Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

drying off cows long term

• 08-10-2012 6:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

going to dry off 15-20 of this years heifers in the next week, these will be calving in february / march..... i normally use ubro red tubes ... was thinking of using these and a teat sealer or should i use a long acting tube like cepravin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭stanflt

whelan1 wrote: »
    going to dry off 15-20 of this years heifers in the next week, these will be calving in february / march..... i normally use ubro red tubes ... was thinking of using these and a teat sealer or should i use a long acting tube like cepravin?

personally i dont like sealers- but seen as they are going to be dry for a long time i would us them.

i find the ubro very good, what bout you.
    i had a cow calve six weeks early on saturday only dry for 14days- calve alive but very small- how long will i have to keep her milk, i think this happened you before if im not corrected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Had 2 calved before the 28 days. Both took the 28 days plus one week to be clear. Unreal. Normally its 84 hours after calving . Keep sampling the milk. Lucky i just didnt send the milk after the stated time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

what are ye paying for the dry tubes and teat seal? i had a lad here today offering me both for 8 euro 50 per cow

WHAT BRAND?

WHAT BRAND?

damit i forget, i have it written down above with yer mans number on it, feckit should have put it in my pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i use boviseal as a sealer and last yr i used a long lasting tube which worked well, i prob wont use it on the earlier calvers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 kennedy138

i use ubro red and sealers on normal scc cows . one of the few tubes gram negative and positive against ecoli . use cepravin on high scc or problem cows . very strong tube . sealers i think are essential but they have to be used correctly . so to answer question ubro red and sealers should be fine on 1st lact heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

You can't beat a sealer if dry long time or if cubicles not 100% clean. I use them as cows are on a pad. Very reassuring when squeezing out the sealer after calving, hard to imagine any dirt getting up past it.

WHAT BRAND?

osbourne, ive writtin down.

Never heard of them, but I live a sheltered kife... Getting a buxket of ubro red tomorro and wil post up the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

CEPRAVIN 6.97/ COW
    BOVICLOX 3.16
    BOVISEAL 4.65 E

11.63 TO PUT COW DRY PLUS ZANIL??? [COLOR=:eek::eek:"Red"]FRIGHTENING[/COLOR]

Also have a heifer who did the splits in july and recovered. Forgot about her when I let cows back into shed last week and of course she went down again. So scanned her and shes in calf 4 months. I dried her off this morning but dont know what to do with her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Milkymoos

WHAT BRAND?

You Sure that's not osmonds teat seal 1 & 2 by any chance? At €8 per cow it sounds about right. Poor tube in my opinion. Cepravin or undo red best on the market I reckon. One thing you should not do is let price influence your decision on dry Cow therapy, "saving" money on poor quality tubes could cost you a hell of alot in the long run. Always use a sealer regardless of length of dry period. Definitely works....

Milkymoos wrote: »
    WHAT BRAND?

You Sure that's not osmonds teat seal 1 & 2 by any chance? At €8 per cow it sounds about right. Poor tube in my opinion. Cepravin or undo red best on the market I reckon. One thing you should not do is let price influence your decision on dry Cow therapy, "saving" money on poor quality tubes could cost you a hell of alot in the long run. Always use a sealer regardless of length of dry period. Definitely works....
    ** not undo red, ment ubro red obviously. Dam auto correct!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Im using kefimast and sealer works out at 10 bucks per cow.I rotate dry cows every 2 years but always use sealers.Used orbenin extra for last 2 years and cepravin for the 2 before that.Word of advice for anyone using say epravin on high scc cows and say umbro red on rest,Be carefull on withdrawls cepravin is 56 days and then 96 hours and i had cows calved after 70 days abd still had antbotic traces after 110 hours.Saying that its a top dry cow theraphy but expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Watching with interest...
    Any opinions on tubes for suckers?
    Be drying off and weaning at the end of the month... Hopefully cows will be going onto maize stubble but chance could be going onto bare slats

Are tubes for suckers worth it?

if putting tubes in sucklers think u should get a good armour plated body suit first seen a freind trying to tube a cow during August that got summer mastitis and lets say it was a bit different from a nice freisan cow!!

