Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

machete - Ferreting

• 26-07-2012 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭

I havent been ferreting in about 20 years (i was only a pup) but last year i was given a ferret and was looking forward to doin a bit. Little fuker broke out never to be seen again.

I been asked by local veg farmer would i be interested in given him hand with his bunnie problem they are milling him out of it. I went up to look at ditches but very over grown so i wanted to maybe head up sum wkend and do sum clearing.

Machete is the only job. I had one once yrs ago id imagine there possibly illegal now.... are they ?

If not where would i pick 1 up ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Would a bill hook not do the same thing? They are essentially the same item. Neither are illegal once the reason for having one is valid, and you are not walking down the main street swinging it around.

A bill hook can be gotten in any hardware. As for the Machete. Some RFDs may carry a very limited line, such as the new Bear Grylls one. Not big money at all. IIRC about €60 or so.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I have one of these great for the money they are a bit dull from the factory but they are class. If you beat the sh1t out of it it dose'nt really matter as they are so cheap.:)
    http://www.heinnie.com/Tramontina-Machetes/p-0-0-4626/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭vibes23

Did you import it ? could you get somthing like that posted ? i was in venezuela last yr and i was tempted but didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Machete is what I use unfortunately broke mine other day so I'd be using the hedge snips and seems to work out
    If ya need a hand give me a shout I ferret a lot for farmers and usually in most places ya need to give a good 15 mins cuttin the growth before startin as you'll just miss holes all the time it's worth it tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭vibes23

Im in meath area if you r close ? Last year i went out with couple mate who had harris hawks we didn get anything but was great to watch. thats stage 2 of my plan ferret and hawk workin together !

I was gona spend a day clearin then hunt weekend after

vibes23 wrote: »
    Im in meath area if you r close ? Last year i went out with couple mate who had harris hawks we didn get anything but was great to watch. thats stage 2 of my plan ferret and hawk workin together !

I was gona spend a day clearin then hunt weekend after
    Yeah it's good alright
    My Harris still has another 2 weeks left of moulting before she's back huntin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

A short handled slasher. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

A short handled slasher. ;)

Where I'm from they are known as a hurley :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭raymonjdevine

Most lads I know who use ferrets won't hunt with them this time of the year as the bunnies are breeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Mike87

Think you'll find machetes are illegal.....

Certain weapons have been listed as offensive weapons, these include: flick-knives, knuckledusters, swordsticks, sword umbrellas, hand and foot claws, belt buckle knives, pushdaggers, hollow kubotans, shurikens, butterfly knives, telescopic truncheons, blowpipes, kusari gama, kyoketsu shoge, manrikigusari, sap gloves, and machetes.........prohibits the manufacture, importation, sale, hire or loan of offensive weapons and penalties of up to seven years imprisonment can apply.

they are illegal to have in a public place they are not illegal to own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Vizzy wrote: »
    Where I'm from they are known as a hurley :D

My compliments. :D

@ Mike87 -Good find.

@ OP - Looks like bill hook is yer man so.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

juice1304 wrote: »
    they are illegal to have in a public place they are not illegal to own.
    According to section 12 that Mike quoted any buying, selling, repair, importing, giving, owning, having, etc., etc, , etc. is an offence under the act.

The full list is outlined in more detail in SI 66/1991.

So it would appear they are illegal in every shape and/or form.

Ezridax wrote: »
    So it would appear they are illegal in every shape and/or form.

I wonder how the bear grylls machetes (which you mentioned) are getting into the country to RFD's?

That i don't know. I thought it might be because they were close to or resembled the Axe (head) bill hook, but honestly that's a stab in the dark. The one i seen was last year (because i bought the bear Grylls knife at the time), but it was gone very shortly after, and while the knives are still being stocked the others are not.

So maybe they were informed about them, and returned them never to get more in. A recall if you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Not illegal.
    Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act, 1990
    Section 9(2) It shall be a defence for a person charged with an offence under subsection (1) to prove that he had good reason or lawful authority for having the article with him in a public place.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1990/en/act/pub/0012/print.html

And it dose'nt say own in the act only import, buy, sell , make , loan.
    Which means if you can magic one out of thin air or had one before 1991 it's not illegal to own it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

all this machete talk is making me want to go buy one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

That's the weirdest list ever!

A long string of exotic weapons, things that cannot be mistaken for anything but weapons.

Oh, and a farming implement still in widespread use all around the developing world. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

Machetes are tiring to use anyway.

scythe long or short will piddle throu any hedge..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Doesnt say anything about possesion in a private dwelling or property.
    Nor ,as usual is there a definition of what exactly a machete is...GREY area again!!:rolleyes:
    You could buy a repro kopris short sword [as used in the film Alexander the [not quite so ]Great:) played by Colin Farrell],and have a legal short sword that would do a better job than a machete.

