Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your MPG?

1101112131416»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Hyundai Santa Fe 2002 - 2 litre

3 different types of driving
    Town
    Motorway
    Towing Light Trailer

Overall I get about 26mpg. It's about 24 with trailer and same around town and 28 on motorway.

Probably one of the worst cars I have ever owned in spg (smiles per gallon). Totally underpowered in the 2 litre petrol and needs constant work to get any sort of decent performance. Before this, I had a BMW E39 2.2 Auto which was doing under 20mpg around town, but by God it was a lovely car to drive!!

Santa Fe has just about run its course for me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

heres my MPG for the past 5k km

999744_10151797263524528_2024123504_n.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Max Power1 wrote: »
    heres my MPG for the past 5k km]

Them trip computers always overstate, Max.

I'd say you're really getting around 30 there lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Jesus. wrote: »
    Them trip computers always overstate, Max.

I'd say you're really getting around 30 there lad.

I measured a couple of fills and she's accurate, within a .1 or .2 anyway.

Max Power1 wrote: »
    I measured a couple of fills and she's accurate, within a .1 or .2 anyway.

Fair play mate. I suppose some are more accurate than others.

I always find mine is about 2.5 below what she's telling me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Souls, have you checked your tyre pressure?

I was only getting 36.5 MPG when one of the lads reminded me to check the tyres and sure enough they were well down. I'm since getting 39/40 with that modification alone.

Yeah I check my tyre pressure fairly regularly (at least once a month, aim for more regularly) and its where it should be. Been test driving a couple of cars this week and hopefully a move to something more economical is on the cards soon.

Calculated again after todays refuel. 32.8mpg or 8.6l/100km.

Bought the new diesel motor and will be picking it up on Thursday. Hoping to get close to 50mpg out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Getting about 400 miles on 50 litres unleaded 2006 1.4 golf 35 mpg I think.

Calculated again after todays refuel. 32.8mpg or 8.6l/100km.Bought the new diesel motor and will be picking it up on Thursday. Hoping to get close to 50mpg out of it.

You're better off mate. 33 in that car is poor alright.

What motor did you get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Mandzhalas

20 mpg. bmw 525i

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,672 ✭✭✭✭josip

2005 Octavia 1.9 TDi
    Dublin Suburban driving with a bit of down the country
    4.8l/100km Summer (59mpg)
    5.2l/100km Winter (54mpg)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

josip wrote: »
    2005 Octavia 1.9 TDi
    Dublin Suburban driving with a bit of down the country
    4.8l/100km Summer (59mpg)
    5.2l/100km Winter (54mpg)

How are you working that out? Surely it can't be correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Skatedude

1993 bmw 740i v8.
    Average 19mpg with mix of dual carrigeways and urban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,672 ✭✭✭✭josip

How are you working that out? Surely it can't be correct?

I do a back of the envelope check about twice a year to make sure the dashboard display isn't lying to me and it or me agree to within .1 or .2.
    I go down the country about once a month, 400K round trip and it's a mix of motorway and national, not overly congested and late at night so I rarely have to overtake. Keep it to 120 and 105.

The suburban driving is 20km outer suburban driving per day. It bores the bollix off me every day, so I set a target of 5 or less on fuel consumption on each leg without losing a place in traffic so I try to anticpate the traffic, lights, roundabouts ahead of me as much as possible. Keeps me awake. Only me and the creche warrior in the car. If it wasn't for the passenger my consumption would be 0l/100km :D

Reading the other posts here I'd be suspicious of it too. The wife on the other hand discovered the turbo this year now on the same motorway run down the country she'll average 5.4 whereas I'm 4.7 for the country run. She's a heavy late braker tho, and prefers to cruise at 130.

You're better off mate. 33 in that car is poor alright.

What motor did you get?

2l Golf TDi. Wanted something a little bigger but this will do me for a couple of years until I can afford an octavia estate or something similar