Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toilet Attendents

• 01-01-2013 2:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭

So there I was last night, enjoying myself in a club as one does, when at the end of the night I pop into the jacks one last time before getting on the train. After the quick post-urinal hand rinse in the sink (one must be fastidious nowadays) the African lad in there starts shouting and roaring as I walk off. "Excuse me! You didn't tip me all night! All night! That is bullsh*t!" etc and he actually follows me out of the toilet in order to continue his rant. The lights are on and everyone is leaving at this stage. I politely pointed out that I didn't use any of his stuff the whole night, and neither did I use the stack of towels he'd accumulated next to him. Furthermore, I'm not going to pay the guts of £5 for a drink and then pay him to go for a bloody p*ss on top of it. I also pointed out that if he didn't like that he could go back into his toilet and sh*t for himself. Now I'm not trying to give it the big man, I prefer not to be dealing with this sort of confrontation at the end of a night out. Least of all with some random stranger shouting and roaring at me in a corridor full of other random strangers. Having done the doors in nightclubs for yonks I don't really like socialising in them, this carry on only reinforces that for me.

I don't know what to make of the whole phenomenon to be honest. I used to think it was just some sort of explicitly racist excess of the boom where people loved to have some African provide them with hand towels in some sort of mock-up of the slave period. However having been a bouncer I met loads of these lads, most of the time they came out with more money than the head of security (and we were on a good rate) for the simple matter of scrubbing the jacks and throwing lollypops to p*ssheads. They were also handy for us because they were a spare pair of eyes in the jacks to monitor any fights/drug use etc. Still though, I remain uneasy about this lark to be honest and when I'm out myself I just find they make me awkward and uncomfortable when I'm simply trying to use the facilities.

Any thoughts?

TL/DR version - African fella in the jacks shouting at me for not giving him money? What's the dealio?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

FTA69 wrote:
    Any thoughts?

yeah tldr

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Remember those machines you put 10p into to get a spray of aftershave that smelt like engine oil and tore the skin like sandpaper.I miss those.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭XxKathyxX

FTA69 wrote: »
    So there I was last night, enjoying myself in a club as one does, when at the end of the night I pop into the jacks one last time before getting on the train. After the quick post-urinal hand rinse in the sink (one must be fastidious nowadays) the African lad in there starts shouting and roaring as I walk off. "Excuse me! You didn't tip me all night! All night! That is bullsh*t!" etc and he actually follows me out of the toilet in order to continue his rant. The lights are on and everyone is leaving at this stage. I politely pointed out that I didn't use any of his stuff the whole night, and neither did I use the stack of towels he'd accumulated next to him. Furthermore, I'm not going to pay the guts of £5 for a drink and then pay him to go for a bloody p*ss on top of it. I also pointed out that if he didn't like that he could go back into his toilet and sh*t for himself. Now I'm not trying to give it the big man, I prefer not to be dealing with this sort of confrontation at the end of a night out. Least of all with some random stranger shouting and roaring at me in a corridor full of other random strangers. Having done the doors in nightclubs for yonks I don't really like socialising in them, this carry on only reinforces that for me.

I don't know what to make of the whole phenomenon to be honest. I used to think it was just some sort of explicitly racist excess of the boom where people loved to have some African provide them with hand towels in some sort of mock-up of the slave period. However having been a bouncer I met loads of these lads, most of the time they came out with more money than the head of security (and we were on a good rate) for the simple matter of scrubbing the jacks and throwing lollypops to p*ssheads. They were also handy for us because they were a spare pair of eyes in the jacks to monitor any fights/drug use etc. Still though, I remain uneasy about this lark to be honest and when I'm out myself I just find they make me awkward and uncomfortable when I'm simply trying to use the facilities.

Any thoughts?

Dont be mean... their for diabled people! :(

xoxo :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

IM0 wrote: »
    yeah tldr

Edited for your consideration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

These boyos are at again then I see.

I wonder if these lads pay tax on their 'earnings'? If not send them packing back to Nigeria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

some of them think its their right to money if you go use the loo at all, but some are genuinly nice too, you cant really use one persons actions and apply it to every one else in the same position.

Tl;dr some people are dickheads others are not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Any thoughts?

Reply from some outraged poster demanding to know why being African is relevant to your story in 3...2....1 ;)

XxKathyxX wrote: »

F*ck are you on about? Disabled toilets are for disabled people, not poky jacks at the top of four flights of stairs aren't.

some of them think its their right to money if you go use the loo at all, but some are genuinly nice too, you cant really use one persons actions and apply it to every one else in the same position.

