Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What really obvious thing have you only just realised?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

dlofnep wrote: »
    I suck with words.

I for some reason used to read hyperbole as "hyper-bowl". So when I first saw hyperbole being used in regular fashion online, I started using it - chuffed with myself that I now sounded extremely intelligent. It was only when I heard it pronounced properly on a debate a few years ago did I learn what a stupid cúnt I actually was.

How do you pronounce it so?

Today I learned that St. Nicholas' (Santa) remains are in Kilkenny. That's mental if true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

That revolving pole at the back of the chippie with the grey looking meat, didn't know what it was.

Didn't know what a kebab was

Ordered one in Abrakababra, won't be doing that again
    Bleuuuuughh :p

I guess it's a sign that those places are empty during the day and their only customers are drunk!

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭michaelr666

that Richard Attenborough and David Attenborough are brothers!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Today I learned that St. Nicholas' (Santa) remains are in Kilkenny. That's mental if true.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Nicholas#Face_of_the_historical_saint
    Whereas the devotional importance of relics and the economics associated with pilgrimages caused the remains of most saints to be divided up and spread over numerous churches in several countries, St. Nicholas is unusual in that most of his bones have been preserved in one spot: his grave crypt in Bari. Even with the still-continuing miracle of the manna, the archdiocese of Bari has allowed for one scientific survey of the bones. In the late 1950s, during a restoration of the chapel, it allowed a team of hand-picked scientists to photograph and measure the contents of the crypt grave.
    In the summer of 2005, the report of these measurements was sent to a forensic laboratory in England. The review of the data revealed that the historical St. Nicholas was barely five feet in height and had a broken nose.

Santa was a short arse.. :D (Barely bigger than an elf)

There is a shrine for St. Valentine in Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church in Dublin.

I was always told he was buried in Christchurch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Hyperbole = Hi-Per-Bo-Lee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

mikemac1 wrote: »
    That revolving pole at the back of the chippie with the grey looking meat, didn't know what it was.

Didn't know what a kebab was

Ordered one in Abrakababra, won't be doing that again
    Bleuuuuughh :p

I guess it's a sign that those places are empty during the day and their only customers are drunk!

Get yourself to Charcoal Grill in Galway. Wouldn't hurt being drunk all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

It will have to be good to beat McDonaghs and a bottle of buckfast at the sparch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

mikemac1 wrote: »

Catchy song, ye all know it :)

A man looking back at his youth and random memories like his first real six string.

Sure we do that over in All Things Retro forum

Bless my innocent soul.
    Heard that song hundreds of times over the years and I never ever picked up the meaning.
    Was about 1969, no? :o

Ahh that's a bit of a stretch by Adams to give his song somewhat of a deeper meaning. One of his better lyrics though was from the song "Have you really ever loved a woman?"

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Have_You_Ever_Really_Loved_a_Woman%3F
    To really love a woman
    To understand her - you gotta know her deep inside
    Hear every thought - see every dream
    N' give her wings - if she wants to fly
    Then when you find yourself lyin' helpless in her arms
    You know you really love a woman

When you love a woman then tell her
    that she's really wanted
    When you love a woman then tell her that she's the one
    'cause she needs somebody to tell her
    that it's gonna last forever
    So tell me have you ever really
    - really really ever loved a woman?

To really love a woman
    Let her hold you -
    till you know how she needs to be touched
    You've gotta breathe her - really taste her
    Till you can feel her in your blood
    N' when you can see your unborn children in her eyes

When you love a woman
    then tell her that she's really wanted
    When you love a woman then tell her that she's the one
    'cause she needs somebody to tell her
    that you'll always be together
    So tell me have you ever really -
    really really ever loved a woman?

You got to give her some faith - hold her tight
    A little tenderness - you gotta treat her right
    She will be there for you, takin' good care of you
    Ya really gotta love your woman...

Then when you find yourself lyin' helpless in her arms
    When you love a woman you tell her
    that she's really wanted
    When you love a woman you tell her that she's the one
    she needs somebody to tell her
    that it's gonna last forever
    So tell me have you ever really
    - really really ever loved a woman?

Just tell me have you ever really,
    really, really, ever loved a woman? Just tell me have you ever really,
    really, really, ever loved a woman?

