Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

should the state continue to hand out welfare to smokers.

• 08-10-2012 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,905 ✭✭✭✭

Treatments for smoke related illnesses cost the state hundreds of millions every year. As those on welfare are already a burden to society, should we as a nation continue to hand them out money so that they may become a even greater burden.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

I love buying my fags with my lovely dole money. Thanks for paying for them whoever works. I'm in love with the dole xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If we left the poor to die, jailed the rich, send all the furigners home, kicked the Brits out, hung the priests, set fire to the Dail and bombed the IMF, do you think we'd have radio silence in AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

God I hope you never have to join a dole queue.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

That's a very, very good question where's the tobacco allowance, cos all my dole seems to go on tobacco related schtuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Why do smokers always get treated like outcasts in todays society??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

ah not again!

. . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . ,.-‘”. . . . . . . . . .``~.,
    . . . . . . . .. . . . . .,.-”. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .“-.,
    . . . . .. . . . . . ..,/. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ”:,
    . . . . . . . .. .,?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\,
    . . . . . . . . . /. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,}
    . . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`^`.}
    . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:”. . . ./
    . . . . . . .?. . . __. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :`. . . ./
    . . . . . . . /__.(. . .“~-,_. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`. . . .. ./
    . . . . . . /(_. . ”~,_. . . ..“~,_. . . . . . . . . .,:`. . . . _/
    . . . .. .{.._$;_. . .”=,_. . . .“-,_. . . ,.-~-,}, .~”; /. .. .}
    . . .. . .((. . .*~_. . . .”=-._. . .“;,,./`. . /” . . . ./. .. ../
    . . . .. . .\`~,. . ..“~.,. . . . . . . . . ..`. . .}. . . . . . ../
    . . . . . .(. ..`=-,,. . . .`. . . . . . . . . . . ..(. . . ;_,,-”
    . . . . . ../.`~,. . ..`-.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..\. . /\
    . . . . . . \`~.*-,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..|,./.....\,__
    ,,_. . . . . }.>-._\. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .|. . . . . . ..`=~-,
    . .. `=~-,_\_. . . `\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . .`=~-,,.\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . `:,, . . . . . . . . . . . . . `\. . . . . . ..__
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .`=-,. . . . . . . . . .,%`>--==``
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _\. . . . . ._,-%. . . ..`

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

ted1 wrote: »
    Treatments for smoke related illnesses cost the state hundreds of millions every year. As those on welfare are already a burden to society, should we as a nation continue to hand them out money so that they may become a even greater burden.

If they don't get a smoke related illness they'll get something else and that will also cost money to treat. Ideally for the state everyone would live a healthy life till they're 65 and then goe on a massive bender and die soon after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Given the fact that a packet of fags is practically all excise duty and vat why the hell not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Well Im not a smoker so im probably biased on the matter, but if the rumours ive heard are true that cigarettes are gradually going to go up to 15e then tbh anyone willing to pay that for them, even now their pricing is excessive, should be seriously thinking twice about quitting them if on the dole, thats an incentive in itself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Alot of these smoking related illnesses are treatable hence keeping doctors and nurses in employment and off the horrors of social welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Dean09 wrote: »
    Why do smokers always get treated like outcasts in todays society??
    Because ye are outcasts.
    You would probably be treated better if you were a leper with open sores oozing out aids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

As those on welfare are already a burden to society,

http://gifsoup.com/webroot/animatedgifs/188191_o.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

If you are on the dole and smoke cigarettes, you will die
    faster and save the country money, plus the tax on fags is huge.

Cigarettes are actually a profit product for countries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭dttq

Listening to those foam-in-the-mouth right wingers at the Daily Mail, John Waters, Ian O' Doherty and Kevin Myers, you would be lead to believe that the €150 or so the average dole recipient gets weekly is stretched enough to the point where one on the dole lives the life of Reilly, smoking and drinking away on a daily basis, while sitting down to their Sky tv package, where they then proceed to order their daily rounds of Pizza deliveries, while they plan their next excursion to the Meditereanan. Of course, most rational people are aware that most on the dole are not living this lifestyle. This OP post has a similar angle to it.

I would also add that smokers on the dole probably have it even harder than non-smokers given that anywhere from €40-70 is spent on cigarettes/ tobacco on a weekly basis. Also, smokers pay taxes too, why should they be deprived of a hand from the society they too paid into, just because they happen to smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

As you say "As those on welfare are already a burden to society"
    What would you like seen to be done with the 450,000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

You do realize they're taxed to Hell and back, yes? So it's fair all around.

nig1 wrote: »
    As you say "As those on welfare are already a burden to society"
    What would you like seen to be done with the 450,000?

They should get a job.....obviously :p
    ...or be shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

No!
    They should get cigarette vouchers, so that they won't be spending their welfare money down the pub.

