Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A lesson......hard learned.

• 19-08-2012 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭

My next door neighbors son learned a hard lesson on friday. As far back as I can remember he has been BMW mad. He is now 22 and has spent the last 6-7 years saving for his first car (a 3 series), he doesn't drink, smoke and is an all round nice decent trust worthy chap. So he saw this 3 series in the classifieds and tells his dad that he wants to go and see it. So along they go and take a look, long story short- his dad firmly advised him to walk away as the seller had no log book and promised him he would arrange to give it to him during the week. So he went home with his dad very dissapointed, the following day he rang the guy back and arranged to buy it going against his dad's advice and when his father came home - there was a tidy looking 3-series in the driveway which he got very cheap! (I don't know the exact amount). So he went to insure it and it came up as stolen on the insurance companies system as the car was already insured by them under another name and was reported stolen the previous day. The police were called and the end result was a guy in tears standing in the driveway watching his dream car being towed away....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

gerarda wrote: »
    My next door neighbors son learned a hard lesson on friday. As far back as I can remember he has been BMW mad. He is now 22 and has spent the last 6-7 years saving for his first car (a 3 series), he doesn't drink, smoke and is an all round nice decent trust worthy chap. So he saw this 3 series in the classifieds and tells his dad that he wants to go and see it. So along they go and take a look, long story short- his dad firmly advised him to walk away as the seller had no log book and promised him he would arrange to give it to him during the week. So he went home with his dad very dissapointed, the following day he rang the guy back and arranged to buy it going against his dad's advice and when his father came home - there was a tidy looking 3-series in the driveway which he got very cheap! (I don't know the exact amount). So he went to insure it and it came up as stolen on the insurance companies system as the car was already insured by them under another name and was reported stolen the previous day. The police were called and the end result was a guy in tears standing in the driveway watching his dream car being towed away....

He should have read Limerickmans thread. So much he could have checked out that could have saved his cash. No good to him now though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

he was foolish, what year was the car? how much money?
    and how did he go about reporting it to the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

He should have spent his time saving a bit more for a credit/car history check..
    who would buy a car with no logbook in this day and age?
    fools and money and all that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

One thing I would never do is go against my Da's advice when it comes to looking at cars, he has already steered me away from a few and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

Merch wrote: »
    he was foolish, what year was the car? how much money?
    and how did he go about reporting it to the gardai

01 I think, it was already reported a stolen by the owner to the police and the insurance company. I didn't want to ask how much money he lost, I spoke to his father this morning and he spent all day Saturday and today sobbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

01 I think, it was already reported a stolen by the owner to the police and the insurance company. I didn't want to ask how much money he lost, I spoke to his father this morning and he spent all day Saturday and today sobbing.

He might need to start drinking! :o Thats a terrible hard lesson for a young fella...got ripped of £20 when I was 15 by those auction scumbags (the ones advertising black and decker drills for 2 quid)...learnt a valuable lesson that day...not the same but it'll get easier:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

A motorcheck would have prevented all of this and only a true mug will let a car swing them towards ignoring all logic tbh.

Poor chap all the same and my heart goes out to him but if he truely was a Bmw nut he would have been on forums like this the odd time and would have had a little more sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Seems like he drove it home with no insurance too.

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    A motorcheck would have prevented all of this and only a true mug will let a car swing them towards ignoring all logic tbh.

Poor chap all the same and my heart goes out to him but if he truely was a Bmw nut he would have been on forums like this the odd time and would have had a little more sense.

Very true, it was a case of the heart ruling the head.

Seems like he drove it home with no insurance too.

He could have an existing policy which allows you to drive another car in someelses name...obviously the beemer isn't his first car.

Its (or should I say 'was') his first car. As for how it got to his driveway, I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

...obviously the beemer isn't his first car.

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

I suppose that he paid by cash. A draft or a cheque could be stopped.

