Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"[We] don’t lift weights in order to look hot, "

• 31-07-2012 10:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

http://thinkprogress.org/media/2012/07/31/616831/sexist-tweets-zoe-smith/
    While Smith was preparing to set an Olympic record for Great Britain in the clean-and-jerk event, men (and some women) on Twitter were busy saying she wasn’t attractive enough, or that she was manly, or that there was something wrong with her body because she was so muscular.

So Smith took to her blog to respond:
    [We] don’t lift weights in order to look hot, especially for the likes of men like that. What makes them think that we even WANT them to find us attractive? If you do, thanks very much, we’re flattered. But if you don’t, why do you really need to voice this opinion in the first place, and what makes you think we actually give a toss that you, personally, do not find us attractive? What do you want us to do? Shall we stop weightlifting, amend our diet in order to completely get rid of our ‘manly’ muscles, and become housewives in the sheer hope that one day you will look more favourably upon us and we might actually have a shot with you?! Cause you are clearly the kindest, most attractive type of man to grace the earth with your presence.

Oh but wait, you aren’t. This may be shocking to you, but we actually would rather be attractive to people who aren’t closed-minded and ignorant. Crazy, eh?! We, as any women with an ounce of self-confidence would, prefer our men to be confident enough in themselves to not feel emasculated by the fact that we aren’t weak and feeble.

Sexism seems to be almost as common as sweat at this year’s Olympics — which has a record number of women participating — from female boxers being asked to wear skirts to differentiate them from the men to women’s teams taking coach while men’s fly first class.

There have been several women who are competing in the Olympics who've had to suffer such scrutiny. They are the best of their country at what they do and that's not good enough as they fail to conform to the body ideals of what makes a woman attractive.

Even those who have medals are not exempt.

http://jezebel.com/5929146/australian-paper-incites-backlash-after-****tily-suggesting-that-swimmer-leisel-jones-is-fat

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Sharrow wrote: »
    http://thinkprogress.org/media/2012/07/31/616831/sexist-tweets-zoe-smith/

There have been several women who are competing in the Olympics who've had to suffer such scrutiny. They are the best of their country at what they do and that's not good enough as they fail to conform to the body ideals of what makes a woman attractive.

Even those who have medals are not exempt.

http://jezebel.com/5929146/australian-paper-incites-backlash-after-****tily-suggesting-that-swimmer-leisel-jones-is-fat

I suggest it's just an extension of the attitude of a society which places women who are successful into a contemptuous position.

I've had people discount me as a bimbo due to how I look and dress despite me having worked hard to develop a career.

This is just a more hardcore extension of it imo.

One does have to ask, is going beyond the glass ceiling that previously existed worth it, or is there a point where achieving becomes worthless when one considers overall self worth?

More examples include Rebecca Addlington earlier this year and malicious tweets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

People are just inherantly mean, I have come to realise. While some of it is down to sexism and some women not conforming to the idealised female form, the amount of horrible, horrible tweets that people write to and about varying types of celebrities is enormous. I honestly think twitter is the death knell of civilised society. It allows people to make comments they never would in real life for fear of being seen as rude. Look at the comment aimed at Tom Daly because his partner in synchronised diving made a mistake. Horrendous stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I think it's funny how the insecure fcuks can't help but to come out of the woodwork when a woman does better than them.

But I think it's sad that some people accept the the opinion of these fcuks, rather than rise up against their comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

Actually, what I found to be quite messed up was the fact that people called the Aussie swimmer fat - she is a highly trained, fit, Olympic ideal - not fat - toned and athletic. People's perception of "fat" is not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭shoos

Much respect for Zoe, she's great for standing up for herself and her teammates like that. Was also delighted to hear Katie standing up against that absolutely ridiculous suggesting that female boxers should be put in skirts..... what purpose on earth would that achieve?! It's sports, not a men's magazine shoot.

Since the Olympics started I definitely noticed a huge amount of oogling at the women's bodies. Seems every female athlete is first and foremost commented on about their bums, breasts, muscles and whether or not they'd 'get the shift'. Mens sports like the diving and swimming obviously get oogled by women as well, but at least they are still being respected as a real athlete like they deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

I only watched the weightlifting for any length of time because she happened to be on stage when I flicked over & my first reaction was '**** she's hot!'

Now i wonder was that sexist - I've no interest in that sport at all. Leaning towards not sexist, merely a guy stopping to look at a good looking, fit woman who just happens to be among the best in the world at her chosen discipline. If the twit wasn't thinking the same then he could have simply switched channel & moved on.

Unfortunately he probably thinks the children competing in the gymnastics are more like it *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭dkin

shoos wrote: »
    Since the Olympics started I definitely noticed a huge amount of oogling at the women's bodies. Seems every female athlete is first and foremost commented on about their bums, breasts, muscles and whether or not they'd 'get the shift'. Mens sports like the diving and swimming obviously get oogled by women as well, but at least they are still being respected as a real athlete like they deserve.

Pretty ironic really a sexist comment against sexism!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Jogathon wrote: »
    Actually, what I found to be quite messed up was the fact that people called the Aussie swimmer fat - she is a highly trained, fit, Olympic ideal - not fat - toned and athletic. People's perception of "fat" is not right.

Yeah, swimmers are quite muscular and often don't look "slim". You can't compare them to diminutive gymnasts and svelte sprinters.

Rebecca Adlington doesn't look comparatively slim either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I <3 Zoe Smith :D

Weightlifting has become much more high profile as a women's sport since I got into it about five years ago, and it's amazing to see the polar way that these female athletes are perceived from within and outside the WLing communities. Over on Health and Fitness and Strength and Strength Sports here on boards it's quite normal and regular to see some of the guys going gaga about women like Lydia Valentin (a personal favourite, same weight class as me and the walking embodiment of strong and beautiful):

1.JPG

...Julia Rhodes...

julia_julia_julia_1.jpg

.. and of course Zoe Smith

zoe%20smith_0.jpg

.. and yes, yes they do get comments about how hot they look and fit they are, but it's nearly always in the same breath as sheer admiration and possibly a little jealousy that these women are outlifting the majority of the male populous :D

They all do it for the love of the sport, and I've seen a recent tag srping up on facebook that a lot of weightliting athletes have been sharing: plates before dates!!

Having said that on a personal level I was always conscious of the perception that female athletes had and I embraced my feminity in the sport in my own way - this is a photo taken of me at the Senior Champoionships in 2009, it was a competition trait of mine - my nails were always perfectly done :)

nailsw.jpg

But yes any youtube videos I had were often met with nasty remarks to the point that I had to disallow comments, but then people who met me and found out what I did would 99% of the time say "gtfo, you don't look like a weightlifter :eek:"

So yeah, it's a real pain in the face that those trollish, nasty, horrible comments get made to some of the finest athletes in World Sports, but bit by bit it's getting broken down. I see it happening mysel, and posts like the one from Zoe are helping to change people's perceptions and realise that it's not ok to buy into stereotypes.

I lol'd when I saw your post Corkblowin, but tbh, if it kept you watching and it gave you a new appreciation for what these women are capable of, then is it all bad that you commented on a physical first and foremost? I won't berate you for it anyway :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

It doesn't really help that at the first sign of easy money these athletes get their kit off for magazines either

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    It doesn't really help that at the first sign of easy money these athletes get their kit off for magazines either

How does that not help? How does that have an affect on morons slagging off people on the internet with completely unbased misinformed tripe? You'll have to explain that one to me a bit better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Zoe smith is seriously a genuine and very attractive and cute woman. (i base this on an interview i saw) ...beautiful

g'em wrote: »
    How does that not help? How does that have an affect on morons slagging off people on the internet with completely unbased misinformed tripe? You'll have to explain that one to me a bit better.

Well I was just thinking that having sexualised women through these images you see when googling pretty much any female athlete in the limelight, it probably brings a bit of a "phwoar" element to men when they're viewing these sports. Moron's slagging them off is ridiculous but some women's sports are even presented as body parades in the mainstream media, e.g. beach volleyball, the papers seem to mention it in that way every day in London. I just think it might make some men and women more judgemental of people's looks in sports.

bluewolf wrote: »
    Are you jealous no magazines want to pay you for it?

No

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

bluewolf wrote: »

Are you jealous no magazines want to pay you for it?
    Blue, you know better. Please answer the thread in a constructive manner going forward.

Maple

Can't help wondering if Zoe Smith would be so enraged.
    If her results were enough to get her in the news today.

Well I was just thinking that having sexualised women through these images you see when googling pretty much any female athlete in the limelight, it probably brings a bit of a "phwoar" element to men when they're viewing these sports. Moron's slagging them off is ridiculous but some women's sports are even presented as body parades in the mainstream media, e.g. beach volleyball, the papers seem to mention it in that way every day in London. I just think it might make some men and women more judgemental of people's looks in sports.

That still does not make it a woman's fault though. If I put up a picture of myself in my lifting one piece and my sexuality gets called into question is that my fault or the idiot who gets their kicks from being an idiot?

Google Willow Koerber, a pro-cyclist. She has an incredible body and has done many a 'sexy' shoot. Good on her. Does that mean that she's somehow the one at fault for letting the sisterhood down and Smith et al. should be blaming her and not the dingbats on Twitter?

You post was:
    which really makes it sound like you're laying part-blame with the athletes themselves.

That still does not make it a woman's fault though. If I put up a picture of myself in my lifting one piece and my sexuality gets called into question is that my fault or the idiot who gets their kicks from being an idiot?

Google Willow Koerber, a pro-cyclist. She has an incredible body and has done many a 'sexy' shoot. Good on her. Does that mean that she's somehow the one at fault for letting the sisterhood down and Smith et al. should be blaming her and not the dingbats on Twitter?

You post was:

which really makes it sound like you're laying part-blame with the athletes themselves.

I'm not in the least bit sexist. The fact is people judge people's appearances all the time, especially when they're in the limelight. And some people get nasty about it, Twitter etc have given these people a voice.
    I think maybe the more attractive ones doing photo shoots etc may cause less attractive ones to be judged harsher, by idiots - just throwing it out there.

I'm not in the least bit sexist. The fact is people judge people's appearances all the time, especially when they're in the limelight. And some people get nasty about it, Twitter etc have given these people a voice.
    I think maybe the more attractive ones doing photo shoots etc may cause less attractive ones to be judged harsher, by idiots - just throwing it out there.

I don't see where I accused you of being sexist, but thanks for clarifying.

So if everyone's doing it that makes it alright? Or should we just put up with it? In the 1950's women were given whole manuals on how to be the perfect wife, but hey, things change, people cop on.

You're right, the convenionally and societally accepted beautiful people do tend to do more photo shoots but they are still not to blame for the actions of idiots.

We don't tackle the idiots by telling the 10,000 hour athletes who have honed their bodies for their sport to step away from the camera, we tackle the idiots by tackling them.

I don't see where I accused you of being sexist, but thanks for clarifying.

So if everyone's doing it that makes it alright? Or should we just put up with it? In the 1950's women were given whole manuals on how to be the perfect wife, but hey, things change, people cop on.

You're right, the convenionally and societally accepted beautiful people do tend to do more photo shoots but they are still not to blame for the actions of idiots.

We don't tackle the idiots by telling the 10,000 hour athletes who have honed their bodies for their sport to step away from the camera, we tackle the idiots by tackling them.

I really can't see it changing, a minority will always be nasty about people based on their looks

And that's an entirely different thing to say than your initial statement that laid the blame at the feet of the athletes. Can you see where I'm coming from here? Yes, there will always be that stupid minority, but blaming the athletes in this would be 10 giant steps backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

This is just more idiocy from people who think that a woman's primary function is as an ornament, and can't comprehend that some women care more about their sport than about other people's ideas about femininity. Whoever made that remark can feck off back to Stepford.

I used to work in pools, and yeah, you get some people making jibes about how 'mannish' the female swimmers are because the sport means that shoulder and arm muscles are the focus of training. The people doing the remarking didn't know what they were talking about, and certainly wouldn't have had the athlete's dedication to swim a dozen kilometers before 7am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

All the online sources Ive looked at have said that Zoe Smyth is being criticised for having muscles and not looking feminine enough and that she is being bullied with accusations of looking like a Bloke and a Lesbian.

As I have said before it is very common for women athletes to be criticised for not fitting into the gender stereotype of femininity and the slagging, bullying, name calling that follows is often in the form of an accusation that the women look like Dykes and Lesbians.
    When I wrote this before the response was often “don’t know what you are talking about, never heard of such a thing”
    Again I’m not saying that any particular woman athlete is lesbian what I am saying is that there is a huge silence around lesbians in sport.
    First there is usually a denial that there is an issue at all or that women athletes even get accused of being lesbian. It is called a non issue even when women are actually being called lesbian it is said they may be being called lesbian but the real issue is weight or strength or insecurity, or lack of femininity or anything but homophobia.
    That’s not saying all those other issues aren’t there as well as homophobia in this case with Zoe Smyth.
    Im just saying homophobia in womens sport is denied and made invisible. This thread so far hasn’t mentioned it and yet there it is Zoe Smyth is bullied by being accused of looking like a lesbian right there in the headlines of most articles.
    Olympic Weightlifter Stands Up To Bullies Calling Her A Lesbian

I can't for the life of my figure out why a human being would feel compelled to sling a few hundred pounds of iron onto a bar and lift the damn thing up over her head. But hell, if that's what she chooses to do, she ought be able to do it without some knucklehead calling her a lezbo or a dyke or a "bloke."
    by Bison Messink Sports Editor
    http://www.ology.com/post/147779/olympic-weightlifter-zoe-smith-stands-up-to-bullies

Miss Smith has been the subject of vile internet abuse since appearing on a documentary earlier this year, with anonymous Twitter trolls telling her she looks like a 'lesbian' and a 'bloke'
    : http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2181557/No-medal-teenage-record-breaker-Zoe-Smith-silences-vicious-Twitter-trolls-inspiring-Olympic-performance.html#ixzz22I7mQoGE

Teenage weightlifter representing Britain at the Olympics targeted by internet trolls who said she looked like a 'bloke' and a 'lesbian'

After the programme about the Team GB weightlifters – entitled ‘Girl Power: Going For Gold’ – was aired on BBC3, Miss Smith received a string of abusive comments on Twitter.
    One wrote of Miss Smith and her fellow weightlifters: ‘You wouldn’t marry any of them they’re probably lesbians anyway.
    But I think the way she has responded is absolutely brilliant.
    ‘Zoe is absolutely not the stereotype weightlifter – as well as being very talented and hardworking she’s a very pretty girl and incredibly intelligent.’
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2178506/London-Olympics-2012-Teenage-weightlifter-Zoe-Smith-representing-Britain-targeted-internet-trolls.html#ixzz22I8gaXD4

What I want to know is in all of this courageous standing up to the bullies has anyone questioned the idea of being “accused” of looking like a lesbian. What the hell do people mean accused of looking like a lesbian, is it that she hasn’t been found guilty of it yet?
    We also read in efforts to stand up for the athletes that there are unsubstantiated rumours or malicious gossip about their sexuality.
    Again what does that kind of language say about ones attitude to women for whom the rumor is true, isnt such language saying it would be a horrible thing to be lesbian.
    Has anyone suggested that Zoe Smyth does not have to declare her sexuality in order for people to be proud of her achievements but that if she were lesbian or heterosexual or bisexual or whatever they would be equally proud of her achievements.
    And what does it feel like to be a lesbian athlete and hear all this?
    ‘Zoe is absolutely not the stereotype weightlifter – as well as being very talented and hardworking she’s a very pretty girl and incredibly intelligent.’
    So what is the above quote saying Zoe is all right but the average weightlifters appearance and intelligence is questionable.

You dont stand up against prejudice by standing aside and saying Im not one of them. You dont work against homophobia by protesting that the malicious rumors are not true.

I don’t think any lesbian athlete is taking from the online messaging that there is any support for her.
    Zoe Smyth had been tactful in her replies to the bullies. She has attacked their sense of themselves rather than replying to the accusations but she hasn’t stood up for lesbians in sport either. Very few have and it is still a dangerous thing to do.
    There are other issues going on here and Im writing so much because the homophobia part seems to be invisible not to make the whole issue to be about homophobia but is a part of it. Now it right there in black and white in the tweets and online commentary.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Orizio it might be prudent to look at the irony of your post and how it backs up the original premise. Post deleted. Don't post in this thread again. Thank you

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

shoos wrote: »
    Much respect for Zoe, she's great for standing up for herself and her teammates like that. Was also delighted to hear Katie standing up against that absolutely ridiculous suggesting that female boxers should be put in skirts..... what purpose on earth would that achieve?! It's sports, not a men's magazine shoot.

Nowhere more than beach volleyball.

Men's kit

Janis+Smedins+Olympics+Day+2+Beach+Volleyball+QVOvO8L0QUdl.jpg

Women's kit

f4003fdd02ecf129f7722a9cf80ac8a9.jpg

Why are women required to wear bikinis where men can wear shorts and t-shirt? I'd say something if long clothing interfered with play or men were required to wear speedos, but clearly this isn't the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I don't think the women are required to wear bikini's they just choose to.

(Heard that off someone the other day - not sure how true it is)

Edit: Found a Daily Mail link about it here
    After female volleyball athletes for the first time in Olympic history were permitted to wear long shorts and tops with sleeves, the pair said they have been bikini devotees from the beginning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

I don't think the women are required to wear bikini's they just choose to.

(Heard that off someone the other day - not sure how true it is)

Edit: Found a Daily Mail link about it here

Just looked it up myself. Rule only changed before this Olympics to allow Muslim competitors to partake. It was the rule up to 3 months ago though, and is probably the most talked about thing when it comes to beach volleyball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Nowhere more than beach volleyball.

Men's kit

Janis+Smedins+Olympics+Day+2+Beach+Volleyball+QVOvO8L0QUdl.jpg

Women's kit

f4003fdd02ecf129f7722a9cf80ac8a9.jpg

Why are women required to wear bikinis where men can wear shorts and t-shirt? I'd say something if long clothing interfered with play or men were required to wear speedos, but clearly this isn't the case.

They're no longer required to wear a set outfit, they can choose to do so now.

I believe the controversy kicked off during the Sydney Games in 2000, and since then players are no longer 'forced' into an outfit, but can choose to wear one they believe works best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

That is a recent change to the ruling and in fairness if you always worn one style of kit are you really going to change it with in 3 months of trying to win a gold medal?
    It is good that it is an option going forward, mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

It was reported that the women preferred the bikinis coz when the sand went down the suit, it would gather around the lady area giving a literal meaning to "sand in the vagina."

Those women have amazing bodies. If I had their body, I'd be strutting around in a bikini full time.

I love the definition that the female weight lifters have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Mars Bar wrote: »
    I love the definition that the female weight lifters have.
    Ditto, there's something really beautiful about a strong, athletic body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Athletes especially seem to get severe criticism if they are not seen to be in perfect shape regardless of the truth of the matter. Andy Reid suffered "fat" jibes for years throughout his career.

Cristiano Ronaldo, David Beckham, Jamie Redknapp etc. have been doing photo shoots along similar lines for years without it negatively impacting on peoples perception of them as sportsmen why should women be any different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

mackg wrote: »

Athletes especially seem to get severe criticism if they are not seen to be in perfect shape regardless of the truth of the matter. Andy Reid suffered "fat" jibes for years throughout his career.

Cristiano Ronaldo, David Beckham, Jamie Redknapp etc. have been doing photo shoots along similar lines for years without it negatively impacting on peoples perception of them as sportsmen why should women be any different?

