Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seriously worried ...

• 02-11-2012 2:38am
    Registered Users Posts: 28

Hi guys
    I'm about to make the decision to leave France for Dublin (job in hand).
    Am I mad ?
    Is everything negative I'm reading really true ?
    Or is there still fun to be had over there ?

Thanks !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I'm having the craic anyway!!

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

A choice between Ireland and a socialist country... You have my sympathies.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

If you have a job you'll still be havin' fun.
    The public sector is a mess though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Depends on the job you've been offered, what you're leaving behind.

State of mind & the wisdom of posting a life-chaging decision like this on AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭mickgotsick

J'ai prendre une merde

If my french is correct, it should translate to you'll be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

If you have a job, go for it.

If you don't like it, you can always move back and be where you left off (depending on some circumstances of course).

• Registered Users Posts: 64,794 ✭✭✭✭unkel

poussin78 wrote: »
    Hi guys
    Am I mad ?

Thanks !

Welcome to boards :)

Ireland is a great country with great people and you will have a great life here. As long as you don't lose your job or your health. If either happens to you, you're fukced and nobody gives a sh1te. Harsh but true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

unkel wrote: »
    Welcome to boards :)

Ireland is a great country with great people and you will have a great life here. As long as you don't lose your job or your health. If either happens to you, you're fukced and nobody gives a sh1te. Harsh but true!

no hes thinking of moving to Ireland not America. Ireland is pretty good at looking after its people as far as i can see, good social welfare rates, college grants, medical cards etc iv been in college the last 4 years, all paid for by the state:)its a great country, come on over.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,651 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

no hes thinking of moving to Ireland not America. Ireland is pretty good at looking after its people as far as i can see, good social welfare rates, college grants, medical cards etc iv been in college the last 4 years, all paid for by the state:)its a great country, come on over.

I see what you did there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

fkt wrote: »
    A choice between Ireland and a socialist country... You have my sympathies.

So a choice between 2 socialist countries then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

kraggy wrote: »

Fine Gael are the most far right party in the country, if you're comparing our government with France's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

I haven't been having the craic myself. But I heard a few lads had it up the road a few weeks back. Was spotted across the bridge few weeks before that. You might happen on it in Dublin the odd weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

flyswatter wrote: »
    Fine Gael are the most far right party in the country, if you're comparing our government with France's.

Hmmm..public healthcare system....generous welfare benefits....pampered public sector....yep Ireland has a pretty good socialist system going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

If you have a decent job (and if you speak a European language fluently and can tie your own shoelaces / knock up a decent Excel sheet there's TONNES of them).

Even the food here is better since the recession, it's expensive here but not nearly as expensive as Paris and there's lots of cool stuff to see and do, not all of which is expensive.

It's probably easier and more fun to be a young European working in Ireland than it is to be Irish here and have a mortgage on a house that's worth half as much as you paid for it, no job and **** healthcare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Hola agus Wilkommen.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

mauzo wrote: »
    I'm having the craic anyway!!

Father Stack, is that you?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,028 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If you have a decent job (and if you speak a European language fluently and can tie your own shoelaces / knock up a decent Excel sheet there's TONNES of them).

Even the food here is better since the recession, it's expensive here but not nearly as expensive as Paris and there's lots of cool stuff to see and do, not all of which is expensive.

It's probably easier and more fun to be a young European working in Ireland than it is to be Irish here and have a mortgage on a house that's worth half as much as you paid for it, no job and **** healthcare.

I really don't think you can flout that to a Frenchman...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,815 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

kraggy wrote: »

Ireland? Socialist? That's one of the funniest things I've ever read on boards.ie

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

The Irish who were dumb enough to buy overpriced houses at 100% loans to impress their mammies are the ones doing all the complaining now.

Personally I think they should be awarded the Darwin Prize.

The rest of us who lived within our means are doing fine here. Ireland is great country it you have common sense - the problem is a large number of Irish people are mindless followers to be frank.

From Lemmings to LiveLine...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

come on over, come on over babyyyyyyyyyyyyy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Personally I think you are nuts coming to this country at the moment for any reason, unless it's a weekend break.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

wrote:
    HellFireClub

Personally I think you are nuts coming to this country at the moment for any reason, unless it's a weekend break.

arnt you a right moaning michael toda. IM having a ball in this gaff. I reckon he be stupid not too

At least drink is a wee bit cheaper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

The Irish who were dumb enough to buy overpriced houses at 100% loans to impress their mammies are the ones doing all the complaining now.

The rest of us who lived within our means are doing fine here. Ireland is great country it you have common sense - the problem is a large number of Irish people are mindless followers to be frank.

Isnt there too many people hating liveline now for it to be cool ? Should you not be moving onto the next thing in a desperate attempt to distance yourself from the "sheep" ?.......Along with all the other "non sheeps" doing the same thing, hating the same things, constantly bitching about the same things simply because its cool to hate what most people like ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭mongoman

J'ai prendre une merde

If my french is correct, it should translate to you'll be fine.

Veiled I can speak french post.

Anyway, didn't you check with one of the many online language translators?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Hi guys
    Am I mad ?

Thanks !

Be careful. Ryanair will charge you extra to bring a job on the flight with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Hi guys
    Am I mad ?

Thanks !
    Anywhere else but Dublin and you would have been fine, our capital city is a kip. Are you sure you couldn't go to America or Australia ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

As long as you're not Thierry Henry you'll have a great time here ... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

THAT. I am sorry, but it's true - I know people who bought 2 bedroom apartments for 450k; I am no financial nor property advisor but come on, even a blind monkey would have questioned that price.

Now the people that were sensible enough to live within their means will end up paying the mortgages for the foolish.

As for you OP, if you have a job ready in Dublin, do it. It's a great city, vibrant and alive - loads of options for just about any taste, from cultural nights to getting drunk to levels you didn't imagine possible (I'm a total non-drinker, anyway :) ).

Do not listen to Irish people as they seem to be the most pessimistic, self-esteem lacking bunch on the effing planet - a country of only 4 million inhabitants that keeps having a profound cultural, artistic and industrial impact worldwide is a force to be reckoned with, no matter what.

Problems, all country has them. Excessive drinking is definitively one; It's a cultural staple that will be difficult to beat and causes much more damage than most realize (from torn families to lost jobs). This said, most Irish people are NOT hopeless permadrunks but extremely well educated folks and excellent professionals; Unfortunately, the drunken minority happens to be the most visible and noisy, so wrong first impressions amongst foreigners are a common thing.
    Crime is nearly non-existent when compared to other big cities in the EU (London, Paris, Rome, Liverpool, Madrid, Berlin, Naples, Marseille...you get the idea).

All in all, the main thing is to keep your mind open - modern Ireland is a quite unique blend of old traditions mixed with British and, more recently, American influence. It will be different from France. Not better, not worse - different. Forget all preconceptions, be open to new ideas and things and you'll enjoy this country a lot.

Last thing - If you are a guy. Irish women are, on average, STUNNING :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

flyswatter wrote: »

Fine Gael are about as right wing as the Democratic Party in America are left. Not very.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

You are not maing a mistake. If you have a job you will be sorted. My bro in law is French, he moved here for work and he loves living here. The French Ex-Pat community is strong and vibrant in Dublin, there are a lot of roles in IT if you have fluent English as well as French obviously. The cost of living has come down a lot and the healthcare system isn't so bad considering how much of a mess the management of it is.
    When it comes to where to live. If you are Dublin based, stick to the city centre, or come on here, to the accomodation board, and get some advise so you don't end up either in the sticks or in a well dodgy area.
    Best of luck and stop worrying. It will be an adventure.