Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US open 2012

• 20-08-2012 2:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭

Okay am out of work and out of action so came up with a preview for the last slam of the year. It's the last slam for a few months too so am looking forward to it more than ever :( I guess this can be used as the official thread if ye wanted though its only a preview really on my part so I'll let the mods decide. Anyway it's a nice place to offer previews/ predictions before it starts. Draws can be updated thursday by whoever! Only a week to go though so excited.

MENS

Usual Suspects

The big three of Federer (1), Djokovic (2) and Murray (3) are the obvious favourites and the bookies reflect this. Paddy has ND at 6/4 favourite, Federer at 5/2 and Murray at 100/30. Very little separates the three and I'd go along with that. It is fair to suggest the three will very likely make the semis. Murray has made every semi bar one since US 2010, Federer has been a regular fixture bar a few slip ups at Wimbledon and at this rate Novak may aswell get a special pass into the semis of slams! He even let JW Tsonga have match points against him at RG but he wasn't going to go down easy!

The highly desired 4th 1/4 of the draw!

AKA Ferrer's quarter. The Spaniard who defies all logic by playing the tennis of his life at the tender age of 30 is a gritty determined player but doesn't have enough in the arsenal to be considered a realistic contender. He's like the guy you hate marking at training! You know about it when you've played him. However many players will be secretly hoping this is the quarter of the draw they get as there is a semi spot up for grabs. Similarly Fed and Nole will be dying to get this quarter in the semi!

The pretenders

JM Del Potro represents the best chance of breaking the top 3 but realistically I can't see it happening. The Argentine would need a hell of a lot of luck with the draw. Tsonga similarly is able to mix it with the best on his day but while he's incredibly consistent, he's just off the level of the top 3. If either get Ferrer in the quarters anything could happen! Both Berdych's and Tipsarevic's 8th of the draw are the ones to get in the quarters for the big guns.

Dangerous floaters

The likes of Marcos Baghdatis, Ivo Karlovic and Sam Querrey are the likes of players you don't want to get early on. They have enough to trouble anyone on their day. The Colombian Falla also falls in to this category. Further up in the draw I expect Richard Gasquet and big serving Milos Raonic to have big tournaments. Wildcard Lleyton Hewitt (draw depending) will go a decent distance in my honest opinion. His compatriot Bernard Tomic who is having a mare of a season is the type of guy smaller seeds would not mind drawing!

So who will win?

Barring a miracle it will be one of the big three. Federer is a man on a mission. After being humbled by Murray in the Olympics he has bounced back well at Cincinatti but what really will hurt him is the manner of his defeat to Djokovic here 12 months ago. Federer was p1ssed (well not in the literal sense!) that day and will hoping to get one over on Djok like he did at sw19. Saying that the Swiss is due a tough draw after being handed essential byes to the semis at Wimby and the Olympics! If he can avoid Murray in the semis I can see him making the final and who knows from there!

The Serb is the favourite but I don't see him winning here. He has been a different player recently and not in the good sense. He seemed to just throw in the towel v Fed at the all England club and it was unusual to say the least. He was also outclassed by Murray at the Olympics. He is a hard court demon and no better chance to bounce back and draw depending he can well make the final. But I just don't see him beating either of Fed or Murray if I'm honest.

And that leaves the Briton. High off his golden performance in the Olympic games, the incredibly talented Scot has looked a different player since Paris both mentally and physically. No doubt the mentoring of Ivan Lendl has improved his game. There is also fer less throwing the toys out of the pram during matches. He is the best returner in the game says this observer and his ability to scoring winners from defensive and frankly seemingly impossible situations is second to none. If he can sort his first serve in the latter stages he'll win. That sounds an over simplification but at Wimbledon this was a major factor in the final. He couldn't get a first serve in to save his life in comparison to the Olympics where he was a demon at it in the final. If it means playing for positioning first then so be it but it will be interesting.

So prediction...(drumroll)... Andy Murray! Regardless of the draw he'll have to beat Fed and Djok most likely anyway. Bring it on!!!

WOMENS

If Serena turns up she'll win. But she has struggled at this venue in recent times throwing plenty of tantrums in the process. She was untouchable at the Olympics and was very impressive at the last slam. A new surface brings the others hope but Serena is the best player (who should be given the number 1 seeding) and her all round game p1sses over the rest. If she plays to near her best she'll be champ.