Also have a heifer who did the splits in july and recovered. Forgot about her when I let cows back into shed last week and of course she went down again. So scanned her and shes in calf 4 months. I dried her off this morning but dont know what to do with her
    Is she good enough to want to hold onto? Could try putting hobbles (shackles) on her, leave her out on grass for a week to get used to them and Chance her in shed again?? Only if she's
    worth holding on to though

mahoney_j wrote: »
    if putting tubes in sucklers think u should get a good armour plated body suit first seen a freind trying to tube a cow during August that got summer mastitis and lets say it was a bit different from a nice freisan cow!!
    Haha, was thinking that as well!! Would be worth it maybe using a sealer and cheap tube if they were going in on bare slats but doubt I Would risk getting my head kicked in for the sake of it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Don't normally but having had to cull a cow last year due to mastitis after calving am looking into it... Not liking the sound of the cost!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭cjpm

What are osmonds stuff like??

They have their traditional 1 and 2, as well as 2 new options....

cjpm wrote: »
    What are osmonds stuff like??

They have their traditional 1 and 2, as well as 2 new options....
    Osmonds stuff is generally grand. Saying that I wouldnt use 1 & 2 at all, weak tube. The 2 new products seem good and would have no problem using them, broad spectrum ingredients and cover...

Milkymoos wrote: »
    Is she good enough to want to hold onto? Could try putting hobbles (shackles) on her, leave her out on grass for a week to get used to them and Chance her in shed again?? Only if she's
    worth holding on to though
    well here is the problem.... if i fatten her i am afraid she would go down in trailer or in factory, i suppose i will put a rope on her legs, nice heifer.... have her in straw bedded shed and was going to put her over to outfarm but again am afraid she would go down in trailer:confused:

You could try aborting her with a shot of pg but might not work on an animal in calf over 4 months. Loads of straw in the trailer and leave the rope/hobbles on her until she is hanging up in the factory? Would have to leave her on her own fattening and transporting though, animals jumping on her probably wouldn't do her any favours.

just giving ye a heads up, ubro red off the market til middle of november:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: got 30 tubes. last vets had

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

PG her and out to a field for a few months with some meal. factory.
    If she split herself 4 months ago and again now, she will be a cause of major stress next feb.

went to dry 10 early december calvers off this morning- didnt tube 4 of them as they are still doing over 26litres a day- put them on hay only.
    should i only milk them once a day for a week and then tube them? what would be the safest for them

i was told to dry off abruptly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭mooverlive

stanflt wrote: »
    went to dry 10 early december calvers off this morning- didnt tube 4 of them as they are still doing over 26litres a day- put them on hay only.
    should i only milk them once a day for a week and then tube them? what would be the safest for them
    thats taking the piss big time stan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

i was told to dry off abruptly
    same, no food or water for a day,
    usually stand off on a lane (clean) till the next day
    that said, never had the privilege of drying off a cow doing nearly 6 gls.

Going to dry off 15 in the morning. Going to dose them with endospec 10% aswell. Using ubro red and teat sealer.

cerprevin dc on any thing with a high, or presistant scc.
    (only have 2 offenders left, thanks to super levy last year, and a general clean up)
    or any one going dry for a long time
    kloxerate plus on the rest of the herd, or equivilant dc.

started using sealers in the last two years, found them very good, along with a better dry off routine.
    sheds have become very highly stocked over the winter, so a good dry off became more important.
    hard to make money out of concrete

Do you have any problems with the withdra Iwl times of the cepravin?

mooverlive wrote: »
    thats taking the piss big time stan

Jumbo: 799 Status: Born On Farm 1850 days Dam: IE281381550612 FOWLERSTOWN MAUD 17 EX90 Animal Number: IE281381520799 Breed: HO (100%) Sire: S447 ROUMARE Sex: Female
    Date of Birth: 17-SEP-2007
    Animal Name: FOWLERSTOWN MAUD 21 EX90
    Lact. Calved Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg SCC Days 305d Milk Kg
    305d Fat Kg 305d Prot Kg 305d Fat% 305d Prot% 305d F+P Kg 1 22-09-09 8020 285 280 3.55 3.49 565 75 315 7800 279 272 3.57 3.49 551 2 02-10-10 13420 470 457 3.50 3.41 927 89 361 11881 414 399 3.48 3.36 813 3 26-11-11 12458 452 421 3.63 3.38 873 96 308 12375 450 418 3.63 3.38 868 [/COLOR]Avg (Completed) 10720 378 369 3.53 3.45 746 82 338 9841 347 336 3.53 3.43 682
    Lifetime Production Lact Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg Days 3 33898 1207 1158 3.56 3.42 2365 984

