Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anti-jihad 'savage' Ads Go Up in NYC Subway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭carrick79

Jaysus, savage ad...

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

is savage not a good ting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭ArseLtd

It's like propaganda from the 40's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

"Love Live the Tenth Crusade!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Jaysus dem Arabs are savage like, fair play ta dem boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

150 years ago, the type of mindless idiot who funded this ad would be cheering the "civilised" American federal troops as they carried out their wars of extermination against the native American "savages"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

so i guess this means more riots and killings this week then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Meirleach

I don't support most of the arab worlds policies or anything, but...I think that kind of language breeds more extremists. The more we push away the radicals, the more radicalized they become. We at least should know that with our experiences in the north. It's just a pity that so many don't recognize it.

I also find it incredibly...ironic I guess, to see Israel critize others for savagery!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

It just shows you who is really pulling the strings behind the court system in America.

Do you have proof of this? I thought free speech was protected under the bill of rights, therefore they have a right to have these posters. I don't necessarily agree with the message myself though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Do you've a job Run_to_da_hills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It just shows you who is really pulling the strings behind the court system in America.

Who would that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

If I saw that add anywhere I would come back later and paste over the "Support Israel defeat Jihad" part with black paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

non story

a Israeli supporter puts posters up in the most pro Israel city in the US !!!
    and the problem is ?

why don't pro radical Islam supporters put up posters on the subway also? , they would be allowed as its their right.

this is just sh1t stirring by this group - and they know it

they should not be getting air time for this - its just what they want
    funny - they do it in new york , surrounded by cops, feds and soldiers knowing full well they are almost untouchable - want some respect - go down to the gaza strip and put some up - they would not dare and for good reason

chicken sh1t's is what they are - stirring trouble from a great distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Nodin wrote: »
    Who would that be?

jews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I think some people who complain about jihad would be quite surprised if they knew who had first instigated it amongst Arab muslims.

*Looks towards London*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Slurryface

Real Life wrote: »
    jews
    Anti-semitism is alive and well and living in AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Nodin wrote: »
    Who would that be?

Political Zionists with their Global agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Well,

This is going to go down a treat. Well done whoever put that up, you've probably just killed a F*ck ton of americans overseas in muslim countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Is there a strong palestinian population on here or what.
    America has free speech . Some gombeen put up a poster .
    People say oh you wouldnt do that on the gaza strip ? Why not? Because youd be hung by your balls from the nearest tree. That a bit of a savage thing to do . Ye know kill someone for putting up a poster.

cloptrop wrote: »
    America has free speech .

Yet America loves dictatorships which doesn't allow other people free speech.

Hypocritical, eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

Is there a strong palestinian population on here or what.
    America has free speech . Some gombeen put up a poster .
    People say oh you wouldnt do that on the gaza strip ? Why not? Because youd be hung by your balls from the nearest tree. That a bit of a savage thing to do . Ye know kill someone for putting up a poster.

Except the point of the poster is to garner support for Israel which will allow it to continue to act with impunity and continue to commit war crimes, crimes against peace and crimes against humanity without any sanction or justice for its victims.

By classifying their victims as savages it attempts to portray Israel's savage treatment of people who are mostly ordinary, decent, human beings as justifiable.

So you people are saying support palestine . Isreal are the savages ?

Israel ethnicly cleansed about 750,000 Palestinians during the land stealing act to set up their state.

Sounds like savages to me.

So you are saying when choosing to support a civil man or a savage we should support palestine .
    Oh my god how silly is that . You just dont like his poster cause you dont like his side . Talk about small minded .
    Why dont you fund a poster campaign to sway support to your side.

So you are saying when choosing to support a civil man or a savage we should support palestine .
    Oh my god how silly is that . You just dont like his poster cause you dont like his side . Talk about small minded .

I'm saying people who had their land stolen from them should have it returned to them.

Do you agree or disagree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

jank wrote: »
    Do you have proof of this? I thought free speech was protected under the bill of rights, therefore they have a right to have these posters. I don't necessarily agree with the message myself though....

