Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so a Taxi driver told me I'm going to hell....

• 17-11-2012 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭

About an hour ago I hopped into a taxi in St.Stephens Green in Dublin.

About two minutes into my journey the taxi driver starts talking about the budget, that its going to be harsh and how he can't wait for Jesus to come again to sort everything out. I enquired how he knew Jesus was going to come again, he got talking about being born again, really knowing god and what it means to be born again.

He started off by saying that he started questioning God at 15, then 24 years ago he attended a "business mans prayer meeting" and people were talking in tongues, he felt washed over and felt that he had finally found and now knew God. In his story he mentioned thanking God for nature and the trees.

About three minutes before we reached the destination I re-picked up the nature thing and mentioned that I'm not religious but I believe in spirituality and how nature calms.

To which turns to me and shouts....

"YOU WORSHIP GAIA THE PAGAN GODDESS, YOU ARE GOING TO HELL!"

Now, I don't know who Gaia is and quite frankly I was a bit taken aback. I told him that was ok because I believe in science and fact. He then asked me why I loved Satan and why did I want to go to Hell. I was extremely uncomfortable at this point and threw a tenner at him (didn't wait for my change either!) and asked him to please let me out.

I told him that his views were responsible for more hate in the world than anything a few pagans could come up with and that science will prosper.

The man knows where I live as he remained parked outside for five minutes after I got out. I'm feeling extremely uncomfortable about the whole thing and shocked by his unprofessional behavior! I only have his name will I get anywhere with the regulator if I report this?

Any of ye been in the preacher taxi before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

No, but i was in porno Cab in Manchester a few years ago, we made the driver drive around the block twice to see the good part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Not the sort of tip he was looking for, And as taxi men know everything I am afraid you are going to hell OP,sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I wouldn't have paid him. Sounds intimidating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭cuana

Years ago while in college our landlord would come in once a week with a load of ****e about evil and god etc for hours

He eventually kicked us out for being evil girls :) I always thought he was just a smelly twisted little pervert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

One thing about hell, it should have a good supply of taxis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

I personally think that none of that happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Chain_reaction

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Dya tip him?

I left a euro with him, technically I did tip. But it was more, I'd rather pay him a euro more than be in his horrible company for longer than I needed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Did he offer to drive you there? It would be a big fare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

It wasn't fare of him to talk like that.

fedor.2. wrote: »
    I personally think that none of that happened

Mods alright for me to post his name and the rank? I don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

I'LL SEE YOU IN HELL, OP...

From Heaven. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

An opinionated taxi driver talking ****e.... wow :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

did this taxi driver speak with a slight English accent, not very big in stature, dark hair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Gaia was the great mother of all: the heavenly gods, the Titans and the Giants were born from her union with Uranus (the sky) (Not Your Ass), while the sea-gods were born from her union with Pontus (the sea). Her equivalent in the Roman pantheon was Terra.

Looks like the taxi-man is going to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I shouldnt worry OP

he'll have plenty more Heathens and Satanists in the cab before his shift is over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Was he an African?? Lot of them tend to be overly religious and not shy about saying it.

did this taxi driver speak with a slight English accent, not very big in stature, dark hair?

He was grey haired, glasses, very well spoken man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

About three minutes before we reached the destination I re-picked up the nature thing and mentioned that I'm not religious but I believe in spirituality and how nature calms.

Oooh.. tactical.

Ronin247 wrote: »
    Was he an African?? Lot of them tend to be overly religious and not shy about saying it.

Nope, this lad is Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sounds like a tool. I would probably ask him is he taking his medication; sounds like he has a few mental issues!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Maybe his sat nav was playing up, them yokes can send you to hell and back just trying to bypass Ballinasloe.

there was a born-again taxi driver round our parts 15+ years ago, a bit of a crack-pot.. he would preach moral values and enlightenment to whoever was on board with him. If you know this guys name, is the last letter of his surname the letter 'n'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ronin247 wrote: »

Yeah I thought he was going to be African too

A lot of them are very strong about religion and preaching

Evangelicals I think is the term

Seems not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

cuana wrote: »
    Years ago while in college our landlord would come in once a week with a load of ****e about evil and god etc for hours

He eventually kicked us out for being evil girls .....

Yep. Months of effort probably went into the decision. All the waitin for yez to go out, the quiet creep in, the skulk over to the laundry basket and the hours spent sniffin the knickers therein.

there was a born-again taxi driver round our parts 15+ years ago, a bit of a crack-pot.. he would preach moral values and enlightenment to whoever was on board with him. If you know this guys name, is the last letter of his surname the letter 'n'?

Nope it was a Y!

Stole this from You laugh you loose.

http://d24w6bsrhbeh9d.cloudfront.net/photo/5856499_460s_v1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Anyone seen "Where To" around this evening?

I only have his name will I get anywhere with the regulator if I report this?

Report him for what?

He was trying to save your soul and save you from eternal damnation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Smell of his own farts overcoming him probably. Should report him OP. He could get done for preaching without a licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Send a complaint to the regulator and to the Gardaí. At least he'll have a harder time getting his next licence

Chucken wrote: »
    Anyone seen "Where To" around this evening?
    What you getting at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Was this him ? seen him pushing his taxi in dublin city a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Personally, I think he had you bang to rights there.

What you getting at?

Well, he's a Taxi Driver! Just sayin' ;)

He's in Donegal

Driving like a loon, sure they are all mad drivers up there :p

Chucken wrote: »
    Well, he's a Taxi Driver! Just sayin' ;)
    Where To has never really struck me as being a godbotherer though. He's more a "also going to hell" type :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

It's a well known fact that 81% of taxi drivers are clairvoyant and 13.7% know Jesus personally (Fun Fact : Jesus was the treasurer of the Jeruselem Taxi Drivers Union unlike that bastárd Judas who was a member of the Jeruselem Union of Taxi drivers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭noinc

If he upset you, you should report him but if you see him again do take his taxi and then get his number but don't listen to that rubbish he spouts, sure hell might be a great place and those thinking they are off to heaven are in for a shock anyway.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    He's in Donegal

Driving like a loon, sure they are all mad drivers up there :p
    Pottler wrote: »
    Where To has never really struck me as being a godbotherer though. He's more a "also going to hell" type :D

Sure he might have driven down for the craic!

Chances are at least one fare would be a Boardsie....time for some fun :D

Where To carried me in his cab and accused me of being a glib eejit with nothing worth saying in my head. He also said I was going straight to hell.:D I could live with that, it was the Daniel O'Donnel tape blaring out the whole time that did my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I had almost the opposite experience on a trip to Colorado Springs a few years ago. I had read that it was a very religious town, lots of evangelical churches, and asked the cabbie about that. He started laughing so hard he almost drove off the road, and then got annoyed at all the crap he had been getting about not belonging to a church himself. He had some particularly harsh things to say about a certain local pastor, Ted Haggard. I didn't scrimp on the tip. :pac:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

So he turned round to you and said im going to hell, I think you might of over reacted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I got an illegal cab after leaving a niteclub in London about 5 years ago, he was supposed to be driving me to Hackney but ended up driving toward Gatwick. At one point he asked me did i mind if he smoked, he then produced 2 rocks of crack and a pipe and started smoking crack while driving like a lunatic. He was really trying to get me to smoke it too, god only knows what he was planning on doing to me. I had to jump out of his cab to escape. So count yourself lucky you got away with just a bit of bible bashing, instead of been kidnapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

ardmacha wrote: »
    One thing about hell, it should have a good supply of taxis.

Hail Satan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

my oul lad told me when he got a cab at the airport he was asked by the driver 'how do you wanna go?'..to which he replied... 'in complete silence'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

A few years ago getting a taxi from the Fun Parks in Orlando to Orlando city,The taxi man demanded to know what time where going back at and demanded that we get him back to collect us,In them days I had a short fuse and told him in no certain terms the real story,..Feel all smug now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

You should have punched him in the head and told him god sent you a message in your Cheerios that morning to punch him.. :)

realies wrote: »
    A few years ago getting a taxi from the Fun Parks in Orlando to Orlando city,The taxi man demanded to know what time where going back at and demanded that we get him back to collect us,In them days I had a short fuse and told him in no certain terms the real story,..Feel all smug now.
    Did I miss something? What was the real story? I'm a bit slow today.

Ive just had a crazy conversation with a taxi driver at my local leisure centre. He explained to me how he accidentally knocked over a passenger while reversing the bus after letting him out. It turned out the guy who was knocked over was ok and the incident was forgotten.
    He went on to explain to me how he would have gotten rid of the body had the guy had actually been killed!