Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice On A Deer Rifle Please

• 27-09-2012 10:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭

I have decided to get a deer rifle and I am getting confused with all the calibers and debates on which is best. I would be doing some fairly long range shooting and would like a suppressor. I have used a 270 and quite liked it but would prefer something that doesn't feel like your being kicked by a donkey each time you squeeze one off.

Any advice is welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Lullymore24

pachey100 wrote: »
    I have decided to get a deer rifle and I am getting confused with all the calibers and debates on which is best. I would be doing some fairly long range shooting and would like a suppressor. I have used a 270 and quite liked it but would prefer something that doesn't feel like your being kicked by a donkey each time you squeeze one off.

Any advice is welcome.

.270 is Long action
    any short actions will be much milder kicking
    .243, 7mm-08(.308 necked down to 7mm) .308

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

What's long range? Out to at least 300 and probably to 400 yards, there's very little between most cartridges. If you like a .270 though and want similar performance with less recoil, you might want to look at a .25-06. Not much kick but flat shooting and hard hitting. With a moderator on though, the likes of a .270 is barely noticeable in terms of recoil, so you may want to factor that into your decision.

I'm interested in buying a .25-06 for Varminting and Deer, How do you find it on both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

243,25-06 or 6.5x55 be what you need. If you find the .270 kicks too much you may keep away from 308 as well. Kicks nearly the same. Be a man and face the power lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭pachey100

The recoil is not such a issue but I do enjoy a bit of target shooting so would like something that is cheap enough to feed as well. The longest range I would be shooting is maybe 600 to 700 yards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

The recoil is not such a issue but I do enjoy a bit of target shooting so would like something that is cheap enough to feed as well. The longest range I would be shooting is maybe 600 to 700 yards

How much time will be spent hunting versus on the range? That's how I'd prioritise it.

Getting a mild recoiling gun, with good knock down power, that handles well for hunting, is decent on the range and is cheap to feed! Tis a genie in a bottle you need not a rifle :D

In all seriousness, I'd vote .308 (because of cheap but accurate HPS ammo for the range, pay for good hunting ammo) with a short but medium profile barrel, a very light moderator (big help on recoil) that is easily replaceable after it's shot out, light synthetic stock from PSE composites here in Ireland. A handy scope with about 5-22 magnification and light weight but sturdy rings and bases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Most deer will be shot at less than 250 yards, with many being shot at less than 100 yards.

If you don't like the recoil on a 270, then many options are out. A 25.06 might be a good option, but to be honest, you may as well go for the 270 and get used to slightly more kick.

There are loads of things that will affect recoil: barrel weight, stock material, overall weight, mod or no mod, bullet choice...

Start reading up on stalking and go out for a shot with an experienced stalker and you'll soon find more enjoyment in stalking an animal in to a safe distance than taking very long range shots at deer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭beretta391

iv a 270 now and i heard so much about the recoil, i dont find it bad at all with a mod on it. sure the 308 is the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

beretta391 wrote: »
    iv a 270 now and i heard so much about the recoil, i dont find it bad at all with a mod on it. sure the 308 is the same

I had both , i hated the .270 but the .308 was a dream and there is a wider selection of rounds available for it from varmint rounds up to 200gr heavy rounds. The local firearms dealer won't take a .270 in as a trade in or for sale as he says he can't shift them. .243's , 6.5's or .308's he has no trouble moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,193 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Also,if you are stalking you are going to curse the weight of a target rifle as you go up hill and down dale.On the range you will be teed off with the light weight rifle kicking you as you punch paper out at X hundered meters.:eek:
    As a saying goes..Ounces = pounds,pounds = pain! That can work both ways on what you are looking for.
    So depending on your hunting style,you might have to go to tree stands or ambushing rather than stalking.Depending on your hunting terrain of course.
    But the calibere,.. I'd go 308,about the most universal all rounder out there.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭beretta391

jesus thats funny because im after shooting a 308 this afternoon and we found no difference, and the man is kicking himself that he didnt get a 270 because bullets are cheaper fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭323

I'm interested in buying a .25-06 for Varminting and Deer, How do you find it on both?

For what it's worth, leaving out the .22 have probably shot more 25-06 and 270 Win than all others combined. As mentioned already for most purposes there's little between them.

Had the 25-06 when living abroad, factory ammunition was considerably more expensive than .270, no idea what it is here.

Recoil wise my 270 had slightly more but believe because it's a little lighter rifle.

Have an article from an old American magazine described the 25-06 as the "King of the vermin cartridges" and a great all rounder.
    Worked great on deer with 117/120gn bullets. On vermin, although available never tried factory vermin loads. Hand-loaded various vermin bullets around 80 grain range, big compressed powder charges (by the books).
    Were absolutely devastating on small thin skin beasties, and will carry that energy way out beyond any of the .22 vermin cartridges but noise and recoil go up considerably with these fast light bullet loads.

