Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats the werdest or stupiest job you have had

• 06-11-2012 2:16pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭

When I was 16 I workedin a chicked factory in the KillThe noise was deafening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

As a student I worked for a company and some work involved doing welding in attics. My job was to stand in the attic for the whole day holding a fire extinguisher in case a fire ever broke out. Never got to use it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

sfwcork wrote: »

Did you have to cluck in every morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Washing dishes in a leaking sink in a rapidly flooding kitchen.

I nearly got trench foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I didn't know they made chickens in factories now.

Was an Airtricity salesperson for a couple of days. God it was horrible. I spent my last evening sitting on the wall talking to a cat until I had to go back to the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Counting cars going through a junction and marking them off on a piece of paper in 15 minute increments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Correcting spelling.

The hours were long I tell you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

OneArt wrote: »
    I didn't know they made chickens in factories now.

Was an Airtricity salesperson for a couple of days. God it was horrible. I spent my last evening sitting on the wall talking to a cat until I had to go back to the office.

Did the cat sign up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

How can OP be that drunk this early? Even when I was unemployed I was never drunk this early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I worked for Dublin County Council picking up litter,,, in the Tip

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    How can OP be that drunk this early? Even when I was unemployed I was never drunk this early.

Step 1 - Wake up
    Step 2 - Open and drink can
    Step 3 - Repeat Step 2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

wrote:
    OSI

I'd say the smell was pretty fowl to.

6/10

and im being generous

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

wrote:
    kfallon

Did you have to cluck in every morning?

stick to the horseys' 3/10

should be more ashamed of that joke than riding kirsty milshake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭DustyMan

I did a bit of labouring for a while, short time I might add. I once went to a site and the first job I was asked to do was move an enormous amount of soil from one place to another, less than 50 meters away, using a shovel and a wheelbarrow (It would have taken a Digger/JCB about 20 minutes to do, It would take a human with a shovel and wheelbarrow a whole day of back breaking 'torture' to complete. After about 20 minutes of this futile exercise I called over the Foreman and told him I was off, 'Goodbye'.

I was on another site one day where I observed a guy being told, by the foreman, to go and 'tidy up the skip'. Oh God....

yeppydeppy wrote: »

Perseverance.

We're not all quitters like you!

Did the cat sign up ?

No, he had no money. Was a catnip junkie. Very sad story. It was Dolphin's Barn after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Putting dead people in drawers.

Well, not so much of a job as a hobby, but still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Not me but a guy who works part-time here used to have a job watching junkies piss into sample cups in that methadone clinic off Baggot St. so they could be sure they weren't using someone else's sample etc.

Think about the crazy fetish that could develop from that! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

stick to the horseys' 3/10

should be more ashamed of that joke than riding kirsty milshake

You should stick to the 'chickeds' :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I was part of a peer-review group investigating possible clinical synergies to be achieved through the co-location of a future childrens Hospital with a tertiary adult hospital. Ok, I wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

when i was 16 ( poss even 15 - cant remember ) i worked for a contract cleaning company , they had the contract for st vincents in donnybrook

on my first day the supervisor was showing me where i was to be working , it was the morgue and the autopsy room , first thing i saw was a pile of " white " rubber boots that were stained red from the blood :eek:

on one occasion i was asked to polish the floor in the chapel of the mortuary ,
    no prob , got the buffer and went in , in the middle of this very small room was a coffin with a dead old dude in it , with the lid off it :eek:

i told the boss no way was i bringing the buffer in , i could have knocked the feckin thing over , so i had to do it by hand , so started working away with yer man in the coffin , and i swear to god EVERY TIME i looked up from the floor at the coffin i SWEAR i could see him drop back into the casket as if he was looking at me and then lying back down real quick

it freaked the fook out of me big style - i have never done such a half arsed job so quickly as that day.

jesus, even typing this i am seeing that image :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Grating Parmesan cheese into a hopper at a savoury biscuit factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Rango555

I was the guy who put the P in Yop ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Can honestly say I have never had a stupiest job .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

brummytom wrote: »
    Putting dead people in drawers.

Well, not so much of a job as a hobby, but still.

By that, i'm presuming you mean putting them into cabinets, as opposed to into knickers/jocks......?

I worked for 3 months as a toilet cleaner in the Hauptpost Office in Munich. It was enough turn one right off the human species, I'm telling you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Shepwerd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I dressed as a pink rabbit in dungarees for Supermac's in Tipperary. I would entertain kids and stuff. One girl had a birthday there, and was all smiles and laughter, waving at me. When I walked over she freaked the fuck out and screamed like a demon. Another time I got to relax with Santa and a polar bear in their big Coca Cola truck. There's a nice photo of us all having a smoke break. I also got punched in the penis by an eleven year old girl who laughed as I writhed in pain.

It was the best God damn job I ever had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

When I was sixteen I did work experience in a sweet factory. I used to take stale Easter eggs out of their boxes, break them into pieces and put them in a basin. When the basin was full I would bring them to another part of the factory where they would be thrown into a machine and melted down to make 'new' chocolate bars.

