Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we continue to farm animals for fur?

• 30-11-2012 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1130/fur-industry-review.html
    A review of the fur industry for the Department of Agriculture has recommended that it should be allowed to continue.

Some 225,000 mink are farmed for their fur on five farms around the country.

The last government had recommended the fur industry be banned from the end of this year

We eat burgars, bacon, chicken so why not continue farming animals for fur if its done in a humane manor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

davet82 wrote: »

We eat burgars, bacon, chicken so why not continue farming animals for fur if its done in a humane manor?

Why shouldn't we, you little minx:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Think the issue here is that fur is a luxury humans can do without. Killing a cow for food and using its hide for leather is a different matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Think the issue here is that fur is a luxury humans can do without. Killing a cow for food and using its hide for leather is a different matter.

so if we had a McMinx Meal, it would be ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Minxed Grill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

I'm wearing a rabbit fur scarf right now and nothing keeps me warm like it! Would definately buy something similar in other colours. I also eat meat and fish on a regular basis.

I am going to make a sweeping statement here and feel free to refute but I think that most country people wouldn't have a problem with the fur trade as we are used to dealing with livestock and see animals as a commodity rather than something cute and cuddly, but that most town-dwellers would be against the fur trade as they tend to personify animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Because we dont need to. We can make synthetic furs now a days. Its unwarranted savagery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

You can make synthetic meat too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I've no problem with fur, I do have a problem with farming it in this country though. If a cow or a chicken escapes it rarely decimates the local wildlife population in the same manner that a non native species like the mink are doing. Mink are a bloody soft, furry, luxuriant, warm menace.

/slips on gopher loafers and toddles off to make come cocoa....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

No we should create a minx sanctuary at a cost of 22million a year to the tax payer instead :rolleyes:

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Because we dont need to. We can make synthetic furs now a days. Its unwarranted savagery.

with out the savagery, if the minx were lets say 'put to sleep' would that make a difference to you or are you just against fur full stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Hippies! wrote: »
    No we should create a minx sanctuary at a cost of 22million a year to the tax payer instead :rolleyes:

Let me be the first (of no doubt many) to volunteer my services as a ranger for your sanctuary, I'll protect these cute little minxes!

with out the savagery, if the minx were lets say 'put to sleep' would that make a difference to you or are you just against fur full stop?

Or the other option; not breeding or importing mink for their fur.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Fur is nothing to be afraid of.
    Don't be intimidated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Yup, why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

steddyeddy wrote: »

Who said anything about need?

Plastic plants don't compare to real ones,
    "can't believe its not butter" doesn't compare to butter (despite stupid marketing name,
    Leatherette doesn't compare to real leather, etc etc.

Likewise, real fur can never truly be copied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Its the fault of the tree hugger dogooders who released all the mink from the farms that the countries low population of rarer birds took a major hit.
    Do they plan on releasing all the alive mink again if it is banned?

Only one good kind of mink and thats a dead one.

persistent little fecks

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

hardCopy wrote: »
    Minxed Grill

Minkshake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I wouldn't wear real fur if you paid me.

It's unneccessary and the conditions the animals are kept in are sickening. There should absolutely not be fur farms in Ireland in this day and age. Fur served its purpose at a time when there were feck all other options available, but today it's generally nothing more than a "luxury" item for people with more money than sense.

but sure that would be like cannibalism for you* :D

*see user name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Absolutely not! Ban all fur trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

With Christmas coming up does anyone know of a good place to buy real fur?

It would definitely make for some nice presents for herself and maybe my mom if I'm feeling generous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I am fine with killing animals for a purpose, and even using them as insulation is a purpose. Fine, but there's no need to have them locked up like they are. It's the conditions of their lives I have a problem with. It's not the fact that people wear fur, I'm sure a polar bear would skin you and wear you if he got the chance, it's that people treat them so badly. We're meant to be of higher intelligence than every other species, which includes awareness of suffering.

garv123 wrote: »
    Its the fault of the tree hugger dogooders who released all the mink from the farms that the countries low population of rarer birds took a major hit.
    Do they plan on releasing all the alive mink again if it is banned?

Only one good kind of mink and thats a dead one.

persistent little fecks

I agree that whoever released the mink were twats! Who clearly didnt have a clue about nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I think that the fur industry should be more closely monitored to ensure that the animals have a decent standard of life and are kept in decent conditions, but I see nothing wrong with the farming of animals for fur. Fur (or leather) is incredibly warm and durable. It's more environmentally friendly as it's a renewable resource, unlike the petroleum-based synthetic options.

The problem comes when some idiots people release them into habitats that can't cope with them, as happened in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

It's unneccessary and the conditions the animals are kept in are sickening. There should absolutely not be fur farms in Ireland in this day and age. Fur served its purpose at a time when there were feck all other options available, but today it's generally nothing more than a "luxury" item for people with more money than sense.

Fine, your choice, now respect the choice of others with a different view.

Growing up a mink was another word for a traveler or knacker. So when I read the article years ago that someone had released thousands of minks, I thought, great, that's what we need, thousands more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Animals raised purely for the fur and "luxury" trade should be banned I think.

Being kept prisoner and raised for slaughter all so some uppity, ignorant c*nts can show off the animal hide they're wearing for the winter is not essential and unnecessary.

Same with Tuna, would never eat it. It's one thing putting a cow or pig to sleep, but it's another harpooning a dolphin, netting it and then letting it bleed out on the deck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Minks means something else in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

Faux fur is rubbish compared to the real thing, I have a hat made from Rabbit, I have tried many synteic materials but none of them are as good as the real thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

It appalls me that anyone can stand over such suffering being inflicted on an animal. Most are skinned alive. It's a whole new level of barbarism and selfishness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 LorcanN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wouldn't be against itas long as conditions are good, they need to improve but as far as I know they gas the minks a completely painless way to die.

