Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BDO Lakeside World Championship 2013 Discussion

• 29-12-2012 9:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭

The Lakeside World Championship will be kicking off on January 5th and while there's no doubt the standard in Lakeside has dropped in the last few years you can be rest assured all genuine darts fans will be keeping an eye on this tournament even though a lot of them will be moaning about the standard!

Scott Waites is favorite followed closely in the betting by recent World Masters winner Stephen Bunting. A very open tournament where in reality the majority of players have a chance of capturing the title. Added interest for Irish fans is Wexford player Jason Cullen making his debut in the tournament. The tournament is been televised on ESPN and BBC. Here is the draw divided into the 4 quarters and match times of games. Numbers in brackets besides players denote seeds.

(16) Darryl Fitton (ENG) v Benito Van De Pas (HOL) Saturday Jan 5th 6 30pm.
    (1) Stephen Bunting (ENG) v James Wilson (ENG) Sunday Jan 6th 1 00pm.
    (9) Alan Norris (ENG) v Wayne Warren (WAL) Saturday Jan 5th 7 30pm.
    (8) Wesley Harms (HOL) v Rune David (NOR) Sunday Jan 6th 8 30pm.

(12) Scott Mitchell (ENG) v Mark Barilli (SCO) Sunday Jan 6th 4 00pm.
    (5) Robbie Green (ENG) v Christian Kist (HOL) Saturday Jan 5th 2 30pm.
    (13) Steve Douglas (ENG) v Gary Stone (SCO) Sunday Jan 6th 2 00pm.
    (4) Tony O'Shea (ENG) v John Walton (ENG) Saturday Jan 5th 8 30pm.

(15) Richie George (ENG) v Dave Prins (ENG) Saturday Jan 5th 4 30pm.
    (2) Martin Adams (ENG) v Jimmy Hendriks (HOL) Sunday Jan 6th 3 00pm.
    (10) Gary Robson (ENG) v Garry Thompson (ENG) Saturday Jan 5th 3 30pm.
    (7) Jan Dekker (HOL) v Jeffery De Graaf (HOL) Sunday Jan 6th 6 30pm.

(11) Martin Atkins (ENG) v Jason Cullen (IRL) Saturday Jan 5th 1 00pm.
    (6) Ross Montgomery (SCO) v Paul Jennings (ENG) Monday Jan 7th 7 30pm.
    (14) Geert De Vos (BEL) v Tony Eccles (ENG) Monday Jan 7th 6 30pm.
    (3) Scott Waites (ENG) v Willy Van De Wiel (HOL) Monday Jan 7th 830pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

I see Jimi Hendrix is back from the beyond the grave to take on Martin Adams. Fair play Jimi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

These guys aren't good enough to make it on the PDC, waste of time watching inferior players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I think this tournament should always be on before the PDC. Very hard to watch these guys after watching matches like Lewis vs Van Gerwen tonight.

Tobyglen wrote: »
    These guys aren't good enough to make it on the PDC, waste of time watching inferior players.

When Scott Waites won the Grand Slam of Darts, he beat Raymond van Barneveld, Adrian Lewis - who would go on to win the PDC Worlds that year - and James Wade en route. He beat Taylor easily this year. You may have heard of them, they feature pretty highly in the PDC.

I agree that the PDC has stronger players in general, but I don't think watching the likes of Waites, Adams or Bunting is a "waste of time".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭big dar

Where do the pdc get their players from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

The BDO is a good tournament but of a very poor quality. Won't even bother my arse with it at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

While there's no doubt that the majority of games at Lakeside are at a lower standard compared to the PDC there has been plenty of close exciting games over the years in Lakeside and the finals the last 6 years have all been exciting games with only a 2 set difference been the most in any final.

Personally I reckon if BDO players had more televised tournaments and more incentives to win big prize money the standard will rise dramatically but unfortunately it's hard to see that happening with the current BDO board. Even though there was major changes last year in the Board sadly they have made no difference as regards promoting their organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Not this crap again.

Plenty of BDO players are capable of 90+ averages which would be enough to hold their own against most PDC players bar the elite.

Yes the overall standard will be worse but it will still be a great two weeks of darts and I would miss it if it was gone.