As for the OP, hard to imagine a 270 kicking like a donkey, unless maybe the rifle is very light and/or the stock length/fit is way off.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

rowa wrote: »
    I had both , i hated the .270 but the .308 was a dream and there is a wider selection of rounds available for it from varmint rounds up to 200gr heavy rounds. The local firearms dealer won't take a .270 in as a trade in or for sale as he says he can't shift them. .243's , 6.5's or .308's he has no trouble moving.
    Who is your dealer your talking about as I'd love to hear that complain for the 1st time? Was it a cheap brand of .270 rifle you wanted to trade in that he wouldn't take it? If its true I think he doesn't know night from day never mind about selling deer calibers :rolleyes:. About all the different loads available for your 308 I've yet to find a dealer who stocks them all. Is it only cause of wider selection of rounds you rate the 308 better than .270? What exactly did you hate about it cause that's a lame reason you mentioned imo

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

............... and the man is kicking himself that he didnt get a 270 because bullets are cheaper fact.
    With ammo as low as €18 per 20 what .270 ammo comes in cheaper?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

You can get the PRVI stuff for about €16 a box, but the same applies to .308. Aside from the milsurp stuff, cost is something of a non-issue really. Most of them cost the same for the same sort of ammo, or so close that if you fire a dozen boxes a year or so, you'd never notice the difference. Realistically, all the common rounds will do exactly the same thing for all intents and purposes, and none of them are terribly difficult to keep fed. If you're going to shoot foxes as well, than maybe something like a .243 is your best bet, although a .25-06 is just a good bit more of the same thing. If it's just for deer, it's hard to argue against the .308, especially if you're going to be putting in a good bit of range time. In my opinion, forget about trying to build a target rifle to take hunting. If you want to hunt deer, then get and use a deer-hunting rifle and forget about shooting 1000 yard competition with it. Wood or synthetic is a personal preference, but keep the barrel to 24" max, a light enough profile and the overall rifle weight somewhere around eight pounds and you'll have a great rig. I like simpler setups but if you're going to hang a mod on it, it's going to be heavier too. Just because it's not a 1000 yard match gun doesn't mean you can't shoot long range with it, but keep it sensible. Practising out to 500 yards with a deer rifle is plenty, and a sporting weight and style gun will do that handy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭vixdname

Ezridax wrote: »

Prvi Partesan rounds in John O Briens in Waterford 20 .270 rounds for €18 I get them regularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭vixdname

rowa wrote: »

I had a firearms dealer say the same thing to me before a few years back when he was trying to sell me a 2nd hand Sako in .308 Wonder was it the same codger.....South East direction by any chance Rowa ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

None that I can find but I got 2 boxs of PPU last week in .270 150gr for €18 a box. Have not tried them yet to see what they are like but not expecting the same performance as the Hornady SST.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

............... and the man is kicking himself that he didnt get a 270 because bullets are cheaper fact.

Remmy soft points at 15€ a box down our way for .270

Well lads thanks for all the reply's and info I think it will have to be 308 with mod. I am in a nice spot for fairly long range deer hunting as the land I use is fairly open and has plenty of good sniping and ambush spots.

I think I might have to go for the Remington 700 sps tactical in .308 seems like a good bit of kit.

I'd go Tikka myself.
    I'm currently looking at the stalking directory and there are many there for sale at great prices.

I was thinking of Buying a .25-06 myself as I have read a lot about them, but I don't know anyone in Ireland that has one.

Here is a lovely Tikka.308 for sale in UK and a decent price if you like wood.
    http://www.thestalkingdirectory.co.uk/showthread.php/49012-Tikka-595-308-with-uprated-wood

or if you prefer Tougher Rifle Steyr Scout .308 under a grand
    http://www.thestalkingdirectory.co.uk/showthread.php/48147-Steyr-Scout-308-Package

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Thanks for that lads. Did not know .270 stuff could be gotten so cheaply.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

I have a .25-06. It's a nice, light-kicking, flat-shooting round, that still has loads of poke on deer. Not an animal in Ireland I'd blink twice at whacking with it and a properly constructed bullet. If you're getting one though, make sure it's got at least a 24" barrel, in my opinion, as short barrels are absurdly noisy (Not relevant if you're going to use a mod though), as anyone who's been around my one will happily testify to! If I were doing it all over again, from scratch, it'd be pretty hard to argue with a .308, and to be honest, that's how I'd lean in a perfect world for deer, but the .25 is an awesome cartridge. Personally, I can't tell any material difference in recoil between the likes of a .25-06, a .270 and a .308 and need to step down to a .243 or up to a .30-06 before I really notice anything, so I wouldn't worry about any of them. Get whatever you find a rifle you like chambered in and go kill some deer.

I already have a 30 Cal for red Deer and Boar.
    I'm more interested in what .25-06 does on Small Deer and as a Foxing round.

They were designed as a Varmint Cartridge, I want to know which is better for Foxes and Deer..25-06 or .243, I'm going to buy one. Probably in Uk as there is more variety there.

Did you have any Deer Runners with yours if you used the Lighter Varmint Rounds, or Do you use same rounds on Deer and foxes? What kind of wound channel are you getting?
    What kind of weight retention in the rounds you find in the Deer Carcass or do they all Exit?

