Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your favourate poem?

• Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭Bobsammy

I never liked poetry when I was in school but two in particular have stayed with me.
    This is one that I love - I can't explain what it is about it

Warning - Jenny Joseph

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
    With a red hat which doesn't go, and doesn't suit me.
    And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
    And satin sandals, and say we've no money for butter.
    I shall sit down on the pavement when I'm tired
    And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
    And run my stick along the public railings
    And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
    I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
    And pick flowers in other people's gardens
    And learn to spit.

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
    And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
    Or only bread and pickle for a week
    And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
    And pay our rent and not swear in the street
    And set a good example for the children.
    We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
    So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
    When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

The other one is Mid Term Break by Seamus Heaney

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Bruscar

Unfortunate Coincidence

By the time you swear you're his,
    Shivering and sighing,
    And he vows his passion is
    Infinite, undying ---
    Lady, make a note of this:
    One of you is lying.

Dorothy Parker

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Late Fragment by Raymond Carver

And did you get what
    you wanted from this life, even so?
    I did.
    And what did you want?
    To call myself beloved, to feel myself
    beloved on the earth.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Late Fragment

And did you get what
    I did.
    And what did you want?
    beloved on the earth.

I love this It was a reading at my wedding.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Kurt Vonnegut

Requiem

When the last living thing
    has died on account of us,
    how poetical it would be
    if Earth could say,
    in a voice floating up
    perhaps
    from the floor
    of the Grand Canyon,
    “It is done.”
    People did not like it here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Almost forgot about Wendy Cope

Bloody Men

Bloody men are like bloody buses -
    You wait for about a year
    And as soon as one approaches your stop
    Two or three others appear.

You look at them flashing their indicators
    Offering you a ride.
    You're trying to read the destinations,
    You haven't much time to decide.

If you make a mistake, there is no turning back.
    Jump off, and you'll stand there and gaze
    While the cars, the taxis and the lorries go by
    And the minutes, the hours, the days.

Tich Miller

Tich Miller wore glasses
    with elastoplast-pink frames
    and had one foot three sizes larger than the other.

When they picked teams for outdoor games
    she and I were always the last two
    left standing by the wire-mesh fence.

We avoided one another’s eyes,
    stooping, perhaps, to re-tie a shoelace,
    or affecting interest in the flight

of some fortunate bird, and pretended
    not to hear the urgent conference:
    ‘Have Tubby!’ ‘No, no, have Tich!’

Usually they chose me, the lesser dud,
    and she lolloped, unselected,
    to the back of the other team.

At eleven we went to different schools.
    In time I learned to get my own back,
    sneering at hockey-players who couldn’t spell.

Tich died when she was twelve.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,142 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Emily Dickinson for me too.

I hide myself within my flower,

That wearing on your breast,

You, unsuspecting, wear me too—

And angels know the rest.

I hide myself within my flower,

That, fading from your vase,

You, unsuspecting, feel for me

Almost a loneliness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

If I had to pick one, I'd be reluctant, but would likely pick The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock by T.S. Eliot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Great. Thank you for all these.

This is not my favourite poem but it's probably the one that pulls at the heart strings the most. I was named after the poet because my mam loved her poetry and always feel a bit close to her reading this knowing it probably meant something to her too.
    DOMESTIC INTERIOR
    I. Night Feed

This is dawn.
    Believe me
    This is your season, little daughter.
    The moment daisies open,
    The hour mercurial rainwater
    Makes a mirror for sparrows.
    It's time we drowned our sorrows.

I tiptoe in.
    I lift you up
    Wriggling
    In your rosy, zipped sleeper.
    Yes, this is the hour
    For the early bird and me
    When finder is keeper.

I crook the bottle.
    How you suckle!
    This is the best I can be,
    Housewife
    To this nursery
    Where you hold on,
    Dear Life.

A silt of milk.
    The last suck.
    And now your eyes are open,
    Birth-colored and offended.
    Earth wakes.
    You go back to sleep.
    The feed is ended.

Worms turn.
    Stars go in.
    Even the moon is losing face.
    Poplars stilt for dawn
    And we begin
    The long fall from grace.
    I tuck you in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Oh my.

I started a FB post on my friends' favourite poetry. One of them recited a poem that she used when her first child died.

Going to Bed by Thomas Hood.

