Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Syria rebels unveil cutting-edge homemade tank

• 10-12-2012 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fB1BDrFzFY0

For months Syrian rebels have taken matters into their own hands, but now they’ve seriously stepped up their game: a home-made tank. We’re not just talking about a car with a some metal attached to it; this bad boy features a playstation controller used specifically for moving the tank’s turret.

Mods,feel free to move to Console Modding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It looks pretty indestructible. Apart from the exposed rubber tires like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

I like the way the rolled over the loose twig.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭peterk675

Technically its not a tank :rolleyes: ( had to be said )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Extremely Light armoured vehicle with machine gun. Not a tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Not a bad effort. I just hope the syrian army don't have armor piercing rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I prefer the Libyans' pimped out pick up trucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

its good that they put headlamps on it. Nice to see some consideration for other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Kudos to them for their inventiveness and enterprising attitude. I do, however, have serious concerns over how much protection such a vehicle would provide against even a heavy machine gun, let alone an armor-piercing round or an RPG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

It fills the niche of providing protection from small-arms fire while heading to the shop for bread and milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    It fills the niche of providing protection from small-arms fire while heading to the shop for bread and milk.
    Or trips in to Gamestop for spare parts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

I am deeply concered about the Co2 emissions.

I will continue to support NATO as they are working to reduce Co2 on US Nazy bombers so they can slaughter innocent people in an enviromentally ethical manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I wonder did he manage to get it taxed as commercial

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Not even a tank, it's a super lightly armored vehicle - and I doubt it'd last longer than about 5 seconds in the field, looks like a strong breeze would take it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Not cutting edge, not a tank.

Its a very lightly armoured, armoured car.

It wouldnt stand a chance against armour piercing rounds, let alone an RPG.
    It may not even be of any protection against ball ammunition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Jamie Starr

Craig Charles is gonna be impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Castro had something like this over 50 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

The designer must have been a Tuam Man, Sham II, Sham I is being towed behind a Hi-Ace as we speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Might as well paint a target on it.
    Not very impressive at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Any military/army guys know if a rpg round would be able to pierce that type of plate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Merch wrote: »
    Not cutting edge, not a tank.

Its a very lightly armoured, armoured car.

It wouldnt stand a chance against armour piercing rounds, let alone an RPG.
    It may not even be of any protection against ball ammunition.
    That's shocking, how low will Assad stoop? Is it used to sterilise rebels?

Remmy wrote: »
    Any military/army guys know if a rpg round would be able to pierce that type of plate?

Not an army locally that has experience of anti tank rockets.
    Doesnt look very thick, rpg's can take down a lot of stuff, some modern ones can stop all but the most modern tanks, at the least they might take a wheel off or damage the track if it was exposed.

I wouldnt like to be in that if someone hit it with a hammer

Pottler wrote: »
    That's shocking, how low will Assad stoop? Is it used to sterilise rebels?

huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Cool stuff. Intuitive, creative and desire all in one. However it wouldn't last long on today's battlefield. Likely will crumple under sustained and heavy fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

It wouldn't stand a chance against Hypno-Disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Nice effort, 'cutting edge' it ain't.
    Love some of the comments though. 'Running over that shrubbery demonstrated the raw power of this formidable weapon.'
    Still, ya gotta go with what ya got, and fair play to them. You can't question their bravery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I want one for Christmas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

Great for dealing with those bastard Christians and Nuns, eh? These people are extremists, they don't want rid of Assad because he's too brutal, they want rid of him because not enough infidel and Christian heads roll.

Border-Rat wrote: »
    Great for dealing with those bastard Christians and Nuns, eh? These people are extremists, they don't want rid of Assad because he's too brutal, they want rid of him because not enough infidel and Christian heads roll.
    Bollocks.

Johro wrote: »
    Nice effort, 'cutting edge' it ain't.
    Love some of the comments though. 'Running over that shrubbery demonstrated the raw power of this formidable weapon.'
    Still, ya gotta go with what ya got, and fair play to them. You can't question their bravery.

They might be better off in a converted jeep/truck
    Dont think the Syrian army are going to let it get withing range of them, stands out a bit, so cant really hide it on a street.

Doesn't look easy to get out of, wonder what they call it, the cooker.
    Wouldn't fancy it myself.

