Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Begrudging/Looking down on those who do well for themselves.....

• 19-12-2012 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I was chatting to my father recently about the recession and his job and how well he is doing for himself consider he is self employed and depends on consumers seeking him out for work. He is a service agent for shower and pump manufacters.

I was quite surprised he admitted to me that he feels guilty when arrives at a customer's home in his 12' jeep and then charges the prices he has to charge. He doesn't set the prices himself, it's the manufacturers and the car is one he bought himself after years of driving around in a much older too small one that his tools would barely fit in. And as he uses it for work it more than pays for itself.

It surprised and upset me that my father, an honest hardworking man who has worked non-stop all his life to provided for us should be made to feel guilty about buying this one thing for himself?

I have always said that this ression really brings the worst out in us all and it angers me that those who are working hard and earning enough to still be able to enjoy ourselves and have nice things should be made feel guilty for it.

I do fully understand that if you are struggling it can be a bit jarring to see some-one else being able to provide for their family and have a little extra for themselves but I still think it's a bit selfish to begrudge some-one like my father the right to spend his hard earned (and it is genuinely hard earned) cash.

Or am I just being unreasonable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Of course your not be unreasonable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I keep being told that we look down upon successful people in Ireland, but I don't, and I've never met anyone who does. Seems to be threads every day about that made up B word mentioned in the OP. Does anyone actually carry on like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Wils110

If the tiger was still roaring people would have something to say about your dads new jeep just the Irish way tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

People have two types of reaction to seeings such things and one is far more common than the other.

One reaction is to begrudge, hate and be jealous of the person that has more than you.

The other, rarer reaction is the people that admire it and get motivated themselves to better their position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

I was quite surprised he admitted to me that he feels guilty when arrives at a customer's home in his 12' jeep and then charges the prices he has to charge. He doesn't set the prices himself, it's the manufacturers and the car is one he bought himself after years of driving around in a much older too small one that his tools would barely fit in. And as he uses it for work it more than pays for itself.

It surprised and upset me that my father, an honest hardworking man who has worked non-stop all his life to provided for us should be made to feel guilty about buying this one thing for himself?

I do fully understand that if you are struggling it can be a bit jarring to see some-one else being able to provide for their family and have a little extra for themselves but I still think it's a bit selfish to begrudge some-one like my father the right to spend his hard earned (and it is genuinely hard earned) cash.

Or am I just being unreasonable?

Yes. He's feeling guilty. Nobody -according to your post - is MAKING him feel guilty. He's making himself feel guilty.

Stop worrying about what other people might be thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Ooooohhhhhhh.......no recession round here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I keep being told that we look down upon successful people in Ireland, but I don't, and I've never met anyone who does. Seems to be threads every day about that made up B word mentioned in the OP. Does anyone actually carry on like this?
    Every day there's at least one post talking about the "wealthy elite" and their moral obligation to pay 95% tax just because they earn more money.

That's an example of it. "Fairness" in Irish terms is that "nobody should ever be better off than someone else", rather than the more usual, "Everyone is entitled to be treated equally".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I think people have now more respect for people succeeding and still doing well.

As in the climate is so harsh, they must be genuinely working hard and fair play to them for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Yes. He's feeling guilty. Nobody -according to your post - is MAKING him feel guilty. He's making himself feel guilty.

Fair enough but he shouldn't have to feel that way.

Bedgrudgery might be the wrong phrase to use but I don't know what other way to put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I don't think this is people making your Dad feel guilty, its just a feeling your Dad has (its not a bad one either, he's modest).

My Dad is exactly the same. He's always told me if he had all the money in the world he wouldn't buy a brand new car, or something flashy, or a huge house. He said he'd feel embarrassed by it.

I wouldn't worry about it! :)

I don't think this is people making your Dad feel guilty, its just a feeling your Dad has (its not a bad one either, he's modest).

My Dad is exactly the same. He's always told me if he had all the money in the world he wouldn't buy a brand new car, or something flashy, or a huge house. He said he'd feel embarrassed by it.

I wouldn't worry about it! :)

I'm not worried about really, it just surprised me to hear him say it because he wouldn't be the type to care what anyone thinks of him.

I opened thread more as a general dicussion on the issue, using Dad as my starting point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 448 ✭✭tunedout

There are many people going around now charging well over the odds for carpentry services and plumbing services etc and they are arriving in 12 jeeps and vans with the best of gear. with the budget crucyfying families and families struggling to support and keep up i can see where the begrudging comes from. maybe if the trades people put more effort into their pricing and thought twice about spending €50k on a mode of transportation then we wouldn't be in the bother we'r in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

seamus wrote: »
    Every day there's at least one post talking about the "wealthy elite" and their moral obligation to pay 95% tax just because they earn more money.

