If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Stag party gets pwnd on facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Samich wrote: »
    Eh hardly anyone would have seen it, it's a hotels page. Who goes on every minute looking at comments on walls?

eh...she would, and she doesnt seem the type not to make a deal out of them deleting her posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

What do you mean "released"? Released by who? Someone publicly posted on a public FB page, and people took screen shots, then it went viral. No one actually "released" any names.

Peter Ganley who is a radio dj and has a lot of following posted it on his fb last night.

That's not "releasing" it. It was in the public eye for absolutely everyone to see if they wanted to. It would have been a different story if the girl sent the mail privately to the hotel and a screenshot of that went viral. But in this case the girl decided to post in the public domain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭celt262

AEDIC wrote: »
    Well...seeing as the girl herself, her sister and at least one (possibly 2) of the stag party have been the posters on various facebook threads today have come on to comment on what happened..... not once, did any of them say the Gardai werent called...

Well i dont have time to read all the facebook messages and threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,725 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Eh hardly anyone would have seen it, it's a hotels page. Who goes on every minute looking at comments on walls?

All it takes is for one person to tell another, and they tell their friends, and they tell their friends. That's what viral marketing is all about.

Cynical? Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

celt262 wrote: »
    Well i dont have time to read all the facebook messages and threads.

Obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

They offered to...but she kept posting publicly and threatening to go to the media with the story. If they had just deleted the comments people would have assumed guilt....

It doesn't matter. The thing is public if the hotel has one follower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Mr E wrote: »

All it takes is for one person to tell another, and they tell their friends, and they tell their friends. That's what viral marketing is all about.

Cynical? Maybe.

Moronic? Definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Hotel should have deleted her message and sent her a private message on Facebook.

Instead, they have got a load of free publicity at the expense of a young girls reputation.

Not cool.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

IrishAm wrote: »
    Hotel should have deleted her message and sent her a private message on Facebook.

Instead, they have got a load of free publicity at the expense of a young girls reputation.

Not cool.

FFS cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Not cool.

Did you not read their Facebook message to her? They asked her for her email/number to discuss it privately but she didn`t respond

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Not cool.

Yet its ok for her to slate the hotel on a public website and threaten further exposure even though she is completely mis-informed and the real culprits were the hooligans on the stag.

Fair play to the hotel for standing up for its reputation and the reputation of its staff. They also gave her 7 hours to respond personally before addressing the issue publicly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Oh her sister is at it again on one of the comments posted by someone on the hotels page!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

signostic wrote: »
    Did you not read their Facebook message to her? They asked her for her email/number to discuss it privately but she didn`t respond

Why ask her for an email when you can message her privately on the poxy site?

They gave her a whole seven hours to reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

I suppose the hotel hosting the wedding reception is a non runner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Not cool.

What reputation?
    She was doing the internet equivalent of standing on the steps of the hotel braying like a fishwife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

You could also ask why she didn't message them privately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭celt262

Obviously.

Yeah i have a life ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Nwm2

Nip pick is gone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Ahh the ones leaving comments on the hotels page are bigger pricks

"Fair play lads for responding to that incoherent idiot in an entirely appropriate way. If they're going to publicly spread misinformation, they should be ready to have the truth told publicly too."

Ehhhhh she was only saying what she thought happened, her fiancee obviously told lies.

Maybe she should have contacted them through proper channels and confirmed the details before trying to publicly slate them. I'm sure the hotel has a phone.

Sure we could all come on here and rip in to businesses with "facts" we heard 2nd hand. Truth? Pah, who needs that.
    The name of the hotel should never have been released or the woman for that matter.

She started the whole thing in a public forum. The details were'nt "released" . Shes not some type of supergrass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

ziggy wrote: »

We used to steal 'em from music students:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

http://omg.wthax.org/SC20120724_021747.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Maybe she should have contacted them through proper channels and confirmed the details before trying to publicly slate them. I'm sure the hotel has a phone.

Em she thought she was right in what she knew, she didn't know her fiancee was a lying prick.

If the story was true you wouldn't be saying the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Maybe they don't after one of the guys cleared the reception desk to assault a staff member.

signostic wrote: »

Why did the hotel go back to the earliest post by her (the one with the story) rather than the latest one then?

It wouldn't have been as much of a "pwn" had it been in reply to a comment like "ye are a bunch of scammers" or whatever.

lazygal wrote: »
    Doesn't say much for the standards at Athlone IT where she studied with writing like that. God help the kid she's a full time mummy to.

You know some people don't type much so when they do they use txt spk. I know some people who use type like that but they talk normally. Everyone has faults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Not cool.

The young girls reputation, or lack of one, is entirely her on doing.

Why should she be able to publish lies in public but the hotel has to suck it up and keep everything on the quiet? Once she made it public that story was out there. If they then do everything in private, thats the only story that anyone hears. How is that fair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

What hotel was this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Someone just posted this on treacys hotels facebook. She said she was there at the weekend and seen some interesting things!

Yes Selena, I was staying there that weekend and being respectful to Celina I refuse to publicly say what I seen but what's been made public is only the tip of the iceberg.