Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

yet again our justice system fails..

• 29-11-2012 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/boy-16-jailed-for-pinning-female-garda-against-a-wall-in-stolen-fourwheel-drive-3310421.html

3 1/2 years with 2 1/2 suspended....
    Boy (16) jailed for pinning female garda against a wall in stolen four-wheel drive

By Declan Brennan and Jessica Magee
    Thursday November 29 2012
    A TEENAGER who pinned a garda up against a wall by driving a stolen four-weheel drive into her on Halloween night has been imprisoned for a year

The 16-year-old, who cannot be named because of his age, pleaded guilty to endangerment, dangerous driving and unauthorised use of a vehicle at Blackditch Road, Ballyfermot on October 3, 2011.

Dublin Circuit Criminal Court heard that the youth had eight cans of lager, vodka and tablets. He told gardai he was so drunk on the night that he had no memory of driving at speed towards Garda Linda Bury.

Gda Bury suffered a gaping head wound requiring nine staples and had severe tissue damage to her left leg after she was pinned against a wall by the stolen Suzuki four-wheel drive.

The court heard she is still receiving medical treatment for her injuries.

Gda Bury stayed conscious and screaming during the incident, and was only spared further injury by the fact that the jeep had struck a ball of roots at the base of a tree.

A garda colleague got into the jeep and reversed it, after the driver had jumped out of the vehicle.

Judge Carmel Stewart sentenced the youth to three and a half years in detention for reckless endangerment, which she said was the most serious charge, with two and a half years suspended.

The teenager has been directed to keep the peace and comply with probation services for two and a half years once he has served 12 months' detention.

Garda Sean White told Derek Cooney BL, prosecuting, that gardaí in Ballyfermot had received reports that night that there were plans to attack gardai.

He said at about 8.30pm, Gda Bury and Gda Sinead Connolly saw three vehicles driving in convoy and at speed.

One jeep swerved towards the garda car and Gda Connolly accelerated to avoid a head-on collision. The jeep struck the driver’s door and then drove into a pillar on Blackditch Road.

The driver was arrested. While Gda Connolly was being treated for her injuries Gda Bury got out and saw the Suzuki being driven at speed towards her.

Gda White told the court that the Suzuki had being stolen in Athlone, Co Westmeath on September 10.

The accused has five previous convictions, including one for damaging property and one for being a passenger in a stolen car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Luca Brasi wrote: »
    But he came from a deprived background

God love him, so that makes it ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Honestly he never hurt anyone in his life..hes harmless..its the guards fault for hassling him...blah blah..the usual excuses I am sure were used by parties involved.....sad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

A very inadequate sentence. In most countries that lad would have been shot dead by the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

joe@rte.ie

Don't forget to tell him that 'it's terrible'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Fcuk him. He should be lock up for 15 yrs minimum. In the UK that would be attempted murder, with a sentence going well int double figures, while in the US, he would get life without parole. Here he'll be out next June to create more mayhem:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

To be fair to the lad there probably weren't enough "facilities" for him in his community. There is a well established causal link between the distance "facilities" are from a youth's home and youth crime rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Bobby42 wrote: »
    To be fair to the lad there probably weren't enough "facilities" for him in his community. There is a well established causal link between the distance "facilities" are from a youth's home and youth crime rates.

If only there was like, a swimming pool nearby, or something? He would have turned out like, totes normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

He has 5 previous convictions at 16? What is wrong with country?

No doubt he'll be out within a year and move onto drug dealing and assaults, stepping up the ladder is our young lad

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

another scumbag who will populate the world with more scum bags.make abortion legal.had good results in usa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

He stole a Suzuki!
    That lad has serious issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

McDermotX wrote: »
    joe@rte.ie

Don't forget to tell him that 'it's terrible'

... or that you're the mother of six and that you grew up in a public toilet but you never committed any crimes!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

There's loads of fantastic facilities in ballyfermot. No need to turn yourself into an antisocial asshole. Should have got 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

We haven't really got a justice system. More of a revolving door system overseen by decrepit and clueless ex solicitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Fcuk him. He should be lock up for 15 yrs minimum. In the UK that would be attempted murder, with a sentence going well int double figures, while in the US, he would get life without parole. Here he'll be out next June to create more mayhem:mad:

The UK would have probably went with reckless endangerment also and a similar sentence. He would have got a hefty sentence in the US but not life without parole, they don't sentence minors to life in non homicide cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Plenty of time for him to make contacts in prison and still have a good laugh with his mates about it all when he gets back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

In the US, the Policewoman would have taken out her gun and attempted to shot the driver dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭jasonmcco

In the US, the Policewoman would have taken out her gun and attempted to shot the driver dead

In USA she might also have beaten the man senseless been caught on video and still got away with it.

