Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyson Fury v Kevin Johnson - December 1st

• 30-11-2012 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭

It almost feels as though this fight could slip by unnoticed. Perhaps the fact that is being shown on Channel 5 means it isn't getting the exposure.

Fury was giving it the usual spiel at the press conference. Referring to Johnson as 'Mr. Hat' and 'Mr. Glasses', somehow managing to neglect the fact that Johnson was dressed as an American Football player!

Press conference video with all the usual weirdness is at the link below:
    http://www.u.tv/Sport/Furys-war-of-words-over-weekend-fight/72fa8451-ef26-4f44-a85b-7257f93ed8ed?

Fury has of course been linked with a fight with Vitali Klitshcko, but if Klitschko decides to call it a day then Fury's team say they are looking at the winner of the Arreola v Stiverne
    http://www.irish-boxing.com/2012/11/fury-takes-aim-at-fat-pudding-johnson/

The TV coverage starts at 9pm on Channel 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

Tyson Fury vs Kevin Johnson fight weigh-in in Belfast.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRbbSBZ3-og

Donegal boxer @BuncranaBanger John Hutchinson talks about his fight vs Gerard Healy on @FuryVsJohnson bill in Belfast

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knZMJYTq8ww

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Tyson Fury is gas!

Its going to be a tricky night for Fury I think, but I fancy him to sneak an unspectacular win here.

Fury v Arreola would be a cracking scrap if it was to happen next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Jayob10 wrote: »

Fury v Arreola would be a cracking scrap if it was to happen next

It would be entertaining all right but would be stupidity on Furys part as the chances of him getting ko'd would be high.

Hopefully he does the business tonight in what will be his toughest fight yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

It would be entertaining all right but would be stupidity on Furys part as the chances of him getting ko'd would be high.

Hopefully he does the business tonight in what will be his toughest fight yet.

Fury should take tonights fight on sheer workrate, Johnson is a lazy f*cker

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Chris Eubank JR on at the minute, power and speed is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Eubank posturing and posing like his Daddy but with only a shadow of the skills. Quick though.

This is my first time seeing him, very impressed.

Eubank wins on points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Johnson will be doing well to go the distance in this fight with only having 3 weeks to prepare.

m.j.w wrote: »
    Johnson will be doing well to go the distance in this fight with only having 3 weeks to prepare.

Fury to win in the first 5 i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭waterfordkick

any online links ? dont have channel 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Anyone looking for links just go to vipbox you get links there

Melion wrote: »
    Fury to win in the first 5 i think

reckon it will go longer than that myself, maybe 8th or 9th

That was a strange build-up to a fight with them singing and playing the piano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭waterfordkick

thanks Dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭phily2002

could someone pm me a link?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭johnfaul

i could do with a link as well cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

phily2002 wrote: »
    could someone pm me a link?
    thanks

Same here the fecking channel 5 is down for me

deisedave wrote: »
    Same here the fecking channel 5 is down for me
    Fury looking controled not reckless in this boxing well i think he has won the first 3 rounds looking good johnson not landing anything significant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Can someone PM me a link pretty please

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

david price would beat fury..............................hope they fight

I hope they fight and that Fury knocks Price out god i am sick to death of hearing how great David Price is, jesus the guys not fought anyone good but suddenly should be fighting a klitschko, nobody has given Price half a test so who knows how the guy will do when hes in a real battle he might fold who knows

He deserves a Klitschko fight a lot more than Tyson Fury does.

How so may i ask Fury beat Chisora who fought Vitali, If Fury wins tonight he will have fought a guy who went the distance with Vitali Who has Price fought on that level, nobody how does a guy who never fought even a contender deserve a title shot?

this is pretty poor tbh, looks like its gonna be fury on points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

One of the worst fights ever so far. Round 7 and not a decent punch landed!

only time will tell..............but this is awful stuff tonight................. fury incredibly over rated............skelton would give fury a go at this rate

at least i got value for a fiver on johnson at 10/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

One of the worst fights ever so far. Round 7 and not a decent punch landed!

Jesus, did you see Freddie Flintoff's 'fight' last night?

I think Fury is boxing quite well. Johnson is his usual lazy self, but in his own way he's very hard to land more than one punch on. Fury has won every round with solid boxing. Nothing wrong with that.

God i know it isnt the best fight but Johnson aint no bum and Fury has won almost every round against the guy he is winning easy against a decent opponent i say good job so far from Fury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

God i know it isnt the best fight but Johnson aint no bum and Fury has won almost every round against the guy he is winning easy against a decent opponent i say good job so far from Fury

Johnson has barely thrown a punch :confused:

darced wrote: »
    Yeah honestly i think this is the best i have ever seen Fury fight very controlled and dominating a good fighter

Johnson has barely thrown a punch :confused:
    Yes he is lazy but he his record shows he aint a walkover and Fury is doing well

Johnson took this fight with 3 weeks notice, he is not in the best of shape and fury cant open him up. Cant see how anyone can think fury looks good, he will get knocked out by anyone decent judgung by this.

m.j.w wrote: »
    Johnson took this fight with 3 weeks notice, he is not in the best of shape and fury cant open him up. Cant see how anyone can think fury looks good, he will get knocked out by anyone decent judgung by this.
    He has won pretty much every round against a former world title challanger who only has 1 12 round loss i think thats quit impressive or did you think Price knocking out a 45 year old with 6 losses to be impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭trixyben

One of the worst fights ive seen in a while, the heavyweight division is very poor at the min, Fury way way over rated imo...Price would finish him early and easily enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Can you imagine how tedious a Klitschko v Fury 12 round borefest would be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭badabing106

Vitali vs Fury in Croke park next year is a genuine possibility !

Ill eat my own head if that happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

trixyben wrote: »
    One of the worst fights ive seen in a while, the heavyweight division is very poor at the min, Fury way way over rated imo...Price would finish him early and easily enough

You obviously don't watch much boxing then.
    You only have to go back 24 hours to see a worse one. WAAAAYY worse.

Vitali Klitchko couldn't stop Johnson. Fury's winning every round. It's a good showing and most of all his conditioning (which I've criticised in the past) looks excellent.

Ill eat my own head if that happens

If Flintoff vs Keith duffy was the undercard, it would be sellout

megadodge wrote: »

Vitali Klitchko couldn't stop Johnson. Fury's winning every round. It's a good showing and most of all his conditioning (which I've criticised in the past) looks excellent.
    Agree fully Fury has boxed great very controlled he has been just as impressive as Klitschko was against Johnson

better scrap in the croke park jurys.............
    load of pikeys vs ukranians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

personally, I think Johnson slept his way through that, never came alive and acted like he was just putting in a day at the office. Did not sit down or get rocked once, and still lost. Fury won, and well done to him, but by God, Johnson lost it for himself. His corner need to put a rocket in his pocket - he has it all, durability, strength, ringcraft and an ability to dictate pace, but no fire whatsoever. Very dissapointed in Johnson, happy enough for Fury.

I think Fury is Vitali's next Mandatory now? I think Vitali said he is making a decision on whether he is continuing his boxing career Mid December .I think Vitali vs Fury would be far more interesting than Vital vs Haye!What do ye say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 bk2101

megadodge wrote: »

Yeah, Fury was really impressive. He fought a clever fight, and his defence was good. In some of those earlier fights where he got hurt or dropped he got over confident and walked into big right hands. I'd say he could have a very good chance against Vitali.