Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amiko Alien 2 Triple Tuner Combobox

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

My epg is gone? ...and cross epg cant connect??

Any suggestions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭White Heart Loon

Agueroooo wrote: »
    My epg is gone? ...and cross epg cant connect??

Any suggestions

I find it's good to delete the crossepg directory in /hdd/media every so often, it gets slow overwriting a database over and over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 jamesbhoy

Hi, I finally bought one of these after months of research! I am a complete novice to all this and my head is fried trying to get my head around it..it's still in the box!!! Where do I start? Is there a step by step guide on getting this box up and running?? What is the best up to date image to use?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

jamesbhoy wrote: »
    Hi, I finally bought one of these after months of research! I am a complete novice to all this and my head is fried trying to get my head around it..it's still in the box!!! Where do I start? Is there a step by step guide on getting this box up and running?? What is the best up to date image to use?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated:confused:

1st page.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056882713/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭elvis23

championc wrote: »
    I know it's the same file but it will NOT work to just copy it over. Take the WHOLE plugin folder from my link and put it on a USB stick and insert it into the box when running Spark. It will ask you if you want to install the plugins - say Yes.

So let the box / Spark install the plugins for you.

I have dine this on 8900/Alien1, Alien2 and Alien2+ boxes. Boxes did NOT need the 1.2.51 specisl version of Spark to be installed.

Fair play Champ, sure enough that did the trick!
    Didn't think ya needed the full plugin folder, but I did for some reason.
    Right, fun starts now!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

i tried recording a HD channel and the playback is still unwatchable. the speed goes up and down and the picture keeps freezing, SD recordings playback fine. has anyone managed to record HD ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭championc

how.gareth wrote: »
    i tried recording a HD channel and the playback is still unwatchable. the speed goes up and down and the picture keeps freezing, SD recordings playback fine. has anyone managed to record HD ?

I do all the time. I have a non powered usb hdd 500gb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Slevster

All the time. (I think you are using Tech Guys Hyperion V3 image). It may be your HDD. if you boot into spark, there is a function to test your HDD recording ability. May give you an idea

No problems here but Spark tells me my drive is fast enough for 2x HD recordings at the same time

ah super, i was hoping it might just be my drive, its an old powered 500 gig maxtor yoke, would prefer a non powered one, any recommendations for one?

just ran the spark speed test and it says i can only record 2 SD channels so its a new drive i need, a few recommendations for a non powered one if yis can please

ah super, i was hoping it might just be my drive, its an old powered 500 gig maxtor yoke, would prefer a non powered one, any recommendations for one?

I use a Samsung m3 500gb.works grand

just ran the spark speed test and it says i can only record 2 SD channels so its a new drive i need, a few recommendations for a non powered one if yis can please

I am using a Seagate Expansion portable drive. Works ok. Have had some pixelation, and the odd stall during play back. Not sure if its down to the box or hdd. But have managed to record 2 hd channels at the same time.

Have just tested recording 3 HD channels ( using all three tuners) while watching another channel (on the same frequency as one of the recording channels) all worked. Was some minor pixelatation when I started the 3rd channel recording , but OK considering. (Recorded BBC 2 HD, ITV HD and rte 2 HD, and then watch BBC 1 HD at same time. This was a one off experiment, only over 10 mins)

Hitachi Touro also work well

cheers lads they are a lot cheaper than i expected and get great reviews. thanks again, Nigel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 agentsmiith

Ok. I finaly managed to install techguys image. But it is slow. I tryed to install image from championc but i see error that it cant find it. Can someone help? I downloaded image from root dir.

Why put it in the root ? Put it in a folder that you know then where it is and navigate to it

Got the PIP feature working. Was bugging me for a long time (Hyperion v3).
    My mistake was trying it with HD channels. Works well with 2 SD channels. Once a HD is introduced , one or other pip goes blank.
    To use:
    Ensure the red button (or any colour of your choice) is set to "extensions" in blue panel, settings, keymapper. (Its the default setting I think).

Select a SD channel to view.
    Press red button
    Scroll down to "activate picture in picture"(or press blue button)
    Press "OK" button
    Select another SD channel.
    You should then be able to see the second channel in a window in the corner.
    Press the red button again for options.
    You can use the "0" button to swap between channels. (You can use the "user interface" in setup, system to alter the function of the "0" button)

The pip can also be activated by pressing "OK" , highlighting a channel and pressing "menu".

Its may be a feature that isn't used, but it was annoying me that I couldn't get it working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭cork_south

I flashed TTGs image a number of times over the last couple if days.
    After flashing each time the performance is extremely slow, but after while and after a few reboots the performance improves and it's very responsive. Make sure you edit the remote control setting too, it's mentioned a few pages back.
    I'm having problems with the plugins, but it seems like they are working well for most people.
    So if you can't get champs running I'd suggest giving TTGs image a chance, it does improve performance wise after a while and the Sky HD skin is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

cork_south wrote: »
    After flashing each time the performance is extremely slow, but after while and after a few reboots the performance improves and it's very responsive. Make sure you edit the remote control setting too, it's mentioned a few pages back.
    I'm having problems with the plugins, but it seems like they are working well for most people.
    So if you can't get champs running I'd suggest giving TTGs image a chance, it does improve performance wise after a while and the Sky HD skin is great.

That slowness would be everything starting up and downloading in the background like the epg etc. This slowness will happen on every image when the box is rebooted, thats why its a good idea to keep the box in standby over night so it can update bouquets/download epg at night when your not using the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 agentsmiith

championc wrote: »
    Why put it in the root ? Put it in a folder that you know then where it is and navigate to

It says cannot find kernell file. I have put both files in enigma 2 folder now.

TheTechGuy wrote: »
    That slowness would be everything starting up and downloading in the background like the epg etc. This slowness will happen on every image when the box is rebooted, thats why its a good idea to keep the box in standby over night so it can update bouquets/download epg at night when your not using the box.

Yeah actually I forgot to mention that after I force downloaded the bouquets or the EPG (can't remember the actual name of the plugin) after each install the performance really improved.

If flashing it using the process mentioned in the firmware thread (I personally found that guide a little scattered\confusing) you could try flashing it directly from the boot up using this process:
    http://www.amikostb.com/download.php?id=855

That means the plugin is looking in root, you need to navigate into the folder and press red to show it where the files are, then press red to update

Are you using the plugin or are you trying the load it just via the front panel ? The plugin will allow you to save it in ANY directory name you like.

Everyone should just use the plugin - using the front panel is just too frustrating and gives very little feedback as to what it's doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭celtic_oz

Aargh I've lost the remote for my Amiko .. is there anywhere dublin city centre I could pick one up ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

celtic_oz wrote: »
    Aargh I've lost the remote for my Amiko .. is there anywhere dublin city centre I could pick one up ?

http://www.satworld.ie/amiko-alien-remote-control.html

Edit:just realised you wanted a city centre shop. Can't help you there.

Stick the VU+ player app on your phone to get you by until you get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭preytec

Aargh I've lost the remote for my Amiko ..

Did you try down the side of the couch? That's were ours always ends up. but sometimes someone takes it into their room.

satworld will post it, if you ring them they might get it off today so you could have it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭cyndale

cork_south wrote: »
    From the very moment I installed TTGs Hyperion V3 image everything has worked better than I expected. I haven't found it slow at all, picture quality is excellent, RTE player works (picture could be better). I've only had one issue with it and that was when the volume control disappeared and I kept getting the menu every time I pressed. I just re-flashed the image and it is fine again. It's definitely the most user friendly image I have used to date!:cool: