Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Are they still bloody talking about that? Jesus Christ. I'm convinced that they'll still be talking about it in a year's time, asking anyone from David Haye to Pauly Mallignalli what they think of Jackson and Olding.

You are right. Asking the rugby world referee of the year, an Irish woman, about the most significant story relating to Irish rugby players this year was completely left field and off the charts.

I mean it was less than 20 seconds of a 24 min plus interview but don't let that stop the outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Are they still bloody talking about that? Jesus Christ. I'm convinced that they'll still be talking about it in a year's time, asking anyone from David Haye to Pauly Mallignalli what they think of Jackson and Olding.

You are right. Asking the rugby world referee of the year, an Irish woman, about the most significant story relating to Irish rugby players this year was completely left field and off the charts.

I mean it was less than 20 seconds of a 24 min plus interview but don't let that stop the outrage.

It doesn't matter who the question is posed to. If you read a little closer you'll see the actual point being made is that they are still banging on about it. The outrage is all theirs - I'm merely frustrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Kevin Kilbane gives me a pain on the show as well. Nice lad, I'm sure, but like was said above his career brings little or nothing in the way of back stories. It was like he slept through all those years. Every time they ask him "have you experienced similar in your career" his answer is always "no no, I don't remember anything like that".

I can imagine the dressing room was a fairly holy place with Kilbane in there though. Can you imagine what the discussion would have been like after a weekend on the tiles.

Player1: "did you see the bird that Jonesy was with on Friday night".
    Player2: "Christ yeah, Jonesy, she was a cracker".
    Kilbane: "Hold on lads! We can't refer to women as birds as this would be sexist. I am going to have to speak to management about this."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Excellent conversation this morning between Eric Donovan and Andy Lee on corruption in boxing.
    Several mouth open examples of what goes in, even today.
    Amateur boxing is at risk of being severely damaged by such behaviour and could end up being dropped from the Olympics.

Do you know If there is a way to listen back via audio or is it just video on Facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Kevin Kilbane gives me a pain on the show as well. Nice lad, I'm sure, but like was said above his career brings little or nothing in the way of back stories. It was like he slept through all those years. Every time they ask him "have you experienced similar in your career" his answer is always "no no, I don't remember anything like that".

I can imagine the dressing room was a fairly holy place with Kilbane in there though. Can you imagine what the discussion would have been like after a weekend on the tiles.

Kilbane: "Hold on lads! We can't refer to women as birds as this would be sexist. I am going to have to speak to management about this."

That's brilliant!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Do you know If there is a way to listen back via audio or is it just video on Facebook?

Corruption in Boxing

Can't pin point the time it starts. Think about a 1/3 of the way in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,265 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

He is a bit Dull in fairness, with all his "We spoke abouts".
    His columns in the paper are also very safe, and full of cliches as well.
    You could predict what he is going to say before he says it.

He does come to life on three occasions though
    1) When Downs Syndrome / David Haye is mentioned
    2) Discussions about irishness for 2nd 3rd generation Irish
    3) When there is an important Irish soccer international match is coming up.

The latter is particularly amusing because he turns into a 100% unashamedly biased Irish soccer fan.
    He gets really passionate about it, which is more then you could say for a lot of ex-Irish internationals for whom it was just a career move (cough, Andy Townsend, cough).

So although he is dull (and painfully so at times) with no funny stories about his playing days / or a proper insight into the irish dressing room when he played soccer -
    I like Kilbane for his passion it is just a pity he does not let loose more often.

Not just the same three issues, surely he has other opinions?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I would say the opposite! Cant stand Richie and think Nathan is quite good. The sooner Gilroy gets the boot altogether the better

Nathan has a good way about him on air - discusses the sport no bias until it comes to Mayo GAA. :D

I can remember he made a gas comment about if Dublin won sam again they would just go through "the process" of celebration and go home again.

Not only that but he was on stage with the Happy Mondays as a young fella.
    http://www.offtheball.com/WATCH:-Turns-out-an-Off-The-Ball-member-once-shared-the-stage-with-the-Happy-Mondays-

As for Ger Gilroy I am starting to think the self-important smug persona might just be act?

Can anyone be that annoying?
    For his sake I hope it is an act.
    I would like to ask Gilroy a question

(If Ritchie still reads boards he can pass it on to his master)

In Gilroy's own language (pseudo-Cartman monologue style)

"You know like, when you do an interview and you get really excited and your like, so excited, that like to an extent, the eh like, air of self-importance drops for an instant?
    But then when you are asking the question, were you like 'oh no' I lost my train of thought in yet another meandering question?
    "

I wouldn't ask Richie any question because why would I want to listen to him?

But I would would have one question for Molloy.

"Does Gilroy tell you what agenda to set?"

I wouldn't be able to say anything else to Molloy for fear of offending him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

He is a bit Dull in fairness, with all his "We spoke abouts".
    His columns in the paper are also very safe, and full of cliches as well.
    You could predict what he is going to say before he says it.

He does come to life on three occasions though
    1) When Downs Syndrome / David Haye is mentioned

The latter is particularly amusing because he turns into a 100% unashamedly biased Irish soccer fan.
    He gets really passionate about it which is more then you could say for a lot of ex-Irish internationals who it was just a career move (cough, Andy Townsend, cough).

So although he is dull (and painfully so at times) with no funny stories about his playing days / or a proper insight into the irish dressing room when he played soccer -
    I like Kilbane for his passion it is just a pity he does not let loose more often.

Not just the same three issues, surely he has other opinions?

The BBC got to him first and ruined him maybe? Extremely dull and safe.

Would love to see him replaced with Kenny Cunningham.

Murdoc90 wrote: »

Ironically Cunnigham seems to loosen Kilbane up a bit, and he forgets himself and seems more relaxed when they are on air together.

They badly need a fella who is not afraid to make an eejit of himself and is opinionated like Jason McActeer / Colm Parkinson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

He gets really passionate about it,

Those two things in particular make it hard for me to dislike Kilbane.

Nobody took more pride in playing for Ireland than him. They were talking about the best stadiums he had played in a few weeks ago. Joe asked him where he dreamed of playing as a kid and he said Lansdowne Road. If it was anybody else i'd probably think they were bull****ting but it was obvious he was being serious.

Absolutely love his positivity about Irish football and he really shines when it comes to the RoI coverage.

He is probably just a bit too nice a fella to be a really engaging broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

Kilbane is very awkward when it comes to 'banter' too, some of his responses when the lads slag is Charlie Nicholas-esque. Even Ivan Yates gets the better of him when he comes on Ivan's show to do the preview

Those two things in particular make it hard for me to dislike Kilbane.

Nobody took more pride in playing for Ireland than him. They were talking about the best stadiums he had played in a few weeks ago. Joe asked him where he dreamed of playing as a kid and he said Lansdowne Road. If it was anybody else i'd probably think they were bull****ting but it was obvious he was being serious.

Absolutely love his positivity about Irish football and he really shines when it comes to the RoI coverage.

He is probably just a bit too nice a fella to be a really engaging broadcaster.
    He does seem like a decent auld salt, maybe more suited to the BBC Gary Lineker style - without the puns.

His positivity about Ireland is gas all the same.
    I think Ireland could be playing a combination of Argentina, Brazil, Germany and Spain - and if Kilbane was asked how he thinks Ireland would do.

Kilbane would say :
    "We have a good shout" or "I think we have a chance".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Murdoc90 wrote: »

Cunningham is ok but the way he says 'fuhball club' all the time wrecks my head.

Or "higher up the pitch" :D
    He knows his stuff in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Ironically Cunnigham seems to loosen Kilbane up a bit, and he forgets himself and seems more relaxed when they are on air together.

They badly need a fella who is not afraid to make an eejit of himself and is opinionated like Jason McActeer / Colm Parkinson.

Mcateer is a fool. Thinks he's a darling of Irish football fans with his "hilarious" carry on and made up yarns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,954 ✭✭✭Raoul

Mcateer is a fool. Thinks he's a darling of Irish football fans with his "hilarious" carry on and made up yarns.

