Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

1348105690997.gif

Is it that time of year again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,276 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Seriously, I somethimes wonder what gets into peoples head this time of year. This is not remembrance, this is glorification. Did the taxpayer foot the bill for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Why would they?
    And do you lot realise you are arguing with yourselves because no p e really gives a toss what you think

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Why would they?
    And do you lot realise you are arguing with yourselves because no p e really gives a toss what you think
    Interesting and mature attitude to bring to a discussion forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

So, anyway, what was the score?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,276 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

2-0

Interesting and mature attitude to bring to a discussion forum.
    No it's not but to be honest it would end up the same old pish as every year and also to be honest you no nothing about me so anything I say would probably be ignored as it has in the past on here.
    All I will say if the club wants to do that and it was a fans group that did the display that's there choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Seriously, I somethimes wonder what gets into peoples head this time of year. This is not remembrance, this is glorification. Did the taxpayer foot the bill for this?

Embarrassing and truly gringworthy:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,946 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

You think that's cringegeworthy? Have a look at this.......

Really have to wonder why they are the only club in the UK who go to such lengths. It's nauseating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Really have to wonder why they are the only club in the UK who go to such lengths. It's nauseating

Och I have no problem with them welcoming the 'hero's(even though some would just have made the tea and sandwiches at base camp:)). A bit of flagwaving never done anybody any harm(um.....:rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

'Embarrassing' and 'cringeworthy' indeed.

Yet the usual suspects can't help coming onto a Rangers board to be offended.

As usual.

As usual.
    Because talking about what happens on an Ibrox pitch would be better suited for a different thread?

As usual.

maybe all ye rainjurs heads pm the mods and ask for a modification to the thread title to

'rangers but no posting of anything negative about the club that could offend the natives, no talk about our liquidation or pending ebt case superthread'

Dempsey wrote: »
    maybe all ye rainjurs heads pm the mods and ask for a modification to the thread title to

'rangers but no posting of anything negative about the club that could offend the natives, no talk about our liquidation or pending ebt case superthread'

Talk about what you like it doesn't mean we have to engage with you on suppositions of what may or may not happen some of us are happy enough to wait and see

never said ye have to but this the rangers superthread not the thread for rangers supporters to dictate what is talked about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭MANUTD99

Fair play to Rangers to support what they believe in. That's their tradition and Celtic have theirs. (Jesus have people not realized this yet?)

MANUTD99 wrote: »
    Fair play to Rangers to support what they believe in. That's their tradition and Celtic have theirs. (Jesus have people not realized this yet?)
    I agree tbh, although I'm not sure if it was their tradition until Celtic came along. Which is pretty sad.

never said ye have to but this the rangers superthread not the thread for rangers supporters to dictate what is talked about
    As I have already said no one is stopping you of course if your attitude was different people might give you house room as it is with your various petty digs don't expect responses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭MANUTD99

I agree tbh, although I'm not sure if it was their tradition until Celtic came along. Which is pretty sad.

Obviously a lot of those soldiers were Rangers fans and really enjoyed the atmosphere on rememberence weekend for British soldiers. I don't see what the issue is here to be honest.

As I have already said no one is stopping you of course if your attitude was different people might give you house room as it is with your various petty digs don't expect responses

i dont understand your post tbh

my point is that ye dont have break yer silence to tell us that ye are having a 'dignified silence' for yerselves! :pac:

i dont understand your post tbh

my point is that ye dont have break yer silence to tell us that ye are having a 'dignified silence' for yerselves! :pac:
    See that is exactly it right there petty digs. The reason I replied is I have manners maybe you should look up the meaning of the word.
    I will explain it once again just for you, while you continue with constant petty digs or want rant about EBT's etc which we have no control over so will wait on the outcome before commenting on them I and others have no wish to enter into dialogue now I hope you understand that as I won't be answering anymore. Unless you wish to talk about reasonable things lk he football for example

Actually Rangers tradition has always been one of strong Scottish/ Brittish identity mate
    Unfortunately in the 30's this was polarised wrongly into a very wrong signing policy. Thankfully that no longer applies and the club is moving forward we still have to drag a section of the fans into the 21st century but the club is getting there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Excellent news. Walter Smith returns to the Rangers as a director.

Always grand to know there's safe pair of hands upstairs. Onwards!

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/item/2635-walter-returns-to-rangers

See that is exactly it right there petty digs. The reason I replied is I have manners maybe you should look up the meaning of the word.
    I will explain it once again just for you, while you continue with constant petty digs or want rant about EBT's etc which we have no control over so will wait on the outcome before commenting on them I and others have no wish to enter into dialogue now I hope you understand that as I won't be answering anymore. Unless you wish to talk about reasonable things lk he football for example

petty dig? you are easily upset! i was just pointing out the irony of some of yer posts.

Excellent news. Walter Smith returns to the Rangers as a director.

Always grand to know there's safe pair of hands upstairs. Onwards!

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/item/2635-walter-returns-to-rangers

Great news IMO he will surely help steady things on the park by giving Ally some help and advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Great news IMO he will surely help steady things on the park by giving Ally some help and advice

Could also be divisive though couldn't it? After having the run of things for a while now, would the risk not be McCoist might be a bit p*ssed if there is even a suggestion of interference from a former mentor/boss.

dooferoaks wrote: »
    Could also be divisive though couldn't it? After having the run of things for a while now, would the risk not be McCoist might be a bit p*ssed if there is even a suggestion of interference from a former mentor/boss.

McCoist has already said he would welcome WS back with open arms and would be accepting any help he gave

Surprised to see Sir Brown Brogues back at Ibrox, guess it rules him out of the Scotland job, although he already walked out on them once so it would have been silly to take him back.

Obviously not our problem for now but I will be worried if he's still involved if/when Sevco are back in the SPL. The level of influence he has in Scotland is astounding. I'll never forget his swansong season at the Gers. They may as well have had the trophy presentation in August, certainly would have saved a lot of emotions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

McCoist has already said he would welcome WS back with open arms and would be accepting any help he gave

Difficult for him to say anything else though isn't it? How could he tactfully say, I don't appreciate, or need his advice? He can't.

Like being given the family business, then the dad deciding he wants to get involved in it all again.

dooferoaks wrote: »
    Difficult for him to say anything else though isn't it? How could he tactfully say, I don't appreciate, or need his advice? He can't.

Like being given the family business, then the dad deciding he wants to get involved in it all again.

Nah not really Green said early on in his bid to take over he wanted WS involved obviously it has taken time but IMO opinion it will be good for the club