Waites better play like he does in the GSOD and give them a lesson this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

What is the prize money for the BDO?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Treble20 wrote: »
    (14) Geert De Vos (BEL) v Tony Eccles (ENG) Monday Jan 7th 6 30pm.

:confused: surely he has not jumped ship back again to BDO? :confused: There couldnt be two people with that name surely in darts?

ballbag statement there lad

Devastator wrote: »
    ballbag statement there lad

Funny though, you usually don't see these sort of statements after hyped up PDC matches turn out to be crap...was Thornton Taylor only a few days back?

As Treble20 said, the finals at the BDO have been nail biters in recent years.

What is the prize money for the BDO?

Acc to Wiki, Stg£258k for men's with 100 to winner and 30 to runner up, £16k to womens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭buster180

:confused: surely he has not jumped ship back again to BDO? :confused:

Eccles went back around two years ago, He was way down the PDC rankings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,826 ✭✭✭✭briany

Would be nice to see silverback take the title as it would for Waites but as always the BDO champs are just so wide open that you never really know. Both could go out in the first round.

I will admit that the BDO coverage takes a touch of readjustment on the part of the average darts fan the whizbang of the PDC. It's a relaxed pace. It's refreshing as well and I think it has an appeal of it's own. Sometimes, though, the BBC's coverage and advertising of it can be so low key that you're in danger of forgetting the thing is on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭celt262

nocoverart wrote: »
    I think this tournament should always be on before the PDC. Very hard to watch these guys after watching matches like Lewis vs Van Gerwen tonight.

Nobody will force you to watch, the BDO is proper old skool darts with decent players who are not professional and good crowds who go to watch the darts and i for one will enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,745 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

@ Mods,
    Maybe have a seperate thread for the 'oh my god BDO number 28th seed isnt a patch on Phil Taylor' stuff thats already started to creep in, and keep this thread purely for discussion of the BDO competition.

(By the way I remember as recent as BDO 2009 being told on the threads here that guys like Chisnail, Thornton, Whitlock, Anderson and Webster were complete nobodies who wouldn't win a match against any of the PDC Top 32. It's a soul destroying argument every year).

briany wrote: »
    Would be nice to see silverback take the title as it would for Waites but as always the BDO champs are just so wide open that you never really know. Both could go out in the first round.

Yeah, would like to see Waites or O'Shea take it, put money on O'Shea cos the odds weren't bad. Huge pressure on both though. To be honest, can't claim to see Bunting that often but to win the World Masters means he has the game and the nerve, the last few winners have all gone on to become household names, its been 10 years since West and Dudbridge won it. He is the no. 1 in the BDO and it's a bit of a disappointment that he didn't make the Grand Slam though on the other hand they have a qualification process that is well known and there is no automatic spot for the no. 1. But as you say it is wide open and you'll always get some relative unknown who makes a charge like Chisnall and Winstansley in recent years, or even win it as Kist did last year.

The other important and often overlooked aspect of the BDO is that there is a women's section. Plus the crowds seem a bit more respectful, being smaller, and the viewing figures are good, it's ridiculous that the BDO can't convert that into more televised tournaments and better money for the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭celt262

O'Shea wont win it he doesn't have the nerve, would like to see my favourite BDO player Scott Waites win it.

The other important and often overlooked aspect of the BDO is that there is a women's section. Plus the crowds seem a bit more respectful, being smaller, and the viewing figures are good, it's ridiculous that the BDO can't convert that into more televised tournaments and better money for the players.

It almost seems as if the BDO boys are happy just to look after the grass roots side of things and not worry about trying to get more exposure at the top level.

Also it's fine that the BDO have the women's tournament alongside the men's but it's very patronising to them that the final is only something like first to 3 sets. They should be well able to play the same length as the men's. It makes the women's look like a token sideshow that they don't want to run over long for fear of boring the audience.

briany wrote: »
    They should be well able to play the same length as the men's. It makes the women's look like a token sideshow that they don't want to run over long for fear of boring the audience.

Is not because of some worry about women's ability to play longer.

That would be patronising and sexist.