Reminds me in a way of my first car. Ford Escort. Talk about rose tinted glasses.

Mind you, that young fella deserved what he got. His Father told him not to touch it but being young, he knew better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

How does someone get insured on a beemer for their first car at 22 years of age with zero no claims bonus?

My first car was a 1.0 Fiesta, with a full licence, and it cost me £1,800 (punts), back in the day (2007). I was 21.

Without sounding smart, maybe it was an act of god the car was stolen so he couldn't get behind the wheel .

The laws in this country don't allow for a young fella, with little or no driving experience to sit in any car that is even remotely powerful. The statics prove it. In other countries, you'd be required to do multiple tests first and have a full-licence driver with you at all times. (this was never enforced here).

Maybe he was getting it insured under his dads name? Well then, I'd be asking questions of the father, and not the sobbing son.

Really?

Hands held up, I re-read the post it was his first car...it was probably a 316 so :p

Fair ****s (if he had got a proper one) I started in a ****ty corsa at 22 :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

I made a similar error a few years back

bought a car with no service history whatsoever, no log book either. I bought the car from a dealer and was too scared to check up on the computer -did the check 6 months ago and turns out car was perfectly legal -total surprise as the people from the dealers were rough

when I was buying the car a woman was in there in tears saying she bought a car yesterday under the pretence it was 1.3 and it turned out to be 2.0 -the guy just said insurance will be the same and not to worry about it

needless to say I rang back a month later to enquire about somthing and they had ceased trading

could have been a costly mistake and ever since then -I go for FSH and log books as well

I actually got a replacement logbook in the end as well and a mechanic said teh car was in good condition mechanically so I was very lucky but stupid

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

<Ollie> wrote: »
    My first car was a 1.0 Fiesta, with a full licence, and it cost me £1,800 (punts), back in the day (2007). I was 21.

I assume you mean 1997??

How does someone get insured on a beemer for their first car at 22 years of age with zero no claims bonus?

Without sounding smart, maybe it was an act of god the car was stolen so he couldn't get behind the wheel .

The laws in this country don't allow for a young fella, with little or no driving experience to sit in any car that is even remotely powerful. The statics prove it. In other countries, you'd be required to do multiple tests first and have a full-licence driver with you at all times. (this was never enforced here).

Maybe he was getting it insured under his dads name? Well then, I'd be asking questions of the father, and not the sobbing son.

He had been driving his mothers Yaris for the last few years with no problems so maybe that helped, the last time I spoke to him he was telling me that only one company would insure him for a huge premium but he said didn't give a fiddlers about the cost, he just wanted the badge.

antodeco wrote: »
    I assume you mean 1997??

Unfortunately, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭pah

If he's saved for it and can afford it what's stopping him from having it as his first car. His recklessness in the purchasing of the car doesn't mean he'll be a reckless driver. Sounds responsible enough imo. Seems a bit harsh to assume as you have above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

I know he was incredibly stupid, and should have listened to his dad's advice, but I steel feel gutted for him. I've been guilty of letting my heart rule my head on numerous occasions in all sorts of different ways. But guess as the op said, it's a life lesson and at least it's valuable in that sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I sold a car to a mechanic without the log book a while back so its incorrect to say that he must have been clueless to buy without one. Some people trust too much when they see the car they want.

gollywog wrote: »
    I know he was incredibly stupid, and should have listened to his dad's advice, but I steel feel gutted for him. I've been guilty of letting my heart rule my head on numerous occasions in all sorts of different ways. But guess as the op said, it's a life lesson and at least it's valuable in that sense

Indeed at that age I could be a lot more wreckless making decisions than I am now. Harsh lesson but im sure any car bought now will be checked 100% by him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭number66

Never trust a second hand car salesman. esp a Irish one.

number66 wrote: »
    Never trust a second hand car salesman. esp a Irish one.