Merch wrote: »
    huh?
    Ball ammo. I thought they might use it for low shots. "Armoured" car is crap btw, flat sides and 3/4" plate - made to be gone through. A chap with an RPG would go "oh look, target practice-whoooosssshhhbannnnggg" and the playstation controller would get melted.

They make tanks out of stuff that is 8"+ thick and an RPG will still penetrate - it detonates on contact and a shaped charge propells a disc of copper in a molten stream through the steel.

They incorporate sand and ceramics between the steel of tanks and use small explosive charges attatched to the armour as a defence - the charge explodes when the RPG hits it and it basically "reverses" the stream of molten metal. Even that is no guarantee against the latest anti-armour stuff. A depleted uranium shell would go in the front, out the back and keep going for another few hundred meters, with a few bits of rebel still attached. Even the other rebels must think these lads are luders.

If a 50 cal round hit it, the splinters of steel that would be thrown off the back of the plate would kill them all anyway, even if it didn't penetrate, which it would. It would also probably come out the other side.

Heavy stuff is quite ferocious, think of your average block wall - hiding behind it won't work, the rounds will go through, so suddenly you've added chunks of concrete as well as copper jacketed steel bullets to the list of things that hit you. Also, your car door is no protection, nor is your car door, you, your passenger, and their door and the lad standing beside that door. All of those will get the good news from one round. Your engine block might stop one, but only might...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Bollocks.

Only to a certain degree tbh.. not all of the 'rebels' are singing from the same hymn-sheet. There are known extremist groups vying for power alongside those who just want rid of Assad and a more free society.

Ball ammo. I thought they might use it for low shots. "Armoured" car is crap btw, flat sides and 3/4" plate - made to be gone through. A chap with an RPG would go "oh look, target practice-whoooosssshhhbannnnggg" and the playstation controller would get melted.

They make tanks out of stuff that is 8"+ thick and an RPG will still penetrate - it detonates on contact and a shaped charge propells a disc of copper in a molten stream through the steel. They incorporate sand and ceramics between the steel of tanks and use small explosive charges attatched to the armour as a defence - the charge explodes when the RPG hits it and it basically "reverses" the stream of molten metal. Even that is no guarantee against the latest anti-armour stuff. A depleted uranium shell would go in the front, out the back and keep going for another few hundred meters, with a few bits of rebel still attached. Even the other rebels must think these lads are luders.

A 4X4 Isuzu with a set of bullbars would shatter the welding/seams/corners of this 'tank' if it rammed it at even moderate speed.

Mind you, we did make our own cars like this in the War of Independence, but times have changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

They make tanks out of stuff that is 8"+ thick and an RPG will still penetrate - it detonates on contact and a shaped charge propells a disc of copper in a molten stream through the steel. They incorporate sand and ceramics between the steel of tanks and use small explosive charges attatched to the armour as a defence - the charge explodes when the RPG hits it and it basically "reverses" the stream of molten metal. Even that is no guarantee against the latest anti-armour stuff. A depleted uranium shell would go in the front, out the back and keep going for another few hundred meters, with a few bits of rebel still attached. Even the other rebels must think these lads are luders.

Would the Syrian army have depleted Uranium shells though...?

How well equiped is the Syrian Army?
    I'd imagine they at least have RPG's though, sure everyone and their grandmother does at this stage :pac:

dorkacle wrote: »

I'd imagine they at least have RPG's though, sure everyone and their grandmother does at this stage :pac:
    They don't need DU shells, a feckin €300 russian rpg would mash it from any angle and they have them. Go any heavier and it would be hard to find bits of the thing. I reckon that driving fast down a bumpy road would do it in anyway. A hosing down with a AK74 would make for a bad day out for everyone inside and a grenade or mine would burst it like a barrel. Take a peek at a MOWAG some time, and they're also fairly crap if you need to play "hide from the man with the rpg". This is to a mowag what a citroen 2cv is to an armoured humvee.

And best of luck when the gun on the satelitte dish mount goes click and needs feeding fresh bang bangs.- "You go Ahmed" - "No, you go Ishmael, I did it last time" -

dorkacle wrote: »

Better equipped than the Iraqi army was (If something flies in there, it's not coming back out), not as well equipped as the Iranian army.

