Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I have a Wii U - General Discussion.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Banjo wrote: »
    Remember when the WiiU thread was about the WiiU? And Sally O'Brien and the way she'd look at ya... Good times.

Look, I know its frowned upon in this and every other forum, but.... Disney Infinity! Toys r us are flogging the 3.0 figures, starter packs and toy box playsets (karting and invasion) for peanuts. The servers turn off on Switchmas Day so this is your last chance to sign up if you're planning on playing user content...

Do you mean Smyths? How much were the figures do you remember?

Wouldn't mind picking up a few more myself, think they look great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Do you mean Smyths? How much were the figures do you remember?

Wouldn't mind picking up a few more myself, think they look great.

3 for €5 now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

3 for €5 now.

Ok that is peanuts! Cheers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 190 ✭✭spookmaster

PZKEwJ6.jpg

I see this as continuing to antagonise. This is now my third attempt at keeping on topic (the Wii U) and I have been met with a childish and frankly irresponsible reply from a mod. If a regular member did this, there would be a ban. It's funny how it's the mods who are now being hypocritical and continuing to antagonise. Consider yourself reported sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

3 for €5 now.

Thanks for that, that's cheap, don't even have the game but the figures have always looked cool anyway, must have a browse. Online there are a few for 2 euro each but 3 for 2, so 3 for €4 (in case there's specific ones you can't find locally, obviously add postage to that)

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I see this as continuing to antagonise. This is now my third attempt at keeping on topic (the Wii U) and I have been met with a childish and frankly irresponsible reply from a mod. If a regular member did this, there would be a ban. It's funny how it's the mods who are now being hypocritical and continuing to antagonise. Consider yourself reported sir.

Yet you didn't report it... They are not a mod in this forum, just a poster.
    Drop it now please.

Star Lord wrote: »

Yet you didn't report it... They are not a mod in this forum, just a poster.
    Drop it now please.

Graham_B18C is a mod. And yes, I did report it. Bayonetta 2 is only €16.99 in Argos guys, great game.

They're not a mod in the Nintendo forum. You were warned several times to drop it, yet keep pushing. Warning issued. Any further comments along these lines will earn you a ban.

Star Lord wrote: »
    They're not a mod in the Nintendo forum. You were warned several times to drop it, yet keep pushing. Warning issued. Any further comments along these lines will earn you a ban.

No problem guy. Now, finally back on topic. Does anyone see the original Wii games increasing in value now that the Wii U is no longer in production?

Probably too soon to tell, but I'd imagine we'll stay seeing creep in the prices of the rarer games alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Rarer stuff will always be high price in stores or ebay, red controller xenoblade for wii being an obvious one, stuff like Project Zero and Toyko Mirage will stay high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Wheres the best place to pick up a couple of controllers for the WiiU? I've a bunch of nephews staying soon, and I'm fecked if I'm giving them control of the Pad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I'm still holding out hope that Xenoblade Chronicles with the controller will get my son through college....
    Real college, not burger college via McDonald's...

Wheres the best place to pick up a couple of controllers for the WiiU? I've a bunch of nephews staying soon, and I'm fecked if I'm giving them control of the Pad.

Ugh. Nothing worse than grimey kids getting there grubby hands all over the gamepad. I remember a mate of mine's kid **** himself and got it all over his PS4 controller, the stench was absolutely horrific. CEX is your best bet for cheap controllers mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Was going to say aliexpress for cheap ones (I've got 2 which have lasted surprisingly well and actually better quality than the knock-off wii remotes I've bought) but you probably don't have 2 or 3 months to wait for them!

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,965 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

There's no such thing as a cheap Wii U Pro Controller. Not an official one at least. CEX charge €55 for secondhand ones. And Smyths and Gamestop don't sell them. I remember talking to a clerk about it in Smyths before. They removed it I think it was less than a year after Wii U launched, might even have been 6 months. I'll take a look around the net and post below. There are some Asian sites but they'll take a good while for delivery.

Edit: Amazon France has the best price new.

https://www.amazon.fr/Nintendo-75531-Manette-Pro-Wii/dp/B009ACALCQ

Be very careful if you're buying secondhand. There are a lot of convincing fakes about that you need to inspect closely to tell the differences. Even come with the box and all the appropriate stamps.

I meant to import a white one long ago. It would have been about €45 new including delivery. Now they're much harder to find and a lot more expensive.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

The one I have is 3rd party, with both Wii and WiiU modes, I'm hoping the WiiU setting will eventually work with my Switch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

I meant toys r us, I'm up the north today. 3.0 figs 2.99 each, takeover and kart playsets 1.49 sterling. Smyth's don't have many star wars figs and they're not in the 3 for 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

sligeach wrote: »
    There's no such thing as a cheap Wii U Pro Controller. Not an official one at least. CEX charge €55 for secondhand ones. And Smyths and Gamestop don't sell them. I remember talking to a clerk about it in Smyths before. They removed it I think it was less than a year after Wii U launched, might even have been 6 months. I'll take a look around the net and post below. There are some Asian sites but they'll take a good while for delivery.

