If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Katie Taylor and John Joe Nevin wins mean far more to me then any other wins for another country.

But I still just like to see them do well. They have been supportive of us tbf.

I absolutely agree there with me it is Ireland first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Care to explain this?

When a man and a woman love eachother very much....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Conlan about 30 minutes away from Medal.

19years old God he must be least tad nervous. If he fights to his potential he will win.

He has some future either way.

Have been impressed with all our boxers tbh, O'Neill and Nolan just came up against better boxers, it wasnt as if they bottled it.

Also part of me thinks sending Nolan(a Garda) was a way to encourage the young "lads" to take up boxing :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Colmustard wrote: »
    Would you support a football team from another country???

Not exactly the same as supporting a whole country. I mean I want the likes of Lomachenko,Rudisha,Pearson, Murata etc to win, and I wanted Phelps to do well, but I'm not supporting their whole nation. I think it's cool if people want Pendleton to do well etc, but don't understand supporting the whole country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,052 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Anyone wrote: »
    Have been impressed with all our boxers tbh, O'Neill and Nolan just came up against better boxers, it wasnt as if they bottled it.

Also part of me thinks sending Nolan(a Garda) was a way to encourage the young "lads" to take up boxing :p

I might be bit biased, but I fancy Nevin to take the Cuban in semi final too.

My biggest worry is Barnes. He is up against a tricky opponent. Think he just shade it, but he will have to be on his A game.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,592 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

titan18 wrote: »
    Don't really see why anyone would support another country just because they're close. It's nice to see some athletes doing well, but I wouldn't support a whole country

On the basis of the brilliant job they have done in hosting the games and the admirable performance of their athletes they are deserving of all the accolades which come their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Korea just denied a stonewall pen against the Brazilians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,052 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Come on Conlan!!!!!

Off to roar and shout in front on TV for next 20 minutes.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The Irish can support who they want, the issue on this thread is certain prickly customers taking offence at what they read, watch or hear (but only when looking at British media funnily enough - there is a solution to this if its causing them so much grief).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

titan18 wrote: »
    Not exactly the same as supporting a whole country. I mean I want the likes of Lomachenko,Rudisha,Pearson, Murata etc to win, and I wanted Phelps to do well, but I'm not supporting their whole nation. I think it's cool if people want Pendleton to do well etc, but don't understand supporting the whole country

I too want to see good performances from the stars but mainly because I know who they are. Because of the lead up to these games I know who most the British athletes are.

I follow the cycling so I knew all the track stars as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Care to explain this?

Religion has robbed her of some of the real pleasure in life.

Oh, the 2nd bit? Dont mind that silliness.:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Where in the name of jaysus does Kenny Egan get these jackets, it's worse they are getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

I reckon kenny is secretly auditioning for a role in the new Miami Vice movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Dunne doing his shadow boxing again :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Has this conlon got any chance?

Very much so, Conlon is an excellent fighter and at 20 he's only going to get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,303 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Where in the name of jaysus does Kenny Egan get these jackets, it's worse they are getting.

I think tonight's version is streets ahead of what we have been subjected to up to now-the stone washed thing was just vile...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Egan must have a jacket guy

Gotta get me a jacket guy

I see he is 1/2 fav, how come there has not been much coverage or fanfare about this guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭themandan6611

jaysus, kenny stop calling everyone a kid, your only a bleeding kid yourself

Pearson won it by a whisker.

jaysus, kenny stop calling everyone a kid, your only a bleeding kid yourself

Yeah exactly he seems to think he is 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Colmustard wrote: »
    I too want to see good performances from the stars but mainly because I know who they are. Because of the lead up to these games I know who most the British athletes are.

I follow the cycling so I knew all the track stars as well.

No problem with supporting some of their athletes, just in case anyone thinks I'm anti-British or something. Just dont understand why someone would support the country. Doesn't matter that it's Britain, I'd find it odd if people were supporting the US, France,Germany etc.

Like Pearson just won there, and I'm happy that she won, as she's been dominant for a while and is the best in the event, but it's not like I'm supporting every Australian for no reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

donfers wrote: »

i recall lineker saying "at least germany still haven't a medal" after team gb had no golds after a couple of days

Oh my God, THANK YOU! I pointed that out in this thread not long after he said it, to little response. Me and the BF couldn't believe he said that!

The size of this French whipper snapper

Not liking the booing of the French lad, not cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Conlon looks very young. Is he really 20?

Hopefully the American Judge will give us a few points for auld times sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

go on Conlon do a "Katie" and knock the snot out of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Here we go, good luck Michael