Would Palestinian sympathisers be allowed place similar posters in New York Subways condemning Israel for savagery?

I doubt it very much. They would be condemned as anti semantic.

Zebra3 wrote: »

I'm saying people who had their land stolen from them should have it returned to them.

Do you agree or disagree?
    I think thhey should live together in peace .
    Not worry about who stole land from who.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If I were a Palestinian 60 odd years ago, and hundreds and thousands of Europeans arrived off refugee boats and took everything over, kicking me , my family and a lot of Palestinians out of our homes, I'd be feckin more than savage that nothing was ever done about it, and that nothing would be done about it thanks to a military superpower backing the "lodgers" to the hilt.

Exactly the same thing happened in Ireland with the Planters and others.

God gave that land to abraham in the book of genesis. The british gave it to the jews when it was a pile of dirt. When they dig the find evidence of isrealis there stretching back many many years.
    Isreal offered 90 per cent of the land during peace talks . Cease fire didnt last pissing time .
    Stop looking to the press for who to support and do your homework . They both have their reasons Isreal seem go be the only ones willing to talk .

I think thhey should live together in peace .
    Not worry about who stole land from who.

So can I steal some of your land and then you'll still live in peace with me?

(I'll still also be plotting to rob the rest of your land though).

God gave that land to abraham in the book of genesis. The british gave it to the jews when it was a pile of dirt. When they dig the find evidence of isrealis there stretching back many many years.
    Isreal offered 90 per cent of the land during peace talks . Cease fire didnt last pissing time .
    Stop looking to the press for who to support and do your homework . They both have their reasons Isreal seem go be the only ones willing to talk .

But then the last person God gave Genesis to was Phil Collins...does that mean he has a claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    But then the last person God gave Genesis to was Phil Collins...does that mean he has a claim?

Only if the Americans say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Right folks, focus on the ad campaign and not the Palestinian/Israeli issue. We've plenty of other threads on that subject that are happily going around in circles.

• Site Banned Posts: 19 FrontStorm

Jews =/= Israelis
    Israelis =/= Jews

Anybody who spouts this rubbish is showing their ignorance of the fact that 20% of the population of Israel is Arab.

Boards.ie cannot deny it any longer: this website is being used to promote anti-semitism. I'm not saying Boards has a policy of anti-semitism, but it does allow it to flourish. Earlier this week in the politics forum, one high profile user deemed Jews another species who should've been banished to Alaska or Madagascar. post #19

The question is, how can a user with over 3600 posts and who holds these despicable views, remain a member for over 2 years? Anti-semites are tolerated and allowed to spout Nazi tripe all over this site. The evidence is before you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

How can he have the right to force a company to display his ads???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

As a pro Palestinian campaigner, this is legitimate freedom of speech. Instead of trying to censor it, pro Palestinians should just fight fire with fire and do their own line of advertisements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

FrontStorm wrote: »
    Boards.ie cannot deny it any longer: this website is being used to promote anti-semitism. I'm not saying Boards has a policy of anti-semitism, but it does allow it to flourish. Earlier this week in the politics forum, one high profile user deemed Jews another species who should've been banished to Alaska or Madagascar. post #19

The question is, how can a user with over 3600 posts and who holds these despicable views, remain a member for over 2 years? Anti-semites are tolerated and allowed to spout Nazi tripe all over this site. The evidence is before you.

One swallow does not a summer make.

I can find you at least ten anti-Muslim or anti-Arab posts for every one allegedly anti-semitic one you find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

As it's a "ad" I don't understand how it can be left up. If the poster said iPhones are civilised while Galaxy SIII are savages there'd be a huge law suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Jews =/= Israelis
    Israelis =/= Jews

Anybody who spouts this rubbish is showing their ignorance of the fact that 20% of the population of Israel is Arab.

Are you referring to the user who was banned? Yep, Boards certainly let him away with that.
    ScumLord wrote:
    As it's a "ad" I don't understand how it can be left up. If the poster said iPhones are civilised while Galaxy SIII are savages there'd be a huge law suit.
    The US set itself up for a legal minefield with the interpretation of "Freedom of Speech". Take the Phelps family, for example. If it's people that are being put down, the legal system seems to usually let it slide, while if it's companies, they stamp down hard on it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Shenshen wrote: »
    How can he have the right to force a company to display his ads???