That's an example of it. "Fairness" in Irish terms is that "nobody should ever be better off than someone else", rather than the more usual, "Everyone is entitled to be treated equally".

I think the issue is that, 'perception' or otherwise people are not treated equally here as has been demonstrated in the last 4 years by the white collar criminals jaunting off scott free to other countries leaving a wake of debt behind them whilst maintaining a extremely good lifestyle with no requirement for them to work for the rest of their lives to maintain it.

Your post looks like its confusing that sort of perception with one where people who earn over lets say 100K arent entitled to it, (which they are)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Basically this.

The difference here is this is a dude who goes out and does, what sounds like, pretty hard labour. The "Wealthy elite" go out dressed in an absurdly expensive suit, sit behind a desk and let everyone else do work while they figure out ways to screw money out of the first guy.

tunedout wrote: »
    There are many people going around now charging well over the odds for carpentry services and plumbing services etc and they are arriving in 12 jeeps and vans with the best of gear. with the budget crucyfying families and families struggling to support and keep up i can see where the begrudging comes from. maybe if the trades people put more effort into their pricing and thought twice about spending €50k on a mode of transportation then we wouldn't be in the bother we'r in.

And this is exactly what I'm talking about. This selfish, begrudging, 'you're not allowed do well because I'm suffering' attitude.

I've just told that in my Dad's case, and I'd wager most sevice people's cases' they don't set the prices, the manufacturers/suppliers do.

But in any case if a plumber/carpenter/fitter is doing well why should he/she not spend his/her hard earned money?

The "Wealthy elite" go out dressed in an absurdly expensive suit, sit behind a desk and let everyone else do work while they figure out ways to screw money out of the first guy.

I think a better definition of this would be what has happened with Comet in the UK which has been destroyed by some venture capitalist company.

These types of things are just leeches for destruction and should be entirely regulated.

The "Wealthy elite" go out dressed in an absurdly expensive suit, sit behind a desk and let everyone else do work while they figure out ways to screw money out of the first guy.
    Sure they do.

Thank you for perfectly demonstrating what I mean. This fallacy that people who earn a lot of money clearly don't deserve it.

"If he's making money, he must be screwing somebody else over".

It's a throwback to old anti-British sentiments and it's thankfully leaving Irish society, but bloody hell it's tedious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

I'm the opposite to these begrudgers, I pour scorn on those who can't match my wealth, I regard anyone without a nice mansion and Jag like my own as scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Ush1 wrote: »
    People have two types of reaction to seeings such things and one is far more common than the other.

One reaction is to begrudge, hate and be jealous of the person that has more than you.

The other, rarer reaction is the people that admire it and get motivated themselves to better their position.

I disagree.
    There is another reaction to 'seeing such things' and it is one with which I share with a large number of people, let's just call it Atari Jaguar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Sure they do.

Thank you for perfectly demonstrating what I mean. This fallacy that people who earn a lot of money clearly don't deserve it.

It's a throwback to old anti-British sentiments and it's thankfully leaving Irish society, but bloody hell it's tedious.

No, now you're twisting my post. The likes of various TDs, bankers, so on and so forth, the ones raking in cash to the detriment to the ones they're supposed to be supporting (I know banks are businesses, but it's not in their interest to help financially ruin a country) are who I'm talking about. Not Ma and Pa Furniture Fixer or whatever, who own a decent house I wouldn't mind having. See the difference, or are you going to run my post through the aggro-filter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Gauss wrote: »
    I'm the opposite to these begrudgers, I pour scorn on those who can't match my wealth, I regard anyone without a nice mansion and Jag like my own as scum.

I pity you, I am scornful of those who don't have a fine french castle and private airplane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Well I can only come to one conclusion after reading this, your dad just doesn't pay enough taxes. If someone can afford a 2012 vehicle they're not paying enough taxes. It's gone beyond ridiculous, people and their 2012 cars.
    I'm not being serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Depends how you've done well doesn't it in real terms?

I tend to see people begrudging people working inf finance and the professions more.*

*Because they make outrageous amounts of money over and above what they deserve (which is still a lot).

Sure they do.

It's a throwback to old anti-British sentiments and it's thankfully leaving Irish society, but bloody hell it's tedious

I dont think thats what the general public think. Ive already addressed what i feel is the general public perception in my other post.

I believe you are generalising on a generalisation.

There is a stark difference between creating wealth and fraud. And Fraud is what has been the problem in this country not wealth creation. Its getting tiresome at this stage.....

• Begrudgery is something that permeates Irish society. People really can't stand to see others doing better than they are. The 'isn't it well for you?' attitude is absolutely everywhere.

The likes of various TDs, bankers, so on and so forth, the ones raking in cash to the detriment to the ones they're supposed to be supporting (I know banks are businesses, but it's not in their interest to help financially ruin a country) are who I'm talking about.
    You're presuming though that these people do nothing but sit behind a desk and do a job anyone can do and take a big pile of cash for it.

I'll give you an example. I know a family who live on a nice quiet upper class Dublin street. Ridiculously huge house. The father gets paid a stupid amount of money. I don't know how much, but they have two €80k cars on top of his 1970's Porsche.
    They're the kind of family who have 3 Xmas trees in the house and pay a company to come in and decorate the house for them at Xmas time. That scale of wealth.

What does he do? He buys and sells bank debt. The simplest definition of his job is that he takes potential investors/banks out for an expensive meal and a ****load of wine and convinces them to buy or sell millions of euros of debt, and his company take a cut off the top.
    That's money for old rope, right? Anyone with a bit of charm can do it.

Here's the kicker: The guy spends Monday to Friday, every week, living in one of 4 other countries, getting up to start work at 7am and finishing whenever he's done wining and dining potential clients/investors. He has 3 children and a wife who see him for less than 48 hours at the weekend, 50 weeks of the year.

I'll happily stick with my two-bed negative equity mortgage and average salary thanks, if that's the cost of earning a lot of money.

In reality it is. Nobody who earns a big salary works 9-5 Monday to Friday. It's always stupid hours and detrimental to family life. Family > everything.

I'm not saying that politicians (for example), necessarily deserve the amounts that they get, but it's a fallacy to think that people on €100k+ jobs have an easy ride and just live the high life 24/7 while everyone else toils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I'm not being serious.

Fcuker, you nearly got me:D I was pressing the reply button with a sense of moral ourage when I seen that last bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I for one love going into small independent retailers and asking them how business is doing and getting a positive reply.

Do I begrudge successful people? Not at all. I do begrudge people that got rich on the backs of others and I think this is where there is alot of misplaced anger at successful people.

I begrudge politicians, councellors, bankers and specific people in the public service (previous financial regulator) who get to retire or continue to work for the state with Zero accounability for their actions if they have made significant mistakes. Zero financial repercussions , at worst getting a golden handshake.

I don't believe the average person begrudges a successful business person. I just think that sometimes people don't differentiate between people who they feel deserve success from people who don't deserve it.

Success is usually thought as somebody who is wealthy, I consider it a success being able to get up in the morning! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I hate begrudgery but I, like most of us, have been guilty of it on occasion. My bugrudgery is usually limited to the inflated wages of some people in the public sector and I feel that can be valid distinction because it's not a wage that is decided by market forces. I'm happier with my wage since starting a new job, however, so much of my previous begrudgery was really just a reflection of my previous employer gripes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

OP, you said that your dad feels bad about doing well. That's a reflection of himself, not others. I feel good for doing comparatively well.

Odysseus wrote: »
    Fcuker, you nearly got me:D I was pressing the reply button with a sense of moral ourage when I seen that last bit.

Lol me too!

You're presuming though that these people do nothing but sit behind a desk and do a job anyone can do and take a big pile of cash for it.

I'll give you an example. I know a family who live on a nice quiet upper class Dublin street. Ridiculously huge house. The father gets paid a stupid amount of money. I don't know how much, but they have two €80k cars on top of his 1970's Porsche.
    They're the kind of family who have 3 Xmas trees in the house and pay a company to come in and decorate the house for them at Xmas time. That scale of wealth.

What does he do? He buys and sells bank debt. The simplest definition of his job is that he takes potential investors/banks out for an expensive meal and a ****load of wine and convinces them to buy or sell millions of euros of debt, and his company take a cut off the top.
    That's money for old rope, right? Anyone with a bit of charm can do it.

Here's the kicker: The guy spends Monday to Friday, every week, living in one of 4 other countries, getting up to start work at 7am and finishing whenever he's done wining and dining potential clients/investors. He has 3 children and a wife who see him for less than 48 hours at the weekend, 50 weeks of the year.

I'll happily stick with my two-bed negative equity mortgage and average salary thanks, if that's the cost of earning a lot of money.

In reality it is. Nobody who earns a big salary works 9-5 Monday to Friday. It's always stupid hours and detrimental to family life. Family > everything.

I'm not saying that politicians (for example), necessarily deserve the amounts that they get, but it's a fallacy to think that people on €100k+ jobs have an easy ride and just live the high life 24/7 while everyone else toils.