I got a genuine second hand one on ebay for 29 pound last week. Didn't come with a box or cable but i wasn't too bothered about that. In perfect condition too.

I don't think it's fake anyway!

Bayonetta 2 is only €16.99 in Argos guys, great game.

Yeah, and they're out of stock pretty much everywhere. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭CliCliW

Do Argos still sell pro controllers at all? I got mine there for 52 euro a good while back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭da gamer

Well lads I'm back from my little hiatus.

I'd like to take this opportunity to apologise to the members of this thread for any wrong doing. I highlighted an issue that I've since been told can't be highlighted if your not a mod so apologies.

Now that that's behind us I'd like to move on. I picked up starfox zero, having never played any of them before, what kind of game is it? Reviews are very mixed so not sure what to expect.

I loved it, though the controls are an acquired taste.
    That said, if your a gamer of a certain age it's no great challenge.
    The game feels and looks like a straight sequel to the N64 game, with the visuals not really looking like they couldn't have been done on the GC... that said, it's still fun!
    The game rewards replay too, opening new routes and secrets.
    But, there are those who can't get past the controls, and that's a pity. One gets the impression that they made them deliberately to use the functionality of the Gamepad and that's a pity as there's little there that couldn't have worked just fine on a traditional controller.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I loved it, though the controls are an acquired taste.
    That said, if your a gamer of a certain age it's no great challenge.
    The game feels and looks like a straight sequel to the N64 game, with the visuals not really looking like they couldn't have been done on the GC... that said, it's still fun!
    The game rewards replay too, opening new routes and secrets.
    But, there are those who can't get past the controls, and that's a pity. One gets the impression that they made them deliberately to use the functionality of the Gamepad and that's a pity as there's little there that couldn't have worked just fine on a traditional controller.

Are they like inverted controls? I'll have to give it a go soon, just have such a backlog don't know where to start

Nope
    It's an odd combination of motion controls, traditional buttons and sticks, and then they change depending on the vehicle being piloted.
    Plenty to learn, when you get the hang of them it's fine, but early on it's a barrier to fun.
    Motion controls can be ignored though, and the game feels more craic as a result.

da gamer wrote: »
    Well lads I'm back from my little hiatus.

I'd like to take this opportunity to apologise to the members of this thread for any wrong doing. I highlighted an issue that I've since been told can't be highlighted if your not a mod so apologies.

Now that that's behind us I'd like to move on. I picked up starfox zero, having never played any of them before, what kind of game is it? Reviews are very mixed so not sure what to expect.

This has been edited by the mod who yet again is trying to drag up the matter after my fourth attempt to let this go and move on. I was man enough to apologise at least. You don't need to bother banning me, I won't be posting here again. If my posts are going to be edited and being banned for highlighting something i felt was unfair then I don't want to be here. Free speech and all that. To the lads in the forum, it was enjoyable and best of luck to you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Wolverine359

Yeah that comment that was rightfully removed really showed that you had "moved on". :rolleyes:

This has been edited by the mod who yet again is trying to drag up the matter after my fourth attempt to let this go and move on. I was man enough to apologise at least. You don't need to bother banning me, I won't be posting here again. If my posts are going to be edited and being banned for highlighting something i felt was unfair then I don't want to be here. Free speech and all that. To the lads in the forum, it was enjoyable and best of luck to you all.

Sorry to see you go mate. It's always the good ones. Pity so many good guys feel the need to leave. There'll be no one left at this rate. #PrayForDaGamer

I told you you're welcome back, and all I removed was you "apologising" on my behalf. That is not me dragging up anything.

As I told you via PM, you're welcome back, and your apology is accepted, so let's leave it at that.

If I might mention that good manners and respectful comments do not preclude good humour and a spot of ribbing.
    If people are so determined to move on and engage in the spirit of the forum, enjoying what it has to offer they should do so without preconditions.
    Posting an apology on behalf of a moderator is either naive or a deliberate attempt to ignite an argument.
    For certain, in normal real world conversation it would be seen as reason for criticism.
    The moderator here only edited the inappropriate statement from the post, in line with rules of good manners and practice.
    If Da Gamer can't accept then it is unfortunate that they would choose not to post here but, outside of After Hours, I don't see how it is compatible with the rest of Boards. And persistence in this will result in a ban and that'll be that.
    Those who find sport in encouraging it will find the same result.
    There's nothing extraordinary in expecting a bit of decorum and good manners.
    No suppression of free speech.
    No suppression of people who disagree with prevailing opinion.
    Again, if posters find it too hard to cope with this expectation, they might familiarise themselves with the agreement they consented to when they signed up as members of Boards, I can link to it if they like, and this has clear guidance on the behaviour of people using this site. Also, each forum has its own set of rules, or charter, and that's worth reading too, for everyone.

Apologies to Starlord for the long post.

I really hope everyone continues to enjoy this forum and site in general.