Id have to disagree, plenty of fans and pundits have been dismissive of these players due to their fancy dan images. They get taken less seriously, and respected less than their more rugged/ugly looking peers who dont do photo shoots

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Urmm Leisel Jones is fat

leisel-jones_w620.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

jayteecork care to explain how this adds to this debate?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

There seem to be a few different reactions to the controversy that developed out of the criticisms directed at Zoe Smith and other athletes about their appearance.
    My take has been that I would welcome the acceptance of a more diverse range of kinds of beauty and physical athleticism.
    I want people to be able to look at someone and say "yes I like the look of him or her and I wouldn’t be attracted to that person but I can appreciate that others might" or else just leave the person alone without comment.
    I am against the limiting of beauty to what fits into the stereotypes of current acceptable forms of appearance for women and men.
    I would like to see an absolute end to comments and posts and magazine articles etc etc that put up a picture of anyone and say look s/he is fat or ugly or looks like the wrong gender or looks lesbian or gay or whatever, in a derogatory way.
    What is the compulsion people feel to put others down about their appearance? Does it make them feel superior, are they harboring feelings of inadequacy, insecurity about their own sexuality. Do they feel that if others don’t fit into the box they think acceptable people fit into, that the world will no longer appreciate them? What is it I don’t understand.
    I think Lesbian and Gay athletes have been at the cutting edge of the move to allow more diversity in what is seen as the physical athletic perfection of the human body and because of that I celebrate and support them.
    As well as that different sports sometimes simply require the development of muscle or body fat in different areas of the body irrespective of what is usually considered attractive for a particular gender. They are ignoring the stereotypes for gender in order to compete at the highest level of their sport. Its the Olympic Games they are competing in for **** sake not The Rose Of Tralee.
    My support is a kind of personal support because diversity is a personal issue for me. It is an issue I feel passionately about and have some knowledge of. It is a support of the athletes and how they live their lives before and after the games. This is where I am coming from and I reckon that almost everyone here is posting also from where they are coming from and that posts often say at least as much about the poster as the issue at hand.

BUT. I do know that what these athletes want and have been working all their lives towards is to do their absolute best at the Olympic Games.
    The games are on now athletes need to be able to give their full attention to their sport .
    Anything that is created in the media to take their attention off their sport is counterproductive and unfair including comments on their gender and sexual orientation and weight.
    Many athletes have spoken about all the distractions the commercial orientated policies and the way the Games are moving away from the athletes and actual sport and more towards providing entertainment.
    I wish them well and hope they can achieve their best despite all that is going on around them particularly the ones who have been the subject of recent negative media attention. Why cant everyone just wish them well and let them get on with their ******* sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

jayteecork wrote: »
    Urmm Leisel Jones is fat
    And she still managed to get to the last 4 olympics. Tell you what; swim 200m BS against her and then you can throw insults around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

This article sums it up pretty well for me.
    Imagine if the female form was celebrated purely for its awe-inspiring functionality, rather than judged in terms of weight. If it were to happen anywhere, the Olympic Games would surely be it. You might even expect it.

But you might be disappointed.

Australian swimmer Leisel Jones was picked apart last week by Australia's Herald Sun newspaper, which published "then and now" photos suggesting she had put on weight. Readers were then asked to decide if Jones was fit enough to swim.

In other words, does she look like a swimmer should look? Not: does she swim like a swimmer should swim?

Jones has made history as the first Australian swimmer to compete at four Olympic Games. She has won eight Olympic medals, including three golds. She was an Olympic medalist at age 14. She's one of the best female breaststrokers the world has ever seen.

But never mind all that, LET'S TALK ABOUT HER THIGHS. Because the focus on Jones has now swapped from where it clearly should be - her incredible career - and lies squarely on her body shape. Which is a sad and infuriating thing. As put by former Olympic swimming champion, Giaan Rooney:

"Anyone commenting on Leisel's weight three days out from the Olympics should be ashamed .... She's done the work to get here and she deserves the same right as everyone else to be judged on her performance and her performance alone."

As Jogathon said earlier in the thread, it's astonishing that people will actually call a world-class, incredibly fit athlete 'fat' because she doesn't meet the 'Olympic Babe' ideal. Mind-boggling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Well I persoanlly think Zoe Smith is gorgeous. She actually reminds me a bit of Samia Smith(Maria Connor in Corrie) who is yummy!

Zoe Smith:
    zoe-smith_2245666b.jpg

Samia Smith
    Samia%20Smith_31115-480x360.jpg

I saw an interesting app on the BBC news website. You can put in your height and weight and it will tell you which athlete you are closest to dimension wise. Obviously, it doesnt differenciate between fat-weight and muscle-weight, but it is still interesting, and quite motivating, especially for those of us with body hang ups, to see someone with our approximate dimensions is also an Olympic athlete.