The evening is coming,
    The Sun sinks to rest;
    The rooks are all flying
    Straight home to their nest.
    "Caw!" says the rook, as he flies overhead:
    It's time little people were going to bed!

The flowers are closing,
    The daisy's asleep;
    The primrose is buried
    In slumber so deep.
    Shut up for the night is the pimpernel red:

The butterfly, drowsy,
    Has folded its wing;
    The bees are returning,
    No more the birds sing.
    Their labor is over, their nestlings are fed:

Here comes the pony,
    His work is all done;
    Down through the meadow
    He takes a good run;
    Up goes his heels, and down goes his head:

Good-night, little people,
    Good-night and good-night;
    Sweet dreams to your eyelids,
    Till dawning of light;
    The evening has come, there's no more to be said:

Thanks for starting the thread Sharrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Bassic

Heard this recently.

For Rita With Love
    by Pat Ingoldsby

You came home from school
    on a special bus
    full of people
    who look like you
    and love like you
    and you met me
    for the first time
    and you loved me.
    You love everybody
    so much that it's not safe
    to let you out alone.
    Eleven years of love
    and trust and time for you to learn
    that you can't go on loving like this.
    Unless you are stopped
    you will embrace every person you see.
    Normal people don't do that.
    Some Normal people will hurt you
    very badly because you do.

Cripples don't look nice
    but you embrace them.
    You kissed a wino on the bus
    and he broke down and cried
    and he said 'Nobody has kissed me
    for the last 30 years.
    But you did.
    You touched my face
    with your fingers and said
    'I like you.'

The world will never
    be ready for you.
    Your way is right
    and the world will never be ready. We could learn everything
    that we need to know
    by watching you
    going to your special school
    in your special bus
    full of people
    who look like you
    and love like you
    and it's not safe
    to let you out alone.
    If you're not normal
    there is very little hope
    for the rest of us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Ozymandias

I met a traveller from an antique land
    Who said: Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
    Stand in the desart. Near them, on the sand,
    Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown,
    And wrinkled lip, and sneer of cold command,
    Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
    Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,
    The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed:
    And on the pedestal these words appear:
    "My name is Ozymandias, king of kings:
    Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!"
    Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
    Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare
    The lone and level sands stretch far away.

And Sonnet 130

My mistress' eyes are nothing like the sun;
    Coral is far more red than her lips' red;
    If snow be white, why then her breasts are dun;
    If hairs be wires, black wires grow on her head.
    I have seen roses damask'd, red and white,
    But no such roses see I in her cheeks;
    And in some perfumes is there more delight
    Than in the breath that from my mistress reeks.
    I love to hear her speak, yet well I know
    That music hath a far more pleasing sound;
    I grant I never saw a goddess go;
    My mistress, when she walks, treads on the ground:
    And yet, by heaven, I think my love as rare
    As any she belied with false compare.

(Except that now I always hear it in my head in Catherine Tate's voice...)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Excerpt from 'Clearances' by Heaney

In Memoriam M.K.H., 1911-1984

When all the others were away at Mass
    I was all hers as we peeled potatoes.
    They broke the silence, let fall one by one
    Like solder weeping off the soldering iron:
    Cold comforts set between us, things to share
    Gleaming in a bucket of clean water.
    And again let fall. Little pleasant splashes
    From each other's work would bring us to our senses.

So while the parish priest at her bedside
    Went hammer and tongs at the prayers for the dying
    And some were responding and some crying
    I remembered her head bent towards my head,
    Her breath in mine, our fluent dipping knives--
    Never closer the whole rest of our lives.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Here lies a toppled god,
    His fall was not a small one
    We did but build his pedestal
    A narrow and a tall one.

It's not really a poem, and from dune, but I love it :p

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Condatis

I could not possibly nominate a favourite but I like this one.

All Day I Hear the Noise of Waters

All day I hear the noise of waters
    Making moan,
    Sad as the sea-bird is when, going
    Forth alone,
    He hears the winds cry to the water's
    Monotone.

The grey winds, the cold winds are blowing
    Where I go.
    I hear the noise of many waters
    Far below.
    All day, all night, I hear them flowing
    To and fro.
    James Joyce

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Far too many to mention but i always come back to re read these ones

A Dream Within A Dream

Take this kiss upon the brow!
    And, in parting from you now,
    Thus much let me avow-
    You are not wrong, who deem
    That my days have been a dream;
    Yet if hope has flown away
    In a night, or in a day,
    In a vision, or in none,
    Is it therefore the less gone?
    All that we see or seem
    Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
    Of a surf-tormented shore,
    And I hold within my hand
    Grains of the golden sand-
    How few! yet how they creep
    Through my fingers to the deep,
    While I weep- while I weep!
    O God! can I not grasp
    Them with a tighter clasp?
    O God! can I not save
    One from the pitiless wave?
    Is all that we see or seem
    But a dream within a dream?

Edgar Allan Poe

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings

The free bird leaps
    on the back of the win
    and floats downstream
    till the current ends
    and dips his wings
    in the orange sun rays
    and dares to claim the sky.

But a bird that stalks
    down his narrow cage
    can seldom see through
    his bars of rage
    his wings are clipped and
    his feet are tied
    so he opens his throat to sing.

The caged bird sings
    with fearful trill
    of the things unknown
    but longed for still
    and is tune is heard
    on the distant hillfor the caged bird
    sings of freedom

The free bird thinks of another breeze
    an the trade winds soft through the sighing trees
    and the fat worms waiting on a dawn-bright lawn
    and he names the sky his own.

But a caged bird stands on the grave of dreams
    his shadow shouts on a nightmare scream
    his wings are clipped and his feet are tied
    so he opens his throat to sing

The caged bird sings
    with a fearful trill
    of things unknown
    but longed for still
    and his tune is heard
    on the distant hill
    for the caged bird
    sings of freedom.

Maya Angelou

She Walks In Beauty

She walks in Beauty, like the night
    Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
    And all that's best of dark and bright
    Meet in her aspect and her eyes:
    Thus mellowed to that tender light
    Which Heaven to gaudy day denies.

One shade the more, one ray the less,
    Had half impaired the nameless grace
    Which waves in every raven tress,
    Or softly lightens o'er her face;
    Where thoughts serenely sweet express,
    How pure, how dear their dwelling-place.

And on that cheek, and o'er that brow,
    So soft, so calm, yet eloquent,
    The smiles that win, the tints that glow,
    But tell of days in goodness spent,
    A mind at peace with all below,
    A heart whose love is innocent!

George Gordon Lord Byron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

My mum used to recite this poem slightly edited for her daughters - was years before I realised the original wasn't directed at women. :o:D

Just a good/relevant either way/for both genders, I think tho. :cool:

If

If you can keep your head when all about you
    Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
    If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
    But make allowance for their doubting too:
    If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
    Or, being lied about, don't deal in lies,
    Or being hated don't give way to hating,
    And yet don't look too good, nor talk too wise;

If you can dream---and not make dreams your master;
    If you can think---and not make thoughts your aim,
    If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same:.
    If you can bear to hear the truth you've spoken
    Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
    Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
    And stoop and build'em up with worn-out tools;

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
    And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
    And lose, and start again at your beginnings,
    And never breathe a word about your loss:
    If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
    To serve your turn long after they are gone,
    And so hold on when there is nothing in you
    Except the Will which says to them: "Hold on!"

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
    Or walk with Kings---nor lose the common touch,
    If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
    If all men count with you, but none too much:
    If you can fill the unforgiving minute
    With sixty seconds' worth of distance run,
    Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
    And---which is more---you'll be a Man, my son!

Rudyard Kipling

• Registered Users Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

I like quite a few of the poems already mentioned (I didn't realise I liked so much poetry! :o) But one of my favourites from when I was in school is:

The Listeners by Walter de la Mare

"Is there anybody there?" said the Traveller,
    Knocking on the moonlit door;
    And his horse in the silence champed the grass
    Of the forest's ferny floor;
    And a bird flew up out of the turret,
    Above the Traveller's head:
    And he smote upon the door again a second time;
    "Is there anybody there?" he said.
    But no one descended to the Traveller;
    No head from the leaf-fringed sill
    Leaned over and looked into his grey eyes,
    Where he stood perplexed and still.
    But only a host of phantom listeners
    That dwelt in the lone house then
    Stood listening in the quiet of the moonlight
    To that voice from the world of men:
    Stood thronging the faint moonbeams on the dark stair,
    That goes down to the empty hall,
    Hearkening in an air stirred and shaken
    By the lonely Traveller's call.
    And he felt in his heart their strangeness,
    Their stillness answering his cry,
    While his horse moved, cropping the dark turf,
    'Neath the starred and leafy sky;
    For he suddenly smote on the door, even
    Louder, and lifted his head:--
    "Tell them I came, and no one answered,
    That I kept my word," he said.
    Never the least stir made the listeners,
    Though every word he spake
    Fell echoing through the shadowiness of the still house
    From the one man left awake:
    Ay, they heard his foot upon the stirrup,
    And the sound of iron on stone,
    And how the silence surged softly backward,
    When the plunging hoofs were gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

The Second Coming by Yeats

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
    The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
    Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
    Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
    The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
    The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
    The best lack all conviction, while the worst
    Are full of passionate intensity.

Surely some revelation is at hand;
    Surely the Second Coming is at hand.
    The Second Coming! Hardly are those words out
    When a vast image out of Spiritus Mundi
    Troubles my sight: a waste of desert sand;
    A shape with lion body and the head of a man,
    A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun,
    Is moving its slow thighs, while all about it
    Wind shadows of the indignant desert birds.

The darkness drops again but now I know
    That twenty centuries of stony sleep
    Were vexed to nightmare by a rocking cradle,
    And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
    Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

Daddy by Sylvia Plath

It's so much better to hear her read it herself

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

^ Love that reading of Daddy.

It's funny how when you hear an author read their own work it can change what you thought of them previously.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Emily Dickinson. Loved both of these growing up, a bit morbid you almost felt you were at the funeral.

I felt a funeral in my brain

I felt a funeral in my brain,
    And mourners, to and fro,
    Kept treading, treading, till it seemed
    That sense was breaking through.

And when they all were seated,
    A service like a drum
    Kept beating, beating, till I thought
    My mind was going numb.

And then I heard them lift a box,
    And creak across my soul
    With those same boots of lead, again.
    Then space began to toll

As all the heavens were a bell,
    And Being but an ear,
    And I and silence some strange race,
    Wrecked, solitary, here.

Because I could not stop for Death

Because I could not stop for Death –
    He kindly stopped for me –
    The Carriage held but just Ourselves –
    And Immortality.

We slowly drove – He knew no haste
    And I had put away
    My labor and my leisure too,
    For His Civility –

We passed the School, where Children strove
    At Recess – in the Ring –
    We passed the Fields of Gazing Grain –
    We passed the Setting Sun –

Or rather – He passed us –
    The Dews drew quivering and chill –
    For only Gossamer, my Gown –
    My Tippet – only Tulle –

We paused before a House that seemed
    A Swelling of the Ground –
    The Roof was scarcely visible –
    The Cornice – in the Ground –

Since then – 'tis Centuries – and yet
    Feels shorter than the Day
    I first surmised the Horses' Heads
    Were toward Eternity –

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

I love poetry so thanks for starting this thread.
    This poem Kindness, is one of the most profound poems I have ever come across. I find it a comfort and an inspiration to hear from someone who has obviously "been there"

Kindness

Before you know what kindness really is
    you must lose things,
    feel the future dissolve in a moment
    like salt in a weakened broth.
    What you held in your hand,
    what you counted and carefully saved,
    all this must go so you know
    how desolate the landscape can be
    between the regions of kindness.
    How you ride and ride
    thinking the bus will never stop,
    the passengers eating maize and chicken
    will stare out the window forever.

Before you learn the tender gravity of kindness,
    you must travel where the Indian in a white poncho
    lies dead by the side of the road.
    You must see how this could be you,
    how he too was someone
    who journeyed through the night with plans
    and the simple breath that kept him alive.

Before you know kindness as the deepest thing inside,
    you must know sorrow as the other deepest thing.
    You must wake up with sorrow.
    You must speak to it till your voice
    catches the thread of all sorrows
    and you see the size of the cloth.

Then it is only kindness that makes sense anymore,
    only kindness that ties your shoes
    and sends you out into the day to mail letters and
    purchase bread,
    only kindness that raises its head
    from the crowd of the world to say
    it is I you have been looking for,
    and then goes with you every where
    like a shadow or a friend.

by Naomi Shihab Nye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

A Fairly Sad Tale
    by Dorothy Parker

I think that I shall never know
    Why I am thus, and I am so.
    Around me, other girls inspire
    In men the rush and roar of fire,
    The sweet transparency of glass,
    The tenderness of April grass,
    The durability of granite;
    But me- I don't know how to plan it.
    The lads I've met in Cupid's deadlock
    Were- shall we say?- born out of wedlock.
    They broke my heart, they stilled my song,
    And said they had to run along,
    Explaining, so to sop my tears,
    First came their parents or careers.
    But ever does experience
    Deny me wisdom, calm, and sense!
    Though she's a fool who seeks to capture
    The twenty-first fine, careless rapture,
    I must go on, till ends my rope,
    Who from my birth was cursed with hope.
    A heart in half is chaste, archaic;
    But mine resembles a mosaic-
    The thing's become ridiculous!
    Why am I so? Why am I thus?

Read while broken hearted for best affect. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

E.E Cummings is one of my favourite poets, and this is my favourite poem of his.
    since feeling is first
    by E.E Cummings
    (lack of capitalisation is part of his style)

since feeling is first
    who pays any attention
    to the syntax of things
    will never wholly kiss you;
    wholly to be a fool
    while Spring is in the world

my blood approves,
    and kisses are a far better fate
    than wisdom
    lady i swear by all flowers. Don't cry
    —the best gesture of my brain is less than
    your eyelids' flutter which says

we are for each other: then
    laugh, leaning back in my arms
    for life's not a paragraph

And death i think is no parenthesis

Annabel Lee
    by Edgar Allan Poe

It was many and many a year ago,
    In a kingdom by the sea,
    That a maiden there lived whom you may know
    By the name of Annabel Lee;
    And this maiden she lived with no other thought
    Than to love and be loved by me.

I was a child and she was a child,
    In this kingdom by the sea,
    But we loved with a love that was more than love—
    I and my Annabel Lee—
    With a love that the wingèd seraphs of Heaven
    Coveted her and me.

And this was the reason that, long ago,
    In this kingdom by the sea,
    A wind blew out of a cloud, chilling
    My beautiful Annabel Lee;
    So that her highborn kinsmen came
    And bore her away from me,
    To shut her up in a sepulchre
    In this kingdom by the sea.

The angels, not half so happy in Heaven,
    Went envying her and me—
    Yes!—that was the reason (as all men know,
    In this kingdom by the sea)
    That the wind came out of the cloud by night,
    Chilling and killing my Annabel Lee.

But our love it was stronger by far than the love
    Of those who were older than we—
    Of many far wiser than we—
    And neither the angels in Heaven above
    Nor the demons down under the sea
    Can ever dissever my soul from the soul
    Of the beautiful Annabel Lee;

For the moon never beams, without bringing me dreams
    And the stars never rise, but I feel the bright eyes
    And so, all the night-tide, I lie down by the side
    Of my darling—my darling—my life and my bride,
    In her sepulchre there by the sea—
    In her tomb by the sounding sea.

Another favourite of mine is Raw With Love by Charles Bukowski. I think it really captures the vulnerability that goes hand and hand with relationships and love.

little dark girl with
    kind eyes
    when it comes time to
    use the knife
    I won't flinch and
    I won't blame
    you,
    as I drive along the shore alone
    as the palms wave,
    the ugly heavy palms,
    as the living does not arrive
    as the dead do not leave,
    I won't blame you,
    instead
    I will remember the kisses
    our lips raw with love
    and how you gave me
    everything you had
    and how I
    offered you what was left of
    me,
    and I will remember your small room
    the feel of you
    the light in the window
    your records
    your books
    our morning coffee
    our noons our nights
    our bodies spilled together
    sleeping
    the tiny flowing currents
    immediate and forever
    your leg my leg
    your arm my arm
    your smile and the warmth
    of you
    who made me laugh
    again.
    little dark girl with kind eyes
    you have no
    knife. the knife is
    mine and I won't use it
    yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Love this thread! Thanks guys :)

Late Fragment - Raymond Carver

And did you get what
    I did.
    And what did you want?
    beloved on the earth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭hollypink

I love Yeats, particularly this one. Sometimes when I'm feeling down, I recite the last verse in my head to comfort myself.

Lake Isle of Innisfree

I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
    And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made:
    Nine bean-rows will I have there, a hive for the honey-bee,
    And live alone in the bee-loud glade.

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
    Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
    There midnight's all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
    And evening full of the linnet's wings.

