Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guinness n' Rollies 2: Off Topic Chat Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Afternoon all! Kind of forgot to post here for the last few weeks.

How are you all doing? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

One of the lads managed to twist his ankle this afternoon, so no day off for me anymore. :mad: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,036 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I drank a bottle of wine last night....

I never drink wine usually...

ow

ow

ow...

my head hurts...

The "All you can eat" was interesting though!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Kev.OC wrote: »
    One of the lads managed to twist his ankle this afternoon, so no day off for me anymore. :mad: :(

Ah here. Pants to that Kev :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Panthro wrote: »
    I drank a bottle of wine last night....

I never drink wine usually...

ow

ow

ow...

my head hurts...

The "All you can eat" was interesting though!:D

I'll be having a bottle of wine tonight.. And that's before I actually go out and start on the drink properly. I'll probably just copy paste your post tomorrow afternoon. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Been very quiet in here lately.

Im sitting in having a quiet weekend after my debauchery in Holland,tis badly needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Necronos wrote: »
    Been very quiet in here lately.

Im sitting in having a quiet weekend after my debauchery in Holland,tis badly needed.
    Yeah where is everyone?? I'm still on holidays so more drinking is needed :D:D

I figured it was cos you were away and Daisies is using goat powered dial up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 JuliaJones

Hi, Are newbies welcome??

Newbies are always welcome!

Wilkommen JJ!

Danke!

Well I'm broke and hungover tonight so thats my excuse, how come you arent out and about?

Im a bit smashed myself,was away week before last and did the absolute dog on it for 5 days,had a mentally busy week at work so my poor carcass needs a break.

I was lying on the couch watching the US open but stupid lightning threat means play has been postponed.

:mad:

There is nothing like getting some well needed R&R at times!

That's a pain about the open, I'm re-watching Distraction at the min, havnt the brain power for much more!

Is that a quiz show?

Shooting Stars just started!

w00t!

Its a Jimmy Carr quiz show, was on years and years ago, basically he makes the contestants do weird and degrading stuff, good for a laugh tho!
    I love Jimmy Carr's comedy, he isnt everyones cup of tea!

I find him kinda hit and miss but when he is on form he is brilliant.

Yeah, he has a great way with hecklers, but sometimes you can feel he is trying to be a bit too controversial,

I loved the way he handled doing a 8 out of 10 cats show after the whole tax evasion story had broken, he just took it all and didnt try defend himself, even though he technically didnt break any law

Its a show Ive never gotten into.I prefer Have I Got News For You!

yeah that's good too, tbh I wouldnt be a massive fan of those panel type shows, they can be good, have you seen Would I Lie to You?

Cant say I have but then again I dont watch all that much tv anyway.

Its worth a watch if you stumble across it IMO anyways!

Will keep an eye out so!

Watching a show about film censorship atm,did you know that The Wild One was banned by the UK film censorship board because they feared that it would unduly influence the Teddy boys in London.

Lolz.

Because of course that makes total sense,
    Some of the censorship laws were insane in the past, its the whole lets avoid an issue we will make something illegal instead or it makes one or two stiff upper lippers uncomfortable so immediately must be banned lest we expose our own ignorance,

Rebel Without a Cause received an X certificate on release.

Holy moly!

Thats mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,181 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Censorship was always a bit mad up until recently. I remember they cut the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie. Not forgetting renaming the series.

Censorship is still rife though,particularly in the realm of horror movies.

Films like A Serbian Film,Human Centipede 2 or Grotesque were either heavily cut or banned out right.

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Censorship was always a bit mad up until recently. I remember they cut the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie. Not forgetting renaming the series.
    They will always be Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles to me!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Necronos wrote: »
    I figured it was cos you were away and Daisies is using goat powered dial up!

Not exactly goat powered dial up, more frequently no power at all!

Morning all

Harro D.

How are ya getting on over there?

Whats the time difference like?