Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(SIX!) Gardai sent to arrest mother of unpaid fine at 3.30AM

• 11-12-2012 11:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Was this a bit heavy handed by the Gardai?

Its not like they were going after a murderer, the woman in question had a €250 fine for using her phone whilst driving outstanding.
    SIX gardai called to the home of a mother just before 3am to arrest her and bring her to prison over an unpaid €250 traffic fine.

The 27-year-old woman has appeared in Limerick District Court where Judge Eugene O'Kelly extended the time to allow her appeal the case. The case arose after the Limerick woman was allegedly caught using a mobile phone while driving in 2010.

However, she insists she was not aware of the initial fine or proceedings in the District Court last May when she was convicted and fined €250. When the court fine was left unpaid, a penal warrant was subsequently issued and forwarded to gardai.

The mother, who lives in a halting site in Limerick, spoke after the court sitting on condition of anonymity. Last Wednesday morning, gardai arrived at her home just before 3am. "It was about 2.45am and they knocked at my back door and they had flash lamps and at first I didn't know who it was," she said. "Then when I opened the door, it was the guards –about six of them. "When they walked in, they asked us what our names were because my sister was there as well and my mam was in bed and my baby was in bed.

"When they came in then, they said, 'There is a warrant for your arrest'. "I asked them for what and they said for a mobile phone," she said. The woman pleaded with the officers not to bring her to prison because of her three-month-old son. She told gardai she would sort it out that week. "I said I was not going up to the prison – no way. "They were fair enough about it, but it was the hour of the morning that was upsetting," she said.

Last Friday, her solicitor Sarah Ryan made an application in Limerick District Court to extend time to allow an appeal. Granting the application, Judge O'Kelly said he hoped there was some "extraordinary" reason for the gardai attempting to execute the penal warrant at that time of the morning. Insp John Deasy said it was "not the normal practice" and told the court there may have been specific reasons as to why it was done at that time but did not identify what they were.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/six-gardai-sent-to-arrest-mum-for-unpaid-fine-at-3am-3323199.html

Bit OTT by the Gards, or completely justified?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

She is a traveler living in a halting site, would you go on your lonesome?

Thought not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Well as the old saying goes: Don't do the crime if you can't get up at the right time. Or something like that... :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Poor things need all the overtime they can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

A little over the top alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Has to be more to the story than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭baldshin

Don't think it should matter what time of day it is when the gardai are dealing with an offence. She should have just paid her fine and avoided all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Thought not.

I'd imagine the 2.30 am time is related to that too. It seems the women were awake, but there were no men in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

Given that she's living on a halting site, I reckon the Gardai had a few more numbers in case of an incident. Perhaps the same reason for the time they called...

..still..seems a bit excessive for that kind of offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Halting site. No way in hell the Gardai would arrive onto a halting site in broad daylight to try action an arrest warrant, there'd be murder.

Seems fair enough to me.

The article says she was allegedly caught using a mobile phone while driving
    So was she caught driving using a phone or not :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Thought not.

Definitely not :eek:

I would though, as a Garda, prob not go until the law allowed me to.
    3am would be against the law.
    "They (penal warrants) should not be executed after midnight or before 7am,"

Ghandee wrote: »
    Definitely not :eek:
    What law :confused:

seamus wrote: »
    Halting site. No way in hell the Gardai would arrive onto a halting site in broad daylight to try action an arrest warrant, there'd be murder.

Seems fair enough to me.

The dead of night would be safer than daylight hours?

The judge only said the warrants should be executed between 7am and midnight, not that they must be.
    If the warrant had been illegally executed, the judge would have struck it out and sent her home.
    For a start, they won't see you coming. As mentioned above though, the Gardai clearly knew it would be mostly women and no men that time of the night. So they picked that time purposely.

Or to force an eviction, they usually tell council workers to try it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,122 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

She says herself that the Gardai were fair and friendly... can't really fault them in this case tbh. As for arriving at such an hour of the morning... well they avoided unnecessary confrontation and agro which was the point of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Depends who's around, doesn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

I think even they sleep at night..sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

baldshin wrote: »
    Don't think it should matter what time of day it is when the gardai are dealing with an offence. She should have just paid her fine and avoided all this.

Exactly. I reckon that the guards should mount a pre-christmas operation involving dragging people with unpaid parking tickets out of their beds in the middle of the night and pulling them through the town tied naked to the back of a squad car. It would send the message out that these parking ticket fines need to be paid and bring in some extra cash for the government prior to Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

And the scumbags that are responsible for inflicting hardship and poverty on ordinary people for years to come get big fat pensions.