never any real problems, maybe if one calved early, but that can happen with any tube.
    every thing is delvo tested after 6 milkings, safer and no one is responsible for a wrong call on letting milk to the tank.
    match the dry cow tube to the cow, scc, duration dry

has any one used cephaguard dc

Jumbo: 799 Status: Born On Farm 1850 days Dam: IE281381550612 FOWLERSTOWN MAUD 17 EX90 Animal Number: IE281381520799 Breed: HO (100%) Sire: S447 ROUMARE Sex: Female
    Date of Birth: 17-SEP-2007
    Animal Name: FOWLERSTOWN MAUD 21 EX90
    Lact. Calved Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg SCC Days 305d Milk Kg
    305d Fat Kg 305d Prot Kg 305d Fat% 305d Prot% 305d F+P Kg 1 22-09-09 8020 285 280 3.55 3.49 565 75 315 7800 279 272 3.57 3.49 551 2 02-10-10 13420 470 457 3.50 3.41 927 89 361 11881 414 399 3.48 3.36 813 3 26-11-11 12458 452 421 3.63 3.38 873 96 308 12375 450 418 3.63 3.38 868 [/COLOR]Avg (Completed) 10720 378 369 3.53 3.45 746 82 338 9841 347 336 3.53 3.43 682
    Lifetime Production Lact Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg Days 3 33898 1207 1158 3.56 3.42 2365 984
    decent cow how much meal was she fed worth feeding anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭mooverlive

what are they eating to get that milk out of them

Going to dry off 15 in the morning. Going to dose them with endospec 10% aswell. Using ubro red and teat sealer.
    Fasinex 24% will be available in the next 7-10 days licensed for fluke in dry pregnant animals. Active ingredient tricobendazole which will be far better then endospec on fluke, 35 day milk withdrawal. If dry for 60 days plus could use with ivermectin pour-on or inj for worms. And would only have to drench once for good fluke kill....

kennedy138 wrote: »
    has any one used cephaguard dc
    Very good tube, similar drug to cepravin but without the long withdrawals. Only 35 days plus 24 hours. Seems good on scc with sealer. Meat withdrawal is only 2 days so any problem cows you need to dry you can basically send off very early if needed.

Definitely abrupt drying the only way to go. Would still leave them water but starve for day, try and keep them as far away from parlour sound as possible also

This seemed like more of a problem for guys in spring 2011 then spring 2012. Apparently the delvo was too sensitive for the drug I.e testing above legal requirements!!! Could have been a batch also but will never know now anyway. As I said though didn't hear any problems in 2012 with it

mooverlive wrote: »
    what are they eating to get that milk out of them
    grass from jan to late november-with brewers silage maize and 1.6ton meal avg

Jumbo: 743 Status: Born On Farm 2147 days Dam: IE281381510575 FOWLERSTOWN PEONY 65 G79 Animal Number: IE281381540743 Breed: HO (93.75%), FR (6.25%) Sire: IE281381510534 FOWLERSTOWN BECKHAM Sex: Female
    Date of Birth: 25-NOV-2006
    Animal Name: FOWLERSTOWN PEONY 75 VG86 Lact. Calved Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg SCC Days 305d Milk Kg
    305d Fat Kg 305d Prot Kg 305d Fat% 305d Prot% 305d F+P Kg 1 07-02-09 8483 367 312 4.32 3.67 679 146 399 6903 273 244 3.96 3.54 517 2 08-05-10 12752 542 486 4.25 3.81 1028 263 508 8566 362 309 4.23 3.61 671 3 10-11-11 11476 498 418 4.34 3.64 916 165 324 11014 480 397 4.36 3.61 877 Avg (Completed) 10618 455 399 4.29 3.74 854 205 454 7735 318 277 4.1 3.58 594
    Lifetime Production Lact Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg Days 3 32711 1407 1216 4.3 3.72 2623 1231