Or, smokers should have a "smoker's supplement" taken from their benefit every week and this will be paid directly to the cigarette sellers. That way the cigarette sellers will be guaranteed their money every week. The "smoker's supplement" will allow for one 20 pack a day but there will be a minimum contribution of €2.64 that smokers have to make so the supplement will be €61.56 weekly.

Oh my fúcking jaysus christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Just when I thought all the retarded threads in AH had been made, Ted makes an appearance. Thanks, Ted, for restoring my faith in humanity's stupidity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

When I was in college, I used to have to go to a welfare officer once a month to ask for rent allowance.

The dole was paid directly into my bank account, so getting the rent allowance was a real nuisance as the office closed at 12 and I had to get up early. Not an easy task when you've been up all night smoking weed & playing FIFA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

What about obese people? Alcoholics? Where does it end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,905 ✭✭✭✭ted1

How many of you who have objected to this post, supported taking away the pupil allowance for kids that go to semi private schools?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

If we left the poor to die, jailed the rich, send all the furigners home, kicked the Brits out, hung the priests, set fire to the Dail and bombed the IMF, do you think we'd have radio silence in AH?

No.

The farmers would still find something to protest about.

Especially the tobacco farmers in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

judgefudge wrote: »
    What about obese people? Alcoholics? Where does it end.

Stars on their clothes to identify them.

When I was in college, I used to have to go to a welfare officer once a month to ask for rent allowance.

The dole was paid directly into my bank account, so getting the rent allowance was a real nuisance as the office closed at 12 and I had to get up early. Not an easy task when you've been up all night smoking weed & playing FIFA.

Bloody inconsiderate is what that was :mad:
    Surely they could've had it brought to you maybe a bit later in the day!
    ...feckin gubbernment :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Its almost as if most people think that everyone on the dole is some sort of leeching parasite, I couldnt give a shit if someone spent their money on smokes, its not my business, do they not deserve any little pleasures because they cant find work? , They arent subhuman.

No!
    They should get cigarette vouchers, so that they won't be spending their welfare money down the pub.

Or, smokers should have a "smoker's supplement" taken from their benefit every week and this will be paid directly to the cigarette sellers. That way the cigarette sellers will be guaranteed their money every week. The "smoker's supplement" will allow for one 20 pack a day but there will be a minimum contribution of €2.64 that smokers have to make so the supplement will be €61.56 weekly.

Drink supplement would be great too. Then we'd all be sorted considering everything else gets paid for by welfare ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I don't agree with calling people on welfare a burden. There are not jobs for everyone and the majority want to work.
    They are not a greater burden and contribute plenty to the coffers.
    A man with a decisive mind like yours should turn his gaze to very sick people and old people. Sure they're never going to work again, only suck up money and die. You might as well throw them all in a big fire and we as a nation can heat the water with this corpse fire and save on the electricity and turf.
    Tax fat people more while you're at it. Clear health issue there. Fat people on the dole? Put them all on treadmills attached to generators and they'll help keep the lights on and get healthier, and if they collapse you can throw them in the corpse fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

A year passed: Winter changed into Spring, Spring changed into Summer, Summer changed back into Winter, and Winter gave Spring and Summer a miss and went straight on into Autumn... until one day...

we had something new to argue about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Smoking will eventually disappear. If you want to being in something progressive then raise the price of a Mc Donalds Happy Meal to 15Euro in order to combat the diabetes time bomb were sitting on. The money the state will have to spend on diabetes and obesity related diseases in the future, will dwarf anything they will ever have to spend on smokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    if the rumours ive heard are true that cigarettes are gradually going to go up to 15e then tbh anyone willing to pay that for them, even now their pricing is excessive, should be seriously thinking twice about quitting them if on the dole, thats an incentive in itself :)

It's no wonder the black market is booming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,905 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Shryke wrote: »
    I don't agree with calling people on welfare a burden. There are not jobs for everyone and the majority want to work.
    A man with a decisive mind like yours should turn his gaze to very sick people and old people. Sure they're never going to work again, only suck up money and die. You might as well throw them all in a big fire and we as a nation can heat the water with this corpse fire and save on the electricity and turf.
    Tax fat people more while you're at it. Clear health issue there. Fat people on the dole? Put them all on treadmills attached to generators and they'll help keep the lights on and get healthier, and if they collapse you can throw them in the corpse fire.

Read my post above, I was making a point that the amont of begrudgery that goes on here is crazy. Everyone wanting to take funding away from schools, yet when there free smokes and money is threatened they go bananas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

marcsignal wrote: »
    Smoking will eventually disappear. If you want to being in something progressive then raise the price of a Mc Donalds Happy Meal to 15Euro in order to combat the diabetes time bomb were sitting on. The money the state will have to spend on diabetes and obesity related diseases in the future, will dwarf anything they will ever have to spend on smokers.