Good to see we have our priorities right.

snubbleste wrote: »

They attempted to serve a penal warrant.

These must be served before midnight, and after seven am.

The Gards run the risk of these warrants being ripped up if the technicalities aren't right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Should the garda be doing this stupid arrest during the day when they are busy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Unpaid fine?

Sure ya can't be doin that!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I stopped reading and lost sympathy at the words "halting site".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭h2005

magma69 wrote: »
    And the scumbags that are responsible for inflicting hardship and poverty on ordinary people for years to come get big fat pensions.

Is this going to be brought up every time someone is arrested? Its getting a bit tiresome at this stage

The Gards run the risk of these warrants being ripped up if the technicalities aren't right.
    You've stated there is a law. Point it out clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Bit of a misleading title.
    They didn't send 6 guards into a quiet housing estate to drag a woman out of the house over €250.

They sent 6 to ensure the safety of their personnel given the location the woman lived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭h2005

The judge only said the warrants should be executed between 7am and midnight, not that they must be.
    If the warrant had been illegally executed, the judge would have struck it out and sent her home.

For a start, they won't see you coming. As mentioned above though, the Gardai clearly knew it would be mostly women and no men that time of the night. So they picked that time purposely.
    Why would there be no men there at that time?

Ok, I'm going to ask the obvious question. Why would there be no men at the location at night?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Ok, I'm going to ask the obvious question. Why would there be no men at the location at night?

Maybe the gaurds had information the men went out at night doing various night time activities .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Misleading title...

Came here wondering how a woman gave birth to an unpaid fine....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

magma69 wrote: »

Rabble Rabble Rabble, Bankers!
    Rabble Rabble Rabble, Fiana Fail!

Stinicker wrote: »
    I stopped reading and lost sympathy at the words "halting site".

If you replaced the words "halting site" with "asylum seeker's accommodation" you'd probably get a ban and a torrent of abuse from people here.

Jeez. Storm in a tea cup here.

Right decision made by Gardai seems to be the only shocker here.

No one got injured, no one got hurt. Common sense was used. Job well done in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

In certain circumstances they can be served at any time.The judge made comment to this, and did not strike the case out.

Not wanting to get too much into the details of things, but there appears tp be a lot more to this than a person with a totally clean record other than one unpaid fine to their name.

I am sure a lot of Limerick folk who listened to local radio today and yesterday or read local papers will find some of the names and the location as being very familiar sounding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

a bit of discrimination id say
    its because shes a traveler they sent so many

Kess73 wrote: »
    In certain circumstances they can be served at any time.The judge made comment to this, and did not strike the case out.

Not wanting to get too much into the details of things, but there appears tp be a lot more to this than a person with a totally clean record other than one unpaid fine to their name.

I am sure a lot of Limerick folk who listened to local radio today and yesterday or read local papers will find some of the names and the location as being very familiar sounding.

Would it start with a C and end with a G by any chance?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Seems fair enough to me.
    This.

I'm sure there was a fair amount of Garda intelligence on this before they went in also, considering that it was an arrest warrant they would need to know that the woman was definitely at the address before going in and therefore know what they would be facing.

h2005 wrote: »
    Why would there be no men there at that time?
    I dunno, but there obviously wasn't. Maybe the men were down the pub, out looking for work, etc?

a bit of discrimination id say
    its because shes a traveler they sent so many
    Maybe she can pursue it under the Equality Acts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Que **Phone footage of arrest overdubbed with "AH HEYOR leave it out" Woman:rolleyes:

I dunno, but there obviously wasn't. Maybe the men were down the pub, out looking for work, etc?
    At 0330?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Theanswers

Maybe the gaurds had information the men went out at night doing various night time activities .

Stealing copper and causing general trouble?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Doesnt seem ott at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Travellers don't pay fines, insurance on cars, road tax, nothing like that. Fair play to the police, they get away with murder (probably literally) in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Should have followed them;)

At 0330?
    *shrug*

Why do you think there were no men there at 0330?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

It seems like an awful waste of taxpayers money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Was this a bit heavy handed by the Gardai?

Its not like they were going after a murderer, the woman in question had a €250 fine for using her phone whilst driving outstanding.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/six-gardai-sent-to-arrest-mum-for-unpaid-fine-at-3am-3323199.html

Bit OTT by the Gards, or completely justified?

very subtle traveler bash because for some reason that sort of discrimination is okay

Dodge wrote: »
    I'd imagine the 2.30 am time is related to that too. It seems the women were awake, but there were no men in the house.

How did you come to that conclusion from the linked article incidentally?