Not too sure how the formatting on that copy'n' paste job is gonna transfer on the touch site and how it's looking on desktop but the relevant line-
    N' when you can see your unborn children in her eyes

Sweet Jesus it's creepy and cheesy all in one, but some people think it's romantic! :pac:

A better example of a song with a double meaning is "Golden Brown" by The Stranglers-

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golden_Brown
    Meaning

There has been much controversy surrounding the lyrics. In his 2001 book The Stranglers Song By Song, Hugh Cornwell clearly states "'Golden Brown' works on two levels. It's about heroin and also about a girl". Essentially the lyrics describe how "both provided me with pleasurable times".

Actually up until I just got it on wikipedia there, I had always thought the song was referring to golden brown weed, not heroin!

Just goes to show you- learn something new every day that may have been glaringly obvious to everyone else! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I never realised that The Count in Sesame Street was called that because he counted things, I guess I just thought he was royalty? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I could never see the VW in the Volkswagen logo

• Registered Users Posts: 27,055 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Irish Halo wrote: »
    Hyperbole = Hi-Per-Bo-Lee

Hi-per-bowlay surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Irish Halo wrote: »
    Hi-Per-Bo-Lee
    GreeBo wrote: »
    Hi-per-bowlay surely?

Ah jaysus lads, it's "Hyperbole"....... :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 8,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Canard

I only found out about hyperbole in 5th year, my gob****e of a JC teacher told me it was hyperbowl. :( I also pronounce "Halcyon" as "hal-ih-kinn" because of her - it's hard to break the habit!

I always thought when people said they were backpacking in Australia that they were going there and making money to stay afloat by packing bags in a shop for people. I was like jaziz everyone's doing that, must be a lot of demand, then it hit me one day. That one was bad. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

that there is a bear in the symbol for Toblerone

toblerone-bear.png

I did cop the SMS thing years ago when I realised that it sounded like SOS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

alproctor wrote: »
    Ah jaysus lads, it's "Hyperbole"....... :pac:
    I pronounce it ex-aj-er-ay-shun

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

http://www.webshopapps.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/fedex-logo-arrow1.jpeg

Never knew that there was meant to be an arrow between the 'E' and 'X' in the Fedex logo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

This thread is blowing my hungover mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

for ages, i never copped that there was a 1 hidden in the middle of the Formula 1 logo :o

http://www.topnews.in/sports/files/F1-logo01.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    My willy is very very very small.

Only took me 30 years to realise :(

Well if it took you 30 years to find it, surely you knew it was going to be small when you did finally get to see it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

dlofnep wrote: »
    I suck with words.

I for some reason used to read hyperbole as "hyper-bowl".

My English teacher told us it was pronounced that way. Luckily I found out she was wrong soon after.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Shryke wrote: »

Get yourself to Charcoal Grill in Galway. Wouldn't hurt being drunk all the same.

Charcoal grill is ****e.

Go to King Kebab or Alkebabish in Athlone or even better, Zaytoon in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

when you're logging into gmail, you don't need to put the '@gmail.com' bit. I've been telling people since I found out and they rarely believe me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Up to now I thought the poster called Eden Hazard was just a clever oxymoron (the garden of Eden in chaos!), but was just watching the news there and in Sport there was a Chelsea soccer player called Eden Hazard! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Seaneh wrote: »
    Charcoal grill is ****e

The one on Eyre Square is the best take away on the planet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

grain of rice? Yeah.

But i only realised this year, (im 30) that every cornflake is a flattened sweetcorn, i thought they used to mash them up into a paste with water, spread it on a tray and bake it, and then... hit it with a hammer to break it up into cornflakes...

Ohmygod, is that what it is? :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

The pointy bit on the caps of tubes of ointment is there to pierce the foil seal on the end of the tube.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

You can turn your phone off at night and the alarm will still work.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭OU812

Not an iPhone

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

Yep. Unfortunately I realised this while in the middle of a wedding (best man up at the altar in fact). Somehow I set the alarm in my pocket. It went off and I managed to hit snooze then turn it off. Came back on again. Morto. But I managed to cancel it without taking it out of me pocket. Luckily the priest was talking at the time, he was roaring in fact I think he's a bit deaf.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

I can turn MY phone off at night and the alarm will still work.
    fyp