People generally treat people in the manner they are normally treated.

fcuk the police especially the little bitter women they employ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

In the US, the teenager would have shot the policewoman dead and then stolen the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

jasonmcco wrote: »
    In USA she might also have beaten the man senseless been caught on video and still got away with it.

what a nonsense post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Disgraceful post even for after hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭blackplum123

just looking at your reply to this and your other posts.... oh my God!
    we wonder why this country is in the ****s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭loggedoff

What's that about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

This **** of I drank this amount and took drugs annoys me.

You cant have been bad if you remember everything you drank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

To be fair he was directed to keep the peace after his release aswell. That'll teach him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

So how many times would this young boy be hit with a jeep? He was off his head and should have got a hell of a lot more. The judiciary system in this country is a total joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

In Soviet Russia car steals you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You'll go far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Hard labour for these lads. Work the hell out of them making road signs or manhole covers etc.
    Nothing quite like hard work to make a lad cop on.

shedweller wrote: »
    Hard labour for these lads. Work the hell out of them making road signs or manhole covers etc.
    Nothing quite like hard work to make a lad cop on.

That's true, but the 'do-gooder' brigade wouldn't allow it.
    You know "that chap had a hard upbringing, why should he be forced to learn a trade and contribute to society":mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭vard

If I had my way I'd have him exterminated. One of the many reasons why I'll never be put in charge.

People who are otherwise capable human beings should have to prove their worth to society. Life's a precious thing; you should have to prove that you're deserving of it.

Does anyone remember FG's campaign for the 2007 general election(?).... when they proposed to get ''Tough on Crime''.
    I remember it being a big point in their campaign on the posters.

Wonder whatever happened to that :confused:

Anyone who thinks that a party in Ireland can create jobs needs to view the bigger picture.
    Our country is heavily reliant on the world economy and won't improve until things improve elsewhere.

Whats important for a party to achieve here is a standard of living, and deal with domestic issues.
    I can't fathom to think we couldn't jail repeat offenders for cost of the social welfare they receive on the outside.
    If it means putting 10 in a cell so be it. Have one Prison for first time offenders as they are now, after that you go to the budget prisons where guards patrol the walls with guns and the prisoners are left to their own devices with minimal facilities(think of a south American prison).

It'll be Sinn Fein for me in the next election, they're the only working class party out there. The other three are full of upper class folk who have no street knowledge or desire to help the working man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Wheres the bit about him having a deprived life in the article? For all we know he came from money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Does anyone remember FG's campaign for the 2007 general election(?).... when they proposed to get ''Tough on Crime''.

It's the judge that decided to suspend most of the sentence.. not FG

If it means putting 10 in a cell so be it. Have one Prison for first time offenders as they are now, after that you go to the budget prisons where guards patrol the walls with guns and the prisoners are left to their own devices with minimal facilities(think of a south American prison).

Would you be willing to see Ireland landed with massive fines, embargoes & threats from the EU for ignoring human rights laws?

The only people FG are getting tough with are middle income, private sector,
    couple of kids and a mortgage type people.

It's the judge that decided to suspend most of the sentence.. not FG

Would you be willing to see Ireland landed with massive fines, embargoes & threats from the EU for ignoring human rights laws?

Yes it is, but what happens when the judge sends them up to the prison at any rate?

They get temporary release, after a few months.

No point in the judge giving a 5 year term when they'll do no more than half the sentence either way.
    Prisons are at there highest rates according to the Minister a few months ago.
    On the 26th March 2010 the number of prisoners in the system exceeded 5,000 for the first time in the history of the State. As of yesterday, there were 4,495 prisoners in custody and 794 (that is 14.6%) on temporary release. Of course, the Irish Prison Service must accept all prisoners committed by the Courts into it’s custody and does not have the option of refusing committals.
    http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/SP11000055

The only measures I've heard of FG propose were increasing the Temp release programme to ease the numbers and closing St.Pats because it's not up to standard..... hardly any reform there to make the country a safer place to live.

Time to think outside the box then and start cutting costs at every avenue. Surely you can keep someone in jail for E188 a week.

I'm aware of the European Human rights ****, that still doesn't change the fact that our justice system in terms of keeping them in prison is as soft as anywhere in Europe.
    The whole SA remark was more what I'd like to do personally, it's about as much as these scumbags deserve... though as a compromise I'm sure we could at least knuckle them down better while keeping to the EU's laws.

They lost the election. Ironically, to the biggest bunch of career criminals the country has ever known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

That sounds like a fair sentence for a minor, though I'd have preferred to have some of that suspended sentence changed to community service.

I don't see what sticking him in prison for years would achieve apart from turning him into a hardened criminal.
    vard wrote: »
    If I had my way I'd have him exterminated. One of the many reasons why I'll never be put in charge.

People who are otherwise capable human beings should have to prove their worth to society. Life's a precious thing; you should have to prove that you're deserving of it.

And I don't see what execution would achieve except satisfy kneejerk revenge fantasies.
    Thank the gods you'll never be put in charge. You could go all around the world and not find many supporters for a state which executes minors.

