Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think you'd survive a plane crash?

• 02-01-2013 12:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭

Let's say everyone is injured in a severe plane crash and only 50% of the passengers manage to survive.

Everyone is strapped into their seats and ready to land (you're a passenger don't forget).

Everyone survives the up to the point of crash landing (nobody dies from heart attacks etc)

The plane crash lands on a runway.

Do you think you'd survive?

Do you think you'd survive a plane crash? 59 votes

Yes, I would probably survive.
    0% 0 votes
    No, I'd probably die.
    100% 59 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

How are you getting wifi in a crashed plane, Chuck? Can't be Ryanair anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

It's 50/50 really

There's an app for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

If I was among the 50% that survived then yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'd say 50/50

EDIT: I'm not the fastest sarky bollix tonight :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Id probably do what Bane did in the Dark Knight Rises to save myself..

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

How would I know?!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Oh come on guys. Do you think you'd be able to escape the wreckage, fires etc

Work with me goddamit. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

As I'd be sitting up front probably not unfortunately.

Confab wrote: »
    How are you getting wifi in a crashed plane, Chuck? Can't be Ryanair anyway.

they have it on delta :D

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    As I'd be sitting up front probably not unfortunately.

You're a passenger don't forget. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Oh come on guys. Do you think you'd be able to escape the wreckage, fires etc

Work with me goddamit. :mad:

Leave us alone, we're trying to survive a flaming crash site if we haven't been killed and here you are pressurising us. That's nice that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Im confident that if I survived the impact and was conscious, I would be able to use my wits and initiative to make my way to safety. Once that happens, it's a case of going back for the others and getting them to safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Let's say everyone is injured in a severe plane crash and only 50% of the passengers manage to survive.

Do you think you'd survive?
    cjuch, I am very very very drunk but even I know this is a stupid ceistion?

Are you alright Mucker? I'd savw you from the bad plane with my awesomeness :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Flip a coin. Theirs your answer.

Coin says no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Knowing my luck, I'd probably be on the loo!

So bummer, probably wouldn't survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

It depends did the plane hit something head on or did it reverse in to it?

Boombastic wrote: »

It wasn't parallel parking. It fell out of the feckin sky!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I'd probably be killed in the massive fireball cause I'd be busy looting the little carts to get all the miniature's of Johnny Walkers....:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

As I'd be flying Ryanair, front or back, and not in the exit-rows or at the very front, I'd probably die in the aisle, blocked by people grabbing their bags.

foxinsox wrote: »
    Knowing my luck, I'd probably be on the loo!

So bummer, probably wouldn't survive.

I've changed the OP to remove that variable specially for you fox. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Extinction

It wasn't parallel parking. It fell out of the feckin sky!

Did it fall on land or sea cause I cant swim

• Registered Users Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I'd probably die of a heart attack before the plane hit the ground. So NO, the plane crash would'nt kill me, the knowledge that it was about to happen would......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Hopefully I'd have a heart attack before the impact.

Boombastic wrote: »

Planes flying in reverse? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Where To wrote: »
    cjuch, I am very very very drunk but even I know this is a stupid ceistion?

Are you alright Mucker? I'd savw you from the bad plane with my awesomeness :)
    I got thanked by pilotduke, scary stuff. Hey pilotdude baby, will you fly me to the dancelappers club? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,060 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What kind of plane?

If it was a large commercial flight then it's unlikely that 50% would survive. If the crash is bad enough to kill half of the people on board then in practice it'd probably kill way more than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

You're a passenger don't forget. ;)

Ah yes just saw that. Nah wouldn't survive, no one survives. Flying is very dangerous and all of ye reading this should never fly again!!!

The Aerospace industry has been trying to silence me for years!

Extinction wrote: »
    Did it fall on land or sea cause I cant swim

I don't think you'll be able to walk either after this :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 34,431 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Im confident that if I survived the impact and was conscious, I would be able to use my wits and initiative to make my way to safety. Once that happens, it's a case of going back for the others and getting them to safety.

You'd probably be better off saving people as you exited the plane, in one swoop.

Leaving the disaster site only to go back in again is a bit foolish and kind of negates leaving it in the first place. Especially with fuel tanks which are on the verge of exploding.

I'd probably die of a heart attack before.....
    charlemont wrote: »
    Hopefully I'd have a heart attack before....

OP changed to remove another variable. :o