Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Expressions you hate

• 05-11-2012 10:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭

"At The End Of The Day"
    "In Fairness"

Hate them. No idea why, but whenever I hear people say them I lose respect for them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

It's a game of two halves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Falcon

"Going forward"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Ah heeoooor Laeve irrrrrrr ouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Generally speaking.... , in general ,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

"You can't have your cake and eat it".

Not much point in having a frigging cake then is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

"The Gathering" such utter sh!te

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Mickey Money

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    "The Gathering" such utter sh!te

Howya 'other' Gaybo !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Ziegfeldgirl27

I don't know if you call it an expression but I hate when people greet you by saying "Hows you?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

It is what it is.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

"You know that kind of a way"

Can I hit you in the face with a shovel please?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

"Amazeballs", or anything similar to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

"is it in yet?" :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

"literally" when they mean figuratively eg "I am literally going to explode if I eat another bite". :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

'They do though don't they though'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Supermensch

Second "In fairness", because it's usually used to reiterate an argument you've completed demolished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

Its just the way I am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

TBH- Always said in a whiney voice

At the end of the day......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

"Totes awky momo"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Talking about their "journey"

Turn that frown upside down, smile it might never happen.

Boils my piss! (I actually like that one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

Happy out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Lapin wrote: »
    "You can't have your cake and eat it".

Not much point in having a frigging cake then is it ?

If you eat the cake you won't have it anymore. You can't keep it if you eat it. It will be gone. No cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Smiling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Catmologen

Lookit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭supernova84

Like ya know like

As such

It will be grand

You will pass I know well

Good luck

It is what it is

The way I see it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Wake up and smell the coffee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 reality19

Basically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

blah blah

Shryke wrote: »
    If you eat the cake you won't have it anymore. You can't keep it if you eat it. It will be gone. No cake.

Would yiz feck off outa that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

"In terms of..."

As overused as "basically" by some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

'morto'
    'just sayin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

"First world problem"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭jluv

mikehunts wrote: »
    It is what it is.:mad:
    And I hate it even more as soon as I've just said it!!!!(Have done once or twice and cringed as soon as I did:mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

"LOL" - Just FUK off

Ja know what i mean like (cork mostly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Thinly veiled.

Actually heard someone say 'Yolo' on the bus today....if ever a punch in the face was appropriate.

As the fella says...........

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

l'm entitled to an opinion, hate when people use that in an argument..they only say it cause they have no other come back!!

and that YOLO sh#*e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭SPQRI

"Awesome" & "I'll Talk To You" :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Austerity...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

We are where we are
    The only game in town
    At this moment in time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I don't know if you call it an expression but I hate when people greet you by saying "Hows you?"
    *shudder*

"In this day and age"
    "Ridiculous"
    "Ridiculous in this day and age"

Always some dumb ranting ****clump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭pmurphy00

small world.
    its not small at all.
    even if on your holidays in sydney/ny/london(or anywhere irish people go lots)
    you bumped into bridie from wicklow, who its turns out
    is you 3rd cousins best friends flatmate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

"You have received a warning"
    "You have received an infraction"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

MadsL wrote: »
    "You have received a warning"
    "You have received an infraction"
    ''You have been banned''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭fatherbuzcagney

i just wanted to 'touch base' with you......

Lets do lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Frowning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Moll'll fix it

"Oh my Gawwwwwd"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

adding 'much' onto words for no reason
    bored much
    happy much
    rude much

adding 'age' onto words for no reason
    drinkage