Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there an Irish Secret Service?

• 12-11-2012 11:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

(and where do I join?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Well, that's a secret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Yes but it's a secret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

There is, you won't find out a thing about though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

There is. I cant tell you about it.

This message will self destruct in 5 seconds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Send me €50. I'll send you on the details........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Came up before, there is supposedly a G-2 section of the PDF, if wiki is to be believed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Biggins is the Irish M, but don't tell anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭coonecb1

Guess who just watched James Bond :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wing126

If there isn't, there should be and it should be entirely composed of mammies. They'd find everything out in a week...
    "Did ya hear about North Korea? They've only gone and set up a new nuclear launch base!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭kirving

They wanted to call it "The ISS", but that name was taken by a space station, so they went for the next option on the list "G-2"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

coonecb1 wrote: »
    Guess who just watched James Bond :)

James Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Secret Service isn't about foreign intelligence though? Protection of the President and the Vice President and their families and some high ranking staff in the White House/Congress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Pottler wrote: »
    Biggins is the Irish M, but don't tell anyone.

More like the sexy m.f

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Of course not. This country struggles at the most basic of services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Sugar Free wrote: »
    Came up before, there is supposedly a G-2 section of the PDF, if wiki is to be believed.

No such thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Ye I think it's called G7 or something.

They organise and maintain outstations - the Irish pub - in every town and hamlet in every corner of the globe.

It rivals the CIA, MI6, KGB.

Of course not. This country struggles at the most basic of services.
    Due to cutbacks, they've had to eliminate the Service, and just keep the Secret. Mammie O'Rourke keeps it in her apron. They were officially known as the "Special Police Assignment Service", but someone eventually noticed what that spelt so they changed it double quick to the "General Investigative Intelligence and Technical Service".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

There is, and they're called the Special Gardaí

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

No there isn't.

The gardaí handle the role of the Secret Service.

Orim wrote: »
    No there isn't.

The gardaí handle the role of the Secret Service.

So there's an intelligence branch of the Gardai?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yes. Several.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭deblacker

Wasn't there an Irish intelligence/secret service listening to German signals in WW2?, I know we're neutral n'all but just for the crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭tedobrien98

Of course there is!!

Séamus Ó Bondála and the lads...

So where does the Garda intelligence crowd recruit, do you have to be garda first? They probably don't recruit from the general public do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

There is, however the position is yet to be filled.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

So where does the Garda intelligence crowd recruit, do you have to be garda first? They probably don't recruit from the general public do they?

You'd join the gardai and then if an opportunity came up you could apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

There actually is.
    Nothing compared to the likes of the CIA or others. But we do have one.

I would presume there is multiple sections of the gardaí dealing in intelligence.

However, my first thought when you say Secret Service is the American Secret Service, which handles fianacial crimes and the protection detail for high ranking members of the government and foreign diplomats.

Both of which are handled by the gardaí afaik.

Just get really good at jumping off stuff, driving insanly fast and shooting guns in crowded places, the Guards will fall over themselves to bring you into their fold. Guaranteed to get their attention. Best of luck with the mission;)

I would presume there is multiple sections of the gardaí dealing in intelligence.

However, my first thought when you say Secret Service is the American Secret Service, which handles fianacial crimes and the protection detail for high ranking members of the government and foreign diplomats.

Both of which are handled by the gardaí afaik.

American Secret Service "A.S.S."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

deblacker wrote: »
    Wasn't there an Irish intelligence/secret service listening to German signals in WW2?, I know we're neutral n'all but just for the crack

Neutral? Dev went down to the German embassy to give his condolences when Hitler died. Useless and misguided would be the kindest words, looking at the big picture.

Maybe we're just suck-ups to whoever has the pointiest sticks?

Im probably a bit too old to join the guards now (is there an upper age limit?) and i'd say they're not recruiting with the ol embargo's nd all that. Plus i don't think i could handle all the other garda stuff before they made me a spy.

But just in case any of them are reading feel free to drop me a PM, I'll happy to do a bit of freelancing as required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 sadbob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

There was something like this for WW2 and family legend says my grandaunt worked there. She was a clerical worker but never spoke about her job until the war was long over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

We'd have to have one. Didn't we have half the bleedin' Tallaghban living on the North Circular there back a few years and Mossaad selling ''art work'' door to door up until 2010.

Jaysus, if we didn't have one, we'd be the most stupid country in the known universe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

They wanted to call it "The ISS"...
    I hear the provisionals also have their own version

Apparently they have an annual budget of €900,000 to €100,000,000...
    *tut tut*, all that money they're wasting on intelligence; they could be buying my million euro yacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

there is, and always has been since 1918
    its called g2 - Micheal Collins was its first director

read a book by Maurice Walsh - in defense of Ireland - Irish military intelligence 1918 -45 , very interesting read

at this present moment - Irish military intelligence has people who can speak fluent Arabic, monitoring " watched individuals " phone calls , texts and emails , they also have the ability to monitor Skype and other social media

along with having the ability of the un manned drones they purchased from Israel to monitor - do NOT under estimate the resources of G2

a real good ploy is to appear farcical and stupid and ill equipped
    works wonders for the boys of G2

I have said enough :D

deblacker wrote: »
    Apparently they have an annual budget of €900,000 to €100,000,000...
    *tut tut*, all that money they're wasting on intelligence; they could be buying my million euro yacht.

WTF do they on the years that they need a hundred million if they normally get away with 900 grand?

We ought to get one soon enough if things keep up like this:

"Ireland is one of the most hostile countries in Europe" according to some Israeli official, we disrespect their race and its ideologies.

Expect Hellfire in the form of ICBMs.

WTF do they on the years that they need a hundred million if they normally get away with 900 grand?

That's 1,000,000.. Sorry chaps.

Just Enda Kenny's pocket money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Stheno wrote: »
    Yes. Several.
    em...

how does that joke go, 'civil engineer' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Was in the news in latter years in relation to the budget as they are allocated money without detailing publically how it is spent which is fair enough IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Frank the Plank?

hmmm.

yes, yes they do. just ring 999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

benwavner wrote: »
    No such thing.

Fair enough, I'd take your word for it given your background, over an unreferenced wiki article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭barfizz

Wing126 wrote: »
    If there isn't, there should be and it should be entirely composed of mammies. They'd find everything out in a week...
    "Did ya hear about North Korea? They've only gone and set up a new nuclear launch base!!"

A real Irish mammy would say.

"Did you hear who died... And didn't they run the whole north Korean thing..."

Can we get some random confusion and disorder with a touch of chaos around here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

G2. Hmmm... a great bunch of lads.