You'd expect the likes of Petra Kvitova and Vika Azarenka to be there or there abouts too. Samantha Stosur is reigning champ but I can't see her doing much here. The Chinese duo of Li and Zheng are good players in their own right but frankly there is NA chance! Sharapova can't be ruled out but she rode her luck at the Olympics and was outclassed at Wimbledon. Kerber needs to sort herself out mentally and Wozniacki isn't good enough. A possible dark horse is Venus Williams but last I checked she was having back trouble.

Sooo that's it feel free to add ye're own they'll be interesting to read. Be sure to include predictions

PS I'm nearly certain sky and eurosport generally cover this! I'm open to correction though but Eurosport had it last year I recall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

I hereby declare this the Official U.S. Open Thread:p

Excellent preview, especially of the men's! I seen clips on Eurosport advertising the Open so I'm guessing that they'll show it.

Looking forward to this! I'd be surprised if Serena didn't win. She's been in great form since Wimbledon. Although last year I was convinced she'd walk the final and Stosur comes out, all guns blazing! A nice surprise. But I think she might have learnt from that and will try her damnedest to win another Slam to top off an incredible year.

The draw might decide who wins the men's singles. With Rafa gone, someone will get a decent draw and would be a shoo-in for the SFs. I'll be carefully watching this on Thursday!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I think if Murray makes it to the Semi-Finals he is in with a great chance, he's been able to deliver in the big games recently but against "lesser players" he has had some trouble. The likes of Chardy and Mahut got the better of him, and he came very close to going 2 sets down against Ferrer at Wimbledon. I wouldn't say Ferrer is a lesser player, but he's someone Murray should beat.

A good omen perhaps is the loss to Chardy just before US Open is eerily similar to the loss to Mahut just before Wimbledon. If he gets to the final this time, he won't be playing the best grass court player of all time on grass. Needs some luck, but he got some of that in the Olympics final, so maybe things will fall his way this time. He certainly has the confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

RosyLily wrote: »
    I hereby declare this the Official U.S. Open Thread:p

Excellent preview, especially of the men's! I seen clips on Eurosport advertising the Open so I'm guessing that they'll show it.

Looking forward to this! I'd be surprised if Serena didn't win. She's been in great form since Wimbledon. Although last year I was convinced she'd walk the final and Stosur comes out, all guns blazing! A nice surprise. But I think she might have learnt from that and will try her damnedest to win another Slam to top off an incredible year.

The draw might decide who wins the men's singles. With Rafa gone, someone will get a decent draw and would be a shoo-in for the SFs. I'll be carefully watching this on Thursday!:)

Good stuff!!!

Aye roll on thursday. I'll be paying very close attention to the draw and I'm sure the players will to! I may even have to tweak some of my preview as a result!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,546 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

The Eurosport coverage is pretty useless. It normally focuses on lower ranked matches, I think because they don't have the rights to focus on higher up ones. And it's only live for the first 3/4 rounds, after that there is no live action what so ever! I got Sky Sports for one month last year just for the US open, their coverage is fantastic. So if any of ye don't have Sky Sports I would highly recommend getting it just for the month, you will not be disappointed! :)

I would really like Murray to win and had he not performed so badly in Cincinnati I would have picked him as favourite. He should definitely make the semis at least. As for the women's draw (I am actually one of those rare people who prefer women's tennis), I think Serena, Vika and Sharapova will all get to the semis. Radwanska & Stosur won't do much. Kvitova isn't being mentioned as a favourite at all but she has just won Montreal on a surface that was once her worst, and if she can iron out her wild inconsistency (which is a big ask) she could be a contender. Overall I'd have to pick Serena as the obvious favourite though. However this is the WTA so you just never know :)

The Eurosport coverage is pretty useless. It normally focuses on lower ranked matches, I think because they don't have the rights to focus on higher up ones. And it's only live for the first 3/4 rounds, after that there is no live action what so ever! I got Sky Sports for one month last year just for the US open, their coverage is fantastic. So if any of ye don't have Sky Sports I would highly recommend getting it just for the month, you will not be disappointed! :)

I would really like Murray to win and had he not performed so badly in Cincinnati I would have picked him as favourite. He should definitely make the semis at least. As for the women's draw (I am actually one of those rare people who prefer women's tennis), I think Serena, Vika and Sharapova will all get to the semis. Radwanska & Stosur won't do much. Kvitova isn't being mentioned as a favourite at all but she has just won Montreal on a surface that was once her worst, and if she can iron out her wild inconsistency (which is a big ask) she could be a contender. Overall I'd have to pick Serena as the obvious favourite though. However this is the WTA so you just never know :)

Zero bearing imo. May well stand to him yet. He won it last year and it didn't do him much good. Similarly he lost before Wimbledon and then look what happened. I saw parts of the Chardy game and Andy actually looked as if he'd rather be any place in the world bar there. Easy to say when he loses as a fan, but that wasn't the Andy Murray we know. He did not seem one bit bothered after losing either. The fact he pulled out of Toronto a week earlier suggests a fatigue worry to me and I'd imagine he'll be in flying shape come next week. He seems confident anyway.

For the first time probably ever he is being tipped by many to win a Grand Slam. I wonder how that will affect him. I've read US articles with many claiming he has the game to dethrone the top 2. The American's never payed any real notice of him before now, even after 08. It'll be interesting. I've seen very few tip Novak. Wouldn't be unlike him to bounce back. I'd guess he'd do anything to avoid Murray in the semis similar to Rog. Please oh please let the latter get a tough draw! He was incredibly fortuitous with the draw at WImby and the Olympics!

Anyway if my maths are correct the draw will occur about 5 our time today folks. The mens seeds are as expected, almost identical to rankings. The women's has already come in for criticism and I'd share that. How Serena is not number one is beyond a joke. It is not fair on the top 2 either! Even number 2 would be ok but number 4!!! Ridiculous! Anyway I'm sure she won't care if she can (as expected) take home the trophy!

That's a shame about Eurosport. AT least RG and Wimby have wall-to-wall coverage on free to air channels! I'm sure we'll find some way to watch ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

As far as I remember Eurosport has the rights to the WTA matches from US Open, Sky has the ATP rights.
    Also, because of the time difference they often go off air before the matches start, especially in the later stages when they start later and miss some of the night sessions.

DRAW:

Men:

Federer is in Murray's half of the draw. Ferrer is in Djokovic's. :)

Federer gets Donald Young in R1. Cushy for him.

Djokovic gets Paolo Lorenzi.

Murray gets Bogomolov Jr.

Berdych vs Goffin

Delpo vs Nalbandian

Ryan Harrison against Benjamin Becker in R1 followed by winner of Delpo/Nalbandian. Tough draw there. Really needs to get his ranking up if he wants to go further at Slams.

Hewitt vs Kamke in R1.

Isner vs Malisse.

Nishikori vs Qualifier in R1, gets another Qualifier in R2. Nice draw there.

Raonic vs Santiago Giraldo.

Projected QF: Federer-Berdych, Murray-Tsonga, Tipsarevic-Ferrer, del Potro-Djokovic. But there'll probably be some upsets along the way there.

Women:

Sharapova and Azarenka in top half. Serena and Aga in bottom half.

Sharapova looks to have a very easy 1st week. First possible seed is Medina Garrigues in R3

Serena vs Vandeweghe.

Stosur starts her defence against Martic.

Petko draws Operandi in her first GS match of the year. Possible meeting with Bartoli in R2, pretty good draw for her there.

Venus plays Mattek-Sands in R1, followed by Most likely Kerber in R2.

Possible Li Na vs Clijsters in R3.

Brit ladies got it rough.

Keothavong vs Kerber

Watson vs Li Na

Robson got a qualifier. But is in the same quarter as Clijsters and Li Na.

Projected QFs: Azarenka-Stosur, Sharapova-Kvitova, Wozniacki-Serena, Kerber-Radwanska that's based on results following seeding, but especially with the women this is highly unlikely.

Rough draw for Murray again! David Ferrer must be counting his lucky stars

Raonic in Murray's half too :eek:

He'll have to win this the hard way! Also the final will be 24 hours after the expected Fed/Murray semi

Murray's expected opponents-

R3- Lopez
    R4- Raonic
    1/4- Tsonga
    1/2- Fed

Rough.

Nothing fair about 4th seed getting 8th in the quarters but it's just the way it's done I guess.

Novak gets a nice bye into the final ;) :pac:

Sharapova, Li, Clijsters, Azarenka, Stosur & Kvitova all in the top half of the draw. Serena must be delighted.

David Ferrer owes his counterpart Nadal a million thank yous for pulling out :D

Novak looks very happy being interviewed. I'm not one bit surprised judging by his draw!

Clijsters is playing singles, doubles with Flipkins, and mixed with Bob Bryan. She's really going to get her moneys worth out of her last slam.

Wonder will it be ARod's too? :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Murray's expected opponents-

R3- Lopez
    R4- Raonic
    1/4- Tsonga
    1/2- Fed

Rough.

Nothing fair about 4th seed getting 8th in the quarters but it's just the way it's done I guess.

Novak gets a nice bye into the final ;) :pac:

This is Murray's opportunity to win a GS and I dont think his draw is really as tough as you say.:p

Apart from a tricky opener against Bogomolov when all players have nerves at play, he would not face any major opposition till R4 possibly against Roanic who has not really lived up to expectations in recent months. In the quarters, he might face Tsonga, a player he has a very good record against. I see no potential problems unless he has that RG "Murray" moment again.

Essentially, If he plays as well as he did at Wimby and the Olympics, he has the capacity to win this tournament, especially with the momentum from his Olympics victory, but the big question is - can he? If he meets Roger in the Semis, then I dont think so; However, I think this is going to be a tricky tournament with possible upsets along the way and the top seeds have to very careful and play their best at all matches, no room for complacency- ask Nadal!

On the Women's side, my head is just screaming Kerber, Kerber, Kerber. She has improved a lot and the way she beat Serena is a testimony to her current form. Of course, Serena, Sharapova, Azarenka and probably Kim are still the top favourites but I just have that feeling that she might spoil the party plus it would be nice for an underdog to win :D

KINGVictor wrote: »
    On the Women's side, my head is just screaming Kerber, Kerber, Kerber. She has improved a lot and the way she beat Serena is a testimony to her current form. Of course, Serena, Sharapova, Azarenka and probably Kim are still the top favourites but I just have that feeling that she might spoil the party plus it would be nice for an underdog to win :D

Serena was dead on her feet when Kerber beat her. Don't get me wrong, Kerber has a very good game but she's got the mental strength of a wet tissue, as was evident in her Cinci final and her Eastbourne final earlier in the year.
    If she can keep herself together for 7 matches then yes, she'd be a very good outsider to put your money on, but I don't think she will.

This is Murray's opportunity to win a GS and I dont think his draw is really as tough as you say.:p

On second look it's not as bad as his WImbledon draw!

If he's good enough for GS winning material he's got to be beating the likes of Tsonga/Raonic simple as.

Wimbledon draw was hard, but Murray's reward for beating Tsonga this time is to meet Federer in a Semi-final rather than in the final like at Wimbledon. His reward for beating Federer is to play the defending champ. All this and Nadal isn't even at the tournament!

And this is his "opportunity".. good luck Andy..

Tox56 wrote: »
    Wimbledon draw was hard, but Murray's reward for beating Tsonga this time is to meet Federer in a Semi-final rather than in the final like at Wimbledon. His reward for beating Federer is to play the defending champ. All this and Nadal isn't even at the tournament!

And this is his "opportunity".. good luck Andy..

The way the men's tour has been the past few years that's just how the draw works. You're going to have to play a top 4 player in the semi and the final. Every now and then you get lucky and one of them can't play or is beaten in an early shocker and you get a top 10 player instead in the SF.
    Murray got lucky at Wimbledon to be in the same half as Nadal who was beaten early. Djokovic got the luck this time to be in the half Nadal was supposed to be in.

The way the men's tour has been the past few years that's just how the draw works. You're going to have to play a top 4 player in the semi and the final. Every now and then you get lucky and one of them can't play or is beaten in an early shocker and you get a top 10 player instead in the SF.
    Murray got lucky at Wimbledon to be in the same half as Nadal who was beaten early. Djokovic got the luck this time to be in the half Nadal was supposed to be in.

I'm not suggesting it is unfair or working against Murray or anything, but just making the point this is such a tough era.

What Murray would have given to play while Henman was making those Wimbledon semi-finals..

Right now I think Murray'd take Fed over Djok in the semi because there is probably more likelihood of roger being caught early than Novak (saying that most likely all 3 will make semis anyway).

In no particular order...

1. I've been through Murray's. To be fair his first challenge of note should be in round 4 and he should come through!

2. If Berdych turns up he'd give Roger a hell of a game, but he's been awful lately. I'm almost certain Goffin his first round opponent beat him at W'don/Olympic first round? Clay-lover Almagro (at a push), Mahut and Querrey are tough here.

3. Gasquet could be an interesting bet for a semi in Ferrer's quarter. In fact he's the only real challenge in this side unless Tommy Haas/LLeyton Hewitt can do something special

4. Until now I hadn't examined Roger's draw closely enough. It actually is quite tough. Karlovic/Fish/Verdasco in his quarter all dangerous floaters.

5. Jo Willy will also have his work cut out to make quarters. Mightn't be as bad for Andy afterall. Potential opponents for him include Falla round 2 (genuinely thought this guy had Roger bet in the first round at the Olympics), Chardy round 3 (bet Murray Cincinnatti), and Nishikori or Cilic in round 4. Hmmm...

6. Isner could well make the quarters in Tipsarevic's side but he has been disappointing in many majors. The guy with the funny shades should be okay here.

7. Andy Roddick could be a real dark horse to make the quarters. It would of course mean beating Delpo along the way most likely but the American can't complain too much with it.

8. That leaves Novak's side and looking at it you'd have to wonder who the guy is paying to get such luck :D :pac: Baghdatis at a push may challenge round 4 but seriously the guy should buy a lottery ticket tomorrow :P

I'll predict but honestly it is hard to call. Here goes, no going back :D

Djokovic v Delpo (but I have a real feeling the Argentine may not make it!)
    Gasquet v Tipsarevic
    Federer v Querrey
    Murray v tsonga

Djok v Gasquet
    Fed v Murray

Djok v Murray

Murray

Tox56 wrote: »
    I'm not suggesting it is unfair or working against Murray or anything, but just making the point this is such a tough era.

What Murray would have given to play while Henman was making those Wimbledon semi-finals..

Oh no, I agree, it's a tough era to be playing in. I mean 10 years or so ago the likes of Tsonga, Ferrer, Berdych etc. would be winning Slams all over, now they're vying to be the non top 4 guy that makes up the numbers in the SF's.

Mark Phillipoussis made a final. And Nalbandian :D Wouldn't be near top ten nowadays or Henman for that matter or even Hewitt who won it

2. If Berdych turns up he'd give Roger a hell of a game, but he's been awful lately. I'm almost certain Goffin his first round opponent beat him at W'don/Olympic first round? Clay-lover Almagro (at a push), Mahut and Querrey are tough here.

3. Gasquet could be an interesting bet for a semi in Ferrer's quarter. In fact he's the only real challenge in this side unless Tommy Haas/LLeyton Hewitt can do something special

4. Until now I hadn't examined Roger's draw closely enough. It actually is quite tough. Karlovic/Fish/Verdasco in his quarter all dangerous floaters.

5. Jo Willy will also have his work cut out to make quarters. Mightn't be as bad for Andy afterall. Potential opponents for him include Falla round 2 (genuinely thought this guy had Roger bet in the first round at the Olympics), Chardy round 3 (bet Murray Cincinnatti), and Nishikori or Cilic in round 4. Hmmm...

6. Isner could well make the quarters in Tipsarevic's side but he has been disappointing in many majors. The guy with the funny shades should be okay here.

7. Andy Roddick could be a real dark horse to make the quarters. It would of course mean beating Delpo along the way most likely but the American can't complain too much with it.

8. That leaves Novak's side and looking at it you'd have to wonder who the guy is paying to get such luck :D :pac: Baghdatis at a push may challenge round 4 but seriously the guy should buy a lottery ticket tomorrow :P

Interesting thoughts. I'll add my own to yours.....

2 - Berdych and Goffin have never played each other. Goffin had a surprising run at RG and did okay at Wimbledon too. He looks a good player and if Berdych continues in the form he's been in since Wimbledon Goffin could easily beat him.

3 - Gasquet is a brilliant player when he's on but he's cursed with the French brain. He switches off like *that* and is as capable of losing a match 6-0, 6-0, 6-0 as he is of winning one by the same score. Always fun to see which version of him shows up.

4 - Nishikori beat Tsonga in Australia if I remember correctly. Tough enough second week for Jo. As with Gasquet, the French brain plays a major part in how far he goes in tournaments.
    p.s. Did you guys see the picture he posted on twitter earlier? He's in Winston Salem and posted a photo of a fire hydrant surrounded by barriers with the caption "WS is much safer than Toronto" :D A little nod to his running into a fire hydrant accident :D

6 - Isner sucks at the Slams because he can't win a 5 set match in 3 straight sets. Takes far too much out of himself in the early rounds. Tipsy should be all right there. Isner is nigh on impossible to break but hasn't got much to any other part of his game.