It's because if they play too long, who would cook dinner? ;)

Is not because of some worry about women's ability to play longer.

That would be patronising and sexist.

It's because if they play too long, who would cook dinner? ;)

Ahhhh! I knew I should have added the ironic (?) sexism disclaimer.

Seriously though, I think that the women should get a decent showing in the BDO world's. Why not? Give them best of 11 sets or so and just show the highlights on TV if they're worried about people turning off and I'm sure the Lakeside fans will stick around for it, or just come in, mainly, when it's over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭buster180

Are ESPN showing it again this year????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

buster180 wrote: »
    Are ESPN showing it again this year????

Yep

Not surprising to see some negative comments on here. Personally I've always enjoyed Lakeside and BDO darts on TV. After the carry on tonight on Sky I'm looking forward to seeing some familiar and new faces throwing darts in a friendly atmosphere in Lakeside in front of an appreciative audience and by an unbiased commentary teams on both ESPN and BBC. Bring it on!

@ Mods,
    Maybe have a seperate thread for the 'oh my god BDO number 28th seed isnt a patch on Phil Taylor' stuff thats already started to creep in, and keep this thread purely for discussion of the BDO competition.

(By the way I remember as recent as BDO 2009 being told on the threads here that guys like Chisnail, Thornton, Whitlock, Anderson and Webster were complete nobodies who wouldn't win a match against any of the PDC Top 32. It's a soul destroying argument every year).

Why do you think all of the above moved to pdc? More money cause the higher level of competition attracts the better players. The standard is country miles apart. 1/2 decent games towards the end but the overall standard is shocking in comparison to the PDC world champs.

celt262 wrote: »
    Nobody will force you to watch, the BDO is proper old skool darts with decent players who are not professional and good crowds who go to watch the darts and i for one will enjoy it

Good crowds argument is used to excuse the poor averages. Lots of these guys are just very good pub players

Why do you think all of the above moved to pdc? More money cause the higher level of competition attracts the better players. The standard is country miles apart. 1/2 decent games towards the end but the overall standard is shocking in comparison to the PDC world champs.

Why does it bother you then?

Do you visit soccer forums and laugh at fellows who follow Liverpool and Leeds when they should all be watching La Liga? Or how about those who would watch the Irish rugby team, when of course they are a country mile behind teams like the All Blacks?

No one is making you watch it. It's seems like a weak effort to wind up those who like it.

Why does it bother you then?

Do you visit soccer forums and laugh at fellows who follow Liverpool and Leeds when they should all be watching La Liga? Or how about those who would watch the Irish rugby team, when of course they are a country mile behind teams like the All Blacks?

No one is making you watch it. It's seems like a weak effort to wind up those who like it.

I just think it's very patronising to hear these BDO fans talking about poor crowds when it's essentially the skill of the dart player that is all important.

But I think the BDO players have no little skill. So I disagree with your comments about it all being a waste of time, pub players and country miles apart. I referred to Waites handily beating the likes of Taylor...only one of them has won his organisations top prize. I agree that the PDC is stronger, but I think the gap is a lot a lot closer than, say, watching the Irish rugby team get absolutely battered out the gate by NZ. Either way, even at that I wouldn't go onto a rugby forum and sneer at fans of that sport for watching allegedly second rate players.

I don't see many Irish rugby fans sneering at the ABs for being a better class of people. I just don't get the sniggering when you're looking at 2nd rate players

The gulf in class is huge BTW, how many 9 darters have been in the world champs in the BDO in the last 5 years? The gulf is averages is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

The BDO is an okay tournament but I agree it would benefit from being staged prior to the PDC event.

I don't see many Irish rugby fans sneering at the ABs for being a better class of people.

What are you on about now?

Who said anything about "better class of people"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

I see Jimi Hendrix is back from the beyond the grave to take on Martin Adams. Fair play Jimi.
    Is he a left handed thrower. Has to be! Or can he play with his teeth?

I hope he wins it!! :D

gammygils wrote: »
    Is he a left handed thrower. Has to be! Or can he play with his teeth?

After setting fire to the darts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

That's what this tournament needs.

I can just imagine him coming out on stage to the sound of 'Hey Joe'

with his Afro & headband!

