Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what REAR light?

• 05-10-2012 1:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭

Like many cyclists I have spent hundreds of Euro on front lights. Recently I worked out that my Hope 4 LED light was worth more than the bike it was attached to.

I reckon from a safety point of view that a rear light is as important as a front light, perhaps more so. While you can see ahead of you, you have no control over the learner driver/drunk idiot/hockey mom on her mobile phone in a people carrier behind you, a good bright red light in some cases the only 'defence'you have.

I have not had good luck with rear lights. First I purchased about 10 rear lights from dealextreme in the premise that they are so cheap, if anything goes wrong I replace it. However every time I went over a bump with one of those lights it would turn off (there was some problem with the battery connection I could never get to the bottom of), fiece dangerous situation with me not knowing I have no rear light. There is hopefully a picture of that light attached, I cannot manage to insert into the text.

The best rear light I have come across is the cateye that costs about 25 Euro, it looks like this
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/328127/223208.jpg
    it quite reliable and has a good light output.

Anyone got recommendations for good, bright, reliable rear lights?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

deandean wrote: »
    Like many cyclists I have spent hundreds of Euro on front lights. Recently I worked out that my Hope 4 LED light was worth more than the bike it was attached to.

I reckon from a safety point of view that a rear light is as important as a front light, perhaps more so. While you can see ahead of you, you have no control over the learner driver/drunk idiot/hockey mom on her mobile phone in a people carrier behind you, a good bright red light in some cases the only 'defence'you have.

I have not had good luck with rear lights. First I purchased about 10 rear lights from dealextreme in the premise that they are so cheap, if anything goes wrong I replace it. However every time I went over a bump with one of those lights it would turn off (there was some problem with the battery connection I could never get to the bottom of), fiece dangerous situation with me not knowing I have no rear light. There is hopefully a picture of that light attached, I cannot manage to insert into the text.

The best rear light I have come across is the cateye that costs about 25 Euro, it looks like this

Thanks!

I have that cateye and find it really good. Motorists have commented on how easily it was to see me with it. I also have a helmet with arear light. Used in combination, I think I am very visible on dark roads at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭MadDogGreener

I got one of these last January, as my blackburn mars starting giving trouble.

Its USB rechargeable, so I can charge at my desk in work. The batteries are standard rechargeable AAAs, so can swap them when they die. Its much brighter than the mars. There are two half-watt LEDs, each with a different lens, so has good visablilty. The only negative for me is that it feels a bit brittle. However its still going strong unlike the front leyzne superdrive that had to be replaced after 6months!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Appelgreen service stations are doing a back & front lamp special for €6,

They seem good enough as I have had them on for two weeks without problems. They do many of the same functions as lamps that cost ten times the price. Comes inclusive of batteries. You also don't have to worry too much about getting them nicked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

My rear light ensemble comprises of

This on the helmet (plugged into a diablo)

Two of these on the backpack along with one of these

From behind I look like this......

Close-Encounters-of-the-Third-Kind.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Jawgap wrote: »

I had one of the smart lunars but, possibly because the bit that clips out of the case is the whole light, it fell off the bike one evening. I've also had a number of cateyes fall off their mounts with a bit of wear.

Current rear light is a Smart 1/2W (which hasn't fallen off yet and feels a lot more secure) and a set of reelights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Jawgap wrote: »
    My rear light ensemble comprises of

This on the helmet (plugged into a diablo)

Two of these on the backpack along with one of these

From behind I look like this......

Close-Encounters-of-the-Third-Kind.jpg

Do you have any bother with cats/dogs/wino's trying to follow you home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

TK Maxx in Swords do some decent cheap sets. I use two of the rear lights - one on the bike and one on me. They are quite bright and more than adequate.

cdaly_ wrote: »
    I had one of the smart lunars but, possibly because the bit that clips out of the case is the whole light, it fell off the bike one evening. I've also had a number of cateyes fall off their mounts with a bit of wear.

Current rear light is a Smart 1/2W (which hasn't fallen off yet and feels a lot more secure) and a set of reelights.

I've had two SMART LED lights and on both of them the switch has broken very soon after getting them - so I now I have to open it put the batteries around the right way and on it goes - the first one went to it's eternal reward when I stood on it. The one I have at the moment works grand, apart from the switch issue.

@Reilig - I haven't been followed home, but Ryanair and Aer Lingus flights have tried to land on me a few time when I've been cycling near the airport!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I've seen this light on a few bikes around Dublin and it's by far the best I've seen
    http://www.cateye.com/en/products/detail/TL-LD560-R/

It will be my next rear light purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I use the same Smart Lunar R1 that Jawgap uses, very happy with it. I have another, cheaper Smart light just above it on my seatpost, for extra light but also to discourage it from jumping out of its mount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

cateye TL-LD1100 fantastic.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I use this one and I am very happy with it. Superb light, very strong and versatile.

As mad rear lights go, this one is actually not so daft. You get as much power as you could sensibly use, built into a sturdy light unit that will fit almost any bike, can be recharged while you work and is impossible to ignore. It's a reasonable price too, around £35 if you shop around, which brings it close to the likes of the Cateye TL-LD 1100 which is utterly feeble by comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

I have the same as Seweryn, the moon-shield-rechargeable-tail-light. I only got it recently so I cant comment on reliability. It is without doubt the brighest tail light I have ever used. In fact I dont think I would use it on on the two higher settings unless it was very foggy. I found it a bit strange the first time I used it as it casts a strong shadow. But I have gotten used to that now so I no longer feel like I am being followed everywhere ha ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Exposure flare, not too cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I'm using one of these on the seatpost
    http://www.blackburndesign.com/lights.html

and one of these on the back of the rack
    http://www.amazon.de/Busch-M%C3%BCller-Beleuchtung-Dynamo-Diodenr%C3%BCcklicht-Toplight/dp/B002NGY8O8 (battery-powered version also available)

In terms of light output, the B&M light is 0.6W, and looks like the brake light of a car - it's very effective and I highly recommend it (even though it costs €40). In my opinion it's far better than the Cateye being recommended here.

As a backup I also use the Mars 3.0, it provides decent side visibility too. I prefer it to the Smart 1/2W because I find that the smarts get water in them and then start acting funny, whereas the Mars is very reliable, same price and also has better side visibility.

I also have one of these in the wheel
    http://www.amazon.com/Nite-Ize-Spokelit-Bicycle-Light/dp/B001SN8IUM
    It's not great, but on dark, wet nights, or late on Friday or Saturday I'll turn it on as an extra warning thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Hope Red Light District to match the front? You can use the one power source to power both lights. Its super bright and well built, bit pricey but worth it in my opinion.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Two of these for me.

Both on seatpost - one flashing, one steady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Current rear light is a Smart 1/2W (which hasn't fallen off yet and feels a lot more secure) .

i have one of those and i'll raise you a smart 1w as well
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=56546

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

robertxxx wrote: »
    Exposure flare, not too cheap!
    I've been using the Blackburn Mars 4.0 for the past 2 or 3 winters - great light

I've moved onto the Exposure Flare this year and it's even better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

I use 2 lights front and rear once the nights close in, since I haven't found bicycle lights in general to be fantastically reliable over the years. On the rear, I carry a Cateye TL-LD1100 (as per feck sake lads) backed up with an older Cateye TL-LD600, both seriously good lights IMHO. That said, I've had to waterproof the switch on the TL-LD600 because the rain was playing havoc with it. But the fix has lasted well and the light is otherwise performing solidly.
    Like many cyclists I have spent hundreds of Euro on front lights.
    Well, if you're happy spending that kind of money on lights and you really want to go the whole hog with your rear light, I very much doubt that you'd find anything brighter than this Dinotte.

Some lights are very bright. A select few are extremely bright. But I would descibe the Dinotte as violently bright! I caught up with a guy using one of these on the way home one night and felt like I was hallucinating by the time I managed to draw alongside. I've never seen a rear light on any road going vehicle anywhere near as bright as this thing. It was ridiculous, TBH.

macnab wrote: »
    I have the same as Seweryn, the moon-shield-rechargeable-tail-light. I only got it recently so I cant comment on reliability.
    I can actually, as I cycle all year round in all weather conditions. The light never failed and serves me very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I find the Smart 1W set to steady very good. I used to use two 1/2 Watts, but I find the single 1W suffices now. If you're on a hairy stretch of road, you can set it to flash, which is quite attention-grabbing; too much so for normal use, I decided.

EDIT: Only had one problem with it. I hit this pothole on the South Circular Road the other day while out on the Brompton and the light leapt off. The back of the light stayed in the bracket, but the batteries and the main body were shaken so hard by the impact that they parted company with the back of the unit.

223276.jpg

EDIT: I have now emailed the council to see about getting this pothole filled in. It's very hard to see, especially after rain, and it's really quite deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭donal7

Beasty wrote: »
    I've been using the Blackburn Mars 4.0 for the past 2 or 3 winters - great light

I've moved onto the Exposure Flare this year and it's even better

I've read good things about this light. Is it waterproof?

I had a Smart half watt LED which stopped working when out during the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I'm using a Moon Shield at the moment:

1328105532104-ncnb5pstvgth-670-75.jpg

Pros:
    • USB Chargeable. I plug it in once a week and away I go!
    • Rubber mount means it can fit all seatposts without any fiddling with clamps or adapters
    • 60 Lumen output at its brightest setting

Cons:
    • Rubber mount means its slightly elastic, the light can end up pointing at a less than idea angle on bumpier roads
    • Relatively expensive

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

donal7 wrote: »
    I've read good things about this light. Is it waterproof?
    Never any problems, and they've both been through some major deluges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I have a Cateye-TL-LD610 and a Smart older 0.5w rear. TBH I prefer the Smart its got a brighter white flash. I have another Cateye - SL-100 hanging on the back of the jacket. You can use cable ties to secure a light from jumping out of a bracket assuming you leave it parked securely.

At some point I hope to upgrade to something brighter that's USB rechargeable. But these ones have been out in all weathers for a year or so and still going well.

I note some people have good lights but low on batteries and some have good lights but obscured by other things like a bag, jacket etc. Some have lights which are too bright, when your driving you have to shield your eyes from them, and not look at them. Which is kinda self defeating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I use this one and its really good - Have a BBB backup just in case

http://www.magicshineuk.co.uk/products/Rear-Light-Magicshine-MJ-818RLGT

I have this front and its superb.. Reallys gets you noticed on the Headford Road (Magic) Roundabout

http://www.magicshineuk.co.uk/products/MJ-880-light-set-most-powerful-light-from-Magicshine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I've spent some time researching rear lights in the last week and come to the conclusion that the marketplace for bike lights is now completely bonkers.

A couple of years ago there was a special offer on Smart 1/2W rear LED lights (around a fiver IIRC), and a bunch of boardsies piled in. The consensus at the time was that 1/2W was just about perfect for a rear light - bright without being blinding, and decent runtime. Those Smart lights were perhaps putting out 30 lumens.

Fast forward a couple of years and we have the Shield 60 (60 lumens), Exposure Flare (75 lumens), Exposure Blaze (80 lumens), Hope District (105-135 lumens), all the way up to the Dinotte 400R (400 lumens).

The Hope District is almost €200. A fiver. Two hundred euros. Haven't we done well?

Here is a video of the Dinotte:

What possible justification is there for a bike light like this? If cycling continues to "normalise" as an activity the city streets are going to be filled with these cretins.

Some of the commentary around these lights includes assertions like "they're not blinding if you point them down at the road" and "I use them in daytime to make myself more visible".

Great, so we're now competing with the sun, which apparently produces around 400 billion billion billion lumens. Plenty of scope for upgrades.

And don't get me started on strobing 1000 lumen+ front lights...

It's not like night time cycling presents any particular hazards that justify this. It's an extension of the "cars are going to kill me" paranoia behind hi-vis, but somehow these lights have dodged the stigma, perhaps because there are gadgets involved.

All I want is a well sealed USB-rechargeable light with the same brightness as a 1/2W removable-battery light, that attaches quickly and securely and doesn't look hideous. There are almost no lights which meet this criteria.

I ended up ordering a Shield 60 on Dirk's recommendation. It's probably too bright so I'll run it on low.

Anyway, I found this which may or may not be useful as it doesn't cover a lot of the current most popular lights...

http://bicycles.blogoverflow.com/2012/03/tail-light-review/

Oh, and it's "Which rear light?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭el Bastardo

I use a Hope District. Great light - It didn't cost €200 either ;). Don't mind who thinks I'm a cretin if it keeps a speeding motorist from putting me in a box.

Was using a BBB Highlaser until it bounced off it's mount last week - Godd for urban areas, but crap mount (obviously).

You got to love internet ads sometimes.......:)

223418.jpg

Lumen wrote: »
    I ended up ordering a Shield 60 on Dirk's recommendation. It's probably too bright so I'll run it on low.
    ]

Oh dear...

Actually, I was going to ask you about front lights. I quite like the TK11 except for the "spottiness" (minor) and the soft mount (major).

I want something that preferably has a slide on/off mounting for the light rather than having to velcro myself to my gloves and doesn't cause the light to jump around on rougher roads.

Those Lezynes look nice.

EDIT: If I could go back to Oz I'd be using that staff discount to buy the Moon X-Power 500, super little light!

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    EDIT: If I could go back to Oz I'd be using that staff discount to buy the Moon X-Power 500, super little light!
    Yeah, this is a very nice light. I used to have one, then I replaced it with the X-Power 300, which is also almost as good as the 500 one.

Seweryn wrote: »
    Yeah, this is a very nice light. I used to have one, then I replaced it with the X-Power 300, which is also almost as good as the 500 one.

Bikeradar gave the Trelok LS 950 a great write-up. I like the idea of an indicator for remaining battery life, although I tend to charge up once a week so it's never been a problem. Cheaper than the Moon too.

The Moon XP 300/500 also has the dying battery indicator and once it starts flashing red around the power button, there is enough energy to get you home. Secondly, a spare battery (which you can keep in your pocket) is only 15 GBP and I have one for the piece of mind.
    Nevertheless, the Trelok looks good. Another test here...

Those Lezynes look nice.

I ordered a Lezyne Micro Drive LED Front Light last night from Wiggle.

Today I found it a few euros cheaper in Snow & Rock in Dundrum. Ah well.

The reason I didn't order a Lezyne Micro rear light was because they don't have any angle adjustment. It's easy to the adjust angle of a handlebar-mounted front light, but the decision to apply a fixed-angle design to the rear seems a bit odd considering that seatpost angles vary quite considerably between different bikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Another fan here of the Smart Lunar R1. I have one on the seat post and one on the helmet. Never had any problems with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭ian_rush

Another fan here of the Smart Lunar R1. I have one on the seat post and one on the helmet. Never had any problems with them.
    How do you mount it on the helmet?

ian_rush wrote: »

I had one on my helmet - it just clips on to the adjustable strap at the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

The Hope District is almost €200. A fiver. Two hundred euros. Haven't we done well?

I paid about 85 for mine when it came out but I am sharing the battery pack from the front so imagine that helped alot on the price when bought without battery and charger.

I bought mine as I cycle the dark country lanes and never use on the highest setting in town (or in the country that often come to think of it!). Same with the front light, have yet to use it off-road but keep on low power in the city. Only ever used top setting when testing the light when I bought it and a few times in the fog.With low power the battery lasts a full week which is ideal for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

I have a Blackburn flea but don't commute in the bike so it's really just a be seen light when light fades. USB chargeable as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

ian_rush wrote: »
    I use a cable tie to secure the neat little mounting bracket to the helmet. I can then fix/remove the light when required (leaving the bracket on the helmet).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭ian_rush

I use a cable tie to secure the neat little mounting bracket to the helmet. I can then fix/remove the light when required (leaving the bracket on the helmet).

Should have thought of that. The simplest solutions are normally the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

Anyone ever used a BikeRay Tail Light - 120 lumen.

http://www.lightslightslights.co.uk/Bikeray-Lights/bikeray-tail-light

They have been recommended to me over the MigicShine MJ-818, by the shop selling them. They say that they are brighter and much better quality - Stg50.

letape wrote: »
    Anyone ever used a BikeRay Tail Light - 120 lumen.

http://www.lightslightslights.co.uk/Bikeray-Lights/bikeray-tail-light

They have been recommended to me over the MigicShine MJ-818, by the shop selling them. They say that they are brighter and much better quality - Stg50.

The MagicShine is advertised as 85 lumens. This is interesting:

MagicShine MJ-818 Rear Light at dusk

Specifically the comparison to the brightness of dipped car headlights:

eijb7c.jpg

It would be good to see a similar comparison in total darkness.

The Magicshine has two flashing and one steady mode, all at 85 lumens.

The BikeRay you linked to has the following modes: "Hi 130 lm 10 hrs, Low 85 lm 20 hrs & Flash 130 lm 100hrs"

That means neither than Magicshine or the BikeRay have any sort of low-power mode for when it's fully dark.

I just received my Lezyne Microdrive front light today. The instructions cover the Microdrive Rear light too, which has the following modes:

Enduro: 30 lumen
    Blast: 70 lumen
    Economy: 5 lumens
    Flash 1: 30 lumens
    Flash 2: 30 lumens

Those modes look really useful. You could use the Blast or Flash modes at dusk, and then switch to Enduro or Economy when it gets properly dark to avoid blinding people.

In summary: the Lezyne Micro Drive Rear looks more useful mode-wise than either of the Magicshine or the BikeRay. The lack of angle adjustment on the Lezyne is still possibly an issue though.

My worry is exactly that, that I'd end up blinding people with the strength of the rear light.

However, it is advertised as being similar to a car brake light, which should be acceptable. My other concern is needing to have two batteries on the bike!

Took some pics of the Shield 60 at twilight, on the highest steady level.

Shield vs driving lights.
    k0ofi0.jpg

Shield vs brake lights, eye level
    1432w00.jpg

Shield vs brake lights, low angle
    23urne0.jpg

Conclusion: highest brightness is mid-way between car tail lights and brake lights, and the lack of angle adjustment is irrelevant since it puts out light at a wide angle.

Took some pics of the Shield 60 at twilight, on the highest steady level.

Shield vs driving lights.
    k0ofi0.jpg

Shield vs brake lights, eye level
    1432w00.jpg

Shield vs brake lights, low angle
    23urne0.jpg

Conclusion: highest brightness is mid-way between car tail lights and brake lights, and the lack of angle adjustment is irrelevant since it puts out light at a wide angle.

Thanks Lumen

What lumen is the output of your light in those pictures?

I must learn how to post pictures in thread!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Wow, look at the spill on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

i ordered a moon 60 the other day based on the assumption that if it's good enough for lumen, it's good enough for me!

looks pretty good, looking forward to getting it now.

thanks for the pics