Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Brewing Up A Storm - opinions

• 08-10-2012 12:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,743 ✭✭✭✭

Brewing up a storm...and conjuring up pure cheese!

Went to facepalm at the sight of Joe Duffy with a guitar, then realised my hand was already across my face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

God, I hate Joe Duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

It's good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I liked it. Could have done with more Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin, but it was well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I like it. I especially liked when it ended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

One thing worse than RTE is RTE trying to be cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Pig Benis

Whose yer wan at 1:22??
    Niceeeee....

Pig Benis wrote: »
    Whose yer wan at 1:22??
    Niceeeee....

That is the wonderful Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Agent_Orange

Jean Byrne taking Elvis to her dungeon 0:10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Apart from some of our highly paid 'celebs' looking utterly uncomfortable and amateurish it was really good. Credit where its due etc etc.
    Aoibhin Ni Bellybutton in a little dress and the ukulele guy were the best bits! (Aoibhins bits are nice indeed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Skid wrote: »

Wonderful indeed, it's just a pity about....everyone else in the video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

I dare someone to defend the TV licence now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

wtf!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

How in the name of fcuk did Ryan Tubridy manage to get up on her?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I liked it. Could have done with more Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin, but it was well done.

About another 4:55 or so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Was hoping Lucy from fair city would appear and fireball them all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I prefer the add in the middle of the thread to the first add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Credit where it's due. That was well put together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

It's all timed very well but there are too many people in it that look uncomfortable, some of them didn't even remember the words. Your man running down the hall in the first minute looks like he'd rather be anywhere else.

Plenty of nice ladies though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

If it was done in one take then technically it's pretty amazing.

It's cheesy as hell though. Also, I wonder how much it cost?

The idea of her blowing earthworm Jim Ryan Tubrity (sp?) doesn't sit well with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I almost punched the screen when Eddie Hobbs appeared! Are they letting him live in a cupboard somewhere?
    In one or two spots it felt like a dead weight parade.. is that a bit harsh? Guy on the piano looks like he's having a stroke. They should probably have left the lip-syncing out.
    It's great by RTE standards so well done RTE for managing to make a 5 minute video that didn't make me want a quick death. Now if they can make everything else not be poor quality, cringeworthy cack that's about 2 decades out of date with the rest of the world then they'd be getting places.

Guill wrote: »
    It's all timed very well but there are too many people in it that look uncomfortable, some of them didn't even remember the words. Your man running down the hall in the first minute looks like he'd rather be anywhere else.

Plenty of nice ladies though.

Did you twig to your man running down the hall? The camera didnt cut away in time so when he got to what was obviously the end of his run he just 'stopped'..... I dont mean stopped running but stopped performing. The low point....

MORE AOIBHINN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just had it summed up for me...why it bugs me as much as entertains me...
    Sooooooooo many of them are like watching your Dad dancing at a wedding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

This is the problem with RTE. Too many people in positions to waste time and money on utter shíte. Thats amateur night down the bingo hall stuff that is, not something from the national broadcaster featuring every single highly paid personality on the payroll.

I feel sick after watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Did you twig to your man running down the hall? The camera didnt cut away in time so when he got to what was obviously the end of his run he just 'stopped'..... I dont mean stopped running but stopped performing. The low point....

MORE AOIBHINN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The boots! holy Jaysus....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Would you believe it, its only now I discovered this vid.Bit cringey:(.Before I even found this thread, I did notice (hard not to really;)) that nice looking girl that Evelyn Cusack blew a kiss at and I find the answer right here:D.

Whatever a good looking girl like her is doing with "you know who" is beyond me:(

Nuala Carey looked like she got caught in the headlights:p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Tis a nice building

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭TheBoss!

Da, da da da, da da da, da da da da

Great, now that's in my head for a week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

How much did that well put together but also complete cringefest cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Who is the man with the tits running down the hall at the beginning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Got the letter for the tv licence a few days ago have to pony up 160 euro ,feel sick to the stomach :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

It's a bigger building than what I saw of it!

And they want to pull it all apart and build a new one?

Duffy has no discernable talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

RTE pigs

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Anyone got a Saorview recorder ?

If it's in HD on RTE 2 it would be nice to upload it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭GoldenLight

Sorry guys it's the worse thing I have ever seen, editing wise

A) most of the vocals are out of synch

B) the camera work is really bad at points

C) Why as a Professional station allow A) and B) to happen.