TBH you can import "brush knives", "jungle sythes" or "turnip /beet topping knives" and still have a knife as effective as a machete.
    Of course a Kukrhi would be another option,you can do just about everything from mowing a lawn to lopping off ...things! with one of those.
    Just ask any Gurkha soilder.

Or if you are semi skilled , most poor folks in 3rd world countries make their own machetes out of any comfortably long easily sharpned bit of steel from the local junk pile or dump and a bit of local wood,or cloth or rope for a handle.So if you need one,make your own "turnip topper knife".

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Mike87 wrote: »
    I wonder how the bear grylls machetes (which you mentioned) are getting into the country to RFD's?

They are PARANGS or designs on those, which is a completely different knife design to a machete and come from the far East [Malayaisa ?] Its more a chopping blade than a slashing blade.
    Dont see Parangs as being mentioned unrder this act!!!;)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Most lads I know who use ferrets won't hunt with them this time of the year as the bunnies are breeding.
    It's not really due to breeding as rabbits breed a lot in the year anyway
    More to do with the ditches being to heavy as farmers can't cut them this time of year because of nesting birds so it makes it harder to find the holes with the growth bein to long
    Also rabbits do a considerable amount of damage to young veg this time of year sob gotta hunt all year round so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

Best thing for you to get or use would b a strummer mate quicker handier more efficent and a better job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

op I got a billhook recently for under €11 in a hardware store great yoke altogether for clearing out wild areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

Slashhooks/Billhooks are fantastic when there is heavy work to be done, and scythes are great for the lighter stuff but I've occasionally found a need for something in the middle, something like one I've seen in Africa, a long slasher, like a matchete but only sharp at the last 6 inches, so you get the benefit of swinging it without the weight of a heavy tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

make yer own lads like me...lol aaron..002.jpg.. atb...sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

what grade of pig iron did you use to manufacture that brute:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭shooter88

Machetes are legal in Ireland I bought mine in the local coop 19.99 and have seen them in a good few other places unless the law changed since Tuesday I seem them still for sale..iv been seen a good few times by gards on the road with mine(live in the country) and not a word said even from what I consider one of the strictest gards...

Just treat it like any other "weapon" safe secure and used when needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭raymonjdevine

It's not really due to breeding as rabbits breed a lot in the year anyway
    More to do with the ditches being to heavy as farmers can't cut them this time of year because of nesting birds so it makes it harder to find the holes with the growth bein to long
    Also rabbits do a considerable amount of damage to young veg this time of year sob gotta hunt all year round so :D

Fair enough ;)

Not disagreeing with you :)

Do you not find that ferrets are more inclined to 'lie up' if they come across and subsequently kill young bunnies underground though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

anthonyos wrote: »
    what grade of pig iron did you use to manufacture that brute:D
    mild stainless i think. it ok for bramble but not so great for gorse as wont hold its shape..have one of them folding shovels and they not too bad but wanna get one of them marines k-bars..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

2. It is hereby directed that section 12 of the Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act, 1990 (No. 12 of 1990), shall apply to the following descriptions of weapons:

( a ) a flick-knife, that is to say—
    (i) a knife which opens when hand pressure is applied to a button, spring, lever or other device in or attached to the handle, or
    (ii) a knife which has a blade which is released from the handle or sheath by the force of gravity or the application of centrifugal force and when released is locked in an open position by means of a button, spring, lever or other device;

I better hand in a few of my Opinels so?

You could get yours to open that quick??Any I ever had swelled shut,so you needed a pliers or lever to get the blade open.:eek::)

BryanL wrote: »
    2. It is hereby directed that section 12 of the Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act, 1990 (No. 12 of 1990), shall apply to the following descriptions of weapons:

(i) a knife which opens when hand pressure is applied to a button, spring, lever or other device in or attached to the handle, or
    (ii) a knife which has a blade which is released from the handle or sheath by the force of gravity or the application of centrifugal force and when released is locked in an open position by means of a button, spring, lever or other device;

THat law is regarding flick knives. You'd be very hard pushed to call an Opinel a flick knife.

Think a billhook would be the job, might go scouting the local area for holes now for clearing when the breeding season is over.
    September is the end really isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

BryanL wrote: »

Opinel knife doesnt open with by the force of gravity or centrifugal force and if it does its a pretty dodgy one.
    They have to be opened with your hand like a swiss army knife.. it even has a ridge for your nail to pull it out