Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Purchasing an air rifle

• 07-09-2012 6:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭

Howya ! Does anybody have a recommendations (sp) on a good cheap air rifle ? I will be shooting mink at close range and crows at long range with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Tikkat3

Snowc wrote: »
    Howya ! Does anybody have a recommendations (sp) on a good cheap air rifle ? I will be shooting mink at close range and crows at long range with it

I dont have one myself as I have a PCP FAC rifle but the Gamo Whisper Fusion is supposed be good value.

Its listed online at 24 joules of power which is 17.7 ft/lb of power. Thats enough for what you are looking for if your shot placement is accurate and you find a good grouping pellet for the rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Uncle has one of those gamo whisper rifles. Other than a bad trigger it's a decent yoke for the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

i seen a weihrach 80 in courthlough the other day for 100 euro a bit rough the king of break barrel springers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Yea any 22lr rifle you can get . Same licence and bullets are cheap . It would take a gud pellet gun to stop a mink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Ilyushin76

I would also be interested in in getting an air rifle mostly for shooting magpies around the farm.Can these be purchased in Ireland(if so where) and is it easy to get a licence for one or do you need one.I wouldn't be looking to spend to much on one and would the be any good second hand?

Sorry for highjacking your thread op :)

Ilyushin76 wrote: »

I would also be interested in in getting an air rifle mostly for shooting magpies around the farm.Can these be purchased in Ireland(if so where) and is it easy to get a licence for one or do you need one.I wouldn't be looking to spend to much on one and would the be any good second hand?

Sorry for highjacking your thread op :)

You will need a license, its the same process for all firearms and you will have to fill out an FCA1 and satisfy the criteria and your super.

Thanks for that,there is allot to fill out in it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

yeh, another hobby ruined by te government years ago

It looks worse than it is to be honest and if you really want to get your hands on an Air Rifle, it will be worth it. You will have a lot of fun.

Get permissions from a land owner or get into a club if you can before you apply.

I have plenty of farm around so I am grand for that.Is there anywhere online in Ireland or Uk I could have a look at air rifles?Also I have to have gun pick out before I apply for a licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

A lot of Rfd are more than happy to help you fill it out too, don't be afraid to ask them or even a guard in the station that would know about firearms.

It's worth the hassle in the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

You will also need to buy a safe.

I have plenty of farm around so I am grand for that.Is there anywhere online in Ireland or Uk I could have a look at air rifles?Also I have to have gun pick out before I apply for a licence?

Thats going to help you if you have land to shoot.

There are plenty of registered firearms dealers around and that is the best place to start to look at them.

Not sure where you are from but there is a list of RFD's maintained by dev110 that should help you find some one close to you.

juice1304 wrote: »
    You will also need to buy a safe.

Why does he need a safe if he has only one firearm ya don't need a safe

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Because it's a rifle. For one rifle you need a safe.

For a shotgun you MAY be allowed to disassemble, and store separately. That decision lies with your super, and is not up to the individual.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Ezridax wrote: »
    Because it's a rifle. For one rifle you need a safe.

For a shotgun you MAY be allowed to disassemble, and store separately. That decision lies with your super, and is not up to the individual.

i guess ya do learn something new every day !

How much would a safe cost ? The more I look into this this less I am inclined to buy one.....

Edit -seem to be around 250 which isn't as bad as thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Recoil12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

you should be able to pick one up for 100 euro you don't need anything mad for an air rifle but if you plan on getting other firearms in the future it's better to invest now rather than buying two safes. keep your eye on the for sale section there is usually a safe or two going cheap there.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Erk

If it's your first gun won't he have to the the safety course to get the Certificate of Competence? Correct me if I'm wrong. Can't remember the name perfectly :o Just remember having to do it when I got my first gun which was an Air rifle.. Many gun dealers will have second hand air rifles too. I'd get a pcp imo there offer more power and less problems I think. I had a FAC there very good and you could pick a good brand up for €500. Will kill crows, rabbits out to 60 yards easily. Best thing about Air rifles you don't have to worry whats behind it for a mile just a few hundred yards :D

Erk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

I answered a question that was already answered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Snowc

Too much work I would opine.There were lads selling them last year at the ploughing.i think i will have a closer look at them at this years ploughing;)

you might have a look, but they wont sell you one without going through the licensing process. Also you havent a hope of getting ammo for it even if you did find a 'cowboy' dealer stupid enough to sell you something illegally.

If you really want one you would just go through the process and get a license like everyone else and not just try and obstruct the system and make life harder for the rest of us in the long run.

getting a license is hardly 'too much work' . did you skip your driving test too and want to drive your car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Snowc

Tikkat3 wrote: »
    you might have a look, but they wont sell you one without going through the licensing process. Also you havent a hope of getting ammo for it even if you did find a 'cowboy' dealer stupid enough to sell you something illegally.

If you really want one you would just go through the process and get a license like everyone else and not just try and obstruct the system and make life harder for the rest of us in the long run.

getting a license is hardly 'too much work' . did you skip your driving test too and want to drive your car?

It took you three minutes to come up with that:D i never said i was illegaly buying one so please dont insinuate that or i will report you:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 genuineirl

Erk wrote: »
    If it's your first gun won't he have to the the safety course to get the Certificate of Competence? Correct me if I'm wrong. Can't remember the name perfectly :o Just remember having to do it when I got my first gun which was an Air rifle.. Many gun dealers will have second hand air rifles too. I'd get a pcp imo there offer more power and less problems I think. I had a FAC there very good and you could pick a good brand up for €500. Will kill crows, rabbits out to 60 yards easily. Best thing about Air rifles you don't have to worry whats behind it for a mile just a few hundred yards :D

Erk.

Yes he needs to do safety course.
    Only PCP FAC give You enough power to shot crow, rabbit or mink up to 50y, and then more u will shooting then more pleasure u get. If u buy some old crap then after few months or even weeks u will want to replace it, so better wait, save more and buy better gun.
    I reccomend Air Arms or Daystate check on http://www.gunstar.co.uk

It took you three minutes to come up with that:D i never said i was illegaly buying one so please dont insinuate that or i will report you:mad:

Report me away, I interpreted your post as per the way it was worded.

Lads,

No one is insinuating anything. Remember that the written word looses context so it may read one way to one person, and another to someone else.

Lets try not start accusing people or making "threats" until we are sure that everyone is reading from the same page.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

who do people usually use as the 2 referees needed on the license application?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

M three wrote: »

Your next door neighbour will do so long as he has a clean record

Two people, not members of An Gardaí, that have no problem being contacted, and vouching for your character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I used my boss (who shoots) and my neighbour. I also use their land to shoot on.