I agree, McAteer just tries to be funny all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,508 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'm sure he knows his stuff but can't listen to him at all with his constant 'MMmm' or 'Emmm'ing, whatever way you spell it !!

Is he the guy who always says 'football club' after every team name when he's having a discussion? Can't remember if it is or not?

"That player is just not fitting in, he hasn't got the attitude to play for Manchester Untied Football Club"

"Their league position is terrible, this is a really sad day for Preston North End Football Club".

"So and so manager just isn't a fit for XXXX football club"

Drop the 'football club', your sentences make perfect sense without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭rufuseric82

Oisin Langan has tweeted that he is leaving Newstsalk. I will miss him. Always enjoyed his reporting and occasional commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Oisin Langan has tweeted that he is leaving Newstsalk. I will miss him. Always enjoyed his reporting and occasional commentary.

That is a shame. He was a good guy, Oisin.

Some nice words from the Second Captains guys there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Wheres he off to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

That's a shame, always liked him, for the simple fact that he did the basics of his job well. That was to report/comment on GAA, and leave his political leanings aside. He had a good, kind-of-quirky sense of humour too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭JoeA3

ex Irish internationals always seem to do well in the media when their playing careers end. We've had loads of them over the years especially the players from the Jack Charlton era. Kilbane reminds me of Mark Lawrenson. He's way over exposed. Couldn't turn on the telly / radio a few years ago without hearing/seeing Lawro and his bland dreary safe "analysis" and Zinedine has gone the same way. He's on Newstalk, TV3 and the BBC...

Agree though that at least he is a genuine passionate Irishman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

I thought it was very unfair that they made Oisin move to the side so that Alan Quinlan could do the morning sports news. He always brought his own enthusiasm to the reports, and you can tell that he at least tried. Must have been some kick in the pants to have your hard work rewarded by being by replaced by somebody with no experience or natural talent for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

I thought it was very unfair that they made Oisin move to the side so that Alan Quinlan could do the morning sports news. He always brought his own enthusiasm to the reports, and you can tell that he at least tried. Must have been some kick in the pants to have your hard work rewarded by being by replaced by somebody with no experience or natural talent for the job.
    agreed.
    Quinlan is a prime example one of the main problems with Newstalk* these days, going for "names" rather than people with a background, talent and obvious passion for radio broadcasting. see also Ciara Kelly and Paul Williams.

*not just Newstalk in fairness, plenty of c-list celebs clogging up the airwaves elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

JoeA3 wrote: »
    ex Irish internationals always seem to do well in the media when their playing careers end. We've had loads of them over the years especially the players from the Jack Charlton era. Kilbane reminds me of Mark Lawrenson. He's way over exposed. Couldn't turn on the telly / radio a few years ago without hearing/seeing Lawro and his bland dreary safe "analysis" and Zinedine has gone the same way. He's on Newstalk, TV3 and the BBC...

Agree though that at least he is a genuine passionate Irishman.

The thing is though in the current environment you have to be so careful about what you say. One wrong move could lead to a mob of weirdos coming after you on Twitter trying to get you sacked.

I would say they are more afraid of the wierdos on boards.ie : no character limit for a start :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

I see Oisin has left Newstalk. Big loss. He was very good at his job.

Re the TalkSport recommendation above, good call except for me it's only a part solution because I like my Irish sport.

Good alternatives if you want to abandon OTB:

GAA: GAA Hour (Colm Parkinson)
    Rugby: Demented mole (new, irregular but informative)
    Soccer: Second Captains

I listen to Danny Kelly's (of Talksport) "Trans-Europe Express" Podcast
    There is a soccer podcast I listen to from Talksport (I prefer it on podcast so I don't have to listen to the constant tradesmen adverts)
    It covers European soccer in general.

https://tunein.com/podcasts/Sports-Talk--News/Danny-Kellys-Trans-Europe-Express-p855004/?topicid=120895948

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

Anyone here why Oisin Langan left Newstalk. He's been there quite awhile . I taught he was very good at his job. Very good match reports and great interviews with managers and player's. Always enthusiastic . Very professional.