Once again i dont think anyone would see anything wrong with it. Your dressing up a perfect situation there.

But the problem is when mr upper class dublin there chummy with some bankers takes out a 50 Million euro loan to buy property and then skips the country defaulting on the debt with 1 million sitting in his bank to live out his life.

As has happened countless times in the last 4 years.

So why dont you address this than dressing up lovely pictures of hard working people with the sun shining out of their hole ?

Everyone has the right to earn money and work hard and i respect that. Its when the same pr**ks leave me in the lurch and my tax money goes to fix their lifestyle choices.

Confab wrote: »
    OP, you said that your dad feels bad about doing well. That's a reflection of himself, not others. I feel good for doing comparatively well.

True of course.

But perhaps if there wasn't such negativity towards those who are able to earn enough to keep themselves and enjoy themselves in this country he wouldn't feel the need to think like that.

There's two sides to this.

So why dont you address this than dressing up lovely pictures of hard working people with the sun shining out of their hole ?

Everyone has the right to earn money and work hard and i respect that. Its when the same pr**ks leave me in the lurch and my tax money goes to fix their lifestyle choices.
    Is it any different to the multitudes of people who took out €300k mortgages and have skipped the country leaving us to pay their debt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The truth of the matter is, that your dads other, that is his alter ego, which lies repressed, the doppleganger that must be destroyed, to quote Freud, is the true begrudger.
    Your father needs a good talking to himself.

Is it any different to the multitudes of people who took out €300k mortgages and have skipped the country leaving us to pay their debt?

?? Its not the same itd be interested to see how many of these people 'skipped the country'

for one they wouldnt have the cash for a plane ticket and secondly they would have had to hand over the keys to their home that maybe lost 30% the value of the investment

Where as the other lads jumped the country with cash had an expensive lawyer to sort out their mess.

Case of the have's and the have nots isnt it. And you dressing it up as anything else is gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Is there? 95%? I haven't heard that before in Ireland. I wouldn't pay 95% tax if I was a millionaire. Don't see why I should really. Particularly not when you see some of the tax is so badly used, not a hope. I'd hand back in my Irish passport if I was in a similar situation to Depardieu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

'People of Norwich are warmer of heart than their London counterparts, with their negative equity and their stab wounds.'- Alan Partridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

A bloke driving a big jeep isn't a sign of wealth, it's a sign of a man with a small penis!

listermint wrote: »
    Where as the other lads jumped the country with cash had an expensive lawyer to sort out their mess.

Case of the have's and the have nots isnt it. And you dressing it up as anything else is gas.
    You're the one who's dressing it up like every wealthy person has run off and dumped a shedload of debt on the Irish people. A handful of scumbags have done this. The majority of exceptionally wealthy people haven't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

I am a sucessful person and the begrugery in Ireland is not too bad. In England it is much worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Exactly the same...

No wait... the financial person is supposed to be the expert service provider and the debt exile is the consumer who trusted the 'expert'.

One can walk away from corporate catastrophes a rich man protected by limited liability and other statutory instruments and the other will have the debt hanging over him for the rest of his life.

So yes, if we're working with these caricatures their levels of responsibility and levels of being made to pay for it are indeed diametrically different.

You're the one who's dressing it up like every wealthy person has run off and dumped a shedload of debt on the Irish people. A handful of scumbags have done this. The majority of exceptionally wealthy people haven't.

Hold your horses there.

Where ONCE did i dress it up tat every wealthy person has run off and dumped a shedload of debt on irish people ?

I explained in all of my posts what constitutes scumbags (fraud)

I also explained that everyone has the right to work hard and get their just rewards (in every post).

It would appear Seamus you have your own self loathing issues with the decent money you earn if you manage to construe that from my posts.

I make good money im happy and i dont feel sorry for working hard.

What i do feel pissed off about is you apologising for frausters.

Gas man.

Now go back an re-read my posts and discuss accordingly.

"Charicatures", I'm glad we're using this word.

First the discussion was about wealthy people and whether they "deserved" their wages.

Then it turned into how wealthy people all took out €50m mortgages and then skipped the country with a big bank balance.

Now suddenly all wealthy people are financial experts who presided over corporate catastrophes.

Again, a small number of people fncked up and caused the financial crisis. Someone being wealthy doesn't logically follow that they must be a suit in an office stepping on the little guy.

Edit: Actually to be fair, it was me who threw out the "wealthy elite" phrase, so I suppose I shouldn't be surprised when a few people latch onto it :D

"Charicatures", I'm glad we're using this word.

First the discussion was about wealthy people and whether they "deserved" their wages.

Then it turned into how wealthy people all took out €50m mortgages and then skipped the country with a big bank balance.

