Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Planning to change car after getting full license (in a week)

• 26-12-2012 2:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭

Hey, I know people here know me, mostly for being so called "Learner driver who breaks rules and should be fined" so anyway, I did 2 pre-tests with my instructor, he said I will pass no problem as I don't do much mistakes (except speeding over speedbumps, but I will fix that) my test is on 2nd of January (pretty **** date)
    So anyway, my current car is corsa 1.2l and it works okay, and just fine, 2001 year, 86k miles. So I am planning to sell it for around 900 euro.

Can you suggest a good car?
    Can I get 2.0 or 2.4 when fully licensed? What would rough price be? I am 19.
    My current insurance is 1600 euro for being provisional, so I am ready to pay up to 1600 euro for insurance when I am fully licensed.
    I don't care for running costs as my current car is ****ed up and it's petrol consumption is like 10 litres per 70 km. So on full tank I can drive only like 250 km.

So any suggestions? One of my friends suggested 3 series, but that seems.... bit extreme?
    Any other suggestions? I don't want hatchback, I want a saloon car (the one without cut back)

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Just wait until you have more expreience. It's the no claims that will bring the insurance down. Age doesn't really come into play until 21/25 depending on insurance companies. For example for my first year I paid €2,400 on a 1ltr micra, now 3 years later I'm paying €900 for a 318is Beemer on my own policy with 3 years no claims and I'm only 20. Just wait! It'll all come eventually. You have to start somewhere and it doesn't really matter if its a 1.2 corsa. Just get concentrate on getting your full license first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Just wait until you have more expreience. It's the no claims that will bring the insurance down. Age doesn't really come into play until 21/25 depending on insurance companies. For example for my first year I paid €2,400 on a 1ltr micra, now 3 years later I'm paying €900 for a 318is Beemer on my own policy with 3 years no claims and I'm only 20. Just wait! It'll all come eventually. You have to start somewhere and it doesn't really matter if its a 1.2 corsa. Just get concentrate on getting your full license first.

My current insurers will count me as having 2 years of NCB.
    They do it like, if you did 10 lessons of EDT with one of their ADI's, they will count that as 1 year of NCB, and I got my insurance last april.
    by the way, the reason for car change is because I know my current car will fail it's NCT in April. Mechanics said it costs 2000 to replace that part (power steering column) and said it's okay to drive, it's not a fatal problem but it wont pass NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Get insurance quotes before you buy. No one here can guess what the costs will be for you on a particular car as there are too many variables. Have you tried online for prices?

There is something seriously wrong with your car if it only does 250km to a tank - How are you measuring it and driving it? The speeding over speed bumps may be a clue to the driving style however.

If you want a saloon something around 1.6 would be cheaper to insure. I cannot see how you would get insurance on a 2-2.4 litre for 1600.

And the most important bit - what's the budget?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

arleitiss wrote: »
    They do it like, if you did 10 lessons of EDT with one of their ADI's, they will count that as 1 year of NCB, and I got my insurance last april.
    by the way, the reason for car change is because I know my current car will fail it's NCT in April. Mechanics said it costs 2000 to replace that part (power steering column) and said it's okay to drive, it's not a fatal problem but it wont pass NCT.

Your best bet then is to go online after picking a car that you might like, and get as many quotes as you can on the basis of either one or two years NCB

2-2.4 litre cars imo will cost you a lot to insure.

Also you need to factor in the extra tax, once you go above 1.6 it's fairly high depending on the car and if it's pre 2008 or not

I calculate consumption by:
    fueling up to the top until pump stops (usually 42-43 litres)
    Reset the mileage (the one you can reset, not sure what it's called)
    Drive until red light lights up, and I keep driving for 20 more km. Then I fuel up and again it fits in about 42-43 litres.

I tried driving all ways:
    Performance (shifting at ~5000 rpm)
    Efficient (Shifting at ~2000 rpm and in highest gear as possible and avoid fast speeds)
    Both ways of driving give me save consumption.
    I check under car every morning, but there is no puddle or anything.

Budget is around 4000 euro. (not including insurance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Well then you should look at a smaller car as opposed to something 2.0-2.4ltr. There's no way you'd need something that powerful starting out. A 1.25 zetec fiesta would be ideal. I wouldn't even get a quote on my 1.6 levin this year but a quote for a 2ltr altezza is €1600 for me at the moment.

Everyone has to start somewhere and once you get a good starter car and build up a few years ncb then look to get something more powerful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

First of all, best of luck with the exam.

While getting the Full is a massive achievement, it doesn't really mean you can automatically jump into a 2.4l Beemer etc. You're better off with a beater for the first few years to get experience.

I'm mad into my cars, big enthusiast, and started off in my sisters navy '00 Micra. At the time I couldn't wait to get into a red 325i e30 (which I'm still waiting for) :rolleyes: but looking back the Micra was cheap and cheerful, a bit of craic. Ideal for starting out :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Drive until red light lights up, and I keep driving for 20 more km. Then I fuel up and again it fits in about 42-43 litres.

Efficient (Shifting at ~2000 rpm and in highest gear as possible and avoid fast speeds)

So how many km do you get for 42/43 litres?

That budget is probably going to get you a pre 2008 car if you are looking so you'll have to factor in tax, and the bigger the car, the bigger the tax, it's over €700 per year for a 2.0

Stheno wrote: »
    So how many km do you get for 42/43 litres?

That budget is probably going to get you a pre 2008 car if you are looking so you'll have to factor in tax, and the bigger the car, the bigger the tax, it's over €700 per year for a 2.0

I get around 260 km.
    Petrol light lights up at around ~250km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

2 litre and above will cost you a premium in insurance when you're under 25.

The cost of the car will be the cheapest part when you factor in insurance and tax. It's been mentioned already and repeated countless times to many before you but wait until you have experience both as a driver and in terms of NCB.
    If you start saving now, you could have more than enough for an evo/m3 or whatever else you had in mind for when you turn 25.

Edit: < 20mpg? Something seriously wrong there for a 1.2l

5k revs giving the same as 2k? Did you mix and match over a tank. 5k revs is ridiculous on the roads dude. I find it very hard to believe consumption was the same.

4k...have a look at an S40 maybe? Some 1.6s but the 1.8 should be peppy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

As previous posters have said build up your no claims bonus for a while. You can always get quotes as if you had the full license. Look for a car well under 2 ltr . Insurances companies love loading young lads :)

5k revs giving the same as 2k? Did you mix and match over a tank. 5k revs is ridiculous on the roads dude. I find it very hard to believe consumption was the same.

4k...have a look at an S40 maybe? Some 1.6s but the 1.8 should be peppy enough.

I always fuel up at same station, but I doubt they sell **** petrol. It's ESSO

alright thanks everyone, I guess best thing will be to get full license then just make a list of cars from 1.4 to 1.6 and call around asking for quotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

I get around 260 km.

Are you sure it's not 260 miles you are getting?

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

h3000 wrote: »
    Are you sure it's not 260 miles you are getting?
    Yes I am sure it's km. Even if it was Miles, it would be a bit low for such small car?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Yes I am sure it's km. Even if it was Miles, it would be a bit low for such small car?

Is that on the motorway?

Are you around town all the time? Are you harsh with acceleration??

I don't drive on motorways, never did as I am learner. I mostly use car in city center and blanch. Sometimes I have this feeling that someone keeps stealing fuel some way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭bitburger

I always fuel up at same station, but I doubt they sell **** petrol. It's ESSO

try another station? dodgy fuel is common enough these days, even from the big garages
    i hope the person that you charge 900 smacks for a car that take 2 grand to fix knows this before he hands over the dosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

alright thanks everyone, I guess best thing will be to get full license then just make a list of cars from 1.4 to 1.6 and call around asking for quotes.

There's a flaw to selling your car for 900 . No one will pay that with no Nct on it especially if they know how much it costs to replace parts.....

Don't get caught out paying ridiculous money on insurance especially if you only starting out. It's not worth it.

If its in miles 250 miles is about 400km @ 45 ltr tank . You can't complain about that. They don't run on the smell of it:)

Does the reading on the dash say miles or kilometres?
    Unusual for a car that old to have the dash in km?

Well I think it's KM anyway, even if it isn't it seems bit low? The previous seller said it runs minimum 400 miles per tank. And it did run that much before, then no idea what happened.

I checked a few ads on donedeal and the two or three 2001 1.2 corsas that were there and displayed the dash had the counter clearly in miles.

See the pics here, it's the last on the top set of pics

Check that first.

Gives you an mpg of 26.74 if it's miles and not kilometres, and if you are mainly doing city driving with a bit of stop starting that wouldn't surprise me.

Have you kept the car servicing up to date? Lots of different things can affect mpg

I checked a few ads on donedeal and the two or three 2001 1.2 corsas that were there and displayed the dash had the counter clearly in miles.

See the pics here, it's the last on the top set of pics

Check that first.

Gives you an mpg of 26.74 if it's miles and not kilometres, and if you are mainly doing city driving with a bit of stop starting that wouldn't surprise me.

Have you kept the car servicing up to date? Lots of different things can affect mpg

Yeah, all serviced on time. Only thing that changed is I am running lots of electronics, but I don't think that would affect it that much.
    replaced car stereo, amp of 500W with sub, AC is always on, non-stock speakers 25W each, phone always on charge.
    Headlights mostly always on.
    If I leave keys in ignition with all that turned on for only 15 mins, the battery goes flat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭bitburger

well now, an extra 500w load on the alternator will increase fuel consumption i would reckon, as will the AC

Yeah, all serviced on time. Only thing that changed is I am running lots of electronics, but I don't think that would affect it that much.
    replaced car stereo, amp of 500W with sub, AC is always on, non-stock speakers 25W each, phone always on charge.
    Headlights mostly always on.
    If I leave keys in ignition with all that turned on for only 15 mins, the battery goes flat.

All of that will affect your fuel consumption.:rolleyes:

I suspect you've gone from 400 miles to 250 miles per tank a. due to driving style (mainly urban) and all of the stuff you are running as well.

oh, I didn't know electronics can affect consumption that much. I end up spending like 50 euro a week on fuel.

Switch off the aircon.
    Check your tyre pressure.
    Stop charging the phone, it's like using the ciggy battery all of the time.
    I suspect the stereo is contributing but don't know enough to tell you how much, but if it's drawing that much power then fuel is being consumed to power it.

Learn to keep your revs steady, stop the extremes of 2k or 5k on the car, and find the sweet spot for your speed.

Drive for a week with none of the electronics, and see what difference it makes to your consumption.

I drive a 2.0 petrol car, and don't spend that much on fuel in a week of getting in and out of work doing 150km most of it through Drumcondra which is pure stop start for a few miles.

And check if your dash reading is in km or miles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And finally, try to tell us the WHOLE story, rather than having to have it dragged out of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

How come no one told me not to buy a 4L V8 next year and this chap can't buy a piddly 2L 4banger? :p

OP, anything is going to feel better than that Corsa.
    Check out some smaller saloons with smaller but powerful engines, or even warm/hot hatches.
    A MIVEC Lancer is 1.6 but will eat up a 2l Altezza because they're big heavy pigs.
    An EK4 Civic is 1.6 and is similarly fast.

To be fair, next year I'll be 23 so that will play to my favour with quotes, 19 is a terrible age for anything with a perceived image of sportiness.
    A good idea is to look at cars that mad lads don't buy. I've seen V8 barges been insured for less than EK4s.

Rambling a bit here but eh, buy something cool and comfy for now. Worry about flying about the place when you know how to handle the power. I'll be doing the same. :)

Did you read the whole thread Cian?

by the way, I just remembered, in june I asked my insurance for the laugh how much would it be to insure Audi TT. They said with provisional: ~3200 euro with full 1300. Which I thought wasn't bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Did you read the whole thread Cian?

Yep, which part seems off?
    by the way, I just remembered, in june I asked my insurance for the laugh how much would it be to insure Audi TT. They said with provisional: ~3200 euro with full 1300. Which I thought wasn't bad.

I was quoted around €3200 for a 350Z.
    Want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I get around 260 km.

From 42/43litres???
    No way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

First off, I have to advise on such a huge jump in cars. There's no comparison between any 2lt and a 1.2. If I were you I'd (maybe) increase it up to a 1.6! The fact that you're only 19 means that your quote is going to be loaded for a few years yet, unfair, but it's just the way it is! The quotes you're getting are probably going to be from the perspective that, as you said yourself, you have 2 years NCB built up. When getting a quote you'll be asked how long you've had your full licence, where having no claims from your learners permit counts, it wont be as benficial to you as having had it as a fully qualified driver. So be very vigilant when assuming what quote you'll get from insurance!
    Just a note, be very careful about what your policy says, you might not have everything you 'think' on it, so talk it out with them. I had to add bits on to mine, and have to check everytime i renew!

Secondly, your odometer/trip is in miles, I don't think they started using km in Irish cars until 2004. Also, if you have a smartphone, you can calculate your mpg using an app (i use aCar), you can use different values for it, so it can be miles/kilometers/gallons/litres etc. You can use multiple vehicles aswell!
    But if you want to make note of it yourself, just divide the number on your odometer by the litres you put in, you said 45l (4.546l in a gallon) so you have ~10 gallon tank. So there's no need to run the car down to fumes to get an accurate reading!

Lastly, best of luck with the test!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Personally I don't agree with the consensus that just because your pretty new on the road you should stick to a 1.6 or below. If you have the money, are legal and feel confident driving it then buy whatever you'd like. Not what an internet forum thinks you should buy. Just be safe. Acting the bollix in any car is much more dangerous than having a bit of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Please stick to the Corsa or get a bike, until you learn to drive safely. Performance driver on a learner permit? You are heading for a very big come down, please try not take anyone else with you.

I hope you fail your test.

Please stick to the Corsa or get a bike, until you learn to drive safely. Performance driver on a learner permit? You are heading for a very big come down, please try not take anyone else with you.

Bit harsh! Hope your engine explodes.

If he has the money he can drive whatever he feels likes. Doesn't matter the size of the car as long as your careful.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Are your penalty points an issue for your insurance OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Because shifting at 5000rpm in a 50bhp Corsa is going warp speed. No need for such a bitter attitude towards a young lad going for his test.

areyawell wrote: »
    Bit harsh! Hope your engine explodes.

If he has the money he can drive whatever he feels likes. Doesn't matter the size of the car as long as your careful.

I agree anyone who can afford to drive what ever they can afford should, I do. It's the careful bit that doesn't look like it will happen with the OP, from reading the first post.

And Since I don't drive the crap out of my car and keep it serviced and running well, I would be doubtful that my engine will blow up. Sorry to disappoint.

Because shifting at 5000rpm in a 50bhp Corsa is going warp speed. No need for such a bitter attitude towards a young lad going for his test.

Ok, shifting at 5000rpm in a 2.0 with 2 - 3 time the BHP on a young lad with no experience. Not bitter at all, I have known lads with the similar to the OP and I have seen what they have rapped them selves around. I will admit to being cocky myself when I learnt to drive, ended up in a wall from it. Thankfully no one hurt but my pride and wallet.

OP, go up in stages, head 1.6 / 1.8 get used to the extra power. learn from that and then get yourself a nice 2.0 Turbo 4wd 200bhp +. Get the experience up and the insurance down.

I agree anyone who can afford to drive what ever they can afford should, I do. It's the careful bit that doesn't look like it will happen with the OP, from reading the first post.

And Since I don't drive the crap out of my car and keep it serviced and running well, I would be doubtful that my engine will blow up. Sorry to disappoint.

Good for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Why don't you wait and see if you PASS your test first?

And I hope you have a couple of grand spare if you're going for a 2l + car. At 19, this makes absolutely no sense. Get a 1.4 or 1.6 if you want a bigger engine. Something that's relatively cheap to insure, and more importantly cheap to maintain.

A Fiesta/Focus would fit the bill just fine.

Mondeos are pretty cheap - suit ya down to the ground id say, cheap to mantain as well.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4216503

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Mondeos are pretty cheap - suit ya down to the ground id say, cheap to mantain as well.

Straight from the bangernomics thread too! :D

Yeahhhh... I wouldn't bother going over 2litres myself just yet. Full licence nearly 5 years

Good for you.

Thank you.

That one looks well abused. Big bang on the back door, looks like it has been modified, how well god knows. LX model as well, as in Low Xtra's. No A/c, Rear winding windows, basic interior. Plenty of Mondeos out there alright go for a Zerec at least.

My understanding from reading the OP's posts I think he is looking more for a sports saloon (WRX) or hot hatch (Focus ST) and not a wanna-be sports saloon. He did mention a Audi TT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That one looks well abused. Big bang on the back door, looks like it has been modified, how well god knows. LX model as well, as in Low Xtra's. No A/c, Rear winding windows, basic interior. Plenty of Mondeos out there alright go for a Zerec at least.

My understanding from reading the OP's posts I think he is looking more for a sports saloon (WRX) or hot hatch (Focus ST) and not a wanna-be sports saloon. He did mention a Audi TT!

Don't those late LX models have climate control?

On reflection to my comment about hoping the OP Failed his test, I would like to offer my apologies. Yes it is a bit harsh hoping for someone to fail their test. I do however stand over all other comments I made in this thread.

OP good luck with your test. I will now leave this thread and make no further comment one it.