I can't wait! I hope he doesn't disappoint

He has a name to live up to! :D:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Lads if you want to debate the merits of the BDO vs the PDC then start a new thread and do it there. I want to keep this thread purely for discussing the 2013 BDO World Championships.

Well the countdown is on and the action all kicks off on Saturday at 1 00pm with Ireland's Jason Cullen taking on England's Martin Atkins in the opening game of the tournament. However this game will only be available to view on BBC red button unfortunately! The main action on BBC 1 kicks off at 2 30pm with reigning champion Christian Kist taking on Robbie Green.

For those of you with an interest in having a flutter on Lakeside here's a link to the odds for players to win the tournament out; www.oddschecker.com/darts/bdo-world-championship/bdo-world-championship/winner

Some interesting odds there on players. Alan Norris is a player who has had a good year on the circuit and a player I think who could do well but his quarter will be very hard to get out of. Waites and Bunting will be the main fancies but for 2 complete outsiders Gary Stone and Jeffery De Graaf could be surprise packets.

Here is the link for the odds on the 1st round games; www.oddschecker.com/darts/bdo-world-championship

I think Adams is under pressure going into this and he could come a cropper in the 1st round against Jimmy Hendriks. Also Paul Jennings should beat Ross Montgomery and Bunting could have it tough against James Wilson who has had a great year on the circuit. Some cracking games lie ahead.

Had money on O'Shea, just put a few euros e/w on Stone and Wilson.

Let the lottery that is the BDO commence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Are most of the BDO guys part time? I'm just looking at the prize money here and for their biggest tournament of the year it doesn't look great, granted the winner gets 100k but that's 70 grand more than any other placing, a first round loser will pocket just 3k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

How do the bdo/bbc expect viewer interest when they have nonsense like only on the red button. Its a world champion FFS! Then again I suppose eastenders is more important :rolleyes: They give loads(if not all) coverage to some crap wimbledon warm up tournament every year. I don't know how many dedicated olympics channels they put up during the summer.

With all the channels available to them they could easily have every arrow of every game being shown! I'm sure there are older darts fans that think pressing a red button means the start of a world war or something!

Bad form from the bbc....and bad the BDO dont insist of full coverage.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

How come there's only 32 players in this compared to 64 in the PDC version (ignoring those knocked out in the prelim)? Always been this way? So 5 wins will see you take the title.

Last year they had the highlights on at stupid hours of the night, put you off tuning in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

Andrew76 wrote: »
    How come there's only 32 players in this compared to 64 in the PDC version (ignoring those knocked out in the prelim)? Always been this way? So 5 wins will see you take the title.

Last year they had the highlights on at stupid hours of the night, put you off tuning in.

PDC only expanded in the last couple of years. Before that it was 40 I believe. In effect, for the top players, the first round was a bit of a gimme this year

The BDO are the only organisation that have a Ladies World Championship. 8 ladies will take to the oche in a bid to become outright winner. Personally I think the ladies deserve better and a 16 player line up would be a better recognition of the ladies game. Either way I'm sure the ladies are happy to have a World Championship to compete for after years of campaigning for a World Championship of their own.

The following is the days and times of the ladies quarter final games. Numbers in brackets besides players denotes seeds;

Sunday Jan 6th 5 30pm (4) Irina Armstrong (GER) v Sharon Prins (HOL)
    Saturday Jan 5th 9 30pm (1) Deta Hedman (ENG) v Lisa Ashton (ENG)
    Monday Jan 7th 5 30pm (3) Julie Gore (WAL) v Trina Gulliver (ENG)
    Sunday Jan 6th 7 30pm (2) Anastasia Dobromyslova (RUSS) v Lorraine Farlam (ENG)

Number 1 seed Deta Hedman will be favorite to win the ladies title after an outstanding year on the circuit and all BDO followers would be very happy to see Deta capture a 1st World title. However Deta faces a tough 1st round game against Lorraine Farlam who is engaged to 9 dart man Dean Winstanley. The Russian and defending champion Ana Dobromyslova will be determined to regain her title and even though Trina Gulliver has had a poor year by her standards the 9 times ladies World Champion will be a threat to all the other competitors. Deta Hedman and Anastasia's games will be televised on ESPN with the final fixed for Saturday Jan 12th to be televised also on ESPN.