Only to a certain degree tbh.. not all of the 'rebels' are singing from the same hymn-sheet. There are known extremist groups vying for power alongside those who just want rid of Assad and a more free society.
    Sure, but talk about sweeping generalisations...

Bollocks.

Get a clue. No, seriously, would you?

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/features/christians-a-target-for-syrian-rebels-we-back/story-e6frg6z6-1226494303347

If you're a Christian in Syria and these nutters get a hold of you, you're up **** creek. I guess no-one wants to listen to Nuns in Syria who are terrified of these savages?

I love people who beat their chest all week about Islam yet when the Tories and other plutocrats instruct them to back extremist nutters, the obsequiousness kicks in.

Get a clue. No, seriously, would you?

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/features/christians-a-target-for-syrian-rebels-we-back/story-e6frg6z6-1226494303347

If you're a Christian in Syria and these nutters get a hold of you, you're up **** creek. I guess no-one wants to listen to Nuns in Syria who are terrified of these savages?

I love people who beat their chest all week about Islam yet when the Tories and other plutocrats instruct them to back extremist nutters, the obsequiousness kicks in.
    Again, I have no love for extremist nutters of any kind, but don't tar all the rebels with the same brush. There are and will always be people who will use any situation to further their own agenda and they are cunts, agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

Can't watch vid as snall internet, but sounds like maybe The A-team or The B-team.
    Though not funny whats going on over there, it's serious, these people are fighting for their life.

Btw, that means nothing to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Looks ike it would fly through the NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

MadYaker wrote: »
    Not a bad effort. I just hope the syrian army don't have armor piercing rounds.

or AK's lol

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Looks ike it would fly through the NCT
    No chance - can't see the wheel nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

It looks pretty indestructible. Apart from the exposed rubber tires like

Talking big about taking on the Syrian military when a 9 year old with a pocket knife can render your machine of fury out of service. There's something monty pyton about the whole thing.

Then again would hate the lads to go through all that for nothing. If anyone can get these fellas numbers or emails tell them to me meet me at Kildare Street, Dublin 5pm sharp on Friday. Inform them I'll pay their ferry fair, and wages and the mission itself will be explained at the agreed meeting time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭GCU Flexible Demeanour

It would remind you a little of this mean mother, which (believe it or not) Irish troops would have brought out to the Congo in the 1960s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

It would remind you a little of this mean mother, which (believe it or not) Irish troops would have brought out to the Congo in the 1960s.

The Germans wouldn't have stood a chance had they stupidly tried to invade us back then.

dttq wrote: »
    The Germans wouldn't have stood a chance had they stupidly try to invade us back then.
    That was the 1960s - the Congo. WW2 was the late 30's and even then that yoke was laughable. I love the drivers head poking out, a sharp stick could do him in, let alone a firearm. You sure that's not a clip from Dr Who? was there a trumpet linked to a phonogram playing "exterminate Exterminate"

A similar attempt, from Libya's uprising. http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=e47_1304608395
    Look at the hardware on some of these Libyan pickup trucks http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=libyan+rebel+pickup+trucks&FORM=HDRSC2

A similar attempt, from Libya's uprising. http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=e47_1304608395
    Look at the hardware on some of these Libyan pickup trucks http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=libyan+rebel+pickup+trucks&FORM=HDRSC2
    Lucky they found all those heavy machine guns lying around, wasn't it. Surely some foreign power didn't airlift in thousands of them to encourage the revolt. I bet they've no interest in Libyas oil either. Surely. Any oil in Syria?:pac: Destabilise, de-centralise and drill like fcuk. Way to go it seems.. No-one was too ar5ed about wether they had democracy or not until the price of crude shot up. I suppose priorities do change... Gadaffi must have been one of the only people who checked "Pumpwatch" to see how long he had left to live. Well, apart from Saddam and Armoureddinnerjacket.

Not saying it was sourced local, but a lot of that stuff is soviet era stuff, maybe came from local armories? aircraft/AA weapons, especially the heli/aviation rocket launchers, looks lethal, to the operator, besides a few recoiless rifles and a couple of MG's mostly soviet era stuff.

Yes there is oil in Syria, how do I know? apart from the fighting? they are trying to say Assad is a dangerous murdering bstad, must be oil. Next it will be Venezuela, oh they tried that one already.