I will arise and go now, for always night and day
    I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
    While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
    I hear it in the deep heart's core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭easterbride

Personally I love Patrick Kavangh ~ On Raglan Road and Canal Bank Walk are my favourites. Also love "He wishes for the Clothes of Heaven" by Yeats.

Canal Bank Walk

Leafy-with-love banks and the green waters of the canal
    Pouring redemption for me, that I do
    The will of God, wallow in the habitual, the banal,
    Grow with nature again as before I grew.
    The bright stick trapped, the breeze adding a third
    Party to the couple kissing on an old seat,
    And a bird gathering materials for the nest for the Word
    Eloquently new and abandoned to its delirious beat.
    O unworn world enrapture me, encapture me in a web
    Of fabulous grass and eternal voices by a beech,
    Feed the gaping need of my senses, give me ad lib
    To pray unselfconsciously with overflowing speech
    For this soul needs to be honoured with a new dress woven
    From green and blue things and arguments that cannot be proven.

My favourite line from a poem is "Gods make their own importance" from Epic by Kavanagh.
    Epic

I have lived in important places, times
    When great events were decided, who owned
    That half a rood of rock, a no-man's land
    Surrounded by our pitchfork-armed claims.
    I heard the Duffys shouting "Damn your soul!"
    And old McCabe stripped to the waist, seen
    Step the plot defying blue cast-steel -
    "Here is the march along these iron stones."
    That was the year of the Munich bother. Which
    Was more important? I inclined
    To lose my faith in Ballyrush and Gortin
    Till Homer's ghost came whispering to my mind.
    He said: I made the Iliad from such
    A local row. Gods make their own importance.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

My favourite Kavanagh poem is ...a Christmas childhood its the essences of Christmas for me, I think its very hard to pick one favourite poem a lot of it depends on you mood when you read it I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Frito

Do not go gentle into that good night (Dylan Thomas)

Do not go gentle into that good night,
    Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
    Because their words had forked no lightning they
    Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
    Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
    And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
    Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
    Curse, bless me now with your fierce tears, I pray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭Hope O_o

LizT wrote: »
    Funeral Blues by W.H Auden (the poem in Four Weddings and a Funeral)
    I know it's depressing but I love it.
    Its one of my favourites too :)...as are these:

from The Love Poems of William Shakespeare
    Then I confess
    Here on my knee before high heaven and you,
    That before you, and next unto high heaven,
    I love your son.
    My friends were poor but honest; so's my love.
    Be not offended, for it hurts not him
    That he is loved of me. I follow him not
    By any token of presumptuous suit,
    Nor would I have him till I do deserve him;
    Yet never know how that desert should be.
    I know I love in vain, strive against hope;
    Yet in this captious and intensible sieve
    I still pour in the waters of my love
    And lack not to lose still...

excerpt from Edna St Vincent Millay's 'Fatal Interview'
    Well, I have lost you; and I lost you fairly;
    In my own way, and with my full consent.
    Say what you will, kings in a tumbrel rarely
    Went to their deaths more proud than this one went.
    Some nights of apprehension and hot weeping
    I will confess; but that's permitted me;
    Day dried my eyes; I was not one for keeping
    Rubbed in a cage a wing that would be free.
    If I had loved you less or played you slyly
    I might have held you for a summer more,
    But at the cost of words I value highly,
    And no such summer as the one before.
    Should I outlive this anguish — and men do —
    I shall have only good to say of you…

The heart once broken is a heart no more,
    And is absolved from all a heart must be;
    All that it signed or chartered heretofore
    Is cancelled now, the bankrupt heart is free…

If in the years to come you should recall,
    When faint in heart or fallen on hungry days,
    Or full of griefs and little if at all
    From them distracted by delights or praise;
    When failing powers or good opinion lost
    Have bowed your neck, should you recall to mind
    How of all men I honoured you the most,
    Holding your noblest among mortal-kind…

and Elizabeth Barrett Browning's Sonnet 43
    How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
    I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
    My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
    For the ends of being and ideal grace.
    I love thee to the level of every day's
    Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
    I love thee freely, as men strive for right.
    I love thee purely, as they turn from praise.
    I love thee with the passion put to use
    In my old griefs, and with my childhood's faith.
    I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
    With my lost saints. I love thee with the breath,
    Smiles, tears, of all my life; and, if God choose,
    I shall but love thee better after death.