Tl;dr some people are dickheads others are not

Errah I've met loads like, and it's as you say. But to be honest having some lad in the toilet looking to spray sh*t on you for money is bloody awkward and good be done without.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Why didn't you ask him to turn around and then give him a running funt up the arse and say there's your tip;)

I know "blast him with p*ss" is banned but this would probably be the one case where it would actually make sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

XxKathyxX wrote: »

What are you talking about??

OP I never give toilet attendants money/tip. I never use any of their stuff and when they block the hand dryer I ask them to move. But none of them have followed me out of the toilet and screamed at me and I've never seen it happen to anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

africans/racism check

dole dodgers check

dissin on cleaners check

total: 2/10 troll failure..another one for today

dissin on cleaners check

Eh they aren't cleaners chief, cleaners come in and clean things and leave again. They don't gradually accumulate coin and demand money for the use of a urinal.

Swing and a miss.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭eyeroad yearowl one

africans/racism check

dole dodgers check

dissin on cleaners check

Jaysus, don't be going mentioning any of the new sacred cows in any story that could be viewed as negative now.

I have seen plenty of black people doing toilet attendants. I don't know that they are African/Irish/American/English. Never asked them. I've never seen a white person do it. Although, maybe once, years ago in a fancy hotel. The Fitzwilliam or something. some ould fella in a "bellboy" suit.
    Does it make me a racist to say that?

africans/racism check

dole dodgers check

dissin on cleaners check

I suppose someone must like these guys...either that or you decided to take a break from attending the toilet to defend your profession.

Jaysus, don't be going mentioning any of the new sacred cows in any story that could be viewed as negative now.

I have seen plenty of black people doing toilet attendants. I don't know that they are African/Irish/American/English. Never asked them. I've never seen a white person do it. Although, maybe once, years ago in a fancy hotel. The Fitzwilliam or something. some ould fella in a "bellboy" suit.
    Does it make me a racist to say that?

The usual ***te on boards. Mention the blacks and you are racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I agree OP, the whole situation is ridiculous. It's bad enough to pay through the nose to actually enter the place, then pay for drink which is even more expensive, without having to fork out for the pleasure of a piss also. Hah, they charge you to put it in your bladder and charge you to get rid of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Use the capper crapper, they're less likely to have fugeez in em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

OP: Where was this? £5 a drink sounds awfully expensive. (Unless you meant €5, which still is expensive)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Fanny Biscuit

Pointless and ridiculous having them there. I just ignore them completley and go about my business.

The blacks in the jacks, eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭was.deevey

Bet you didn't tip the barman either and he wasn't chasing you for a tip after serving you all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Willy watchers i call them. stupid job.

was.deevey wrote: »
    Bet you didn't tip the barman either and he wasn't chasing you for a tip after serving you all night.

Tip a barman? For putting some liquid in a glass?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭halkar

Pi$$ in your glass. Who is gonna notice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭heyheyhey1982

I was in the jacks before Christmas and I needed a bit of spray. So I threw 1.50e in the bowl and went to use Some spray. The black lad stopped me and said" no no 2euro". I said it's grand and took my 1.50 out of the bowl. I was waiting for him to kick off saying I can't take my money back, but he didn't.

The thing that annoys me is you can't wash your hands in peace any more without them handing you tissue to dry your hands. I normally wash my hands and dry them on my jeans to avoid them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Barely into 2013 and we have our first tedious excuse to have a go at black people and or Nigerians.

Hang around a few minutes and no doubt we'll have the first have a go at gays and or Travellers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Errah I've met loads like, and it's as you say. But to be honest having some lad in the toilet looking to spray sh*t on you for money is bloody awkward and good be done without.

Well yeah i agree i do think the position should be reserved for fancier places, i mean haven someone doing the job that they do in a messy nightclub is like putting lipstick on a pig, but then again they do keep they jacks clean tho aswell theres nothing worse that trying to sh1t in a toilet that the sitting part is sprayed with someone elses p1ss or that someone else missed the toilet after dropping their load and having to wipe that off with a tissue when you want to use the facilities next, So yeah its sort of a win/lose situation unless the club/pub has some sort of system where they check the toilet every x mins to make sure the facilities are clean. Having one of those attendance mean its looked after most of the time. but they need to stop hounding you for money

• Registered Users Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Eh they aren't cleaners chief, cleaners come in and clean things and leave again. They don't gradually accumulate coin and demand money for the use of a urinal.

Swing and a miss.

You said in your original post they scrubbed the Jacks?

I have never heard of anyone else getting grief for not tipping these toilet attendant guys. I sometimes tip and sometimes dont. I have never seen any of them actually as much as request a tip. You are right though I would much prefer not to have an attendant there, it is a bit uncomfortable washing your hands with some guy trying to put soap on and then hand you paper towels that you have not requested especially if you are lacking in change.