The simplest rationale is that MTA is effectively a government organisation. Governments can't restrict speech subjectively. Not sure what the court said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

As a pro Palestinian campaigner, this is legitimate freedom of speech. Instead of trying to censor it, pro Palestinians should just fight fire with fire and do their own line of advertisements.

That is the worst thought ever.

Because one group of people are acting a tool doesn't mean the other should seep down to their level aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Really, the most depressing thing in that video is that the subway train rolling by in the background is dull and boring grey / aluminum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It would appear they've been given a bit of commentary.....
    http://mondoweiss.net/2012/09/subway-ad-gets-a-make-over-revealing-its-true-character.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭AnalogueKid

Would Palestinian sympathisers be allowed place similar posters in New York Subways condemning Israel for savagery?

I doubt it very much. They would be condemned as anti semantic.

Get off the internet. Now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

You've read Sun Tzu as well then?

Jesus the levels of stupidity are only comparable to people writing on the jacks' doors in school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Just ignore it. Although a certain group known for throwing hissy fits when people say bad things about them might not be able to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Not the only odious thing Geller has been involved in:
    Pam Geller Justifies Breivik’s Terror: Youth Camp Had More ‘Middle Eastern or Mixed’ Races Than ‘Pure Norwegian’

--SNIP--
    In a post defending herself yesterday, Geller — who has called Obama “President Jihad” and claimed that Arab language classes are a plot to subvert the United States — reached a new low. Geller justifies Breivik’s attack on the Norwegian Labour Party summer youth camp because she says the camp is part of an anti-Israel “indoctrination training center.” She says the victims would have grown up to become “future leaders of the party responsible for flooding Norway with Muslims who refuse to assimilate, who commit major violence against Norwegian natives including violent gang rapes, with impunity, and who live on the dole.”

To get her point across, Geller posts a picture of the youth camp children Breivik targeted. The picture was taken on the Utøya island camp about 24 hours before Breivik killed over 30 children, so it is likely Geller is mocking many of the victims. Under the picture, Geller writes: “Note the faces which are more MIddle [sic] Eastern or mixed than pure Norwegian.” View a screen shot (click to enlarge) of Geller’s blog post below:
    --SNIP--

I see no need to comment on what she said, as her word more than speak for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭AnalogueKid

Jews =/= Israelis
    Israelis =/= Jews

Boards.ie cannot deny it any longer: this website is being used to promote anti-semitism. I'm not saying Boards has a policy of anti-semitism, but it does allow it to flourish.

Anti-semites are tolerated and allowed to spout Nazi tripe all over this site. The evidence is before you.

Wow! I'm stunned at this post, and the hypocrisy of the poster.
    Let's have a look at our nice friend FrontStorm's posts on boards.ie. Thus far, 18 Posts.

One post is about a Sony something or other. (No complaints there)
    One is a bilious attack on the Socialist Party. (No probs there, you're entitled to your opinions).

Then there's a post in the Aviation and Aircraft section (!) where you call people involved in the IPSC 'terrorist sympathizers (sic)'

ALL of your other posts are you getting a stiffy about Israel and the IDF! Obsess much?

By the way FrontStorm, I notice your handle is an inverted version StormFront , the well-known anti-immigrant website. Is there a link or is that just a coincidence? You know where I'm coming from here, racist poster accuses other posters of being racist and has a handle unbelievably similar to the name of a forum for racist knuckleheads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I've seen loads of anti-semite comments received infractions and bans.

Do you report posts that are offensive? You most certainly should if you aren't doing it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Racism and Xenophobia are on offer in the advertising.
    So as a potential customer I would expect to find these Products both Racism and Xenophobia at institutions representing israel. Embassy of israel (incld the one in Ballsbridge Dublin 4), israeli army recruiting centres, israeli supreme court and israeli parliament. fairnovski.