Jumbo: 646 Status: Born On Farm 2574 days Dam: IE281381520485 FOWLERSTOWN YOLANTHE 13 Animal Number: IE281381560646 Breed: HO (100%) Sire: RUU RUUD 22 Sex: Female
    Date of Birth: 24-SEP-2005
    Animal Name: FOWLERSTOWN YOLANTHE 18 VG89 Lact. Calved Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg SCC Days 305d Milk Kg
    305d Fat Kg 305d Prot Kg 305d Fat% 305d Prot% 305d F+P Kg 1 30-09-07 9805 380 350 3.87 3.57 730 119 388 8326 318 294 3.82 3.53 612 2 23-11-08 9269 365 327 3.94 3.53 692 129 342 8713 341 303 3.91 3.48 644 3 22-12-09 10784 470 384 4.36 3.56 854 122 362 9746 417 339 4.28 3.48 756 4 10-01-11 9012 363 336 4.03 3.73 699 233 281 9443 380 356 4.02 3.76 736 5 10-12-11 11777 484 407 4.11 3.46 891 74 294 11885 489 412 4.11 3.47 901 Avg (Completed) 9718 395 349 4.05 3.6 744 151 343 9057 364 323 4.01 3.56 687
    Lifetime Production Lact Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg Days 5 50647 2062 1804 4.07 3.56 3866 1667

umbo: 737 Status: Born On Farm 2156 days Dam: IE281381590525 FOWLERSTOWN MAGGIE 29 GP82 Animal Number: IE281381560737 Breed: HO (93.75%), FR (6.25%) Sire: JKB JOCKO BESNE Sex: Female
    Date of Birth: 16-NOV-2006
    Animal Name: FOWLERSTOWN MAGGIE 42 VG88 Lact. Calved Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg SCC Days 305d Milk Kg
    305d Fat Kg 305d Prot Kg 305d Fat% 305d Prot% 305d F+P Kg 1 01-12-08 12971 516 460 3.98 3.55 976 485 564 7519 282 250 3.75 3.33 532 2 23-08-10 13112 472 448 3.60 3.42 920 622 401 10573 381 352 3.60 3.32 733 3 14-11-11 12270 483 417 3.94 3.40 900 539 320 11864 469 402 3.95 3.39 871 Avg (Completed) 13042 494 454 3.79 3.49 948 554 483 9046 332 301 3.68 3.33 633
    Lifetime Production Lact Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg Days 3 38353 1471 1325 3.84 3.45 2796 1285

this was a heifer who won loads of awards

Jumbo: 897 Status: Born On Farm 1507 days Dam: IE281381520452 FOWLERSTOWN MAUD 14 VG89 Animal Number: IE281381510897 Breed: HO (96.88%), FR (3.13%) Sire: OJI O-BEE MANFRED JUSTICE Sex: Female
    Date of Birth: 26-AUG-2008
    Animal Name: FOWLERSTOWN MAUD 22 VG87 Lact. Calved Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg SCC Days 305d Milk Kg
    305d Fat Kg 305d Prot Kg 305d Fat% 305d Prot% 305d F+P Kg 1 09-12-10 11390 482 401 4.23 3.52 883 104 363 9780 404 343 4.13 3.50 747 2 02-02-12 9871 379 316 3.84 3.20 695 26 240 11736 452 382 3.86 3.26 834 Avg (Completed) 11390 482 401 4.23 3.52 883 104 363 9780 404 343 4.13 3.5 747
    Lifetime Production Lact Milk Kg Fat Kg Prot Kg Fat% Prot% F+P Kg Days 2 21261 861 717 4.05 3.37 1578 603

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

Anyone going drying of early spring calvers soon. Will do 1st calvers sat week to put condition on them and help quota situation

degetme wrote: »
    Anyone going drying of early spring calvers soon. Will do 1st calvers sat week to put condition on them and help quota situation

Stock surely can't be in bad Nick this year.drying off this early cows will be. Fat as fools come calving.could u go once a day ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

Stock surely can't be in bad Nick this year.drying off this early cows will be. Fat as fools come calving.could u go once a day ???

These are ones calved late jan and calving again late jan. Would reckon thre b.c.s is around 2.8. i think they need a good twelve weeks dry. No point buying more meal pushing them on for maybe a fine next spring imop. Wouldnt like to go once a day even tho scc at 213 at moment. Much rather be dryd off for 1st nov.