BBC TV will be screening live coverage of the first round games on their channels Saturday Jan 5th and Sunday Jan 6th. ESPN will be doing live coverage of the evening sessions these days. Ireland's Jason Cullen v Martin Atkins will only be available on BBC red button at 1 00pm Saturday.

All evening sessions next week Jan 7th-11th will be screened live on ESPN. Monday's games Jan 7th will be screened on ESPN Classic which is free on the Entertainment extra package for Sky customers. Every week day next week BBC will have a daily and late night highlights programme of all the action in Lakeside.

On Saturday Jan 12th BBC will screen the 1st mens semi final live. That evening ESPN will screen the Ladies final and the 2nd mens semi final live.

On Sunday Jan 13th BBC will screen the mens final live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

The standard in the women's is so bad, always amuses me how women can be so inferior to men at a sport like darts.

The whole thing being first to two sets is beyond stupid as well.

Here is a link to the BDO Lakeside wikipedia page which is full of facts and details including prize money for the upcoming World Championship; www.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013_BDO_World_Darts_Championship

Here is a link to all the players profiles playing in this year's Championship; www.bdodarts.com/lakesideplayers.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Wimbago

How do the bdo/bbc expect viewer interest when they have nonsense like only on the red button. Its a world champion FFS! Then again I suppose eastenders is more important :rolleyes: They give loads(if not all) coverage to some crap wimbledon warm up tournament every year. I don't know how many dedicated olympics channels they put up during the summer.

With all the channels available to them they could easily have every arrow of every game being shown! I'm sure there are older darts fans that think pressing a red button means the start of a world war or something!

Bad form from the bbc....and bad the BDO dont insist of full coverage.

Couldnt agree more. Given both BBC3&4 dont start broadcasting until 7pm they could easily show the daytime games on either and throw in that both channels are mostly repeats each night nothing is going to be missed in the 2 weeks the tournament is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

look forward to the bdo wc, can see waites slipping up again similar to gary anderson when was no. 1 and favourite a couple of times for the bdo wc, i would like to see o'shea win it as he has been close a few times. no doubt wolfie will be tough to beat should he be playing well :p

The 36th BDO World Championship kicks off tomorrow with the opening game at 1 00pm featuring Ireland's Jason Cullen against Martin Atkins. These 2 players have every right to feel annoyed as this game is the only game not been televised live! It's not certain yet if it will be available on BBC Red button but regardless it's very bad form not to have this game live on the mainstream channels.

The big game tomorrow will no doubt be reigning champion Christian Kist v Robbie Green. Since winning Lakeside Kist has played little darts on the tournament scene but the few he did play in he did ok reaching the Grand Slam Of Darts quarter finals and runner up in the Europe Cup singles. Robbie Green is a good performer in the floor tournaments but has never got beyond the 2nd round in Lakeside and this time he could struggle to go beyond the 1st round.

Bobby George's son Richie makes his debut tomorrow against Dave Prins on BBC 2 at 4 30pm. There will be a lot of attention around this game but this could be a dour affair. Richie is only 23 and made his TV debut last October in the Winmau World Masters where he struggled in front of the cameras. However Dave Prins has a disastrous record in Lakeside so this game could go any way really.

In tomorrow's evening session Tony O'Shea v John Walton is the big game. Nearly every darts fan would like to see O'Shea win a World title. He has a tricky game here against Walton but I'd expect O'Shea to win through here.

Coverage starts on BBC 1 tomorrow 2 30pm-4 30pm and continues on BBC 2 from 4 30pm-5 30pm. The evening session is on ESPN from 6 30pm-10 00pm. BBC have a late night highlights programme from 11 15pm-2 05am.

Major announcement today by the BDO regarding an extension to the BBC TV contract for Lakeside and an increase in the men's and ladies line up from 2014; www.bdodarts.com/1981/04-01-2013/BBC_SPORT_EXTENDS_BDO-CONTRACT_FOR_WORLD_DARTS_TO_2016