Instinctively I'd be against fur farming but while I eat meat it's pretty hypocritical. Yes fur is a needless luxury but so is meat and if we paid anything like the true price for meat it would be seen as a massive luxury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I think the key is to bring it into mainstream farming practice. Regulate, inspect and control what is going on.. Banning it here is silly, its not like its going to stop, just move to another country..

I farm so I appreciate that providing animals are correctly looked after and dealt with in a humane way there is nothing wrong with farming animals for profit.

Adolf Hitler reportedly became a vegetarian after a visit to a slaughterhouse.

Just sayin'

Rojomcdojo wrote: »

Just sayin'

This is a myth.

Wurly wrote: »
    This is a myth.

I've heard conflicting stories.. Would love to read it, if you have a definitive source?

Back on topic:

I actually saw a clip on RTE 6.01 from what I presume was an Irish mink farm, and it was about 3 per cage being fed a blob of gruel

Just sayin'

Nothing wrong with slaughterhouse providing they are well run.. I was there on Thursday with three pigs for our house.. They were treated well and were relaxed while waiting their turn...

The key to all this is regulation, inspection and control..

The slaughterhouse I was at have no problem taking animals from householders provided they are registered and inspected keepers, likewise I know plenty of fellas killing animals in their garage but would have nothing to do with it...

Farming animals for fur and profit is no different.. If it were well regulated we could add to our agri-sector which is very important to the country..

Lets do it, but lets do it right !

I've heard conflicting stories.. Would love to read it, if you have a definitive source?

http://www.naturalnews.com/025163_Hitler_vegetarian_vegetarianism.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

It appalls me that anyone can stand over such suffering being inflicted on an animal. Most are skinned alive. It's a whole new level of barbarism and selfishness.

..in Ireland. Where? ..don't bother linking to a grainy youtube clip of a destitute Chinese farmer manhandling animals. The scope of the discussion is fur trade within Ireland.

Has anyone mentioned leather yet? ..that stuff's everywhere.

That's not really a credible source...

In your opinion.

Here's a mad idea. Why not google it yourself?;)

bbam wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with slaughterhouse providing they are well run.. I was there on Thursday with three pigs for our house.. They were treated well and were relaxed while waiting their turn...

The key to all this is regulation, inspection and control..

The slaughterhouse I was at have no problem taking animals from householders provided they are registered and inspected keepers, likewise I know plenty of fellas killing animals in their garage but would have nothing to do with it...

Farming animals for fur and profit is no different.. If it were well regulated we could add to our agri-sector which is very important to the country..

Lets do it, but lets do it right !

I agree with this 100%. If the animal has some semblance of a peaceful life then it's about as kosher as it can possibly be in the age we live in today. The problem is, like I saw on the RTE news the other night, my vision of what is peaceful for the animal is obviously quite different to the farmer who keeps them in a small cage for their whole lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Would you care to post any evidence for this? (and not from China or Thailand or the like...)

Amalgam wrote: »
    ..in Ireland. Where? ..don't bother linking to a grainy youtube clip of a destitute Chinese farmer manhandling animals. The scope of the discussion is fur trade within Ireland.

Has anyone mentioned leather yet? ..that stuff's everywhere.

What makes you think i'd link a "grainy youtube clip of a destitute Chinese farmer manhandling animals"? What an odd thing to say.:confused:
    steve9859 wrote: »
    Would you care to post any evidence for this? (and not from China or Thailand or the like...)

I have nothing that I can link to you on the Internet i'm afraid and am not in a position to go searching now, sorry. But... I unfortunately know someone who works on one of these farms. The understanding is that they are gassed. They are not always. Apparently it is easier to skin them when they are alive. They can basically do what they need to do without anyone looking over their shoulder.

Regardless of the methods used, I personally think the practice is abhorrent. People are welcome to disagree with that. Each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

What makes you think i'd link a "grainy youtube clip of a destitute Chinese farmer manhandling animals"? What an odd thing to say.:confused:

I have nothing that I can link to you on the Internet i'm afraid and am not in a position to go searching now, sorry. But... I unfortunately know someone who works on one of these farms. The understanding is that they are gassed. They are not always. Apparently it is easier to skin them when they are alive. They can basically do what they need to do without anyone looking over their shoulder.

Regardless of the methods used, I personally think the practice is abhorrent. People are welcome to disagree with that. Each to their own.

You made a sweeping, emotive, open statement, do you seriously expect someone to just take that in, or for others to let that sort of statement flutter by, unchallenged. Get off.

Amalgam wrote: »
    You made a sweeping, emotive, open statement, do you seriously expect someone to just take that in, or for others to let that sort of statement flutter by, unchallenged. Get off.

Excuse me? What is your problem. Please don't be so aggressive.

I made a statement based on what i've been told from a trusted source who actually works on a fur farm.

If that displeases you, then that's really not my problem. You can choose to believe it or not. Whether you do or not is your own choice and no concern of mine.

This is the important thing..
    To allow it to go ahead unimpeded even though you don't agree with the notion..

bbam wrote: »
    This is the important thing..
    To allow it to go ahead unimpeded even though you don't agree with the notion..

How am I allowing it to go ahead?? Whether I like it or not, people will have opinions which they are entitled to have. I am aware that I wont change the opinions of many on this thread. And so i'm not attempting to.

I wish fur farming was banned. I think its horrible. That's my opinion which I have stated. Nothing more, nothing less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Why don't we stop farming sheep for wool? Or perhaps we should start farming mink for their meat as well as their fur.