I'd make the choice based on whether I were going to shoot more deer or foxes really. I don't hunt foxes myself, but using the Federal Powershok soft points, have had good penetration on deer. My gun likes the heavier bullets, 115gr+ and I use the 117gr soft points pretty much exclusively these days. Penetration and weight retention are functions of bullet construction rather than cartridges. If you're already using a .30 calibre for big deer and boar, why don't you just use that for smaller deer too and think about a .22 centrefire for foxing? As a dual-purpose cartridge, either the .243 or the .25-06 would be about perfect. I'd probably go .243 for its efficiency. It's lighter kicking, short action, works nicely in shorter barrels. Hard to argue with it really!

What species of Deer have you shot with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Hi It wasnt me,what M/V are you getting out of your 117gr S/P?
    Regards,Tomcat.

What species of Deer have you shot with it?

Just sika at the moment.
    tomcat220t wrote: »
    Hi It wasnt me,what M/V are you getting out of your 117gr S/P?
    Regards,Tomcat.

I've never chrono'd it. Would definitely be interested in doing so though. In my heart of hearts, I reckon it's performing way below published specs from that 22" barrel. Probably more like a .257 Roberts+P, with a shedload more blast. Someday I'll get a chance to run it over a chrono and find out where it stands. I've only recently rezeroed it at 200 yards without the mod on, and at 100 it's about 1.75" high, still need to check it at 300 but I'd expect somewhere in the region of 8-9" low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Remmy soft points at 15€ a box down our way for .270

What shop has these?

Just sika at the moment.

What kinda distance, and what kind of damage, do you have exit wounds?
    What kind of Bullet retention on Sika?

Are they better on head and neck or body shots?
    Are you using Soft Nose for Trophy's? Or do Polymer tipped not run well in her?

You are they only guy I know who has one, I'm very tempted to buy one for Vermin and small deer like Sika Fllow and the Odd Roe Deer.

Only body shot deer so far, but the bullet has held up well, with good wounding. Reasonable exits, indicating bullets haven't blown up. In all honesty, there's no blanket universal performance per cartridge. There's going to be more shot to shot variation within a given cartridge than between most of them. I've had good accuracy and good results with what I'm using. If something else shot more accurately and was reasonably priced, I'd shoot that and see what it was like on game, but in terms of value for money, these are great. If you buy one I don't think you'll be disappointed, but for what you're talking about, I'd probably go .243 or 6.5x55 since it's less blast and a smaller case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

@ IWM. When you do shoot it at 300 and measure the drop, you can use a ballistic calculator to extrapolate the velocity. I did this with my rifle, and when i finally did get to shoot it over a chrono I was 16fps off the actual measured velocity

How does one go about getting a gun from the UK?

Only body shot deer so far, but the bullet has held up well, with good wounding. Reasonable exits, indicating bullets haven't blown up. In all honesty, there's no blanket universal performance per cartridge. There's going to be more shot to shot variation within a given cartridge than between most of them. I've had good accuracy and good results with what I'm using. If something else shot more accurately and was reasonably priced, I'd shoot that and see what it was like on game, but in terms of value for money, these are great. If you buy one I don't think you'll be disappointed, but for what you're talking about, I'd probably go .243 or 6.5x55 since it's less blast and a smaller case.
    6.5x55 is a long enough case. Its long action too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Tikka T3 Hunter in .308 win. Great balance of price,quality, accuracy and resale(just in case you get the cash ti upgrade, if you want to). Nuff said :-D

4200fps wrote: »
    6.5x55 is a long enough case. Its long action too

Yes, but my point about blast certainly stands. It's very mild on the ears and shoulder, really sweet round to shoot.

I heard that too. Sweet to fire. You need a mod for most calibers really and truely

I don't like them and don't use them if I can avoid it, for reasons I've stated before. I do like mild rounds like the 6.5x55 and the .308 class stuff though for those reasons, but I also have a lot of time for bigger stuff. If I have time to put it on, I always carry hearing protection, but if not, a few shots a year is probably not the biggest issue for my hearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Any advice is welcome.

Pachey,
    If I were you I would go to the local ammo dealers and see what they have regularly in stock and how much they are asking. The sticker shock just might help your decision.

I think your choices are the 270 or the 308. I would go with the 270 for deer. Have a look at this chart for rifle kick. After a few rounds and learning to shoulder properly, you'll find the 270 does not kick much at all, relatively speaking.

Forget the suppressor for now, but tick the "S" box on the license. Unless, of course a package deal comes along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Eurocodus

Anybody know were cheap 243 rounds can be sourced.

Eurocodus wrote: »
    30 euro for 58grain Hornady v max if that any good. I can price other rounds for the caliber tomorrow if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,193 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

If we ever get widespread ammo reloading in this country ,the 25.06 will be a reloaders dream calibre capable of taking we have in this land and more.:)
    Hand loaded with the proper bullets that will handle anything from red deer down to bunnies.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

remington core lock i think is the new name for them are 28 euro a box in wild hunter

daithi55 wrote: »

remington core lock i think is the new name for them are 28 euro a box in wild hunter

There about 20 euro a box up our way ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

and which way is that :D

daithi55 wrote: »

and which way is that :D

Pm inbound give me a min