Is that just because you say it will, or do you have anything to back this outrageous statement up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

But smoking is known as the poor mans tax!
    Also for every million smoking related illnesses costs the hse, the government makes 9 million in tax! The government do not want us to stop smoking!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Smokers are ideal for the Government they pay a hell of a lot of taxes and usually die off early saving the state alot of money in pensions.

Read my post above, I was making a point that the amont of begrudgery that goes on here is crazy. Everyone wanting to take funding away from schools, yet when there free smokes and money is threatened they go bananas.

Would you explain the bolded section please???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

No!

And we should set up an Office of Tobacco Control that looks after this kind of thing :) Meanwhile, in Germany, they still have open displays of cigarettes (4 euro for 20 cheapest), there's cigarette advertising on the street and you can smoke in pubs where there's no food, we must be the greatest Europeans ever.

dirtyden wrote: »
    Is that just because you say it will, or do you have anything to back this outrageous statement up?

Plenty
    According to Dr Donal O’Shea, a consultant endocrinologist and the director of the weight management Clinic at St Columcille’s Hospital, 20% of Irish children are obese or overweight

Article

Taking into account the knock on effects of obesity in kids today (not taking part in sports, and sitting on their arses on playstations all day etc) I would guess that figure will be a lot higher than 20% in ten years time, unless radical action is taken now.

There are no available stats for children who smoke, but in the 15 to 17 yr old age group it's only 14.2%

Chart

Full Statistical breakdown of smoking habits in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

You do realise that almost everything they spend on fags goes right back into state coffers, don't you?

Assuming conservatively that 7 quid per box of fags is going back to the state, a 20-a-day smoker on the dole costs the state €49 per week less than a greedy non-smoking scrounger.

They don't spend so much time suckling from the udders of the state after retirement either.

You should be thanking smokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

themadchef wrote: »
    A year passed: Winter changed into Spring, Spring changed into Summer, Summer changed back into Winter, and Winter gave Spring and Summer a miss and went straight on into Autumn... until one day...

we had something new to argue about.

Awesome. Now who's giving the punishment? *licks lips sadistically*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

I'm not a big fan of smokers - can't understand the stupidity tbh but they pay their way when it comes to the extra burden of health costs on the state through the large extra tax they pay.

Considering bad diet kills more people annually than smokers should we monitor the diets of those on welfare? If you eat anything that is considered not healthy should your welfare payments be stopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

Oh sweet Jesus..... What a stupid stupid tread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

I live the lifestyle of a Rock star Vatican Assassin. I have one gear gooo! Thank you all the people who work for allowing me to buy cigarettes, sit on my arse all day and play FIFA, go to the pub on weekends and get langered and take nice holidays around Europe and America with my friends with your tax euro's. Please stay working as I don't want my dole to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Shryke wrote: »

To the right kind of psychopath, you are an inspiration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

ArtyC wrote: »
    Oh sweet Jesus..... What a stupid stupid tread

Yeah, but what can you do.

*lights up*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭smokiebeverage

Assuming 4.4 Million Population, 20% Smokers, around €7.00 Tax per pack and the average smoker buys 6 packs a week, that comes to €1.9 billion on tax each year. I think you'll find the smokers are paying for you, cheapskate!

Yeah, but what can you do.

*lights up*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Great idea! Then we can cut dole for anyone who drinks, drives (we should be using public transport to reduce carbon emissions ofc), eats anything other than lean protein, veg and a small amount of fats and carbs, anyone with any genetic disease who has a child ('cause they shouldn't be passing on their diseases, don't ya know?) anyone who buys anything that isn't 100% Irish made (we should support our own economy!) and anyone who drinks caffeinated drinks because caffeine is addictive and bad for you.

OR you could mind your own damn business about what people spend their money on. I've been a taxpayer since I was 15, and I'm on the dole for the past 2 months. If I want to smoke, I'll bloody well smoke, I've more than paid my dues for the 2 months I've been on the dole.

As it happens, and as a smoker, I have no issue with the smoking ban in pubs and restaurants etc. I think anyone who smokes knows how bad it is for you. I do however have a problem with extortion by the Govt because of the cost of cigarettes. They know people are addicted and will continue to smoke.

It's clear they've gone into overkill on the matter though. The illegal cigarette market is flourishing and they are losing a load of revenue because of it.

I don't buy illegal cigs. I went on to rolling tobacco about a year ago, and travel to Europe frequently. I buy my tobacco there, and I bring back (legally) 1Kg at a time. The saving nearly pays for my next flight over, and I simply repeat the process. I haven't bought tobacco here since last Christmas.

I'll gladly give my tax revenue to the Spanish, French, Italian, or German Govt instead of being shafted by our own shower.

edit : A 12.5g pack of Amber Leaf Tobacco costs Euro4.70 here ?? and you can get a 50g pack of the same in Spain for about Euro7.00.