Not sure if you are being serious, but I know some very good and honest car dealers and irish as well -and it would be the majority of places

Indeed at that age I could be a lot more wreckless making decisions than I am now. Harsh lesson but im sure any car bought now will be checked 100% by him

It was probably all for luck :(, they say the receptor in the males brain that analyses risk doesn't develop until 25....I'd well believe it on the MR2 run today there was places I'd defo overtaken no bothers in my younger years :pac:

Poor guy though.

pah wrote: »
    If he's saved for it and can afford it what's stopping him from having it as his first car. His recklessness in the purchasing of the car doesn't mean he'll be a reckless driver. Sounds responsible enough imo. Seems a bit harsh to assume as you have above.

So by your reasoning, if you can afford a car then you're then entitled to drive said car in a public road while putting the lives of others at risk? So if, for argument sake, an 18 year old won the lotto they could buy a Ferrari and drive around.

In America for instance, they learn to drive in very big engine cars, but statically there's way less accidents.

The laws/education of driving are not enforced/applied here, so effectively we're just giving someone a lethal weapon to have fun with.

Maybe that guy is indeed very applied and mature to drive the BMW, but how can we be sure? He obviously would be much more careful driving around in his mother's Yaris, than his own much more powerful BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It's hardly that far fetched...

I got insured on a 325ci with 2 years NCB at 23, for not all that much more than my bloody Polo. Had he had a number of years driving experience under his belt I reckon getting insured on a BMW wouldn't be too much hassle.

So by your reasoning, if you can afford a car then you're then entitled to drive said car in a public road while putting the lives of others at risk? So if, for argument sake, an 18 year old won the lotto they could buy a Ferrari and drive around.

So you're saying less experienced drivers should be limited to smaller engines? That's all well and good but at the age of 20 I was driving 1,000 miles a week at one point and needed a 1.9 tdi. If you put the limit at 2 litres that doesn't greatly minimise the risk since you can still go double the legal speed anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

If he's saved for it and can afford it what's stopping him from having it as his first car. ....
    Stupidity.
    ... His recklessness in the purchasing of the car doesn't mean he'll be a reckless driver. ...
    It won't guarantee he'll be a safe driver either.
    ... Sounds responsible enough imo. ...
    He sounds like a bit of an impulsive eejit TBH.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It's hardly that far fetched...

I got insured on a 325ci with 2 years NCB at 23, for not all that much more than my bloody Polo. Had he had a number of years driving experience under his belt I reckon getting insured on a BMW wouldn't be too much hassle.

A few years driving experience under someone else's name makes little or no difference when it come to taking out a new policy under your own name.

Anyway, my rant was more about the laws/driving education that's applied in this country. If you have the money, then you're entitled to get behind the wheel. Whereas in other countries, it's based on experience, education and tests. The statics prove my point.

Every weekend now we're hearing of more young drivers getting killed.

awec wrote: »
    An 11 year old BMW not going to be worth that much. In fact I'd say it'd be worth less than a lot of other "middle of the road" cars driven by 22 year olds these days (Fords, VWs etc).

You're talking what, 3 or 4 grand absolute maximum?

Insurance wouldn't be outrageous really in comparison to other 22 year olds.

It has nothing to do with the value of the car.

for arguments sake, if you are young and going to be a wreckless driver, you will probably be equally as dangerous on the roads thrashing 1 .2 litre car at 80mph than a 2l at 110mph

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

for arguments sake, if you are young and going to be a wreckless driver, you will probably be equally as dangerous on the roads thrashing 1 .2 litre car at 80mph than a 2l at 110mph

This is a very dumb statement tbh

Ollie, I like a few others don't get what you're saying. Are you saying he shouldn't be able to afford the insurance or because of his age should stick to a cheaper car? Or that he should stick to a less powerful car because of his age?

I understood it to be the 3rd.

