Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.17hmr zero

• 14-08-2012 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭

Right, I went out to zero my hmr an hour ago just as the wind picked up! I couldnt find anyplace completely sheltered in the time I had! I was dealing with a decent left to right breeze! Fired 3 shots @ 100yards which all landed betwween 1.5 to 2 inches right and a bit high! I adjusted for the high part my question is this, is the reason the ****s are going over an inch right soley down to the wind? I want to go out for a shine tonight but want to be confident that my zero is fairly accurate! To describe the strenght of the wind the trees outside my house are constantly moving but not violently! Thanks for any opinions!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

If you are happy with your height then set up at 25 yards, and check the drift at this distance. The shorter the distance the less drift can happen, and as you have your height you are not concerned with this.

If you find you are still right then adjust until you get a perfect placement on the vertical axis. Might not be 100% foolproof, but much better than trying to get your proper windage on a strong windy day.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Thanks that's a good idea! !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

What Ez said is what I do if there's a bit too much wind. it might not be bang on at 100 but it will be fairly close. At 25 yards if you can put the cross hair on the line of a pen or a marker and hit that line I would say you are good to go tonight.

Right lads i did that she;s firing 2 inches low at 25 yards which is grand I reckon!! But its firing just under a centremetre left! Will I leave it ? thanks

Was there any wind blowinng, and if so was if right to left or left to right?

One cm is just under half an inch. Is this one cm from the edge of the hole or to the centre of the hole the bullet made. Ideally you want the bullet spliting the vertical line in half. That one cm could translate into an inch or slightly more at 100 yards. Not a huge amount but obviously this will increase the further out ya go.

I know with the .17 you are not looking for 300+ yard shooting, but it's a mental thing to know your rifle is spot on.

For the time being, and with you heading out i'd leave it as is, but tomorrow or the next possible day i'd go out and try to fine tune that.

Also you are happy your height (100 yard) is okay?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

pugw wrote: »
    Right lads i did that she;s firing 2 inches low at 25 yards which is grand I reckon!! But its firing just under a centremetre left! Will I leave it ? thanks

As ez said again you 1cm at 25 which would be 4cm ish at 100, and 1"- 1.5" is a lot to be out by and trying to factor in wind and compensate for the scope been off too is a lot to think about before taking a shot.

Knowing the gun is off will start to put doubt in your mind taking shots.

Ezridax wrote: »
    Was there any wind blowinng, and if so was if right to left or left to right?

One cm is just under half an inch. Is this one cm from the edge of the hole or to the centre of the hole the bullet made. Ideally you want the bullet spliting the vertical line in half. That one cm could translate into an inch or slightly more at 100 yards. Not a huge amount but obviously this will increase the further out ya go.

I know with the .17 you are not looking for 300+ yard shooting, but it's a mental thing to know your rifle is spot on.

For the time being, and with you heading out i'd leave it as is, but tomorrow or the next possible day i'd go out and try to fine tune that.

Also you are happy your height (100 yard) is okay?

Thanks for that it was 1cm from the middle of the hole! I know its the mental thing that worries me If you go messing with allowing for it on a live target you will more than likely fumble it! There was no wind blowing! I reckon it might be firing the tiniest bit left @100 but im going after foxes so it should be grand! Will give it 3 clicks right!

Okay so.

.17hmr is 4.4mm. If it's 1cm from the line to the middle of the hole that's 10mm - 2.2mm leaving 7.8 mm or just over a 1/4 of an inch. Thats a max of 1inch at 100 yards, and no more than 1.5" at 125 yards.

Again in terms of a fox not a huge difference. So for tonight you'd be grand. Tomorrow i'd re-zero and have the bullet spliting the line. Thats 2mm either side, and you'll have properly zeroed rifle.

Will give it 3 clicks right!
    Actually that'd be a good idea. Never thought of that.:o

We know how far out it is, your scope is 1/4click value ( i presume) so the 3 clicks would move it 18mm at 100 yards or 4-5 mm at 25 yards. Perfect so.

Grand job. http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0814/weather.html Wont be doing it tommorrow anyway :eek: Thanks for that Hopefully get 1 anyway!

Ah damn, i was hoping to redo mine tomorrow after the mount coming loose. Looks like I wont be

Yeah i can see trying to zero tomorrow. 48 inches to the left.

Good enough. :D

40+mph winds predicted.

Result got 2! the 1st was 100 yards hit him behind the shoulder, shakey shot off a rickety wall, he was going no place but I had to give him a 2nd! the second one was quite close had to go for a head shot because of a lot of thistles! Did the job. See pics! thanks to the lads for the advice!
    dsc00649an.jpg
    By pugw at 2012-08-15
    dsc00650z.jpg
    By pugw at 2012-08-15

The zero is fine so.

Good tacking.:cool:

Nice going, Ye had better weather than we're having anyway, if you fired into the wind here the 17gr bullet would come back at you faster than it left the barrel.