Now suddenly all wealthy people are financial experts who presided over corporate catastrophes.

Again, a small number of people fncked up and caused the financial crisis. Someone being wealthy doesn't logically follow that they must be a suit in an office stepping on the little guy.

Once more, the discussion has been hijacked by the histrionics of a few people who can't stop banging on about the recession and the "wealthy elite"

Yes you.

Its not a them and us Seamus, but apologising for fraud in any of its forms is not right.

You made the connection between people making large somes of money and begrudgery. It was you how started that no other posters.

slightly perplexed here.

I made the connection that NO, the general public have no issue with someone earning good money. but HOW FRAUD HAS BEEN DEALT with in the last 4 years has coloured perception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

The 'small number' presupposes that the people working for Anglo making 100k+ of wihch I'm sure there were quite a few didn't play their role in the crash.

In fact, estate agents, local politicians, mortgage lenders, and providers of credit and not to mention the builders.

That's at least quadruple digit conspiracy.

Of course it's actually the fault of the electorate but whatever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I agree with you there BraziliaNZ.
    The story goes that if someone pulls up to a hotel in a ferrari in america everyone thinks he's a great lad, the same happens in ireland everyone thinks he's a bollocks. But in reality they don't! They're far too interested in the car, they couldn't care less who got out of it from my experience.

The only rich people that "normal" people hate, are arseholes, or people who got rich some dodgy way, say Bertie Ahern collecting a massive pension and getting €30k for giving a talk in Nigeria.
    Another good example was Gerry Ryan when he was alive. He used to think people hated him because he was rich. No, people hated him because he was an arsehole. A deluded arsehole too! Ryan Tuberty is the same. He thinks people like to knock him cos he's successful. No, people do it because he comes across as a smug knobend who is terrible at his job.
    Why does no one hate JP McManus? Because he seems like a decent guy, that's why. No one hated Sean Quinn till his court case and collapse of his empire.
    I don't think Irish people are begrugers at all, but we're just not afraid to call someone a prick when they become rich. Being successful doesn't turn a dickhead into someone we should all fawn over.

Cienciano wrote: »
    I agree with you there BraziliaNZ.
    The story goes that if someone pulls up to a hotel in a ferrari in america everyone thinks he's a great lad, the same happens in ireland everyone thinks he's a bollocks. But in reality they don't! They're far too interested in the car, they couldn't care less who got out of it from my experience.

The only rich people that "normal" people hate, are arseholes, or people who got rich some dodgy way, say Bertie Ahern collecting a massive pension and getting €30k for giving a talk in Nigeria.
    Another good example was Gerry Ryan when he was alive. He used to think people hated him because he was rich. No, people hated him because he was an arsehole. A deluded arsehole too! Ryan Tuberty is the same. He thinks people like to knock him cos he's successful. No, people do it because he comes across as a smug knobend who is terrible at his job.
    Why does no one hate JP McManus? Because he seems like a decent guy, that's why. No one hated Sean Quinn till his court case and collapse of his empire.
    I don't think Irish people are begrugers at all, but we're just not afraid to call someone a prick when they become rich. Being successful doesn't turn a dickhead into someone we should all fawn over.

Entirely agree.

But this conflicts with Seamus's self loathing.

You made the connection between people making large somes of money and begrudgery. It was you how started that no other posters.
    Yeah, I spotted that :D
    In my defence though, I was responding to the OP's remark that they never saw an example of begrudgery. It wasn't me who started bleating on about bankers and the recession.
    I made the connection that NO, the general public have no issue with someone earning good money. but HOW FRAUD HAS BEEN DEALT with in the last 4 years has coloured perception.
    But that's got nothing to do with the begrudgery we're discussing.
    The general public do have an issue with someone earning money, until they learn how it's earned. Until shown otherwise, the public assume that anyone on €100k+ must be some wanker in a suit who plays golf 3 afternoons a week and feasts on the souls of the ordinary worker on the weekends.
    But this conflicts with Seamus's self loathing.
    I wish I earned enough to conform to your pop psychoanalysis.

Yeah, I spotted that :D
    In my defence though, I was responding to the OP's remark that they never saw an example of begrudgery. It wasn't me who started bleating on about bankers and the recession.
    But that's got nothing to do with the begrudgery we're discussing.
    The general public do have an issue with someone earning money, until they learn how it's earned. Until shown otherwise, the public assume that anyone on €100k+ must be some wanker in a suit who plays golf 3 afternoons a week and feasts on the souls of the ordinary worker on the weekends.
    I wish I earned enough to conform to your pop psychoanalysis.

See this is where we disagree. I dont think thats the case.