7 - I don't know about Roddick. He is still capable of playing really good tennis. If he's fit and healthy it'll be interesting to watch him, he'll have the full crowd support too which always helps. Delpo has been passed fit to play after seeing specialists about his wrist, but it's still a question hanging over him. He'll be another one who would benefit a lot from getting through his first few rounds in straight sets.

8 - Djokovic should really be in the final. If he plays the way he played in Toronto and Cinci (not the final) he should be in the final and it'd be a major shock if he's not.

I'd love to see someone other than Murray/Fed in the final, but it's bound to be one of them. I'm going to say Federer/Djokovic final with Djokovic winning it.

Mark Phillipoussis made a final. And Nalbandian :D Wouldn't be near top ten nowadays or Henman for that matter or even Hewitt who won it

Sure Ivanišević won Wimbledon as a Wild Card back in 2001. He wasn't even in the top 132 never mind top 4 :D
    Would never happen now.

2 - Berdych and Goffin have never played each other. Goffin had a surprising run at RG and did okay at Wimbledon too. He looks a good player and if Berdych continues in the form he's been in since Wimbledon Goffin could easily beat him.

Aha Darcis is the man I'm looking for (cheeky google! :D) dunno why I thought it was Goffin.

It really is hard to call for quarters. generally the semis are far more predictable. Mayer, Youzhny and Kol (you know who I mean huer of a name to spell :D) all made 1/4s at sw19! None of which you'd rate too highly tbh or have given much chance to pre-tournament

RG and Wimbledon are really random in the earlier rounds compared to Aus and US. I guess hard courts are more predictable than clay and grass. Some players have great weeks at those tournaments but then do nothing for the rest of the year.

Will be interesting to see how the weather holds up this year. Will there be a repeat of last years leaky courts and Monday final?

RG and Wimbledon are really random in the earlier rounds compared to Aus and US. I guess hard courts are more predictable than clay and grass. Some players have great weeks at those tournaments but then do nothing for the rest of the year.

Will be interesting to see how the weather holds up this year. Will there be a repeat of last years leaky courts and Monday final?

The clay can be a hure at times. Slow as. Suits those SPanish/Italian/French players to a tee who grew up playing on it!

AYe didn't catch as much of this as I'd have liked last year. Zero excuse this year :D

If pushed (imagine you were a player) which GS would you give up if you had to? I always considered this somewhat the least of the slams, although many others say Aus, I'm sure others and players like Murray/Roddick/Fed would say FO :D

There's no least really but it'd be interesting what players would say!

If pushed (imagine you were a player) which GS would you give up if you had to? I always considered this somewhat the least of the slams, although many others say Aus, I'm sure others and players like Murray/Roddick/Fed would say FO :D

Well, as I understand it, the players all love the Australian Open. They call it "The Fun Slam". It's extremely well organised, the fans are great, the weather probably doesn't hurt it either. I'm not sure how it ranks in importance of winning though? I suppose a Slam is a Slam but it always seems like winning the US Open is more of a big deal.

As far as watching them goes my order of preference would be:

1 - Wimbledon
    2 - Australia
    3 - French
    4 - US

If I was a player, and looking to drop one, I'd say the French, unless of course I was Spanish and it was the one I was most likely to win :D

I just don't like it. The clay is slow and it can be very boring to watch at times. The fans in Paris are just the worst, they boo absolutely everything, so rude. The US fans are loud an annoying but they're not what you'd call rude. It doesn't seem like the nicest atmosphere to play in unless you're French.

The clay can be a hure at times. Slow as. Suits those SPanish/Italian/French players to a tee who grew up playing on it!

AYe didn't catch as much of this as I'd have liked last year. Zero excuse this year :D

In order of importance, I would rank the slams like this:

1. Wimbledon
    2. US Open
    3. French Open
    4. Australian Open

It may have a slam status, but I think if a player had to pick they'd have any of the other slams over the Australian Open. I think it stems back to the the pre-1990's era when the AO was regularly skipped by a lot of top players.

Kvitova has won New Haven, she must be a contender for NY now. Being able to fly under the radar will suit her perfectly well, she is not able to play under pressure at all. Speaking of playing under pressure, Sam Stosur is first on Arthur Ashe on Monday. Potential upset there? I think so!

