Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are some good rules/etiquette for new cyclists?

Options
  • 19-09-2012 10:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭

Hi all,

Apologies if there's a similar thread downstream somewhere - point me in the direction if so - but have just started cycling and trying to learn some good behaviour on the road.

My goal is to make cycling my main method of commuting and I love being on the bike but I'm not experienced with dealing with other road users. I've done a practice cycle to work and I know I can do it faster than my bus commute and with relative ease so now I'm just worried about behaving correctly with other cyclists and cars.

I have the cycle lane for 95% of my journey which is great. I'm pacey enough but not terribly fast so I'm happy for people to overtake me as long as they don't mind. However, I can be overly cautious and my fear is if I slow down or stop too abruptly that this will cause problems for cyclists behind me. Any tips on this or hand signals?

Really any advice from experienced cyclists about their new cyclist pet peeves or the things they know cyclists do to cause accidents would be very helpful so I can avoid doing those things!

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭buffalo

Don't jump the queue at the lights. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭candy_pants

Just reading this: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056752751
    So duly noted!

But that's exactly the type of tips I need so keep them coming please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

When dealing with "real" traffic the cyclist is always wrong!