So you're saying less experienced drivers should be limited to smaller engines? That's all well and good but at the age of 20 I was driving 1,000 miles a week at one point and needed a 1.9 tdi. If you put the limit at 2 litres that doesn't greatly minimise the risk since you can still go double the legal speed anyway.

A young enthusiast driver won't buy a bog-standard 1.9tdi saloon though.

A standard Honda Civic isn't much more powerful than a standard Corolla. But the type of driver that buys Civics are statically more likely to have an accident. Hence, the insurance premiums are more.

It's the same with a young guy trying to insure a BMW with zero no claims bonus. The car attracts a certain type of driver. Not saying they're all like that, but statically..

..............He is now 22 and has spent the last 6-7 years saving for his first car ............. the end result was a guy in tears standing in the driveway watching his dream car being towed away....

Anyone who spent that long saving should have more of clue. The lad seems a right gnome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

RoverJames wrote: »
    Anyone who spent that long saving should have more of clue. The lad seems a right gnome.

He made a silly mistake, but I can imagine someone not entirely clued in on car prices, and scams could be drawn in by a low price and a good car.

He made an expensive and stupid mistake, but I do still feel sorry for the chap.

Like I mentioned earlier, a mechanic who regularly buys cars bought one from me with no log book and only a phone number and a gumtree as comeback. Being too trusting is a problem people suffer from regardless of experience.

I sold a car to a mechanic without the log book a while back so its incorrect to say that he must have been clueless to buy without one. Some people trust too much when they see the car they want.
    Like I mentioned earlier, a mechanic who regularly buys cars bought one from me with no log book and only a phone number and a gumtree as comeback. Being too trusting is a problem people suffer from regardless of experience.

Don't really see why you're quoting my post with tbh.
    Was the car the mechanic bought off you stolen? Do you know that the mechanic didn't reg check it first? How do you know he regularly buys cars btw? Do you actually know the guy?

Because according to the OP the lad I said seems a gnome bought a stolen car without a logbook.

ah leave off hes still wet behind the ears...he was unlucky... I sold my primera to some lad without the logbook...well €150 wasn't going to break the bank..but still.:rolleyes:

:rolleyes: to you too.

€150 is less than a weeks dole ffs.

22, you'd think he had just turned 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Thats a shocking hard way to learn a lesson, feel really sorry for the chap.

Don't really see why you're quoting my post with tbh.
    Was the car the mechanic bought off you stolen? Do you know that the mechanic didn't reg check it first? How do you know he regularly buys cars btw? Do you actually know the guy?

Because according to the OP the lad I said seems a gnome bought a stolen car without a logbook.

He didn't know me and hadn't seen the reg plate. He was on his way here when I realised I had the logbook for a different car. I called him and told him I'd mislaid it but he said not to worry and send it on later. Lifted the car and paid cash. He knows only my first name. I could easily have sold him a stolen car because all it had was a tax and MOT disc.

This guy is in his 50's and has about 10 cars on his website for sale. If a seasoned mechanic and part-time dealer did the same thing I wouldn't be so hard on the fella in the OP's story.

............. He was on his way here when I realised I had the logbook for a different car. I called him and told him I'd mislaid it but he said not to worry and send it on later. Lifted the car and paid cash. He knows only my first name. I could easily have sold him a stolen car because all it had was a tax and MOT disc.................

Well seems as you're still there he'd have more than a first name to go on :)

:rolleyes: to you too.

€150 is less than a weeks dole ffs.

22, you'd think he had just turned 17.

With insurance etc, males especially buy cars later on...I only got my first car at 22..bit luckier then this fella, but at that age the heart wins over the head...

The rolleyes was meant at the price of my primera not your post, fyi ;)....and tbh he got a bargain its still on the road I believe :cool:

... I bought my first car at 18 and was 100% sure I wasn't being ripped off.
    Apologies for misinterpreting the use of the roll eyes.

Well seems as you're still there he'd have more than a first name to go on :)

Well he knows what town I'm from too then :p