Schedule of play for Monday:
    http://www.usopen.org/en_US/scores/schedule/index.html

It's kind of hilarious that Kvitiova has won the US Open series this year. The last few seasons she's been half dead in the US, she was never able to cope with the humidity, had breathing problems and all sorts. Now she wins two titles in three weeks and did okay in Cinci too.

Petra's problem is going walk about in the middle of matches. Even in that final against Kirilenko, she was 2 breaks down in the last set before she managed to win 5 games in a row. If she could be 100% focussed for her entire match she'd be lethal.

Of course, a lot of the women have these mental lapses, so it all depends on who she has them against and whether they capitalise on it or give her a chance to get back into it.

Guess this answers the question as to which Slam is "least important" to the players. Greedy sons of mothers.

Hasn't a hope of happening I'd say. Aye shows that Aus is the perceived weakest so alright. Anyway roll on tomorrow. Hopefully no stupid scheduling problems or rain delays this year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

I'd have the us open and wimbledon slightly ahead of the French Open, then the Australian open in terms of prestige. I think the us open is about equal to Wimbledon now.

Ah now. W'don is the world championships essentially undoubtedly the best grand slam. Add in to that all the tradition and such associated with it. The only ones that might say different are ones that don't like playing on grass but if you asked fans and players nearly all would pick WImbledon

In terms of prestige and history and all that kind of stuff Wimbledon is the biggest one, but in terms of publicity and fame the US Open is probably the biggest. If only because it's in the US and they do everything on a massive scale.
    In Europe Wimbledon ranks highest because it's the one that everyone remembers watching on TV as a child, even non tennis fans would remember being out on the road with tennis rackets for a couple of weeks every summer. I remember reading an interview with Djokovic where he said the same thing went on in Serbia, or Yugoslavia as it may have been then, every summer when Wimbledon was on.
    Now that all the Slams get televised everywhere, and with internet and all sorts of other means of publicity the US Open is probably the biggest in terms of scale. They're got tonnes of sponsors and it seems like a much bigger event than Wimbledon, who have no sponsors.

They're probably on equal footing importance wise as far as the Slams go, but for very different reasons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

In my own mind for some reason the change of grass resulting in slower courts makes me personally view it as less prestigious than when it had fast grass. Just a subjective feeling I get about it.

The rain has started :(

Early start for the rain. Doesn't usually begin until the end of first week.

Sam Stosur demolished Petric Martic earlier, 6-1, 6-1. Sam looked in great shape, no nerves at all. Hope she keeps getting better as the tournament goes on.

RosyLily wrote: »
    Early start for the rain. Doesn't usually begin until the end of first week.

Sam Stosur demolished Petric Martic earlier, 6-1, 6-1. Sam looked in great shape, no nerves at all. Hope she keeps getting better as the tournament goes on.

Stosur won the first 19 points of the first set and then double faulted :mad: what a way to blow a potential golden set! Either way good win tbh. This rain is not looking good, it's pelting down. Not promised to clear either apparently. Wednesday I know is promised desperate too. That's all well and good but cue some disastrous scheduling errors as a result :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

Pity about the rain though I'm enjoying watching the highlights of last years mens final, I had forgotten how incredible some of the rallies were.

Murray broken twice already :O

Bartolli getting booed by the crowd as she and Jamie Hampton warm up after their rain delay for 2nd set TB. Hampton trying to hit volleys, Bartolli not sitting them up for her, keeps hitting passing shots. Bartolli is a nut.

ANdy is really struggling on serve. Can't get first serve in. Happens far too often for my own liking.

First 4 games have been breaks of serve

Murray lost the first 2 sets in his R1 match last year. Things are going swimmingly so far for him

Murray breaks again. 4-2. Poor Bogy can't hold to save his life.

TME was that not round 2/3 vs Haase?

Sabine struggling big time :(

Andy takes the first 6-2. Bogy still hasn't held!

Murray breaks again. 4-2. Poor Bogy can't hold to save his life.

TME was that not round 2/3 vs Haase?

Aye you're right, it was R2, my bad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Sabine struggling big time :(

Andy takes the first 6-2. Bogy still hasn't held!

I am shocked Liscki is out in the first round- massive upset in my opinion although to be fair hard courts arent her favourite.

Poor year really. So disappointing.

Andy has not turned up today...

Pretty surprised that Lisicki has been knocked out so soon. Wouldn't be too worried about Murray. He's just shaking off the rust.

Petkovic is on court now! Great to see her back..although she just lost her opening service game.