Dunno about the fairness of it, and I agree with you completely about jail turning him into a hardened criminal, but the point: what is being done to stop him from reoffending? What sentences did he get on his previous four convictions?

I'm as liberal as they come, in that I want to know and understand the problem before I run my mouth or tell judges how to do their job, but there is nothing there of benefit to either him, the victim or society.

That sounds like a fair sentence for a minor, though I'd have preferred to have some of that suspended sentence changed to community service.

I don't see what sticking him in prison for years would achieve apart from turning him into a hardened criminal.

Hence my hard labour recommendation.

With unemployment at 15%?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Again is this guy from a deprived background?

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Dunno about the fairness of it, and I agree with you completely about jail turning him into a hardened criminal, but the point: what is being done to stop him from reoffending? What sentences did he get on his previous four convictions?

I'm as liberal as they come, in that I want to know and understand the problem before I run my mouth or tell judges how to do their job, but there is nothing there of benefit to either him, the victim or society.

I'm not sure there's a great deal that can be done to stop him reoffending, as a serial offender. Prison would achieve that, but it's also not an efficient way to do things, and would only exacerbate the problem. Some attempt at education combined with a way to curtail liberties without resorting to prison would be ideal.
    What I'd prefer to see is more of an effort being made to ensure that as few as possible people are likely to become serial offenders, but that would be a complex, time-consuming process that I'd imagine few politicians would want to tackle.

Unfortunately there'll always be a small number of people who will become serial offenders regardless of the society they live in, the opportunities presented to them and the lack of prejudice against them.
    I just think that their numbers of such people are far lower than the people who believe that society is in a rapid decline think.

And I don't see what execution would achieve except satisfy kneejerk revenge fantasies.

He wouldn't do it again and maybe a few of his buddies would take note.

For how long? I'm not sure that'd be very effective at straightening out someone who's gone from being unemployed to being forced by the state to do heavy labour. I can only see that breeding a lot of resentment.
    But necessary work, done in an environment that made it seem more like a normal workplace and incentivised hard work could work well.

I'm not sure there's a great deal that can be done to stop him reoffending, as a serial offender. Prison would achieve that, but it's also not an efficient way to do things, and would only exacerbate the problem. Some attempt at education combined with a way to curtail liberties without resorting to prison would be ideal.
    What I'd prefer to see is more of an effort being made to ensure that as few as possible people are likely to become serial offenders, but that would be a complex, time-consuming process that I'd imagine few politicians would want to tackle.

Unfortunately there'll always be a small number of people who will become serial offenders regardless of the society they live in, the opportunities presented to them and the lack of prejudice against them.
    I just think that their numbers of such people are far lower than the people who believe that society is in a rapid decline think.

Came across a near perfect solution in Denmark, years ago.

School was built on an island about 7 miles off the coast in the north sea. Only one bridge to conenct. The took kids aged 14 to 18, with an emphasis on discipline and education (the first two years were more like a military boot camp than a school, the later two much less so). At 18 the kids took state exams.

The point is they had very little freedom when they first got there and theyre literally was no where to run. If one of them went missing, we just put the kettle on drove along the bridge until we found them. They hated it, but they were stuck there.

It worked, too. By the time they got to 18 they were decent students, and usually passed the exams. most of them commented on what **** they were four years earlier.

Would it work here? Well, maybe - if people didnt describe it as a holiday camp or harp on about prefering the death penaly and hard labour, but some people are never satisfied.

With the education cuts going on i doubt that'll happen. Good idea though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭vard

Thank the gods you'll never be put in charge. You could go all around the world and not find many supporters for a state which executes minors.

Revenge? He's not hurt me; my life is not directly affected by his useless existence. There would be nothing sadistic about it. Just the rational fact that he's a dangerous waste of space making no contribution to society and the world would be a better place without him. As it is he'll be free to roam the streets and, like so many others, he will offend again. Getting rid of him would save lives and protect the victims of his inevitable future crimes.

Honest working people are paying for his upkeep - I'm not a violent person - I'm the most passive guy you'll ever meet, but I just can't see the logic in that.

vard wrote: »

Revenge? He's not hurt me; my life is not directly affected by his useless existence. There would be nothing sadistic about it. Just the rational fact that he's a dangerous waste of space making no contribution to society and the world would be a better place without him. As it is he'll be free to roam the streets and, like so many others, he will offend again. Getting rid of him would save lives and protect the victims of his inevitable future crimes.

Honest working people are paying for his upkeep - I'm not a violent person - I'm the most passive guy you'll ever meet, but I just can't see the logic in that.

What crimes would you like to see the death penalty introduced for? Would you allow the death penalty for adults only in the cases of any of these crimes? Do you entirely preclude the possibility of redemption, and the notion that an individual might improve themselves? Do you have any moral problems with the killing of an individual before they've fully attained adulthood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Seems a fair enough sentence for a 16 year old.One last shot at turning things around before being turfed into the adult prison system.