I Actually like are national stations, but whoever produced, edited, and directed that deserves to be fired.

It's the biggest load of poo I have ever seen RTE Produce, and I like RTE.

Brewing up a storm, it looks like a babque gone wrong

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Sorry guys it's the worse thing I have ever seen, editing wise

It was one take.

It's the biggest load of poo I have ever seen RTE Produce, and I like RTE.

Seriously, have you really ever watched anything on RTE?

It's a bit of fun, it is done well and it is not intended to be dissected frame by frame.

Fair play to all involved, it was a great effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

It's a bit of fun, it is done well and it is not intended to be dissected frame by frame.

Also, I would say most of the personalities done this for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Life in gravy train central looks nice.

humberklog wrote: »
    It was one take.

Well then whoever coordinated it deserves a big cream bun imo.

Sweet mercy, that's Ian Paisley at 1:35!

humberklog wrote: »
    It was one take.

that for starters is ****, there are parts of it that could be edited, it was made to look like one take and a really bad "one take"

RTE Really don't to editing very well, it was edited, your eye just dosen't see it.

The whole song goes out of synch to fit a visual image, after that good looking girl walks down the corridor, we arrived before the camera, your brain says it's unedited but it actually is different angle.

And don't forget a good editor can make something look seemless, I can make walking backwards, turn into walking forwards very quicklily and have everyone in synch

That is where they failed, no one was in synch, they where out of time, The Stunning should ask for it to be remade, cause it's just a half arsed attempt of being slightly clever.

It was never a one take either. ;)

after that good looking girl walks down the corridor, we arrived before the camera,

At what time wise one?

Listen to what I said earlier in my posts, I like RTE, I just thought that "Brew up a storm " was a poo (****e) idea, it actually failed messirably in explaining what the whole thing is about.

I now know they where advertising a music week, I am that confused with the add I don't even know when.

And the track synch was horrible, give me two weeks with it and RTE and the stunning would have being happy,

But no they allow a director, producer, and an editor (already employed) to come up with this crap.

And apologies if I offending anyone in this thread, but as anyone of these jobs Director, Producer or Editor.

I would never stand by that job, it's basically crap, and please don't talk down to me, I'm actually good at doing does jobs

If your happy with a sh!t storm far enough, I would prefer to brewing up a storm as the song suggested.

My Opinion;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

@1:23 what's her name again? She was on the Panel for awhile and she was a Rose one year wasn't she?

EDIT: Nevermind http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aoibhinn_N%C3%AD_Sh%C3%BAilleabh%C3%A1in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

Listen to what I said earlier in my posts, I like RTE, I just thought that "Brew up a storm " was a poo (****e) idea, it actually failed messirably in explaining what the whole thing is about.

I now know they where advertising a music week, I am that confused with the add I don't even know when.

And the track synch was horrible, give me two weeks with it and RTE and the stunning would have being happy,

But no they allow a director, producer, and an editor (already employed) to come up with this crap.

And apologies if I offending anyone in this thread, but as anyone of these jobs Director, Producer or Editor.

I would never stand by that job, it's basically crap, and please don't talk down to me, I'm actually good at doing does jobs

If your happy with a sh!t storm far enough, I would prefer to brewing up a storm as the song suggested.

My Opinion;)

In order to successfully talk down to people who are more than capable at their jobs and in order for us to take you a little bit more seriously, you're going to need to learn how to spell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,113 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Good old AOIBHINN
    She can leave the boots on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Why does everyone think its amazing because it was done in one take ? Doing stuff in one take isnt impressive, its just amateur hour. The reason you dont see it often is because it makes things look shít. They clearly didnt have the ability to pull it off, didnt have the ability to make it look like they could pull it off and ended up settling for whatever crap happened. This from the national broadcaster and dozens and dozens of people earning massive amounts of money to make good TV. Its a joke.

Ed Wood shot a lot of his stuff on one take and he went down in history as the biggest clown ever let near a camera. RTE the biggest clowns in Ireland make a heap of shít and people fall all over themselves because they did it in one take. I dont understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Rasheed wrote: »
    Who is the man with the tits running down the hall at the beginning?

That's Sergeant Mick Mulcahy from Operation Transformation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

Gay Byrne and his 'whatever you do, dont be caught with a blank screen on October the 24th'
    and the poor silly fools around the country running out to sign up for more of this tripe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

What a load of tripe. This is like something a transition year class would come up with.