The only good thing about this job was that I would steal the sweets that were inside the eggs. For the brief period that I worked there I would go home every day with my pockets full of Love Hearts sweets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Ever clean feces from a mans foreskin?........yeah. Not exactly stupid, infact I love my job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

I bunched scallions in a market garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I dressed as a pink rabbit in dungarees for Supermac's in Tipperary. I would entertain kids and stuff. One girl had a birthday there, and was all smiles and laughter, waving at me. When I walked over she freaked the fuck out and screamed like a demon. Another time I got to relax with Santa and a polar bear in their big Coca Cola truck. There's a nice photo of us all having a smoke break. I also got punched in the penis by an eleven year old girl who laughed as I writhed in pain.

It was the best God damn job I ever had.

I had this Job in Limerick city about ten years ago - now every time I see that rabbit on Silent hill, I think of Supermacs :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I had this Job in Limerick city about ten years ago - now every time I see that rabbit on Silent hill, I think of Supermacs :pac:

Yup, me too. Does the bunny even still exist today? I'd do that job in a heart beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

A few times i was a "dead man". On trains, drivers had to respond to a signal in the loco and press a button very regularly or the brakes kickin. If that button isn't working a summer worker at the time like me had to apply the emergency break. All grand except when the driver leaves the cab and goes to the other end of the loco while train on full pelt with me in charge. A long few minutes.

Another fun time i hosed a lot of crap, tampons,rats and all the other fun stuff of the tracks in Heuston and cleaned toilets there and Connolly. Blue lights and glory holes puzzling where crap would be everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Yup, me too. Does the bunny even still exist today? I'd do that job in a heart beat.

I'm sure it does - it's probably not been washed since I last saw it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭reginald

This one time at band camp...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Halloran springs

I worked with the public once, what an absolute bunch of ****heads. "The customer is always right" :rolleyes:

Rasmus wrote: »
    Standing in the doorway counting people coming into Brown Thomas (for statistics). Relatively boring, but not as much as you may think. You did it in the pairs and your mate counted the people going out.

Also useful for making sure nobody is hiding in the shop overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

Worked in a supermarket in the make up and hair colour isle as a teen - some guy asked for my advice on tampons for his gf once + regurlarily got asked by aul owns about hair colour for their daughters who usually were dying of embarrassment

Compared womens lingerie in different stores (for inflation figures), had a clip board to make it look less like I was a perve when out in the field...it didn't work.

Spent a year being paid to colour in maps but was only allowed to use 3 colours (there was a real point to this but still stupid looking back).

I worked with the public once, what an absolute bunch of ****heads. "The customer is always right" :rolleyes:

I'm a member of the public. I find that offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Building fences in the Australian desert.

I actually enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

I worked for a month selling Hanley Center scratch cards on Henry Street when I was 14. If the job wasn't demoralizing enough already, there was a rumor at the time that our manager was keeping the money reinforcing the "we're the bad guys" feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

pawrick wrote: »
    Worked in a supermarket in the make up and hair colour isle as a teen - some guy asked for my advice on tampons for his gf once + regurlarily got asked by aul owns about hair colour for their daughters who usually were dying of embarrassment

Compared womens lingerie in different stores (for inflation figures), had a clip board to make it look less like I was a perve when out in the field...it didn't work.

Spent a year being paid to colour in maps but was only allowed to use 3 colours (there was a real point to this but still stupid looking back).
    Can you explain the last job more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

killing red back spiders and their eggs from a conveyor system at a saw mill in Victoria Australia.

Every morning hundreds of these feckers would appear and would pose a health and safety hazard to contractors working on the machinery. My job involved going around with a blow torch and fire extinguisher for about an hour before work started exterminating them. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Building fences in the Australian desert.

I actually enjoyed it.

I spent two months "Making up" clues for crosswords in a puzzle magazine. Glorified data entry from a dictionary starting with aardvark. Nice bunch of people working there though. I still remember going back to work after lunch after having two pints at lunchtime. The English *claps*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

killing red back spiders and their eggs from a conveyor system at a saw mill in Victoria Australia.

Every morning hundreds of these feckers would appear and would pose a health and safety hazard to contractors working on the machinery. My job involved going around with a blow torch and fire extinguisher for about an hour before work started exterminating them. .

Amazing, I can almost hear the Schwartzenegger quotes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Repairing and testing fog horns was another weird job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I had a job sitting in front of a vibrating conveyor belt watching millions of beans go past me......all.......fúcking........day.
    My job was to pick out any beans that looked dodgy and flick them off the belt.

So yes........my job was literally flicking the bean all day.

That's how I got so good at it. :cool:

Easy, ladies.....one at a time please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Dean09 wrote: »
    I had a job sitting in front of a vibrating conveyor belt watching millions of beans go past me......all.......fúcking........day.
    My job was to pick out any beans that looked dodgy and flick them off the belt.

So yes........my job was literally flicking the bean all day.

That's how I got so good at it. :cool:

Easy, ladies.....one at a time please.
    PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Spent a short while taking bottles out of a box, putting same little bottles on a conveyor belt , mind numbing , but wait it got better I then got to run around to the other side of the belt and put the bottles back into the same box they'd just come out of ...I lasted 2 nights..

Just remembered I spent a couple of days taking ray-bans out of a box, checking the nose piece, quick polish, then back in the box...oh the fun I had ...
    Actually did loads of **** jobs all in 2 months in Sydney ....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

OneArt wrote: »
    I'm a member of the public.

No you're not!! Hahahaha :pac: