pedant*:o:D

Oh yea on topic? I have a beard.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, I do indeed - a "circle beard" or goatee plus 'tache in other words. Went clean shaven for 10 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

I have a square jaw greek gods would die for. To cover it up with hair would deny wimmenz and gheys of a spectacle created by the roman catholic church god himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I have a beard and it is as mighty as it is long!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Of course I have a beard. Bare chins are for girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

I've a weird growth of beard. I can grow a decent goatee but my cheek hair is fair and takes ages to turn brown. I look like a piebald for about 2-3 weeks while I'm growing it out. After which I tend to get fed up of the itching and just shave it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Wibbs wrote: »
    Aside, your avatar is Neandertal man... *Pedant*:o:D

I couldnt find a decent Cro Magnon one so I said feck it any old caveman will do. And I'd have gotten away with it too if it wasnt for that pesky Wibbs *shakes fist*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Hippies! wrote: »
    I have a square jaw greek gods would die for. To cover it up with hair would deny wimmenz and gheys of a spectacle created by the roman catholic church god himself.

In other words, "I can't grow a beard" :pac: