Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not interested or just out of your league?

Wibbs wrote: »
    Look up Woody Allens exes on the oul google. Some fine looking women in their day and Diane Keaton is no slouch in the looks dept even today. I can think of any number of examples from my own life where men had objectively better looking partners than themselves(they were't all rich either). Funny enough way more men with women "out of their league" than the other way around. That seems to be much rarer. In general though people tend to end up with similar in the looks dept. More than one study has shown this trend.

Charm and confidence are different to money. I also don't know what the word is for marrying someone who was a kid and being raised by what would be your common-law wife if the provision existed in the US.

EdenHazard wrote: »
    tbh though i'd rather have a good personality than looks. im better looking than loads of lads i know, with much better style but i find it hard to talk with people, especially girls. i just can't engage with em'.

Pity you're stuck with the looks eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭RoverZT

If your as good looking and stylish as you think.

You shouldn't need to be using that tip.

Does a good looking girl need anything besides looks?

No.

It's the same for guys.

Looks are enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,312 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

tbh though i'd rather have a good personality than looks. im better looking than loads of lads i know, with much better style but i find it hard to talk with people, especially girls. i just can't engage with em'.

And who told you that you are better looking?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

It's all down to confidence.

But it has to be measured confidence. There's no point in going up to someone and being cocky and full of yourself, because that's a turn off.

If given a choice between 2 identical looking twins, where one is full of herself because she KNOWS she is attractive, and the other is equally attractive but is personable we'd all choose the second girl.

having said that, it's very easy to preach about confidence with women.... especially when i don't have a lot of it myself!!

Once i get talking i'm grand, but that initial ice breaker.... That's a killer in my book.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

If given a choice between 2 identical looking twins, where one is full of herself because she KNOWS she is attractive, and the other is equally attractive but is personable we'd all choose the second girl.

Ever gone out with a good-looking girl who has very low self-confidence? I'd much rather have the one that knows she's attractive.

One thing people don't realise is that, when you speak of girls who 'know they're good looking'...well that's a very small number. Most young, single women don't think so, because they're comparing themselves to Cheryl Cole or whoever else is bombarded in their face as 'What every man wants' and think they can't possibly compete.

Generally, people confuse women who don't give them time of day as 'arrogant' when really they just don't want to talk to you, so they're being a bit of a bitch. I hang out a lot with girls and....well...drunken, horny men are persistent unless you do tell them in no uncertain terms that it's not happening. So that's why you'll get THAT reaction. If you can approach them in a way that lets them know you're not THAT guy and also interesting enough to pay attention to in a matter of seconds, you're onto a winner.

• Administrators Posts: 53,415 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It's not talking about Pick-Up Artist techniques. I'm just talking about men pulling women which, if you haven't noticed, KINDA accounts for half of the topics in your forum... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Testify

leggo wrote: »
    It's not talking about Pick-Up Artist techniques. I'm just talking about men pulling women which, if you haven't noticed, KINDA accounts for half of the topics in your forum... :pac:

methinks awec was referring to another users post...what with yours not being deleted and all that!! :P

Ah, that's fair enough in that case then, I was wondering because it came directly after mine.

awec wrote: »
    Discussion of pick up artists methods or techniques are not allowed in this forum. I've deleted posts that stray in to this territory, please try and stay away from that sort of thing. :)

As a matter of interest, why not?

Testify wrote: »
    As a matter of interest, why not?

It's a discussion forum. Not a "how to pick up women using crappy techniques" forum

Ever gone out with a good-looking girl who has very low self-confidence? I'd much rather have the one that knows she's attractive.

One thing people don't realise is that, when you speak of girls who 'know they're good looking'...well that's a very small number. Most young, single women don't think so, because they're comparing themselves to Cheryl Cole or whoever else is bombarded in their face as 'What every man wants' and think they can't possibly compete.

Generally, people confuse women who don't give them time of day as 'arrogant' when really they just don't want to talk to you, so they're being a bit of a bitch. I hang out a lot with girls and....well...drunken, horny men are persistent unless you do tell them in no uncertain terms that it's not happening. So that's why you'll get THAT reaction. If you can approach them in a way that lets them know you're not THAT guy and also interesting enough to pay attention to in a matter of seconds, you're onto a winner.

Ok but not every guy that approaches a woman is going to be drunk or an asshole so personally I think there are more polite ways to let a person they are not interested than just blanking him or not giving him the time of day.

And people wonder why some men lack confidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Pity you're stuck with the looks eh?

Ah well I'm not amazingly good looking or even obviously above average(although some girls think I am, not boasting they tend to be ones I'm personally not attracted to but my style of clothes is better than most which gives me a few points imo)

My problem is girls I'm crushing on never like me back. I have to assume its something about my personality which turns girls I know off. I'm a nice person, maybe I come across too nice, too weird I duuno.

In clubs I don't exactly pull that much either but when I pull I tend to pull hot girls(imo) so in clubs its not really my looks its more my lack of confidence on that given night)

But that's kinda going off point. I think we know subconsciously which league we belong to and it effects who were are attracted to. I think people tend to reach and equilibrium if that makes sense. However like anything there is exceptions to the rule. I know a girl whose a model and she goes out with this fairly average looking guy, a mixture of his personality and social standing helped him pull her.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,245 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

RoverZT wrote: »

No.

It's the same for guys.

Looks are enough.

Looks are only enough if you have the confidence and personality to go with it. I've been told loads of times that I'm a very attractive girl yet I'm extremely shy (unless I've had a few drinks!) around the opposite sex and have never had a serious relationship - explain!

It's a discussion forum. Not a "how to pick up women using crappy techniques" forum

Discussion on how we have picked up women in the past is no harm.

leahyl wrote: »
    Looks are only enough if you have the confidence and personality to go with it. I've been told loads of times that I'm a very attractive girl yet I'm extremely shy (unless I've had a few drinks!) around the opposite sex and have never had a serious relationship - explain!

That's my point. Confidence is as important if not more important than looks. I go by a philosophy of not giving a **** what others think of me. That way I have fun and get on with everyone without any embarrassment or insecurity

I don't know how old you are but many people don't have a really serious relationship until their mid 20s.

Really?! I know plenty of people who have had serious relationships since their early 20's. I'm in my late twenties now.

Most of the crowd I grew up with would have been mid 20s when they had their first long term relationship.

But then I suppose we were boozing every weekend back then until we got sense.

Everyone is different I suppose!

Most of the crowd I grew up with would have been mid 20s when they had their first long term relationship.

But then I suppose we were boozing every weekend back then until we got sense.

Everyone is different I suppose!

When I say a serious relationship I mean a relationship in general btw - so yeah I've never had a relationship - it's tough out there!!

Well I'm 38 and have had only had 3 long term relationships, some people jump from a break up straight into another relationship, a bad move IMO.

Better to wait for the right person to come along.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Israel_Dagg

RoverZT wrote: »

No.

It's the same for guys.

Looks are enough.

Wrong. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Defo wrong. IMO i'd say there is way more good looking forever alone lads than there is girls. lads have to be dominant and confident, and if your not, despite having decent looks you'll struggle.

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Real Life

Ah well I'm not amazingly good looking or even obviously above average(although some girls think I am, not boasting they tend to be ones I'm personally not attracted to but my style of clothes is better than most which gives me a few points imo)

My problem is girls I'm crushing on never like me back. I have to assume its something about my personality which turns girls I know off. I'm a nice person, maybe I come across too nice, too weird I duuno.

In clubs I don't exactly pull that much either but when I pull I tend to pull hot girls(imo) so in clubs its not really my looks its more my lack of confidence on that given night)

But that's kinda going off point. I think we know subconsciously which league we belong to and it effects who were are attracted to. I think people tend to reach and equilibrium if that makes sense. However like anything there is exceptions to the rule. I know a girl whose a model and she goes out with this fairly average looking guy, a mixture of his personality and social standing helped him pull her.

pretty much exactly the same as me

Put yourself out there ! Socialise some more with the intention of enjoying youself, you'll meet someone along the way

Testify wrote: »
    Put yourself out there ! Socialise some more with the intention of enjoying youself, you'll meet someone along the way

Oh I know sure I do but don't get much interest....ah well, I'll hope for the best!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Oh I know sure I do but don't get much interest....ah well, I'll hope for the best!:pac:

So how often do you ask guys out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 ulyssescohen

Create your own league!