I just started watching "the Newsroom", and Sunday nights episode touched on the subject of comments made on websites. The question asked around 2.23 is "Who post comments on the internet more, people who are content or people who are incontent(discontent). Here is the clip:

My point is, Zoe Smith really should pay less heed to anonymous commenters on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

I think Liesel Jones does look out of shape. But she's clearly not. She qualified, didn't she? OK, she's not performing as well as she did four years ago and eight years ago but that's pretty normal for elite swimmers heading into their late 20s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Ambersky wrote: »
    There seem to be a few different reactions...

Hey Ambersky, you are clearly passionate and have opinions on this but your "wall of text" approach is a bit off putting. I think it would be great if you could condense it a bit?

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Hey Ambersky, you are clearly passionate and have opinions on this but your "wall of text" approach is a bit off putting. I think it would be great if you could condense it a bit?

Mars Bar, as with all forums on Boards, if you have an issue with a post please use the report function and let the mods deal with it.

whoopsadaisydoodles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

http://www.metro.us/newyork/sports/article/1148979--what-if-every-olympic-sport-was-photographed-like-beach-volleyball

Most of the shots of the ladies beach volley ball have been ass/crotch shots.
    This shows how silly they are by showing the same type of shots of men sports as
    what they have been taking of the ladies.

Sea Filly wrote: »
    I think Liesel Jones does look out of shape. But she's clearly not. She qualified, didn't she? OK, she's not performing as well as she did four years ago and eight years ago but that's pretty normal for elite swimmers heading into their late 20s.

She doesn't look peak for sure but she's not a young athelete tbf.
    Similar in the mens swimming where mens gb swimmer yesterday looked like an average bloke compared to the rest of the swimmers and his performance reflected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 690 ✭✭✭puffishoes

mackg wrote: »

To be fair, Andy reid was paid CIRCA 60k-70k a WEEK to be fit.

that's right, twice the yearly avg ind wage a WEEK to be FIT.

which ended up costing his place playing the sport he was PAID to play for his country. He chose big macs over the pride of his country. Rightly people are going to be pretty pissed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Sharrow wrote: »
    http://www.metro.us/newyork/sports/article/1148979--what-if-every-olympic-sport-was-photographed-like-beach-volleyball

Most of the shots of the ladies beach volley ball have been ass/crotch shots.
    This shows how silly they are by showing the same type of shots of men sports as
    what they have been taking of the ladies.

Love that!! There is bound to be some "sexy" shots of men and women in the Olympics but if I was a female Volley ball player I'd be getting pissed off at this stage as the amount of pictures above and galleries of volleyball online is overkill and detracting from the fact that they are actually Olympic athletes.

Ogling aside, I think the negative insulting comments about the athletes are much worse. Imagine being an Olympian swimmer and all people care about is whether you have a spare tyre, and post horrible insults about you on the internet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 690 ✭✭✭puffishoes

Sala wrote: »

Ogling aside, I think the negative insulting comments about the athletes are much worse. Imagine being an Olympian swimmer and all people care about is whether you have a spare tyre, and post horrible insults about you on the internet.

Imagine, you're an actor and all everyone talks about is your coke and hooker habbit.

imagine you're one of the best footballers who ever lived and all everyone wants to do is discuss what age the granny was you had sex with for money.

Imagine you ARE the best footballer who ever lived and all anyone wants to do is talk about your abuse of alcohol.

People in the spotlight will be judged. this will never change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

This isn't related to lifting but it's along similar lines, did anyone read the comments made about that young American gymnast, think her name is Gabrielle. There she was off making history and winning gold etc. and there were people with nothing else to complain about so instead they moaned about her hair. Her hair!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The only reason beach volleyball exists as an Olympic sport, separate to 'normal' volleyball, is for the skimpy beach outfits. It's a farce, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

The only reason beach volleyball exists as an Olympic sport, separate to 'normal' volleyball, is for the skimpy beach outfits. It's a farce, IMO.

I would have thought it's a bit more athletic in terms if being able to dive for the ball more. Falling on sand probably hurts a lot less than falling on an arena floor?